Deliberately lit?

Submitted: Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 23:45
ThreadID: 40243 Views:3279 Replies:9 FollowUps:26
It's hard to work out how the fire in the top right hand corner of the map picture started this afternoon - unless it was deliberately lit. It was blowing a northerly at the time and all the other fires are south of where it started. There wasn't a fire within cooee to the north for it to spot from.

One doesn't like to jump to conclusions but as it heads toward houses on the southerly change, one would like to find the mongrel that in all likelihood lit it and chain him to a large tree in front of the fire...

The Wonnangatta looks like it's escaped for now. It'd be a shame to see the little bit that's left there go up in smoke.

View from the back yard at the folks place.

One thing's for certain. Summer travel in the high country is getting further and further from reality.

Be good if we can get through this without losing anything that can't be rebuilt or can be grown back.

Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 00:10

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 00:10
Chaining them to a tree would be too easy in my mind... Several public stonings to within an inch of their life and then impalement, the old fashioned way...
AnswerID: 209685

Reply By: XpLoiT - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 06:50

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 06:50
feel for you man :( not good.

some prick probs did do it and these are the people who the above poster sid should be stoned and killed etc :D

hope it all works out

dave

The Grey Nomads
Forum dedicated to The Grey Nomad Community
AnswerID: 209691

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 07:09

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 07:09
"IF" it was someone I'm sorry I disagree about the flogging and pulic stoning ect etc.

For me THEY CAN HELP PUT IT OUT in the hot zone ....... and then they can face the anger of people whom the fire has caused damage and explain to them why they lit it ........... Maybe they can also work at the vets where animals come in that have been injured by fire.

Let them see the danger of fighting a fire, the anger of the people and the damage they cause, it maybe the wake up call they need.

Hope all improves soon

AnswerID: 209694

Reply By: Leroy - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 07:21

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 07:21
$ucking brainless idiot. That's really all I need to say about this bloke that lit the fire. CFA tankers are filling up out the front of my place as I type. We were very lucky last night that the wind was kind but the fires went up past Bogong Villiage last night.
Because of this idiot CFA units had to be recalled from the King Valley area. Don't know where we would be without these guys.

Few 'happy' snaps with my place in the foreground and 'Elvis' filling up at the Mt Beauty pondage.

I was surpised the fire came across Tawonga gap so quicklyas the northerly was blowing against it.

Leroy

AnswerID: 209695

Follow Up By: Carl & Kaz - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 07:54

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 07:54
Leroy,

Unbelievable photos of 'Elvis'!!! You should win some sort of prize for those!

Carl
FollowupID: 469726

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 09:15

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 09:15
Good pics Leroy. Another of the same intelligence yesterday between Camperdown and Colac at Pomberneit lit in three places. Burnt from the edge of the Stoney Rises in to Lake Corangamite. Some locals can identify a vehicle that dropped someone off there in the morning, so hope the roasting will occurr soon.

Fourteen hundred hectares there but in areas you couln't get a truck into with all the stoney barriers. Lot of fireys with knapsack sprayers apparently, very difficult with the ferns so dry from the drought.
FollowupID: 469737

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 09:47

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 09:47
Hey Leroy,

I know where you live.... :o))

Cooler day today. Hope they can get it contained.

FollowupID: 469744

Follow Up By: Leroy - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 09:55

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 09:55
Oh no I can't hide anymore!

cooler today but the wind is really picking up. Looks like a westerly.

Leroy
FollowupID: 469746

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 10:09

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 10:09
I can remember when the building over the road was pink, and was called Willey's Corner Store....

I was only up last a couple of weeks ago.

Went up to the fire tower on Big Hill for a look around. Bugger of a place to get to at the moment with all the salvage logging. But even harder this week I'd be guessing.

FollowupID: 469748

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 10:20

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 10:20
Agree with Carl
Both those pics of the Erickson are awesome.
And all our thoughts are with you people in the area.
Signman
(A NSWRFS member)
FollowupID: 469750

Follow Up By: Leroy - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 12:03

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 12:03
yeh it's a pretty awsome machine to watch in action as well. I see only a standard helicopter running around water bombing at the moment. They still seem to do a pretty good job also.

Leroy
FollowupID: 469763

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 12:13

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 12:13
Just spoke to my sister. 300metres or so from the back fence.

They've packed the T'van away....

