Waeco CF50 Combo Plug Getting Hot??

Submitted: Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 11:46
ThreadID: 40250 Views:9298 Replies:9 FollowUps:11

I have a CF50 and have noticed that the combo ciggi/merit plug is getting quite hot. Anyone know why this would be happening? I have never noticed it before. It is plugged into a merit socket in the rear that is wired to the Aux. battery under the bonnet. The merit socket is in a bank of 3 and the other sockets used at this point do not get hot. I believe it must be the plug as the wiring all appears to be sound. Everything seems to be working ok, just concerned with the heat it is generating and that I might be at risk of a fire. Do these combo sockets wear out? Any advice greatly appreciated.

Reply By: Peter McG (Member, Melbourne) - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 12:21

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 12:21
Moggs

You might check the fit of the plug in the socket. I find the merit plugs need the side connections prising back occasionally so you get a really tight fit. I have actually hard wired the Waeco lead back to the second battery so I don't use a plug. On corrugated roads the plugs can still be a problem.

Got the drawers yet? Dropped over to see Aaron this morning about servicing.

AnswerID: 209739

Follow Up By: Moggs - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 12:55

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 12:55
Hi Peter,

Yes, draws are installed. I am wrapped with them. Ended up getting the aluminium side by side set with the top deck going right back to the cargo barrier. I cut outs some access holes at the base of the cargo barrier mesh to gain access to the space behind the draws. All works well.

I have noticed that the merit plug is a bit loose, so will try and pry the negative contacts on it out a bit. Was thinking that this might be causing some resistance and heating it up. Might also go the same path as you and hard wire it to the 2nd battery. I have a fuse block off the 2nd battery and have the fridge running off a 10amp fuse, so I reckon I could do away with the 8amp fused combo plug.

Just had Aaron service the Patrol last Thursday. I have found him to be great and well priced. One of the guys here with a 3 ltr Patrol has also started using him - he has found that he costs about 2/3rds of what Nissan charge for equivalent services. In addition, Aaron picked up some rear spring hanger weld cracks that Nissan never found - welded them up and all is good now.

FollowupID: 469785

Follow Up By: acdc - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 20:30

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 20:30
Moggs,
I'd keep an eye on your rear spring hangers and chassis, with twin rear wheel carriers they are prone to breaking under extreme off roading!
FollowupID: 469898

Follow Up By: Moggs - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 23:36

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 23:36
yep, have heard that elsewhere as well. The guy I was referring too earlier has a Kaymar rear bar on. I get the hangers and chassis checked each service. If it cracks I'll get it reinforced, but from what I have heard it is typically poor welds cracking, except for the rare incidence of the chassis rail going
FollowupID: 469934

Reply By: Mainey (WA) - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 13:11

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 13:11
As stated above the fridge works more efficiently when running on it's own wiring system with the relevant fuse to avoid the plug heating (and probable failure) you are having now.
Electric motors run more efficient with-out variations in their power supply caused by overheating, voltage loss and variable voltage caused by other items connected to the same circuit.

AnswerID: 209746

Follow Up By: Moggs - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 13:57

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 13:57
Will probably wire it in - only thing is I'll have to buy another cable for when I want to use it out of the Patrol. No doubt Waeco will charge a small ransom for a 2nd cable.
FollowupID: 469792

Reply By: Wizard1 - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 13:55

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 13:55
It is quite normal...you need to appreciate that a lot of amps are passing through the plug ALL the time with no way of cooling down. I've pulled the plug out and got a bit of a surprise when I touched the positive tip. If you wiring was doggy then you'd blow fuses, etc.

Had my rear power setup for 5 years which consist of the normal Toyota plug, re-wired to the 2nd battery and a Narva plug. Have had no ill effects to the Waeco CF50 or anything else.
AnswerID: 209756

Follow Up By: Moggs - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 14:05

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 14:05
ok, have never noticed it before. Just went and ran the plug off some merit sockets that are wired independently to the Aux. battery. Plug gets hot in all of these as well, so am satisfied that it isn't a wiring issue.

I thought heat = resistance??? Never thought the plug would generate enough resistance to get so hot.
FollowupID: 469798

Reply By: Peter McG (Member, Melbourne) - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 16:03

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 16:03
Kerry

Anaconda have the leads at a reasonable price I think. We hardly ever use ours out of the car now though. Like how the drawers fit staright in? Will get the same set for the next car.

We're off to Tassie in January with the son and son in law (both with discos) so I thought I'd get Aaron to check the Patriol before then.

AnswerID: 209780

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 17:14

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 17:14
Moggs,

How hot are we talking?

The merit plug & socket are rated well above the amperage your fridge would be pulling.

My guess is a poor, or dry joint. Check for a good contact between the copper conductors and the plug connectors. Maybe some insulation is in the way.

High resistance joints equals heat and poor performance.

AnswerID: 209798

Follow Up By: Moggs - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 17:39

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 17:39
It gets too hot to touch. I think I'll replace the combo ciggi/meritplug with a decent narva plug and see if it still happens. I pulled the combo plug apart and all the connections look ok, but will try a different plug anyway.
FollowupID: 469850

Reply By: Moggs - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 20:14

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 20:14
Thanks for all the advice.

