Pauline Hanson coming back........

Submitted: Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 20:45
ThreadID: 40184 Views:4586 Replies:26 FollowUps:117
I had a bad dream last night..........Pauline Hanson was saying she is coming back into politics.
I promise I never drink cheap wine again...........please tell me it was only a bad dream..please

Reiner

Reply By: Willem - Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 20:53

Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 20:53
Maybe its not a good idea to delve into the politcal field on this forum as you might find very emotive responses and some devoid of common sense :-D
AnswerID: 209366

Follow Up By: Ron George - Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 21:16

Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 21:16
Couldn’t agree more Will, could say more but this isn’t the appropriate forum.
Mate I’m intrigued by your comment next to the photo re, worst 4X4!!!... My rig is a 1980 Effie 100 4X4 shorty... wouldn`t part with the old girl for quids... In 15 yrs haven`t broken a thing & she`s covered some serious territory… Whats the go with yours???
Cheers Ron
FollowupID: 469349

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 21:32

Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 21:32
Hi Ron

I 'acquired ' the F100XLT 351V8 1977 model in a property settlement as the bloke had run out of readies after signing the contract. Anyway...........the F100 was good to sleep in ...lol....and good for towing.

As an offroad 4x4 it was abysmal, even with low tyre pressures. I think it is to do with the very long wheelbase. The body would ' twist ' in off track situations and it would cock a wheel and go nowhere. Those were the days when I thought a handwinch was the right thing to have....lesson learned the hard way...lol

The final straw came when I got stuck on a beach near Broome and trying to get off the beach with virtually no air in the tyres. The F100 suffered a failure inside the freewheeling hub and I was stuck with 2wd. It took from 5pm in the arvo 'till 1am the next morning to winch the bloody thing over the dune, burying the spare tyre 6 times. Two days later I traded it in.

Thats why.....lol

FollowupID: 469353

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 01:05

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 01:05
Willem,

"you might find very emotive responses and some devoid of common sense"

And how does that differ from the normal posts on fridges, tyres, 4bys, etc etc hahahahahahahahahaha
FollowupID: 469387

Follow Up By: Kiwi Kia - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 06:37

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 06:37
Military etiquette for junior officers 101

DO NOT discuss Politics

DO NOT discuss woman

DO NOT discuss religion

(All of above bad for morale)

So, no talk about politicians statements re baning 4wd's from parks & beaches etc.
no Friday funnies
no discussion on which is the best 4wd

Ah well, that should add up to at least 1 minutes silence then it's back to normal
:-))

FollowupID: 469399

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 11:55

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 11:55
Kiwi Kia, sage advice indeed.

Politics and religion - the quickest way to start a fight (apart from Bundy rum of course)
FollowupID: 469431

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 22:23

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 22:23
>Military etiquette for junior officers 101

that's gotta be gay crap
FollowupID: 469555

Follow Up By: Kiwi Kia - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 22:56

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 22:56
You obviously have no knowledge of military officer training courses !
FollowupID: 469568

Reply By: ZukScooterX90 (QLD)Member - Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 20:54

Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 20:54
No it was not a bad dream, all is good.:o))
BoB.
AnswerID: 209367

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 03:53

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 03:53
Ha har now I see
FollowupID: 469393

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 14:04

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 14:04
I thought it was a joke thread too Richard. Any thought of offering her encouragement is devoid of laughter though. She thinks she is a celeb me thinks. I didn't watch her dance, nor would I watch he sing.......
FollowupID: 469460

Reply By: Jimbo - Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 21:07

Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 21:07
Reiner,

It's not a real worry until you start dreaming about Pauline wearing nothing but a "G" at the fryer in the Fish and Chip Shop.

AnswerID: 209372

Follow Up By: ZukScooterX90 (QLD)Member - Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 21:14

Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 21:14
Jim, i have seen a lot worse than P.H that i would like to see in a G Stringy. In any place for that matter.:o)))
FollowupID: 469347

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 21:20

Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 21:20
Struth Bob,

You must frequent some sleazy pubs LOL.

FollowupID: 469350

Follow Up By: ZukScooterX90 (QLD)Member - Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 21:42

Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 21:42
Nah, not the pubs Jim people send em via emails.Aparently a lot out there in ciber space coming to a putor in front of you/me.:o)))
FollowupID: 469355

Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 16:25

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 16:25
Yeah I've seen a lot worse than pauline in a G string, a whole lot worse...
FollowupID: 469483

Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 21:19

Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 21:19
Ooooooooooooo,

This is a scary post.........LOL LOL

Michael
AnswerID: 209375

Reply By: galfeysteve - Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 22:23

Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 22:23
I dont mind a lady with guts.An old timer like me would reckon she would be ok in a g string as well.She dont dance too bad neither.Dont know how she popped up here, couldnt have much to do with travelling the country side. steve
AnswerID: 209381

Reply By: 666toy - Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 22:46

Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 22:46
Wonder if they will put the poor girl in jail again for telling the truth....how many people here really believe Muslim are of benefit to Australia.
Weather you like it or not she is back & i believe its for the better.
AnswerID: 209384

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 03:56

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 03:56
now your a bad man
FollowupID: 469394

Follow Up By: mfewster - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 10:21

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 10:21
666toy. Was that comment for real? I hope it wasn't, in which case you can disregard the following. If it was. have you actually spent time further out into the bush than the nearest bottleshop? You might start to think about the comment by reflecting on why the Adelaide/Darwin train is called "The Ghan."
FollowupID: 469415

Follow Up By: 666toy - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 11:25

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 11:25
1. the comment is for real
2.At the moment Muslim's are a terrorist threat to Australia .fact
3.The comment is baced on CURRANT Muslims not from days gone by (YES I AM AWARE OF THE AFGANS OF YESTERYEAR)
4.I live in rural nsw & have travelled more than most around Aus & overseas
5.Give me one good reason i should trust a Muslim after 9/11,Bali bombing & the London bombings.(Muslims seem to condone these actions rather than condemn)............................666TOY
FollowupID: 469422

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 12:13

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 12:13
Toy old mate, settle petal.
If an aboriginal person sees a white driunk should he then think that all whites are drunks ? Silly question, isn't it.
And yet we lump all muslims in with the radical killers.
I happen to know some very nice muslims. I believe most of them are normal people with normal aspirations. They just have a different religion. Most of them won't have a bar with terrorists, just like you and I.
In fact one of the muslims I know is a 4wder who likes to have a beer in Friday. You couldn't meet a more Aussie type (yes I know it sounds strange but true...they're not all card carrying flag burning radicals).
I understand your concerns. They are the concerns of all civilized people.
But please shoot straight.

