Taking kids fishing
Submitted: Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 20:18
madfisher
The Murray Cod season opened in NSW on the 1st of Dec. so took better half and 11 year old son alway for a few days of 4wd canoeing and fishing.
Blow me down my 11yr old caught a 102 cm Murray Cod on a huge legend lure, Which we were able to video, and he then insisted it be released, maybe their is hope for the future. Mind you I have been fishing for 40years and my biggest is about98cm
Reply By: navaraman - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 20:21
Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 20:21
Good on him, catch and release is the only way IMO.
Patrolman Pat
Reply By: Footloose - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 20:29
Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 20:29
Fish...chips....politics...Nooooo !!
Did he kiss it before release ?:)))
Follow Up By: madfisher - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 20:44
Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 20:44
No but he did give it a pat on the head. The funny thing is I spent 10mins argueing with him about the size of the lure he was going to try and cast, his reply was ( I want to catch a big fish) Its trhe last time I will be offering fishing advice . By shere luck I decided to put 18lb line on his baitcaster that morning. Checked NSW fisheries site and a 100cm Cod goes on average 22.1 kg so I reckon his fish would have given 50lb a shake.
Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 20:56
Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 20:56
I grew up as a mad keen fisherman (not person, women didnt like stinky bait on their hands in those days, it just wasn't done). My son was also a keen fishing person (different era).
Anyway on sons first trip to
cape York son wanted to take a rod but I said no, just a hand line.
When we got there and experienced the fishing, it did something for me and I haven't been fishing since. You see, the fish that we catch here are the same size as the ones they use for bait there. Its the only time I can remember my son saying that he'd had enough fishing.
Follow Up By: madfisher - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 21:10
Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 21:10
If the fishing is to easy it becomes boring. You need to be mentally stimulated which is why I normally chase brown trout cause they are smarter then me . Went out to the Darling in 1972 and caught that many fish I didnot go again for 12mths because it was just to easy. We have been chasing this old cod for about 5 years , but he just needed a different approach and a kids arse to catch
Proud Dad Pete
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 16:27
Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 16:27
Footie ,
I'm the same . Used to have a caravan on eucumbene and was a mad keen fly fisherman . The I fished the Tongariro run twice and lost interest in trout fishing here . Same thing happened to bream and flathead fishing after fishing in the NT every year .
Now I only fish on holidays , and usually only up north .
That was a great cod for the
young fella to catch .
Willie
Reply By: hoyks - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 21:18
Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 21:18
Poor little bugger.
Did you tell him, as far as catches go, He peaked too early and it is all down
hill from here
Follow Up By: madfisher - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 21:33
Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 21:33
Could be sometrhing in that as I caught my best fish in 1972 and still have not beaten it. Different story then we used 50lb handlines for trolling and owned 3 lures between my brother and myself. Mind you I wish I knew what Michael knows about fishing at his age. He has already got a bass on fly. Mind you he already thinks trolling is boring. Took me 30 yrs to come to this conclusion and I still like trolling for natives(fish not women)
Follow Up By: Trekkie (Member - WA) - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 23:06
Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 23:06
Trolling for fish is OK, but not on this
Forum !!
Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 16:34
Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 16:34
Madfisher ,
That's a great story .
I was involved in the tackle industry and boys kids could have had all the gear they wanted and could have gone fishing with me any time they liked - but neither were interested . A great disappointment for me , but you can't force kids into anything .
These days , kids are more interested in playing on a computers , so you must count yourself lucky that he wants to join you . Make the most of it .
That is heartening to hear that he wanted to return it . Maybe there is a future for fishing in Australia .
Willie .
Follow Up By: madfisher - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 18:38
Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 18:38
Willie
He was 6 weeks old when he first went fishing. I use to have him in my backpack while I flyfished. I made him eat the first Cod he caught and scince then he has released them all. Having one as a pet for years makes it pretty hard to kill one. Having both parents who love the outdoors makes a big diff. He still loves his comp. games but he go bushwalking and canyoning with his mother. Hes playing in a band tonight for the xmas carols. Kids need to be taught to be independent so they can cope with life later
Reply By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 16:52
Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 16:52
That's cool, Madfisher.
My 5yo had his first attempt a few months ago in the Tweed River and it was no surprise that he caught 3 bream and I was sulking LOL Plus I had to clean them. More ass than class, I reckon :-))))
Follow Up By: madfisher - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 18:46
Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 18:46
Bware
fishing
camping etc. is the best thing to build a relationship with kids. My 5yo granddaughter is more fishing mad than michael at his age . And you are right they have incredible ass, mind you I get as big a kick watching them catch fish as they do
Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 22:20
Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 22:20
Well done to all of you. You, madfisher for taking the family fishing - it is a great way to spend time with your family. Your son for sticking with his guns on lure selectiion, catching, and particularly for releasing the fish. And to your wife for putting up with all the nonesense I suspect you and son went on with. Bet it was great fun for you all.
I'm still trying to catch my first metre+ barra. Your
young fella has done real
well. Good on him.
Follow Up By: madfisher - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 22:42
Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 22:42
Hi Norm,
Sal was actually videoing this as it unfolded. Mind you I was a bit shocked to hear some of my language in the heat of battle when we replayed it later. The camera was the one from Aldi for $189.00 brought a couple of days before. Sal got one 75cm the previous day which was her P.b. The
young bloke was a bit annoyed at one stage because he though he was missing out.
Goodluck in your quest for a metreplus Barra, If its any conslation I have spent 45
years trying to catch a double fig. trout( in pounds)
Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 22:45
Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 22:45
Well done on a great capture.
I have learnt NOT to tell kids how or what to use when fishing cause they usual use what they want and catch more fish and then you and then they put shi^ on yeal LOL ............ little buggers.
All my kids (3) have been fishing and camping sinse they were 2 and now they go as often as they can for themselves. heading to
Darwin in couple of weeks to spend xmas with the kids and YEP we are going on a fishing trip they have planned.
The tide has turned :) hmmmmm might have to watch the smiling gecko's however
Enjoy the outings you will have a ball and thier will be heaps of stories, the look on thier faces when they catch something is special, or get bitten by a yabby (pink nipper) is also special or chasing crabs all over the sandbanks as they play hide and seek is just a heap of fun and great memories.
Take a kid fishing you will never forget it neither will they :):)
Reply By: Browny66 - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 18:37
Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 18:37
Madfisher,
Well done Mate, great story I'm a pretty keen Native fisher and i'm allways happy too here of them being released especially the bigguns!
Cheers..........Browny