FollowupID: 469769

Follow Up By: Leroy - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 12:15

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 12:15
I know who your sister is now. Elvis has just reappeard.

Leroy
FollowupID: 469771

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 12:17

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 12:17
Nice photos Leroy.

Are you safe now or are you still under threat where you live?

FollowupID: 469776

Follow Up By: Leroy - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 13:58

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 13:58
Dave, must be a different sister lol but another happy tvan owner!

John, the threat is still there and I think it's in the hands of the wind at the moment. Fires are still burning around the back of Tawonga Sth and there hasn't been burning embers carried by the wind but it does gust up from time to time. It's hard to find accurate info at the moment.

Leroy
FollowupID: 469794

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 14:26

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 14:26
Thanks Leroy
Good luck my thoughts remain with you and everyone else in the risk areas of Victoria.

FollowupID: 469803

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 15:56

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 15:56
Be with you sooner rather than later Leroy,

Heading for Mt Beauty in the next hour. Just organising a generator and the night off work.

How's the black confetti falling?

FollowupID: 469820

Follow Up By: Leroy - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 16:29

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 16:29
no confetti really, it's surprising. The wind is blowing but the smoke goes up. Things have flared up a little over the back from me so I'm heading back home.

Leroy
FollowupID: 469829

Follow Up By: Member - Darren T (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 23:01

Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 23:01
Was trying to work out where these pics were taken from in Towonga when I saw the bottom pic of the tanker filling up. I clicked where it was when I saw the hydrant, because our tanker used this hydrant to do some fills later in the day. I was on the same strike team as the tanker in the pic (not on the same tanker, I was on the Yackandandah tanker and you, your wife and daughter were out front talking to the Yackandandah crew leader about 5/6pm).

You got some great shots of Elvis. I had the opporunity to see it up close in action, dumping 2 loads of water about 30 meters in front of our tanker, its an awesome peice of fire fighting equipment.
FollowupID: 470245

Follow Up By: Leroy - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 23:12

Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 23:12
Darren,

I took that pic about 6am that morning. The guys looked knakered. I didn't know what we should be doing as we felt a little helpless I supose you may say thought maybe we should have coffee ready or something when you guys filled up. But I as everyone else where we live are very grateful for you guys comming to Mt Beauty/Tawonga to help. Thanks. Doesn't seem enough really. Knock on the door next time you're in town.

Leroy
FollowupID: 470249

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 01:14

Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 01:14
Hi Darren,

I ended up up there in the Ambulance as well as helping out with the family place back towards Tawonga from Leroy. I saw the Yack tanker on a number of occasions and later on Tuesday it ended up looking after a family friends place right up the top of Margaret Dve.

Thanks for that. Much appreciated.

Wasn't it the Yack Brigade featured prominently in the Paul Hogan movie "Strange Bedfellows" - I reckon it was.

I've uploaded some of my photos to a gallery here Mount Beauty Fire Photos 2006

Hopefully the smoke will clear soon.

The fire hasn't crowned - most of it around town is backburning so don't believe the news footage. The place will look much the same as it did a week ago in a month or so's time.

I'd be getting onto local businesses now booking your holiday. You might even get a shoulder rate to take someone elses cancellation.

Nothing better than sitting in the Kiewa with a cold can in January or February - except maybe sitting in the Kiewa with a cold can and a fishing rod.

FollowupID: 470277

Reply By: madcow - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 08:15

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 08:15
Spoke to a workmate who's in the fire brigade and it appears that fire was delibrately lit. Had a bit of lightning in the sky last night and it was bloody warm to boot.
AnswerID: 209701

Reply By: bruce - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 10:52

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 10:52
Have you ever noticed glass stubbies lying around the countryside...on a very hot day the sun shining through them on to the vegetation can get extremely hot....just a thought and certainly not defending idiots that light fires for fun...but like you said one should not jump to conclusions...should one....cheers
AnswerID: 209720

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 11:06

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 11:06
Ever tried to do it on a 40 degree day Bruce, or done the maths to work out the focal length of a stubby?

Urban myth.

FollowupID: 469754

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 11:16

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 11:16
you beat me to it geo!