FollowupID: 469438

Follow Up By: 666toy - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 12:43

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 12:43
I will take that last line to heart I.T.S.H.T.F here in AUS Footloose.
A muslim that drinks ???? is that not against there CULT bet he dont get 72 virgins when he kicks the bucket lol
FollowupID: 469446

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 13:16

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 13:16
666, yes. He was born here, his wife converted and so did he to please her.
He's also a highly intelligent man who has a very important job. But more than that, he's a nice bloke.
Dunno about you, but I rekkon if I mistrust all in a particular religion then we might as well turn the clock back at least 800years, buggar daylight saving.
FollowupID: 469453

Follow Up By: mfewster - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 14:26

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 14:26
666, I think your argument is really with fundamentalists, not Muslims. Fundamentalist Christians, Muslims, Hindus, Jews-whatever believe they are right and there is no room for other opinions. That is what makes them a fundamentalist. I wont bore you with a history lesson, but it doesn't take too much reading to find out that Muslims have always been very respectful of other religions (but be careful that what you are reading isn't from Christian fundamentalists who have their own axes to grind.) I reckon that fundamentalism is a state of mind of highly insecure people. The same person who is a fundamentalist Muslim would have been a fundamentalist Christian or Jew etc etc if they had been born in a different spot.
But- the quickest way to turn a community into a hot bed of inward looking recruiting grounds for extremists is to demonize that community so that they draw back in on themselves. And that's what we are tending to do - which is exactly what Bin Laden etc want.
I think Footloose has the right idea. Say gooday to some muslims and chat with them.
FollowupID: 469465

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 15:06

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 15:06
>but it doesn't take too much reading to find out that Muslims
>have always been very respectful of other religions

And it doesn't take too much living in a fundamental Islamic society to realise your statement is utter rubbish.

FollowupID: 469469

Follow Up By: mfewster - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 15:56

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 15:56
Read what I said Mike. I have no disagreement with you about the misery of living in a fundamentalist society. Muslim is not the same as fundamentalist. "Christian" is not the same as "fundamentalist Christian." either. And Muslims are much more likely to become followers of the fundamentalist lot if we are stupid enough to isolate and demonize them. It is part of why what we did in Iraq was so dumb and showed zilch knowledge of the muslim world. Bin Laden's crew hated the Baathists. By invading Iraq, we turned the terrorists into heros with the Baathists.
FollowupID: 469476

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 16:08

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 16:08
>Read what I said Mike.

I did. Stop lecturing people. There are enough people, already, on this forum who do that.

>I have no disagreement with you about the misery of living
>in a fundamentalist society.

Rubbish! I didn't say that. It has been my observation that people living in fundamental Islamic societies do not live in "misery". Wherever did you get that impression from, a newspaper?

It looks, very strongly, as if you, like many who post to the internet on this topic have only experienced Islam in The West. It is quite different in it's "home" countries. Islam is a way of life, not a religion.

Perhaps I could ask: what is your exposure to and/or experience of an Islamic society or culture?

FollowupID: 469480

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 16:16

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 16:16
And what is your exposure to fundamentalist Islamic societies, Mike ?
FollowupID: 469482

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 16:37

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 16:37
I hear that there not going to let Santa in to Australia this year because he has a bead and wears head coverings,

PS if he tries too they will lock him up on Christmas inland
FollowupID: 469486

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 16:40

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 16:40
Richard, that's awful. My wife rekkons we need some "rain dear".
FollowupID: 469487

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 16:48

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 16:48
>And what is your exposure to fundamentalist Islamic societies, Mike ?

Lebanon, Jordan, Saudi Arabia, Iraq, the Trucial States, the Yemen - working, and living, with the locals installing generators and power supply systems.

And what is your exposure to fundamentalist Islamic societies, Jim (Footloose)?

FollowupID: 469491

Follow Up By: mfewster - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 17:02

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 17:02
Mike H. You seem to have a problem with the English language. Read your original post again. I paraphrased you. Like I said, I would find living in a fundamentalist muslim society pretty awful (or miserable.) I would find living in a fundamentalist "anything" society pretty unpleasant.
So you have no problems with people posting statements such as that which began this discussion, but see any disagreement as "lecturing"?
Yes Mike, I have worked with Islamic communities as well and while I blush to give the details, I have also worked at Ministerial advisor level in the area.
One of the areas that I really agree with our PM is on the abysmal lack of knowledge of history in our country. If we want to understand Muslims we had better start to do a hell of a lot more homework before we make the sorts of statements that started this exchange.
FollowupID: 469492

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 17:18

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 17:18
mfewster:
You don't seem to understand what the word "paraphrase" means. I made no mention of the "awfulness" of living in a fundamental Islamic society - I have done so and it wasn't "awful" for me and also not so for those Muslims I knew in that situation. You seem to have a peculiar view of Islam?

>I have worked with Islamic communities

But, like other pontificators on this forum, you have not lived in a fundamental Islamic country yet you feel qualified to rabbit on about it.

I dunno. Frankly; I'm fed up with the lot of you - lot's of opinions but little experience.

FollowupID: 469494

Follow Up By: 666toy - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 17:53

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 17:53
I wonder if those muslim basterds that bomb,d BALI & killed a freind of mine had any remorse or understanding of HIS &my culture!!!!!! & you seriously believe i should respect them ?? are you nuts !!
Cut the head off a snake & the body dies.....DEPORT ALL MUSLIMS yes even the Australian born (after all you ask a SIBLING of lebonise or asian muslim where is his home country i bet he dont say AUSTRALIA even if he is born here). Islam is a cult that needs to be squashed before it can do any more damage here in Australia.
As for islam respecting other religions .......BULL S@#T ...RELIGION OF PEACE MY ASS..
I admit most likely not all are bad BUT the only way to compleatly stop the problem is to ELIMINATE the problem cult from go to woa without any exceptions.
I met a UK teacher in SAUDI ARABIA when i was working there & she had stated that she often been on the recieveing end of abuse because she was christian.
FollowupID: 469498

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 18:02

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 18:02
And which ones would you catagorize as fundamentalist Islamic societies, Mike ?
FollowupID: 469499

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 18:05

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 18:05
666, What about the crusades ?
FollowupID: 469500

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 18:15

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 18:15
>And which ones would you catagorize as fundamentalist
>Islamic societies, Mike ?

You don't know enough to make that decision for yourself?

I suspect not.

Have you ever been out of Australia Jim? I seem to recall a post
by you (can't recall if it was on the newsgroups or here) to that
effect?

FollowupID: 469503

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 18:22

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 18:22
Mishael, you're telling the story. And your memory is faulty. As for suspecting anything...well...another trait that has not served you well in the past, has it Michael ?
FollowupID: 469505

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 18:25

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 18:25
Just curious Jim: have you ever been out of Australia?
FollowupID: 469507

Follow Up By: 666toy - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 18:25

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 18:25
What about the crusades footy ? that was in the past i am talking modern man & christians have evolved from that crap! But that is half the problem islamics still believe that they can force religion onto people with force aswell as believing that all christians are inferiour to them.
Me personally i believe in the beer god & his 24 frosty amber angels maybe muslims need to as well ;)
FollowupID: 469508

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 18:30

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 18:30
Michael, you know I have.
FollowupID: 469509

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 18:31

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 18:31
Jim: I don't.

