moral advice

Submitted: Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 16:24
ThreadID: 40204 Views:2651 Replies:19 FollowUps:20
i orded and paid for a lokka three weeks ago and was told it would take 4 days to get it i told him i would get it only if he could get to to me quickly he said no worries so i paid for it its been over 3 weeks and still no lokka i have rung but he keeps saying definitly next week he hasn't got it in yet i have nearly run out of time and may have to put everything back in without the lokka. Do I have the right to demand a refund as he could not keep to the agreement ? or am i just being a sook

Reply By: Footloose - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 16:31

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 16:31
I've dealt with businesses like that also. They don't seem to give a fig leaf about your needs, only theirs.
If I agree to a time limit with my customers, or give my word that something will be done or that I'll be there, then I raise heaven and h&ll to adhere to what I've promised.
Sadly this is becoming a very "old world" thing.
Very few seem to care about anything but themselves and the almighty dollar these days.
AnswerID: 209464

Follow Up By: madfisher - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 20:08

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 20:08
Only to true footy, We must have grown up in a different time warp when your word ment something,M y motto was always to deliever twice as much as you promised even if you have to lose your profit to keep the customer. Only had one customer I just could not satisfy in 20 years, and she had unrealistic expections.
FollowupID: 469528

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 20:24

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 20:24
Pete, you're right. My word means everything to me, a concept hard to grasp in this day and age.
Even a friendly email from an enquiry that I know wont result in any sale. Yes it costs money but in the long run what goes around...
I once found that only 20% of email enquiries I made were answered. The silly thing was that every one lost a customer. I've been treated pretty shabbily in the past and there's no way I'm going to do that to anyone else.

Geez...pity I don't own a 4wd shop, eh ? :)))))))
FollowupID: 469530

Follow Up By: madfisher - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 20:58

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 20:58
After 20 years I am in a position where builders and retail customers plead with me to personaly lay their slate tile, but now my knees are stuffed. I started working part time for a local car rental co and by doing that bit extra I can work whatever hours I want to. Mind you it is a pretty cushy job ferring arround new 4bys and cars. THe new toyota Aurion is brilliant
FollowupID: 469538

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 21:03

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 21:03
madfisher, shhhhh. Not too loud, everyone will want a job like yours...hmm..including me LOL
FollowupID: 469541

Reply By: Member No 1- Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 16:32

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 16:32
go in and thump the counter demanding you $$$ back
do not accept no
sit down in corner until he pays up
then go to pub and shout me a beer
fooook its hot here
AnswerID: 209466

Reply By: Bidgee1 - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 16:39

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 16:39
The real moral of this story is "don't pay for goods or services until you have received them". Of course that does not help you now, so I agree, demand your money back immediately and seek assissstance from consumer affairs if you don't get wqhat you deserve.
AnswerID: 209467

Reply By: Member - Barry M (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 17:07

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 17:07
I agree with the above....demand your $$$,be loud,not abusive & threaten with
Consumer Affairs, Fair Trading etc. Do it in person, take some support if you can
& dont leave without the $$.
Next time, I suggest you leave only the min. deposit if required & pay only when
goods are received.
Good Luck & let us know how you get on....oldbaz.
AnswerID: 209474

Reply By: dirty dirty 4x4 - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 17:11

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 17:11
only problem is i live in qld he s in sa
AnswerID: 209475

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 08:21

Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 08:21
so you gave him credit card details?
FollowupID: 469608

Follow Up By: dirty dirty 4x4 - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 09:44

Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 09:44
it was a mob out of a 4x4 magazine there in there all the time i thought it would be fine i dont want to say who it is because im hoping some strong words on monday will sort it out if not ill get a refund the power of the intenet is a wonderfull thing
FollowupID: 469621

Follow Up By: FZJ 80 - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 21:18

Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 21:18
Dirty,

I had same problem and i suspect same company. Ordered cargo barrier,told 4 days to door,week goes by,ring company,find out order not yet processed,10 days later finally arrived. I was a bit dirty because my LPG fitter was waiting for me as we were going to fit the cargo barrier at same time as tank.
It was a shambles i must say.