On the nature side though, it does grow back remarkably quickly, and though idiotic w..kers lighting fires isnt natural or recommended, fire does serve a purpose in nature itself.
FollowupID: 469756

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 17:03

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 17:03
Dave, we spend about 2 hours trying to light a fire (in the fire pit on my property) with both a stubby and a wine bottle... Gave up and flicked a match at it instead. I doubt very much a glass bottle would start a fire anywhere... Too many variables to overcome.
FollowupID: 469835

Follow Up By: Crackles - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 17:39

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 17:39
Agree Bruce "one should not jump to conclusions" as it's just as likely someone had a trailer brake lock on & overheat or a trailer chain fall off & drag causing sparks, a flat tyre with the rim running on the road or of course the big offender a ciggarette butt out the window. IMHO far more likely to be accidental or carelessness than done on purpose............still I like the idea of a public stoning as much as the next bloke so lets hunt the offender down & kill him ;-))
Cheers Craig.............
FollowupID: 469851

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 18:44

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 18:44
without saying its impossible at all, but how is a trailer brake locked on going to start a bush fire (on a sealed or gravel road at least?) Sure its possible but the person driving would likely have noticed his trailer on fire and should have reported it? Also with a chain, remember they arent actually sparks but smolders. Get a disc grinder and aim the "sparks" into a little bit of petrol or dry cloth. See how long aiming into the SAME SPOT it needs to light a bit of cloth? and the petrol probably wont light from more than about a foot away?
We know a cigarette will start a fire, because it will smolder in the same place for a period.

So I reckon 95% deliberate or smokers butt(next best thing).

Not near enough for legal conviction and death penalty but more than sufficient for vigilante type punishment!
FollowupID: 469881

Follow Up By: Crackles - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 20:43

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 20:43
I only put forward the alternate possibilities as I saw a trailer dragging chains light a fire on the Hume Freeway at Wallen & have seen plenty of trailers with tyres, brakes & bearings on fire. A driver would hear the noise then pull over to the side. If it got away how many would stick around & admit they started it?
Has anyone got any KKK hoods.......it's time we formed a possie :-))

PS you're right about the grinder on the petrol. It would be difficult to reach the required flashpoint to ignight fuel but try a few hot metal filings on some dry grass & leaves for a quicker result.
FollowupID: 469900

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 23:27

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 23:27
"If it got away how many would stick around & admit they started it?"

maybe so, similar thinking to a fatal hit and run though? (can easily reported anonymously too)

I doubt that a few hot filings would start a fire either. Remember also that they dont land on the same spot?

Dont matter anyway, people who light fires deliberately, throw butts out the window, or dont report a fire they have started a fire by mistake are F..KING LOWLIFE
FollowupID: 469930

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 23:40

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 23:40
fish,

"Dont matter anyway, people who light fires deliberately, throw butts out the window, or dont report a fire they have started a fire by mistake are F..KING LOWLIFE "

Wanna help me impale them...??? I'd post a pic but I'm sure it would break forum rules...
FollowupID: 469937

Reply By: Member - John R (NSW) - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 14:35

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 14:35
It surprises me that nobody has mentioned that this is an ideal form of terrorism (although nobody has claimed responsibility)...... And fire is certainly a weapon of mass destruction.

I just hope the fires can be bought under control ASAP.

Here's a photo of Elvis from a couple of years ago when he and I were both a bit thinner :-)
AnswerID: 209767

Follow Up By: Member - John R (NSW) - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 14:39

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 14:39
Jeez I hate that!

FollowupID: 469806

Reply By: Member - Woodsy - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 16:59

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 16:59
Hi Geocacher

I suggest that these mongrels should be castrated before we really start hurting them.

Just back this arvo from 5 days in Woods Point. Cleaning, slashing, fireproofing (hopefully), hosing, talking, conjecturing etc, etc., with a small amount of sleep as well.
Then waiting, waiting, waiting. Thankfully no action in Woods Point so far, but been close. Back there soon if things start to go pear shaped.
The CFA, DSE and all the other volunteers are a fantastic mob of fellas and ladies.
Happy 4 wheeling

Woodsy

AnswerID: 209789

Reply By: Member - Barry M (NSW) - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 17:08

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 17:08
From the responses we seem to have no trouble in dealing adequately with those
that deliberately light fires. U nfortunately in practice little action occurs. I saw figures recently that said out of 200 charges for arson only 2 got to court &
neither was successful. So keep that camera/video handy & maybe we can even up the odds a little. Got to be caught in the act or no chance of conviction.
...oldbaz.

AnswerID: 209795