Tell us about your international travels?
FollowupID: 469510

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 18:32

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 18:32
666, I agree with all of that also. And one more, live and let live. I also agree that more of our immigrants should embrace and enjoy the things we as a society ascribe to. But mate, reading some of the stuff here isn't going to help em try it on, is it ?
FollowupID: 469511

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 18:40

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 18:40
Somehow I think Willem's first reply to this topic was quite correct.

The Vic bush fires look pretty bad guys, Don't you think??

FollowupID: 469512

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 18:47

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 18:47
Mike, what would be the point of doing that here ?
FollowupID: 469514

Follow Up By: mfewster - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 18:49

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 18:49
OK Mike, so how do you feel about 666toys post 17? A fair statement? You want to distance yourself from it or not? I have no problem with wanting to get the bastards who do the bombing, but I have a major problem with stereotyping muslims as being terrorists etc etc. That is exactly what the fundamentalist muslims do when they look at the West and stereotype all Christians as being crusaders etc.
666, re post 23. You might like to check up on what the fundamental Christian lot have evolved to (they don't believe in evolution of course) Check out the training given to "missionaries" going into muslim countries in the guise of aid workers. Time magazine(which is pretty pro American isn't it?) did a great expose of this about a year ago. Try finding out about what Lawrence of Arabia was about and why he was so ashamed after the war of his betrayal of the arab people. Check up on the history of the "Shah" and who put him into power. Who gave Saddam the poison gas facilities (and why) and now we now want to seem him hanged because he used them. And so it goes.You might not want to look at history, it gets a bit uncomfortable, but the Arab countries have got some pretty good grounds to be distrustful of the West. Is it fair enough for them to stereotype all "Christians"?
Everytime we stereotype we reinforce the position of the "crazies" and isolate the traditional muslims.
FollowupID: 469515

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 18:57

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 18:57
Get outside this country boys and see what life is really like....

FollowupID: 469517

Follow Up By: 666toy - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 19:04

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 19:04
mfewster if you believe muslims are hard done buy then go live in SAUDI ARABIA for 6 months as a christian & see how you get on !
Look personally i could not care if you worshipped a bloody goat just dont kill people in the name of a FALSE GOD or a CULT...ISLAMICS DO
Ahh history how good it is ...we all screw up including some country's but the likes of 9/11 & bali is unforgivable........666TOY

FollowupID: 469519

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 23:12

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 23:12
"Maybe its not a good idea to delve into the politcal field on this forum as you might find very emotive responses and some devoid of common sense"

Hmmm seems like I was right....! ...lol
FollowupID: 469572

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 23:17

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 23:17
Willem,

Yer right - but it's good fun though ;)

Bilbo
FollowupID: 469574

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 23:26

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 23:26
Now now Willem, think of City Hall and bite yer tongue LOL
FollowupID: 469577

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 23:39

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 23:39
Nah I says wot needs to be said...like it or lump it, AND Stuff City Hall....LOL
FollowupID: 469582

Follow Up By: ZukScooterX90 (QLD)Member - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 10:27

Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 10:27
Don't ya hate when some one is rrrrrright.It has bee enjoyable to read about other people's views,whether it is this topic or another it helps to broaden one horizons just like going camping or 4x4driving & in my opinion all relevent to our lives.:o))
Have a good day Bob.
FollowupID: 469626

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 05:21

Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 05:21
HI son
FollowupID: 472535

Reply By: Member - eerfree(QLD) - Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 23:14

Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 23:14
The reason she is back may be to do with the upcoming release of a book, by the way I do agree with her policy in regards to multiculturalism.

eerfree
AnswerID: 209390

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 03:57

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 03:57
and what are they?/????
FollowupID: 469395

Reply By: V64Runner - Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 23:21

Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 23:21
Um, er, ah, got it : Please explain !
AnswerID: 209392

Reply By: Footloose - Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 23:57

Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 23:57
No wonder what you think of the womans politics, she certainly evoked a load of diatribe from our esteemed leaders when she made the big come back announcement.
AnswerID: 209395

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 11:00

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 11:00
She does worry them does'nt she. That cannot be a bad thing :))))))
FollowupID: 469418

Reply By: fisho64 - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 00:44

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 00:44
plenty of people whinge about her and other politicians.
But hardly any others are prepared to put their nuts on the line and do the job-for about the same money as a good plumber or brickie or sparkie makes.
Like her or not but you need extremes to find a common middle ground.
AnswerID: 209399

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 04:00

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 04:00
Please think about what you just said
FollowupID: 469396

Follow Up By: ZukScooterX90 (QLD)Member - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 06:59

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 06:59
How long before the new Rudd-er to fall off the Labor Ship.:o))
FollowupID: 469400

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 07:42

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 07:42
Bob,

He'll last a couple of years. Labour needs to get it's collective breath back after being on the leadership carousel for so long. It's like 'pass the parcel' at a kids party LOL
FollowupID: 469402

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 09:45

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 09:45
"Please think about what you just said"

Please explain?
FollowupID: 469413

Follow Up By: ZukScooterX90 (QLD)Member - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 11:11

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 11:11
Gramps, in the need for another Paul Hawke or Bob Keating as all the other Gallah's are still there ah sorry one just got voted out.My blood curdels at the mere thought of some one so remotely like those above even surface again.:o))

Fisho, whom are you asking to explain what!!
FollowupID: 469421

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 13:09

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 13:09
Zuk, go back up this list of followups to my post and you can see where Richard has lectured me to think about what I said but I know not what he means?
FollowupID: 469452

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 16:33

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 16:33
fisho

can't remember it was late last night, I will retract it
FollowupID: 469485

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 23:21

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 23:21
Fisho,

This is what ya said",,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,plenty of people whinge about her and other politicians.
But hardly any others are prepared to put their nuts on the line and do the job-for about the same money as a good plumber or brickie or sparkie makes.,,,,,,,,"

Pauline Hanson is a female,,,,,,,,,she hasn't got any nuts ;)

Bilbo
FollowupID: 469575

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 23:49

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 23:49
Thanks Bilbo

Funny realy I've had about the same drinks tonight and I remember what I was thinking at 1.30pm

LOL.....
FollowupID: 469585

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 23:51

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 23:51
Bilbo, I know you are being lighthearted but I beg to differ, whether misguided or not one thing PH does have is industrial size gonads, the will and drive to use them, and a thick skin. All the required traits of a politician.
Though I dont agree with all she says, you need fringe views to balance out to the middle ground. Just like the middle ground between "tree hugging environmental anti-development types" and "bulldoze, concrete and subdivide" types.