Good Luck

Greg.
FollowupID: 469695

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 18:10

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 18:10
did u get it sorted out? If not I think the name should be passed around

FollowupID: 469862

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 07:27

Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 07:27
do they use a lizard in their logo?
FollowupID: 469941

Follow Up By: dirty dirty 4x4 - Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 13:00

Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 13:00
i called him on monday and this time he said it was sent on friday and should be there on monday but guess what it didnt come i presume it will be hare today but who knows if hes telling the truth its not here yet. it was 4wd systems gear to goannawhere. Iwas just about to submit this when the doorbell rang its here at last but that still doesnt make it allright to take so long without him contacting me and telling me why and when just a simple phone or email would have solved this problem will let everyone know how it all goes once it is in
FollowupID: 469973

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 13:23

Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 13:23
same mob that I suspect didnt flush old coolant during a service from previous 100 series with the end result of one stuffed radiator and heater coil...havent been back since
FollowupID: 469980

Follow Up By: Brian (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 22:29

Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 22:29
The level of service from this compant is verging on being bi-polar.

Having bought a number of products from them all I can say is if you hit them on the right day; it all goes smoothly and you are one very satisfied customer; get them on the wrong day and you wish you had gone somewhere else.

I suspect that the only thing keeping them in business is their prices; if ARB/TJM et al ever put a reasonable price tag on any of their products 4wd systems will disappear overnite.
FollowupID: 470071

Reply By: Outnabout David (SA) - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 17:11

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 17:11
If you made it quite clear you wpould buy it only if it was there within a specific time frame and he agrred to this and accepted your money then you both entered into a legal contract. From what you are saying he has now breached that contract and therefore you should demand the money back. In fairness he may have been let down by his dupplier. Check with a couple of other places to see what the actual availability is and then you are armed with everthing you need.
AnswerID: 209476

Reply By: Exploder - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 17:23

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 17:23
That’s why I have started buying stuff from the U.S when i can, for one reason or another their customer service and supply efficiency is miles ahead of most Shop’s hear.

Once I place the order I am told the expected date of shipment
Once I have payed for it, I am notified that payment has been received and the order has been sent.

And if the order is delayed due to a supply problem, I am notified by E-mail and by regular Mail of the parts they are waiting on and revised shipment date.

Then once it’s all done I am sent an E-mail to the tune of

“Thank you for doing business with Summit Racing! We thought you would like to know that the following items have been shipped”

XXX
XXX
XXX

Your order ***** was shipped on 12/06/2006. You should receive it in 1-3 business days.

We appreciate your business and we hope you are pleased with your purchase.

Thankyou for your order

Your friends at Summit”

Then to top it all off I am sent a Free parts catalogue every few months.

I think a lot of Auto shops and 4WD Shop’s could learn a thing or 2 from Operations like this.

AnswerID: 209479

Follow Up By: dirty dirty 4x4 - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 17:36

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 17:36
if only that was the case here if they were calling or mailing me every time it didnt come when they expected it. I might be more willing to keep going with the transaction and just put it in at a later date but not hearing anything except when i chase him down is not good enough
FollowupID: 469496

Follow Up By: T-Ribby - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 17:46

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 17:46
Agreed, there are some really good online businesses. Prestige Communications is one I can think of offhand, plus I've got several bits for my boat from other firms online. I bought 2 GME UHF radios from Prestige, they both arrived at the door within 2 days. Recommended.

T.R.
FollowupID: 469497

Follow Up By: _gmd_pps - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 19:43

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 19:43
Exploder,

I agree 100% ... bad experience with many many Australian as well as UK businesses. No answer on emails, wrong information, inflated prices ... you
name it ...

