Having a bad day

Submitted: Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 00:14
ThreadID: 40189 Views:2395 Replies:9 FollowUps:3
Yep, had one of them days today. Went from bad to worse, although my health is the same as it was yesterday and so far my bank balance is too.

I knew it wasn't going to be good when a pair of safety boots a customer had ordered on Wednesday to be air bagged, and paid for up front, got stuffed up. I ordered size 13, they sent me size 12. DAMN!!! One apologetic phone call to say I'll get it fixed.

When I get off the phone there is a message to call back a lady who is waiting on her shirts that are being embroidered for the Xmas function that her company is having at Perth zoo tomorrow, and wants to know what time they will be delivered

Yes Judy, that is a very good question. Where are your shirts?
Phone calls back and forth soon reveal that the wholesaler never received my order, hence the shirts were never delivered to the embroiderer, hence its Friday afternoon and I'm in the sh*t. A quick call to PEP couriers and for a $42 fee they will pick up from Osborne Park and deliver to Maddington by about 1:00pm.

Not long after that I got a call from a customer who I promised their order of 5 pair of boots would be delivered at lunch time and I assured her everything was fine, our van will be leaving soon and he is going right past your door so he'll drop them in after lunch, yep, no worries. So I busily go about my normal stuff for an hour or two until hunger sets in.

I walk out the door to go to the deli for lunch and WHAT THE?????
That box of boots is still sitting on the bench near the roller door and the van is LONG GONE. A very apologetic phone call and now I will be delivering them across the other side of Perth on Saturday morning.

At about 3:30 I call the embroiderer to see how those shirts are going.....WHAT SHIRTS? They're not here mate!!!

I call the couriers, the girl calls the driver, the driver is adamant he delivered them at 12:15 and has a signature.

I call the wholesaler who sheepishly says, yeah sorry, they're still here. I must have given the courier someone elses order!!!!

Sh*t, now I'm starting to get annoyed. I ask if there is anyone who lives south of the river who can take the shirts home and I'll pick them up after work and I'll have to go to the embroiderer first thing Saturday morning, wait while they're being done and deliver them to the zoo while I'm on my way delivering the boots to Balcatta.

OK, all sorted. I've got a few things to do Saturday morning but customers will be happy and my reputation is relatively intact.

After locking up I wander down the car park where a few guys usually have a beer on a Friday and I'm thinking I'll chuck some gold coins on the table and grab a beer before I go home. No beer. Fridge is empty, everyone is grumpy and tyred and they are all going home.

OK, no worries. As I'm walking to my car I'm joking with Pat the panel beater and I throw something at him I found in the car park I thought was his, but my aim is off and it hits the side of a car he has just finished and the customer is picking it up in the morning!!!

Yep, you guessed it!
I've chipped the paint!
In the front panel!
The one he's just painted!
And the customer is really pedantic and I'm a dick head and now I'm feeling really good and what else is gonna happen today???

As I said above. At least my health is the same as it was yesterday and so far, so is my bank balance.

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 00:21

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 00:21
I'm pleased days like that are not only dealt to me ................. I really hate days like that.

AnswerID: 209398

Reply By: Dave198 - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 00:49

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 00:49
Just as well you have daylight saving now, sounds like your gunna need it.
AnswerID: 209400

Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 01:53

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 01:53
Muzzgit, thank you for posting that quadruple by pass nightmare!!
(I'm now out of the whole sheebang).
What a giggle!! When you Sand Gropers decide to kick up -- Hey, mind yer paintwork, 'ol friend.
Gees mate, put 'em all on Ipod (or 'thingo'). At the rate you're going, you'll have enough for a trilogy by Chrissy. Then you can just lie back and supplant both Crocodile Dd and that Pommy bird who wrote about the weird kids in England;(well, that leaves the field rather more open than originally intended).

DO IT Muzz! Record it, and self-publish. (EO customers might buy 4 copies? Yeah, right) (My daughter has been a speech therapist for just a couple of years, yet her retelling of incidents has us spellbound. Disgust. Horror. Intrigue.Amazement, and mainly bloody Humour.
Ah mate, you probably won't get this 'till Sat., but thanks for the giggle. (And if you really believe that your health hasn't suffered from that little lot----). Jeff H.
AnswerID: 209406

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 07:50

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 07:50
ROFLMAO

Should have been in the Friday Funnies post. Now that that's out of the way, it should be plain sailing for the next twelve months :)))))
AnswerID: 209410

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 09:59

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 09:59
Had one of those on Wednesday.
Taken me to Friday to feel I am even starting to catch up.
Nothing like having your own business, and being every one else's slave.

Great thing about customers, without them you starve, most are good, and a few create hell. Mostly because your devining about schedules got the timing wrong.

Of course, as you grow with more turnover, you end up on the end of a supply line, which doesn't always flow smoothly. Well, occasionally it flows smoothly.

But the great part is when it does go well, you have a customer who gives you a great smile and a really appreciative thank you, and you make some money.

Now there is the little matter of trying to get some time off this year for a trip, and finding some one to baby sit the business so I have one to come back to. So far it owes me 42 weeks of annual leave and over 30 weeks of long service leave. We did get two weeks off a couple of years ago. Madness drives me to go on the road. :-) Why I like touring in a 4wd, no phones, no customers nearby.
Next year I have promised myself 6 weeks off, I might end up with 3.

Now remind myself why I have been doing this for over 30 years. Because I like it.

Have a good week end, whenyou get around to it.
AnswerID: 209421

Reply By: V8Diesel - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 11:43

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 11:43
Ohh man, what a Barry Crocker of a day that was! I know the feeling.

Don't get too worked up about it mate, those personal apologies and hand deliveries will go a loooong way to sorting any gripes. It is an all too rare quality in folks these days to find someone who's straight up with you and takes responsibility.

I'd do business with you any day.
AnswerID: 209439

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 12:14

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 12:14
Hi Muzzgit, Yesterday has gone and by the time you read this you will have done all the couriering that you need to do so sit back take a deep breath and relax in the knowledge that you did your utmost for your customers and if they don't appreciate that well then maybe they are customers that you can do without. Monday is another day with a fresh start.
With that kind of service, like V8diesel we would happily do business with you too.

D&B

Simba, our much missed baby.

AnswerID: 209444

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 15:40

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 15:40
I feel better now.

Merry X-mas and happy New Year to You and yours .
AnswerID: 209457

Reply By: Doggy Tease - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 21:06

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 21:06
You need some relax therapy.............................

go buy yourself a new Dove.........lol

meow.

rick.
p.s. sorry mate couldnt help meself......:)
AnswerID: 209518

Follow Up By: Muzzgit [WA] - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 13:32

Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 13:32
Ya bugger. te he

Couldn't help yourself could ya!

Yeah, it's all over now except for the panel beater. I will find out Monday morning.

Looks like we will have this camper for a while yet. Finances are a bit stretched at the mo.
FollowupID: 469649

Follow Up By: Doggy Tease - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 17:26

Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 17:26
Well, Leanne has been keeping an eye out for ya, and will let you know if she finds one that Jackie will like......:):):)lol

meow.

rick.
FollowupID: 469671

Follow Up By: Muzzgit [WA] - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 18:47

Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 18:47
Unless the Lotto gods come to the rescue not much is gonna happen. I have been scanning The Sunday Times but it looks like everyone is hanging on to their Jayco's.
FollowupID: 469680