If all pollies were meek mild-mannered school teacher types, who would raise the difficult issues for discussion?
FollowupID: 469586

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 00:11

Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 00:11
Fisho,

Yer right - she has got balls. I find her quite refreshing, interesting and a thought provking but not overly intelligent counterfoil to some of the apologist drivel that emanates from Canberra.

For God's sake - some things are just plain wrong! We don't have to keep making square pegs fit into round holes! She just tells people what they don't want to hear - bit like Billy Connolly, tell it like it is.

Bilbo

FollowupID: 469591

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 21:29

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 21:29
I have to admit I actually voted for her in two elections here in WA.
what choice did I have, if she scares the Libs we get better policies, if she scares the labour we get better opposition.

I also believe she says what many Aussies think and are too shet scared to admit.

Reading the Perth Sun today they have admitted that a large percentage of ppl from Africa come into Aussie with diseases that have the capacity to kill Aussies because they are not detected in Africa for various reasons.

Love her or hate her, she has the same right as you and I, to attempt to be elected to Parliament, we get what we deserve in Parliament because we voted them in there, maybe it's time again for a change.......
just a quick thought can she win.....again ???

Nope I'm not racist in any way, have some good Abbo mates and Asian to, but admit don't really know any 'terrorists' but shet would they tell me they were terrorists anyway, what do they look like, three eyes or two noses.
I treat ppl as they treat me....
FollowupID: 469912

Reply By: Member - Jack - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 07:03

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 07:03
Ahh .. poor old Tony Abbott will have to start up another slush fund! Damn!!

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 209409

Reply By: Footloose - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 09:54

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 09:54
Her problem is not so much perception, as delivery and being naieve.
I personally think of her as the "H bomb", and cringe whenever she opens her mouth.
However she's prepared to give it a go, so you have to admit she's trying. (very!)
Looks like the dirty tricks dpt that we fund will be part of all that full employment that we hear so much about. (tell that to the kids just out of school or the constantly recycled by the agencies "employed").
I was on her home turf yesterday, but nobody with red hair tried to sell me a house. Maybe times are tough in the real estate industry. I think they'll be a lot tougher in politics.

Must be time for another 4wd trip methinks.

AnswerID: 209418

Reply By: cackles - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 10:39

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 10:39
whether you like her not she's one of those "keep the bastards honest" pollies, and I don't think it's such a bad thing to have few of those in canberra reminding the big boys of who they serve.

cackles
AnswerID: 209425

Follow Up By: Member - Reiner G (QLD) 4124 - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 11:00

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 11:00
But I don't think we need Hitler's daughter for that........and half a brain would look better too......there is enough people out there talking about stuff they know nothing about and all that small minded racist bull should be a thing of the past too.
This is 2006/7 not the stone ages.

Reiner
FollowupID: 469417

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 11:10

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 11:10
Agree Cackles. It's healthy to have a few loonies in "the house" i.e. Brown, Tuckey, Albanese, Garrett, any Democrat, etc etc :))))
FollowupID: 469420

Follow Up By: ZukScooterX90 (QLD)Member - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 11:26

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 11:26
I think she's right on the money with what she said the other night about the other cultures keeping to there own groups ,which is well enough but they should apply more emphasis on mingling with the semi aboriginals of Australia (us) those that were born here & to talk English (Aust) while they are out & about the streets.
She is saying what a lot of Aussies are thinking & are not prepared to say it it public for fear of stepping on egg shell's & up setting those of whom she is talking & the of it all.:o))
FollowupID: 469423

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 11:33

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 11:33
Bob, perhaps as a nation we are more divided than we care to let on ?
FollowupID: 469425

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 11:35

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 11:35
Al, there are enough kangeroos loose in the top paddock in Canberra without her. After all, we're not only paying them but also suffering from them.
FollowupID: 469426

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 11:47

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 11:47
Aahh Footy. We're constantly bombarded with the benefits and political correctness of multiculturalism and diversity. I don't have a problem with either. I believe our political and social systems are strong enough to cope with radical views.

If enough people vote for her, they deserve to have their voices heard and be represented whether we agree with their views or not. That's a democratic system.
FollowupID: 469429

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 11:54

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 11:54
Al, I am tempted to ask, "Please explain ?"... but I won't LOL
FollowupID: 469430

Follow Up By: 666toy - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 11:58

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 11:58
So REINER G i am a racist because i believe muslims should be deported for saying "i am inferior to them because i dont practice there religion that condones the extermination OR DEGRIDATION of others that will not bow to that religion.?"
THIS IS AUSTRALIA NOT Islamabad . We have our own identity & do not need the troubles of these muslim country's in our own.
By all means come to Australia if your prepared to be a AUSTRALIAN. But stay in your own F@#K,d up country if you just want to come here & cause trouble & be independent of all other AUSTRALIANS.
IF THIS MAKES ME A RACIST THEN SO BE IT ..........by the way i thought islam was a CULT not a race of people!!

.......666TOY
FollowupID: 469433

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 12:04

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 12:04
Al you must be having a good day.
"I believe our political and social systems are strong enough to cope with radical views."
Yep, that's what the "get Pauline" slush funds were for.
It's a pretty strong system that can jail you because you're high profile and dumb.
Democracy is a fine word, but there can be problems with it.
Fined for not voting. But isn't it exercising your democratic right not to vote ?
Are our laws really made by democratically elected representatives, or are they just the fall guys ?
Do you encourage democracy at the expense of Australia's international reputation and trade ? Hmm...
I don't have the answers, perhaps someone else has.

FollowupID: 469435

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 12:22

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 12:22
Footy, Footy, Footy. You are in one of your rambunctious moods again hahahaha

Democracies, like everything else in life, are not perfect but take heart

What else would they have done with the money :))
We did'nt execute/assassinate her
Would we prefer the USA quasi-voting system?
Everyone knows the bureaucrats run the country, unfortunately :)))
I can't envisage trade embargos if we elect a fish shop owner to Parliament. Good grief, Russia has a paid assassin running the country.

I just find it hilarious that every time her name is mentioned, out come the politically correct and the name calling starts all over again LOL
FollowupID: 469442

Follow Up By: ZukScooterX90 (QLD)Member - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 12:46

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 12:46
Think what could happen (heaven forbid) if there were a next world war.If we are not United as a Nation now we never will be.The immigrants of this country will they stand beside you or will they stand in front or behind.Personally i would prefer them beside me & i think majority would also.Will the others go & fight for their home of birth or will they fight for their adopted nation?I do not know the answer & nor do'es anyone else for that matter & i don't think i would want to find out.
Let AUST. be one people & stand united not divided.:o))
Easy solution.No.
FollowupID: 469447

Follow Up By: Member - Reiner G (QLD) 4124 - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 13:08

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 13:08
Islam is not a cult.........orange people are a cult. Islam is a religion just like Christianity. By the way there is many more Muslims on the planet than Christians and a much older religion too.
I'm not a Muslim but I'm a strong believer in live and let live. Because there is a few angry radical Muslims they all have to leave the country?
I thought all this bull has stopped 60 years ago?
What about all the Christians living in Muslim country's? They have to go home too where ever home is........I believe trouble maker need to leave but all Muslims?