Bought heaps at Summit Racing, Autoanything, DriveWire, Arizona Wind&Sun, Defender Industries, Kennedy Diesel, Cognito Racing, Diesel Manor, TowShop,
Overton (they send me their printed catalogue regularly) ... If some of the aussie shops would only have half the professionalism of some of this US sites I would be happy. And of course Ebay, from HongKong, Germany, US, UK ... Most parcels from the US are here in 5-7 days in many cases quicker than Australian shipments from over East... I really do wonder how many of those businesses here exist.

have fun
gmd
FollowupID: 469525

Follow Up By: T-Ribby - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 10:00

Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 10:00
Bad businesses are still in business because they work on the premise that the majority of their customers are either going to be satisfied, or are not going to complain if they're not.
There are those whose focus is on the profitability of the business, not service to the customer. Fortunately they're not in the majority. Only when the balance shifts away from that comfortable zone will they sit up and take notice. Personal recommendation is the most powerful form of advertising and repeat customers are the bread and butter. Like Texas, there's a lot of cowboys out there.
On the subject of customer service, I was once approached by a P.R. person at an International airport and asked what I thought of the airport experience. Looking around at the empty check-in counters and large queues, I told her that it wasn't an experience, it was a necessary sufferance. While her feathers were still ruffled, I told her to take a trip through Singapore's Changi International airport and see what service was all about.
T.R.
FollowupID: 469624

Follow Up By: ross - Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 14:08

Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 14:08
Its funny that some aussies prefer US shops to buy their accessories because of the better service.
Many americans like the service they get from oz shops.

For me ,mail order is always risky and is the least desirable way to buy anything.

As for dirtydirty 4x4 problem ,it is probably made worse by the xmas mail rush.
I bought ssomething from ebay and it took nearly double the time
FollowupID: 469984

Reply By: T-Ribby - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 17:37

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 17:37
Unfortunately once they've got your dough, you're at the bottom of the pile.
I've been on the receiving end of some serious crap treatment from 4wd shops/fitters
over the last 6 weeks trying to get some bar work done. I'll be naming names after Christmas
It is a busy time of year, but 30 seconds to make a phone call?. Nope, you just get
ignored. Demand the refund - he has let you down.
good luck

T.R.
AnswerID: 209481

Reply By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 17:59

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 17:59
I could add my two cents worth, but at this point in time it would be prudent to advise you to contact the consumer affairs organisation in your state.

If they cannot supply a product/service in a timely manner then it would not be unreasonable to get your money back. If the company wishes to contact you when they actually have the stock on hand then may agree to that.
AnswerID: 209485

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 18:17

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 18:17
dd4,

I think you would be well within your rights to demand your money back, but I am only a layman. Qld Law Society offer free over the phone legal advice, so seek these guys out in the phone book. If they think you are within your right to demand your money back then have a look HERE to build your own "letter of demand" and send it via registered mail. This way the company you are dealing with knows you mean business and that you have done your homework. If this fails, small claims is your next step.

Hope it works out for you.
Trevor.
AnswerID: 209489

Reply By: Mikee5 (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 19:00

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 19:00
How about a forum member who lives near the supplier (SA) going in to have a face to face with him? Explain the power of the internet, the meaning and of customer service and the value buyers place on it.
AnswerID: 209494

Reply By: smileyfella - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 19:46

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 19:46
I live in SA.
Lets name names. Which retailer?

I guess getting your money back is a given, and what you really want is the goods. At the very least, call and explain slowly and clearly your position
I placed an order for x on xx/xx/xxxx
I paid by credit card / whatever
The goods are not here.
The goods need to be delivered to xxxxx.

