Turbo Charge Caravan Fridge
Submitted: Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 14:39
russellb
Ok so maybe this is a silly idea and maybe not , maybe someone has tried it ?
on our 2nd trip with the new Windsor Rapid and having a look at the fridge. In hot weather, like all absortion fridges, it struggles and the fridge temp climbs above the blue 5-6 deg mark on the little fridge thermometer.
So my choices are:
- Repace it with a 12v compresor fridge (completely out due to expense)
- Install one of those little fridge fans at the bottom of the vent (marginal improvement)
OR (and here's the turbo charge bit)
The van has airconditioning and has 3 hose outlets running through the van. 2 up high in the main cabin and the 3rd in a pretty useless spot: about 8 inches above the door
well bouncing off the opposite cabinet wall on the other side of the door
well area ... cold air drops so who knows why it was put there at the bottom of the door not blowing into the cabin.
This air con duct pipe runs right under the fridge and 6 inches from the base of the outside fridge vent. My idea was to put a manual bypass that feeds up into the floor of the bottom fridge vent blowing straight up the back of the fridge coil. Then on those hot days when the fridge needs help or when first starting up blast it with cold air, or even on air con fan only only it would be a good blast of air over the coils.
Reply By: Raymond from Wanderin 4 Wheelers - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 15:01
Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 15:01
Hi Russell
Had a similar problem in the motor home.
I undid the screws holding the fridge and slide the fridge forward. Bought some insulation from bunnings with the aluminum back an put it over the top of the fridge and on either side of the fridge. I taped the insulation to the fridge and then pushed the fridge back in. There should be no space above then fridge and the shelf/cupboard above the fridge. I fitted a computer fan over the top vent which is either switched on by a temperature switch or an override switch.
This has greatly improved the fridge in the high temperatures
Ray
Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 18:04
Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 18:04
I did a similar thing with the Gin Palace. I used a small muffin fan and a small solar panel to drive it. Seems to work fine, it just boosts the air circulation so that the whole thing does not have to rely on thermosyphoning ie hot air rising...Improved the frige efficiency about 20% I reckon...
Reply By: Bilbo - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 15:05
Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 15:05
Sounds like a top idea, Russ.
Just be careful that when the air-con draft is blowing across the back of the fridge that it doesn't extinguish the small gas flame.
Bilbo
Follow Up By: disco1942 - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 11:57
Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 11:57
I don,t think he will be using the fridge on gas if he has power for the airconditioner.
Follow Up By: Bilbo - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 17:50
Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 17:50
A very good point, Disco,,,,,,,,,,I didn't think that anyone who drove a Landrover would spot that ;)
Take care,
Bilbo
Reply By: nickoff - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 18:10
Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 18:10
Two best ideas there mate. Ensure fridge is properly insulated, and hot air cannot circulate around the fridge body, and draw the hot air off the top vent, don't blow in from the bottom vent, as this upsets the operation of the fridge itself. Also check out the spacing tolerances for the fridge installation. Go to the Dometic web site and this will fill you in.
Nick
Follow Up By: Member - BBB - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 06:44
Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 06:44
You are 100% on the money I have done both of the above as
well as fitting a sail track 300mm above the top out let of the vent that I put a small tarp in that shields the side of the van to stop the sun heating up the fridge area.
We could not get the fridge to cold but now we do not need to set it above the setting 4 which will hold the temp at 1 degree.
If you go to this web site it will show you the correct way to vent your fridge.
www.fridge-and-solar.net/fridge_vent.htm
Hope This Helps
BBB
Follow Up By: disco1942 - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 12:01
Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 12:01
The Fridge & Solar piece is excellent - note the spacing between the side of the van and the fins. Most people seem to forget this one - you want the air flow going through the fins - not around them
Reply By: ferris - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 20:47
Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 20:47
G'day Russell,
This is a common problem among caravans although few care to admit it. Your idea of re-routing the a/c will work
well, except you'll have to run it all day. Ok if your not paying for the electricity.
Some of the caravan and fridge
places sell a kit which may resolve your problem. It consists of a small fan, thermostat, wiring and instructions, and sells for around $80. It should help a fair bit, and is ideal, as the fan only cuts in when required. Unfortunately many of the caravan type fridges struggle in the heat, and there's not much you can do about it, without spending alot of money.
Keep the shiny side up.
Ferris
Follow Up By: disco1942 - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 12:06
Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 12:06
Fit the fan as a last resort - get the installation correct first. I had a Regent van with the top vent installed so low that the heat deflector came down to the top of the vent. A second vent installed above the first cured the problem much cheaper than installing a fan.
Reply By: greybeard - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 00:19
Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 00:19
i had a 3 way fridge that i modified with a 12v fan and thermostat for 12 operation and added extra insulation to. it made a significant improvement to it's effiency and ability to maintain a lower temperature.
unfortunately i did this about 20 years ago and didn't have the facilities to take any scientific measurements to produce actual numbers for the improvements i made.
i recently did some work on a compressor fridge
compressor fridge mods and in particular point 5 regarding fan placement. I'd be interested to see if it would have made a similar improvement to the 3 way fridge. When i modded the 3 way i had the fan placed internally near the condensor or evaporator ( never could get a grasp on which bit was inside the fridge and which bit was outside :) ) rather than as per my info above.
bottom line with a 3 way is insulation ( more is better ) and moving air around the condensor thingy on the outside.
Follow Up By: greybeard - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 00:21
Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 00:21
ps, the fridge was used 24*7 for nearly 20 years for camping/travelling and as a beer fridge at home. it finally died a year ago when i overcooked it on gas with the fridge on to much of an angle.
Reply By: russellb - Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 09:35
Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 09:35
mmm I checked and yes there is a good 6inch gap between the back of the fridge and outside of the cooling fins so will get some insualtion to pack
the gap closed so all airflow is up through the coils/cooling fins.
see how that goes and prob will put a fan at the top vent to help draw air up over the cooling fins