Reiner
FollowupID: 469451

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 13:36

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 13:36
>Islam is not a cult

Actually it is – as are all religions.

>By the way there is many more Muslims on the planet than Christians

Incorrect.
Site Link

>and a much older religion too.

Incorrect. Muhammad lived 700 years after Christ.

>What about all the Christians living in Muslim country's?

Where do you mean? Lebanon, perhaps?

I have lived in fundamental Muslim countries in the Middle East and, believe you me, there is one hell of a lot less tolerance there towards _any_ other religion than is the case in The West.

There are two pertinent issues for many ordinary Muslims in Oz:
1 - They need to integrate much more.
2 – They need to fully condemn terrorism – not turn a blind eye or try to excuse it.

When the first bomb goes off at 5pm on a Friday in Flinders Street Station or Oxford Street attitudes will change and Australians, whatever their origin, will be forced to decide which side of the Politically Correct fence they _really_ do sit on.

mike_harding@fastmail.fm
FollowupID: 469454

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 15:43

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 15:43
Mike,

I agree with you 100% mate. Like you, I've lived and worked in Islamic countries. There is little or no tolerance in any of 'em fpr "infidels". Even when you're busting a gut to help 'em - like I was.

",,,,,,,,,,When the first bomb goes off at 5pm on a Friday in Flinders Street Station or Oxford Street attitudes will change and Australians, whatever their origin, will be forced to decide which side of the Politically Correct fence they _really_ do sit on,,,,,,,,."

Now that will be the "TELLING TIME" for all Australians. If us Aussies want to know what our future holds - have a look at the United Kingdom. I have relatives in the UK and they often tell me that they cannot believe how they "LOST ENGLAND". They can't understand how subtle and insidious the changes were,,,,,,,but looking back they can clearly see how it was done and the mistakes they made by accepting it.

The choice is ours.

Bilbo

FollowupID: 469473

Follow Up By: 666toy - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 18:11

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 18:11
Truer words have never been spoken Bilbo.
I worked in Saudi for a while (could not wait to leave) & Christian tolerance was very little.
The UK is a very sorry tail indeed something that does not need to happen here !!
ALL THOSE TOO AFARAID TO SAY YOUR FEELINGS STAND UP & BE PROUD TO BE AUSTRALIAN DO NOT BOW TO ISLAMICS IN THIS COUNTRY ...9/11 ISLAMIC TERRORIST...LONDON BOMBING ...ISLAMIC TERRORIST....BALI BOMBING (killing a personal friend of mine) ISLAMIC TERRORIST...SPANISH TRAIN BOMBING ..ISLAMIC TERRORIST...
How long before it is Australia (hopefully never) keep Islamic in islamic country's & deport all islamics who will not renounce there EVIL CULT from this one!!!
FollowupID: 469502

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 18:19

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 18:19
666, I do hope you're not trying to incide racial intolence and violence. Unlike some of the countries full of the people you appear to hate, we have laws against it here.
FollowupID: 469504

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 18:23

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 18:23
666toy:
I feel you're going a little over the top here.

Not everyone in Oz who is Islamic is a terrorist - most Muslims are perfectly reasonably people.

Let's hang on a while and see what happens before condemning everyone?

FollowupID: 469506

Follow Up By: 666toy - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 18:46

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 18:46
Ok footy i am not inciting anything just using my democratic right to voice my opinion .I am asking every one who has a genuine problem with terrorists (mostly muslim) to voice themselves. Do i hate islamics ?......if they will not renounce terrorists & condone the likes of that sheik here in Aus ...then yes i do!
Mike..i know not every one of them is a terrorist but every terrorist is a muslim lately....I am sure some are very nice people BUT it is there cult that is the problem......In the meantime i would like to make every one aware of the GOD OF BEER & HIS 24 FROSTY AMBER ANGLES ....all hail the god of beer ;)
FollowupID: 469513

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 19:01

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 19:01
666, what can I say ? My personal views on terrorists are extreme, far worse than our western courts.
But I recognize that they are a minority in most Muslim countries, and certainly in the monority here.
I think that learning enough English to be able to have a simple conversation should be a pre requisite for getting past the door. As should be some form of knowledge and appreciation of our culture.
Religious schools for minority groups that don't use English and teach Australian values should be banned. (Easy, withdraw our taxpayer funding)
Provide on going English Language courses at taxpayers expense to anyone who wants/needs them.
But these are things that are to do with our Govt, not the immigrants.
We often give immigrants a tough time, despite what Paulene says.
If they get a foor through the right door they should be welcomed as prospective Australians.
If not then they can keep their own problems in their own countries.
FollowupID: 469518

Follow Up By: 666toy - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 19:09

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 19:09
NO argument here footy with that last post.
FollowupID: 469520

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 22:38

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 22:38
Holy crap, how do you guys know all this stuff, very impressive.

FollowupID: 469557

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 22:48

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 22:48
Vic, easy. I once met a Vulcan and he said live long and prosper...so I did :))

Age, education, travel, an open enquiring mind. Just for starters of course.
FollowupID: 469562

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 22:53

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 22:53
well there ya go, no matter how much you've had to drink there's always someone who's had more :)
FollowupID: 469564

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 22:59

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 22:59
Yeah, we're a forum of know it alls.
The problem is we all know different things :))))
FollowupID: 469569

Follow Up By: mfewster - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 23:44

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 23:44
Only just got back to the computer. Hasn't this thread grown! Jeeze Mike H, I think I might be in danger of agreeing with you in posts 13 and 17. You might have added that Jews, Christians and Muslims all believe in the same God, the God of Abraham for those of a religious bent. Muslims also believe that Jesus was a prophet. An odd foundation for a sect and worshippers of false gods. Which makes it all more of an in house stoush. Bit like Protestanants and Catholics (now why don't we say all Catholics or protestants are terrorists because some members of both sides did a fair bit of bomb throwing in Ireland until quite recently as I recall.)
So yes, I agree with post 17. But if and when that bomb does go off, will we stereotype and blame muslims, or will we condemn and hunt fundamentalist, terrorist muslims?
FollowupID: 469584

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 14:51

Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 14:51
>Jeeze Mike H, I think I might be in danger of agreeing with
>you in posts 13 and 17.

Oh well… even I get something right from time-to-time :)

>You might have added that Jews, Christians and Muslims all
>believe in the same God, the God of Abraham

Essentially, yes. Makes you wonder why they all put so much effort into trying to kill one another!?

