Want a smoother ride... which shocks?

Submitted: Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 19:21
ThreadID: 40211 Views:2628 Replies:5 FollowUps:6
Have a Courier 2.5 L Turbo Diesel ute.
I guess because they are designed to carry a load, when they are unladen, and on a "patchy" or rough bit of highway, they can have a very rough and bouncy ride.

The people from Rancho assure me the design of their shocks is such that they "dampen" the rebound very well... Suggest 5000 series on front, and 9000 wound down low on the rear.

A 4wd mob here in Adelaide - 4wd systems "Goannewhere" have a 41mm foam cell shocker, which they assure me "dampens" better than any gas or Original Equipment shock.

Thoughts? Experiences?
Am not really interested in which shock last the longest, or will survive a trip through this or that incredibly taxing country, just which will smooth out the ride on the Ute!

Reply By: 666toy - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 19:57

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 19:57
when your loaded are you carrying near 1t. ?
AnswerID: 209504

Follow Up By: smileyfella - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 01:52

Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 01:52
That's the thing. I never carry a load. Just me, and a passenger.

I suspect that if there was a bit of weight in the thing I would probabaly have a lot smother ride.

FollowupID: 469601

Follow Up By: 666toy - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 16:39

Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 16:39
As stated below (your springs not shocks) you might be better off removeing a leaf or 2 if your normaly unlaiden (i did this with a hilux & it worked well for a customer of mine) Spring removal & just a set of gabriel heavy duty shocks should work well for your application. Or you could just carry a few bags of cement all the time ;) ......................hope this helps .....666TOY
FollowupID: 469666

Follow Up By: smileyfella - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 00:14

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 00:14
Thanks.. removing a leaf seems to be the common thought process

I assume from the bottom off the leaf pack? the top leaf would be where the axle locates etc right?

Curious - in terms of replacing the shocks, and trying to improve the smoothness of the ride, any particular reason to go for Gabriels? as opposed to rachos? etc?
FollowupID: 469713

Follow Up By: 666toy - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 00:43

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 00:43
If you just using your vehicle as a daily driver & not a serious off roader why buy premium shocks ? For a standard vehicle that does not get seriously pounded there is no need put ranchos, tough dogs etc. on your vehicle. Gabrieal shocks are fine for general use & a hell of a lot cheaper(not to mention that you probably wont notice any difference). Put the money that you save into your pub fund & have a good night out with the wife or girlfriend (or if you prefer shout me a carton lol!!) Rancho,s ,Tough dogs are good shocks but really overpriced & un necessary for just general use .
Yes the bottom leaf maybe second leaf depending on your set-up & Any helper springs that may be there (heavy load bearers) ........hope this helps....666TOY
FollowupID: 469716

Reply By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 21:05

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 21:05
Smileyfella,
I used to own a courier and I think you will find that the shocks are NOT the issue,It's the springs!.
Yes they are designed to carry a ton but no good when empty,I went and spent $2k on mine(old man emu) and it was a vast improvement because they where designed to use only the top two leaves when empty and when load went on they "toughened up" giving a slightly higher ride than genuine plus more travel
If you just change the shocks I think there maybe an improvement in the handling(on bumps) but it will still kick you in the arse on rough roads
My ute was a dual cab and had "soft" springs and just by putting 1-200kg in the back made a difference.
Shane
AnswerID: 209517

Reply By: hoyks - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 21:15

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 21:15
Taking a leaf out will give a better result than new shocks in your case.

Shocks will help dampen the osculation of the spring, but the springs in utes are so stiff they don’t move in the first place. 1 less leaf will give a plusher ride, or you could go the OME option and get a spring pack that is a bit more sophisticated.

Taking out a leaf will make the vehicle drag it ass though if you load it up, so not recommended if you intend to do intermittent load carrying.
AnswerID: 209520

Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 22:03

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 22:03
Hi Smiley.

I've got OME shocks on mine, and I actually beefed up the rear spring pack by adding an extra leaf to carry the drawers, canopy, roof bars, fridge etc which generall y live in the back most of the time.

I find it quite good. It' s a family tourer most of the time and my daily driver.

There are pics of what I carry all the time on my website, and in the latest 4wd monthly.

If you change the front shocks beef up the front shocker upper mounts (ARB have a kit for it) as they are prone to failure.

Mine also has had the front end wound up to compensate for the winch bar, winch & battery it carries in the front and I picked up some clearance there also.

Can't go too far in the front as you are limited by the upper and lower bump stops anyway.

AnswerID: 209528

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 11:40

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 11:40
Dave,

I just did a double check of the 4WD Monthly mag and hey presto theres your rig.

I presume you are in the Mt Beauty region??

I'm heading that way in the christmas, new year period.

I might see you around the area.

I'm going to be off line until just before christmas so be safe with the fires and hopefully we'll catch up.

FollowupID: 469758

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 12:04

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 12:04
Hi Kev,

Keep your eyes peeled and you might see me. I'm off between the 28th and New Year and hope to get up for Dad's Birthday if things around the state cool down.

You know what the rig looks like. I'll send you a pm with my mobile number.

With any luck there may even be a track or two that aren't bitumen open.

FollowupID: 469764

Reply By: Exploder - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 22:36

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 22:36
Mate I have similar set up on my Explorer with Rancho 9000’s on the back and 5000’s on the front, I leave the 9000’s on setting 6 for everyday driving.

I have fairly beefed up rear spring packs on mine and I find it Ok but then I don’t expect a grate ride out a 4WD anyway.

I had the guys form WA Suspensions rework a set of Lovell’s rased duty leaf packs to get more lift out of them and a firmer ride for when it’s loaded up. The result was the addition of another leaf into the pack’s and some adjustment of the overload leaf now when it’s empty it’s real firm LOL.

I reckon it would be perfect for towing a boat now; too bad I don’t have one LOL.

41mm bore shocks are properly a bit of a overkill for leaf springs and are better suited to Coils as they work the shock a lot harder. The rancho 9000’s are only 32mm compared to the 5000’s, which are 35mm, which I thought was a bit odd. But they are both a Foam cell shock.

AnswerID: 209531