And then put the onus back on the retailer.
What are you doing about it.
When he sez, they will here next week, explain that you want something done.
not something promised.
That an express courier ordered must be ordered, and you are happy to wait on the phone for the tracking number.
Put the onus on the retailer to do something, not promise something.
AnswerID: 209502

Reply By: Ron George - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 20:28

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 20:28
Mate I had the same prob, with the same mob, was booked to go to Tassie on the barge, & was going to fit it before I left, had plenty of time... no show, phone calls, blah blah blah... son it`s way... yeah right!!! rang 4 days prior to departure & told em they had 24 hrs to get it to me or the deals off (reinforced with a few choice expletives) It arrived with a few hrs to spare... Not good enough!!! agree with all that`s been said here. Had an experience recently with an Ebay purchase in the states... I stuffed up when I purchased with Aussie $$$s. They still sent the article anyway & Emailed me with a request... "If you find it in your heart to foward the difference we would very much appreciate it" If anyone has had a response like that from an Aussie supplier... Man, I`d like to know about it!!!! Cheers RG.
AnswerID: 209512

Reply By: kev.h - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 22:11

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 22:11
I hope you paid by credit card because you can request a charge back for non-supply or goods then you dont have to argue with the supplier as long as you have done everything reasonable. contact your card co. it works, its a good feeling saying if you do not supply by xxxx i will reverse the charges on the card and then if you supply it, i will pay for it, if i still want it, but only after its delivered. have a nice day then hang up
never fails to sturr them up
Kev
AnswerID: 209529

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 10:17

Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 10:17
Kev,

I never knew this was possible. Thanks for the tip as I will keep it in mind for future reference, hopefully never need to use it but if I do, I will think and thank you for it.

Trevor.
FollowupID: 469625

Follow Up By: kev.h - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 21:50

Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 21:50
Trevor
My pleasure, we have a duty to keep the ******* honest don't feel bad you didn't know It comes as a surprise to some of the retailers when they get their next statement too!
Kev
FollowupID: 469696

Reply By: David from Engine Saver Low Water Alarms - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 20:39

Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 20:39
If you paid for it by credit card: cancel the transaction. You have the right to do that.

If you paid be cheque: cancel it and buy somewhere else.

If you paid up front, give them a fair warning, demand a full refund

Inform the department of fair trading in your state.

AnswerID: 209649

Reply By: V64Runner - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 21:52

Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 21:52
I can remember the dayas when a mans word and a hand shake was the done thing. Now it seems that every business wants to screw the customer for as long as possible until it resorts to litigation. We live in a litigious society - partly due to the Americans who sue for for everything they can. Its a sad indictment of the times we live in - to hell with customer service, just so long as the supplier has been paid the customer can wait till hell freezes over.
AnswerID: 209662

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 07:49

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 07:49
Demanding your money back is one thing ............. you cannot even get the gear you want on time ........what time frame you figure it will take to scare up your monies.

I'm sure you have tried all the ways you can on the phone but one more time in a very calm manner and ask THE BOSS why it has not been sent and you want it NOW in overnight express or your monies back tommorrow. If you cannot satisfy this I will be taking further action via comsumer affairs or small claims what else can you do :)

Me I'd slip on a plane and drop in for a chat :) ............... Maybe wife is correct i have "anger" issues when people pis& me off. Mind you I think I'm more an instructor on a how to treat customers in the do's and DON'Ts :).

AnswerID: 209698

Reply By: Dunedigger - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 08:13

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 08:13
Take Care . the company you ordered the parts from may have a credit problem with their supplier, .If your supplier goes "belly up" they take your money with them.

I am very cautious paying for something that I have not received, Deposit yes . .

Balance on delivery

Dunedigger
AnswerID: 209700

Follow Up By: The Landy - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 08:30

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 08:30
Dunedigger, that is why paying by credit card is the best option every time. If they go 'belly up' before you receive your goods or service then the credit card company (bank) is required to refund the money to you.
FollowupID: 469734

Reply By: Sam from Weipa Auto Electrics - Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 13:37

Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 13:37
I dont understand how business's can operate like that I have had the same problem ordering a lokka from arb in cairns I was down there on holiday a need to get it before I left to go back to weipa and got promised it would be there in time and it wasnt grr but I always tell my customer it will be here a day or 2 after I know its going to arrive that way it gives me some breathing space and make sure I dont dissapoint them and they love it when I ring up early to tell them there part has arrived.
AnswerID: 209960