>Bit like Protestanants and Catholics (now why don't we say all
>Catholics or protestants are terrorists because some members
>of both sides did a fair bit of bomb throwing in Ireland until
>quite recently as I recall.)

Depends where you live and what you were born – I spent a bit of time in the midst of that one too – lost a few friends to some IRA bombs in the process. I am reminded of a stand-up comic who did a gig in Derry (Northern Ireland) some time back and he started his act by saying “This will be a non religious show as I’m an atheist”. A woman in the audience called out; “Yes, but which God don’t you believe in; the Catholic one or the Protestant one?” What can you say? :)

>So yes, I agree with post 17. But if and when that bomb does go
>off, will we stereotype and blame muslims, or will we condemn
>and hunt fundamentalist, terrorist muslims?

This is, very much, the nub of the issue – well highlighted.

Like the vast majority of social/national/religious groups most Muslims are good people who merely want to live their lives as best they can. In Islamic countries they live within the strict (by Western standards) rules of Islam and all works well (not so good if you’re female – but that’s another discussion). The problem occurs when they migrate to the West and wish to bring the same standards and practices with them – many of those simply will not work in a Western environment and this is where Muslims who choose to live in Oz, and similar countries, have to start making choices and the most basic of those choices is do they support the attempts by people who hide behind religion to kill and maim under the guise of furthering God’s will. If they do support such practices then they have no place amongst us and will be condemned – otoh if they come out _now_ and condemn, wholeheartedly, such practices then they will win a deserved place in our society and be welcomed. I have travelled around the world extensively but I have never found a country which was prepared to change in order to accommodate my particular requirements – I see no reason why others should be treated differently.

FollowupID: 469657

Reply By: Footloose - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 13:22

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 13:22
Hey, Reiner. Hurry up and wake up out of that dream. This thread is starting to have bad karma written all over it :))
AnswerID: 209451

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 14:13

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 14:13
Quote "This thread is starting to have bad karma written all over it :))"

So right but isn't that so Pauline? You have the campaign in a nutshell

F'loosie for parliament, F'loosie for parliament, F'loosie for parliament, F'loosie for parliament..........
FollowupID: 469461

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 16:04

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 16:04
John, thanks but I'd make a lousy polly. Realism sets in like a Canberra winter.

Legislate something good for the 4wd lobby, get pasted by the greens.
Do something for conservation and environment, get pasted by the 4wd lobby.
And if anyone actually cared, I'd be the subject of slush funds. No doubt I could be linked to drug barons, missing bodies and ladies of the night (wherever you find them..).
Put the press on him. My life would be scrutinized from birth to biscuit. "His 3rd grade teacher reports that he was a little B" etc etc.
"He once took a sniff of Mc Donalds, but claims he didn't inhale...yeah right.
Send an intern after him if all else fails. "AAh did NOT have any dealings with that girl" (as long as unmentionable activities in groups of more than two don't count .)
Immigration "Don't knock immigration, its saved a lot of kids lives"
The environment "Yes, I think we have to save it. I've already asked the PM to send the military"
Economy "Its easy to give you...the people...more money. We just have to print it"
Daylight Saving "If you want daylight saving just take it to the bank"
Water ? "Shower with a friend"
Defence ? " All 4wds should be compelled to have a bullbar fitted"
Conservation ? "Eat less and conserve more"
Health ? " The problem is the Gap. And as its in Brisbane I have no comment"
Joining with NZ ? " I say no. Australian sheep are for Australians !"
Social services ? "What social services ? Everyone is emplyed, remember ?"
Radical fundamentalists ? "Please explain !"

Aaaargh ! Bring back the chip lady !!
FollowupID: 469478

Reply By: Noldi - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 14:42

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 14:42
Mmmmm, definately not a good topic for exploreOz, lets get back to cars, holidays and beer, the G-string bits ok ;-)

AnswerID: 209456

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 16:08

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 16:08
Only G strings attached to females please mate :)
FollowupID: 469479

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 16:43

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 16:43
Noldi, Politicians are like 4wd tyres!!, they go round in circles until they wear out, then get thrown on the rubbish pile.

FollowupID: 469489

Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 16:41

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 16:41
Fair go you guys & Gals... See what interesting & thought provoking responses we have in this thread. I don't agree with a whole lot of what is said but I'll defend to the death your right to say it!
Nawwwwwwwww For me I give Pauline the big thumbs up! I'm frankly sick & tired of the namby pamby attitute to these people who would try and convert us.
I reckon that if you live in Australia and want to become a citizen you should by lawful decree or voluntarily before you can get:
Any Welfare
Drivers Licence
or a National Identy card (to be introduced in 2008)
be able to speak & write english & say I am an AUSTRALIAN before declaring your religion. This attitude of even the moderate muslims saying they are Muslim Australians should not be on, you don't hear Mormons, SDA's, Anglicans, Catholics et al putting their religion before their nationality.
To do some of these people justice though I'd be proud if I had a Muslim son or Daughter who signed up to join the Life savers at Bondi or Cronulla...
And to be fair to Pauline, the last time she had a go she had the others shaking in their boots to the point where they got dirty to get rid of her, the fact that she was niave did not help her and she was shafted by members of her own party if I recall...
I'll hop off my soap box, have a cuppa & a Bex and a lie down...
AnswerID: 209468

Follow Up By: Hairy - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 16:48

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 16:48
Well Said Mr Fawlty!!!!
FollowupID: 469490

Follow Up By: 666toy - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 18:51

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 18:51
TRUE STORY MR FAWLTY
FollowupID: 469516

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 22:42

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 22:42
I agree ..... how can they read road signs if they don't understand our language?
FollowupID: 469560

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 00:19

Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 00:19
Shaker

I can read the road signs

But don't understand the Langauge

Am I a THEY

Richard Kovac
FollowupID: 469593

Follow Up By: Shaker - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 08:49

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 08:49
Unless somebody else is writing your posts, you obviously have a good command of the language. So, don't be ridiculous.
FollowupID: 469736

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 20:54

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 20:54
So please tell me witch which is wright right and how mant to too two's are there their over here hear we speek engish don't we?
FollowupID: 469904

Reply By: Shaker - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 17:37

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 17:37
Good on her, she says what a lot of Australians haven't got the guts to say!
AnswerID: 209482

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 19:21

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 19:21
Yes she does. Sadly much of it is innacurate, biased, misleading or just plain wrong.
For example her bit about people flooding in from Africa with AIDS. Since when didn't we have one of the toughest health checks for immigrants in the world ? And we do have it, I know from experience.
And whatever happened to the Asians flooding the country and taking our jobs ? Oh thats right, different threat now. Maybe she eats asian food now instead of fish and chips :))
Perhaps it's just the way it comes out. Certainly it appeals to a section of society.
But then look at some of the pollies those people have voted for in the past.
Being naieve is only cute until you say vote for me. Then it becomes a liability I rekkon.
FollowupID: 469521

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 20:55

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 20:55
QUOTE: "Since when didn't we have one of the toughest health checks for immigrants in the world ?"