I found the problem. Pulled the plug apart completely and there was a small short where the positive wire passed over the negative metal prongs inside the plug. The heat shrink that Waeco had put over the connector had worn through. I would have thought it would blow the 10amp fuse - but must have only being small enough to create some heat. All fixed now.

If your plug is hot then maybe check that the same issue hasn't occurred.
AnswerID: 209845

Reply By: Grandpa joe - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 21:46

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 21:46
G'day Moggs,
I have a cf 50 as well and have had problems with this cheap plug.
I replaced it with a Hella 8 Amp plug and used Put Hella part No. 4123-00 female sockets off the battery and the side of the 240v power supplies dc output.
Works a treat will not rattle around and get hot as they are a solid fitting connection.
The fridge pulls the least amount of power than any fridge I have seen, Just a shame they used a $2 plug instead of a $7 one.
My fridge is still going strong after 4 years and will definately buy another Waeco!
AnswerID: 209860

Reply By: Grizzle - Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 10:51

Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 10:51
The plug warms up because the connection is not good enough. I cut my Waeco cable and put an Anderson Plug in. I the wired and Anderson Plug in the car. When the fridge is in the car it is plugged in via Anderson. If I want to use it elsewhere I just plug the short section back on and the original plug is there.

AnswerID: 209932

Follow Up By: Grandpa joe - Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 20:52

Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 20:52
The standard plug has a crappy inline bullet fuse, Have converted a few of these for people now (the curse of being an electrician) and most of them get hot from the centre pin to fuse end part as they have a habit of moving around a bit. Any securely connecting plug that is a firm solid conection throughout it's design will resolve this issue as it will draw no more than 2.8A when power is supplied to the fridge correctly.(cable size to length of distance from the healthy battery etc.)

Are you happy with your Waeco?
FollowupID: 470048

Follow Up By: Grizzle - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 09:32

Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 09:32
I should have mentioned that I did put an inline spade fuse in bwhen I spliced the Anderson Plug in.

Yes I am happy with the Waeco. I have had it about 3 years now. I did have a problem when I first got it. It turned out that they had problems with the lids on the CF50. They warped slightly, let air in and the fridge would not keep cool. I had new lid fitted and it has been fine since then.

Her's one for you being an Electrician. Because there is a direct relationship between Voltage, current etc, I presume that as your fridge lowers the volatge of the battery, the current increases therefore creating an ever faster decreasing circle of battery rundown. Is this correct or is the factor so small that it is not an issue?????

FollowupID: 470105

Follow Up By: Grandpa joe - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 17:35

Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 17:35
Yes Grizz,
There is a direct relationship between voltage, current(amps) and resistance(how easily the current flows to the load) Is difficult to explain the concept on a forum although I am glad you put a fuse inline, all it takes is for the molded plug on the fridge lead to get dislodged or not plugged in proprerly and resistance increases dropping the voltage and increasing current, the by product of this is HEAT and plenty of it. the fuse will succumb to the current (load) of this poor connection and do it's job. It's unfortunate that the standard waeco plug they decided on using has a weaker point than the fuse.
FollowupID: 470186

Reply By: Robnicko - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 11:29

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 11:29
Moggs,
I have a CF40ac which doesn't get a hot lead but when you select the turbo function it will then flash the error light after about 2 minutes. I checked the voltage under load through the standard lead and it loses about 1.1 volts through it. I then made up a lead out of 6mm cable and plugged it into the fridge and socket and tested it under load. Voltage loss was 0.05volt and I did not get the error light flashing at all. I ran it on 7 led's and turbo for until it reached the desired temp and was very suprised because rather than -18degrees it actually went to minus 24.5 degrees with ambient temp @ 28 degrees. I really think the lead that Waeco supply is not up to standard and heats up because it cannot draw enough amps like jumper leads heating up when jump starting a car. I also spoke to a Waeco reseller in Melbourne who has a CF40 and CF80 and he uses the lead from his cf80 on the cf40 as well. It seems as though the cf80/cf110 lead is a heavier duty one. The only visible difference between the two is that the cf25/35/40/50/60 lead has a right angle connection and the cf80/110 has a straight connection.

Rob
AnswerID: 210954

Follow Up By: Moggs - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 12:13

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 12:13
Hi Rob,

Not sure about the lead on the CF50. In my case it was the Waeco plug that was the issue. I replaced it with a merit plug and it doesn't heat up anymore.

Its disappointing isn't it - you would reckon that leads and plugs would be the best quality on a $800-$1000 item. At least it is cheap to fix I suppose.
FollowupID: 471004

Follow Up By: ross - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 13:49

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 13:49
So its not just my fridge and plug. I just come back from a week away and 3 times that pesky plug come loose and let everything get warm.
Looks like its going in the bin and getting replaced with something of quality.
Cant wait to see a Waeco salesman at a 4wd show;)
FollowupID: 471012