Precisely why we had to either stop the boat people from coming here, or keep the detained in isolation here or send them offshore!
I can't believe people were demonstrating to have them released into the community prior to quarantine.
FollowupID: 469536

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 22:16

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 22:16
I think we'd all get a shock if we REALLLY knew what diseases get through immigration these days.

Have a look around you - for how many years was Australia free of tuberculosis? Now it's back amongst us. Until about 5 years ago - who'd ever heard of Japanese Encephalitis? It's now quite common and there was almost an epidemic in WA two years ago. So how did they get in? This is the truth of our immigration heatlh checks. Not too flash I'm afraid.

Bilbo
FollowupID: 469554

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 22:37

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 22:37
Ok Bilbo I had a look around me and found the following :
Japanese Encephalitis is spread by mosquito. They come in via the islands of the Torris Strait or on ships cargoes etc.
TB is a scary disease as it can be spread by coughing. But its a lot longer story than that. Drug resistant strains have been found in mainly in western countries AFAIK. So the possibility of TB being spread is pretty high if you visit, say, UK and are unlucky.
Fact. If you're an immigrant, you are screened for TB. ANY traces of it, past or present and it's no thank you very much.

FollowupID: 469556

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 22:40

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 22:40
QUOTE: "Fact. If you're an immigrant, you are screened for TB. ANY traces of it, past or present and it's no thank you very much."

And ..... if you are an illegal immigrant ???
FollowupID: 469559

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 22:45

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 22:45
I asume that it would depend upon whether you got caught or not ?
And if you got caught, whether you're applying to stay.
FollowupID: 469561

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 22:53

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 22:53
I knew a woman who lived here and married an Australian citizen. She went to visit her daughter overseas before she could take out citizenship.
She had to apply to come back in on a visa. They did a TB test, and she had traces of it in a kidney (I thought it was only lungs). At her own expense, she had that kidney removed. No trace of TB.
But she still wasn't allowed in because it might have re occured, thus costing the taxpayer.
The result was divorce and heartbreak.
Thats how tough they are .
FollowupID: 469565

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 22:26

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 22:26
who?

AnswerID: 209530

Reply By: Bilbo - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 23:10

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 23:10
There are a few on here that, like me, haved lived in Islamic countries. But most have not. It's difficult for those that haven't lived in these countries to really understand the depth of commitment that Mulims have to thier religion. I will try to explain later how that very commitment is the very threat.

The majority of Australians find satisfaction, strength, happiness in may ways - one of which is NOT religion. For the majority in Australia, religion is not important. Personal beliefs yes, maybe, but not religion. There's a world of difference between religion and belief. We find all we need in big cars, a big house, a happy family, mateship "meat pies & Holden cars", The Bush, beaches, fishing, a BIG TV screen, a larrikin image, beer, "The Good Life" - many many things. It all we need. It's all we've ever asked for. We don't seem to need anything else - sad though that may seem.

But with Islam it's different. As someone said on here - "Islam a way of life". Just like the above Australianisms are a way of life to many of us. The religion of Islam is what keeps them going, it's thier "raison d'etre", it's why they are here on this planet. It rules everything they do.

A father will not object to having his daughter stoned to death for adultery - because he is a Muslim, a mother will say nothing if her son has both hands removed because he is a thief - she's a Muslim. A man will bomb his own country and the people in it - he's a Muslim. These are examples of the depth of faith that they have.

It rules every judgement they make. Islam is above all else.

Remember that these people are not Islamic Fundamentalists or Islamic Terrorists. These people are "regular guys" like you and me. They believe in Islam like nothing else on earth.

So if and when it comes to a showdown, a schitfight, in this country over who's gonna be running things, they might seem like innocuous people now, your next door neighbour whose lawnmower you borrow every second weekend, who you've known for years - what side will he be on after listening to the instructions of his Immam ? You are not important. His religion is. If the Immam says "Kill", then he or she will "Kill". Thier religious leaders and religious texts are way more important than democratically elected poiticians or thier laws.

It's happening in the UK right now and it'll happen here if we continue to adopt "she'll be right mate" or keep listening to the apologists.

I have never had a serious, troubling issue with any other ethnic or religious group anywhere I've been in the world, but the tenacity, the intensity of Islam frightens me. It is no different to the Roman Catholic Church prior to the Renaissance. A terrible presence that killed thousands in the name of thier God.

Some things aren't reconcilable, some things aren't meant to mix - oil and water, fish and chips with jam, a Holden with a Ford engine, Paul Keating as a Liberal, etc,etc.

Islam doesn't mix or integrate or assimilate - it takes over. That's the all consuming nature of it. It's MY WAY OR THE HIGHWAY. It will brook no argument. They are superior beings. They can't help themselves. They don't meant to. They believe it. It's thier way of life.

Ignore 'em as a social and political power - at your peril.

Bilbo

AnswerID: 209536

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 23:23

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 23:23
Bilbo, are you telling us that ALL muslims are this fanatical about their religion?
By the way I agree with most of what you say, but I haven't seen the fanatical side.
By the way, recent laws have changed some aspects of Sharia Law in some countries , but sadly not all of the practises.
FollowupID: 469576

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 23:30

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 23:30
If you ask me (and I know you didn't but anyway :), we are using 21st C arguments with people still living in biblical times.
We need a 1500 year old stick ! :))))))
FollowupID: 469579

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 23:56

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 23:56
You used the word "fanatical" not me.

If you are A MUSLIM, you are by default 'committed' to the religion and it's tenets, it's rules and its' rulers.

You cannot be "half a muslim" just like you can't be 'half pregant". If you are a Muslim you do as you are told. Otherwise you are cast adrift, "personna non grata". A person that is born in Islam cannot renounce it. Similarly if you take it up later in life.

You can however be a Christain or even an agnostic in Australia without any finger being pointed at you or any judgement being made.

The last thing anybody wants in this life is to be eternally ignored amongst our peers. So if you're a Muslim - you do as you are told. Think back to Christianity about 600 years ago. If you were not a Christian - you were dead.

What I am saying FL, is that if it ever comes to a showdown, be that an all out fight or something as simple as a article of law, they will favour thier own ahead of others to the disadvantage of those others if needs be. Look at the way Malaysian laws favour Muslims ahead of other Malays - including the Ethnic Chinese Malays that run the country. It's abhorrent to us, but normal practice for them once they are in charge.

There is not the tolerance, the width of the legislation, the mercy, the consideration that we try to show to all ethnic groups.

As a pale example - try catching public transport or a cab in Saudi Arabia and see how far down the dance card the infidels are. It'll open yer eyes.

Bilbo
FollowupID: 469588

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 09:23

Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 09:23
I replied with a long dissertation on the differences between Islamic groups, Shari Law, different countries etc. I then examined the case of Saudi, and Indonesia to illustrate my point. Then I was interrupted and the post didn't get sent (thankfully).
In a nutshell, Muslims aint Muslims, Sol :)))))))
FollowupID: 469618

Follow Up By: Hairy - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 11:05

Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 11:05
"There are a few on here that, like me, haved lived in Islamic countries."
Wadaya mean....Looking at the news I thought Australia was an Islamic Country!!!
FollowupID: 469635

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 15:14

Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 15:14
Spot on Bilbo.

One time I was in Saudi (Hafar al Batin) and spent some time working with some Yanks, Canucks, French and Brits and we all agreed it was impossible to relate to our friends and relatives at home what it was like to work and live there because the experience was so far removed from their world that they simply did not understand - why should they, after all?

FollowupID: 469660

Reply By: The Landy - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 20:28

Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 20:28
What do they say in politics - who cares what they are saying about you, just as long as they are talking about you......if Pauline saw this thread you'd have to think she'd be happy..
AnswerID: 209644

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 09:45

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 09:45
At last a good option..
AnswerID: 209713

Reply By: Bilbo - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 22:43

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 22:43
Hey Footloose,

Front page headline in "The West Australian" newspaper today, accompanied by a report on ABC TV 7.00 pm news tonight. Not very flattering report of our "Health Safeguards for Immigrants".

I can scan and send you a copy if you like - damning stuff. In the meantime, I'll summarise:-

2000 refugees living in Perth - 25% have TB

60% have exposure to Hep B. (Possibly Hep B carriers)

2 of 'em have HIV

101 have malaria

99 have syphillis

(Figures and reports by Dr Jennifer Martin, resident medical officer at the Migrant Health Unit in Perth and Associate Professor Donna Mak. Findings published in The Medical Journal of Australia)

",,,,,,This was depsite refugees having TWO mandatory health checks in thier home country prior to leaving for "Oz,,,,,,,,."

I'm sure Mike H will support me when I say - you can buy ANYTHING in some foreign countries. A medical certificate, a drivers licence, a birth certificate, a passport, a woman, a girl, a boy (if your desires are that way inclined). Footloose, I even had an office boy in Indonesia offer me his elder sister for as long as I was working in Indonesia - one million rupiah!! Not a lot considering I was there for year!! She was an OK woman as well!!

But I digress,,,,,,

",,,,,,,,,according to DIMA (Dept of Immigration and Multicultural Affairs) refugees who showed possible evidence of TB or Hep B, were allowed into the country but must give an undertaking to report to health service after arriving,,,,,,," - Direct quote FL

Yeah right - "an undertaking". Meanwhile they're speading this schyte all over the rest of us!!

Now FL what what were yoy saying about medical checks hmmm?????????

Yer gotta live there to know it. Going on holiday just ain't as much 'fun'.

My Motto?

K.T.B.O. !!

Bilbo

AnswerID: 209882

Reply By: ross - Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 14:35

Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 14:35
If Pauline Hanson is so pro australian and patriotic how come she got caught with her hands in the till ripping off the aussie taxpayer?
Sounds like something she accuses the migrants of
Oh dont tell me it was a conspiracy to frame her and thus discredit her.

And for those who support her,what are her other policies besides kicking migrants in the head or making them learn all of Banjo Pattersons poems?
There are the more boring day to day things like the hospitals and schools but I think that would be a brain drain for Paulines narrow attention span.

What about the people she surrounded herself with last time? All the skinhead gangs who masqueraded as concerned citizens,every nut in town like her "weapons adviser" that believes the federal government is responsible for the Port Arther massacre to discredit gun owners.

What happened to all the money donated to her cause?.
I dont remember the exact figures but it was over a million bucks.

I look forward to the day when her "after death video" becomes time for it to be played.
AnswerID: 209969

Follow Up By: Member - Reiner G (QLD) 4124 - Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 16:28

Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 16:28
You made my day Ross and I'm sure there is others who can see the bull%$@#.
Thanks for making me feel better mate

Reiner
FollowupID: 470007

Reply By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 00:17

Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 00:17
She can always go back to Macdonalds.
They are always on the lookout for red headed clowns.
AnswerID: 210070

Reply By: Bilbo - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 01:34

Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 01:34
Knock her all you like boys. Just like the English that pilloried Enoch Powell in the 60s with his "Rivers of Blood" speech in The UK House of Commons. He lost his position as minister and was eventually kicked out of poltics. Sound familiar?

Now look at the UK. They're now wondering WTF hit 'em!

In a generations time you'll wonder WTF happened to this land of "Oz".

As for this "I'm not a racist" theme - that we all use from to time - well, I AM!!,,,,,,,,,depending on the race involved!

I'm more into Self Preservation than Political Correctness.

Remember you heard it here first ;)

Bilbo
AnswerID: 210073

Follow Up By: ross - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 02:20

Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 02:20
Bilbo ahve you ever considered its the likes of Enoch Powlell that make it all happen.
FollowupID: 470082

Follow Up By: ross - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 02:39

Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 02:39
Bilbo have you ever considered its the likes of Enoch Powlell that make it all happen?
Many of Powells speeches have become fodder for Nazi skinheads and other white supremacists
Instilling fear and hatred into the broader population makes it harder for migrants to integrate, thus fermenting the race wars which he warned of.

I know there are elements like Sheik Halali who deserve to be challenged but condemning all migrants to be the same is plain dumb and eventually makes a small problem become bigger.

Many people like you conveniently forget that many migrants come here to rid themselves of oppressive regimes and religeous zealots.
I well remember some Lebanese co workers warning me 10-15 years ago about the rise of Islamic fanaticism in the middle east and how they came to australia to escape it.
Migrants like them should be considered our allies ,not our enemies

And didnt some australians condemn meditteranean and european migrants in the 50s with the same brush?
How stupid it would sound now to say the Italians and Greeks are going to take over our country and force us all to become catholics and orthos LOL
FollowupID: 470083

Reply By: Bilbo - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 02:37

Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 02:37
No Ross and I never will. The UK still went ahead with it's agenda, ignored Powell and we're looking at the results of that today.

It's not a pretty sight.

What is it about Islam? We don't seem to have any isssues that emanate from Buddhists, Hindus, C of E, Catholics or any other groups. Perhaps they don't have chips on thier shoulders? Or perhaps they're not intent on taking over the place?

Bilbo
AnswerID: 210076

Follow Up By: ross - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 02:42

Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 02:42
I have yet to see any person of the muslim faith express a desire to take over the place.
Show me where you heard this.
FollowupID: 470084