Fraser Island Boxing Day

Submitted: Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 13:50
ThreadID: 40257 Views:2803 Replies:6 FollowUps:15
Hi Ladies and Gents,
Yes, we are doing the very crazy thing and heading to Fraser on boxing day. Unfortunately it is the only time that we can get work holidays together. We will be heading right up the top and beach camping so hopefully it wont be too busy up there.

I havent been to fraser in 10 or so years so i have absolutely no idea what it is like up there anymore.

My question, I was thinking of leaving Brisbane at about 3am to beat the majority of the traffic. Obviously we will have to do a fuel topup at rainbow and i would like to put the car through the wash (with the oil coating) before we go over. It would be most appreciated if I could get these questions answered:

1) what servos are operating at rainbow and what times are they open (if known)
2) the address of the car wash place and is it 24 hrs?
3) from our place, whereis.com.au tells us we should take the 'pioneer rd' exit off the bruce hwy and travel up through pomona and pinbarren. is this the best known way from bris? I have heard of people going out through gympie but from the south it looks further.

Any help would be most appreciated.
Tom

Reply By: Member - Alex K (NSW) - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 13:58

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 13:58
G-day Tom,

Sounds like a great idea. I'm in your boat (only time to sync holidays) so i'll be there from 29th Dec.

Every time i've gone I go via Noosa (northern beach) and then drive up to rainbow. You're holiday starts a little earlier that way :) There is a car wash at Noosa with underbody washers but I don't know if it's a 24 hr one. Either way, what time do you want to get to the barge? 3am sounds like an early start from Bris.
Alex
AnswerID: 209759

Follow Up By: tomjones83 - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 14:33

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 14:33
Lucky bugger. I would be up there then as well but have the family commitments on chrissy day :-(

leaving at 3am will get us at the barge about 6.30 after filling up etc. high tide is at about noon on boxing day so we will make a dash to get up as far as we can then pull off for a couple of hours to do lunch and pre-happyhour!

where do you normally head up there? might see you around. We are in a dark blue over silver GU patrol. we will be spending most of our time up past indian head.

Cheers, Tom.
FollowupID: 469805

Follow Up By: Member - Alex K (NSW) - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 14:49

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 14:49
Tides will be your problem trying to get to the top, particularly with all the traffic and very soft sand on the inland detours around the rocks. We'll be staying at Eurong with a large group but will be heading to the top on at least one day.

With so many cars it'll be hard to spot, however look for the convoy... dark blue 80 series with ExplorOz stickers, GQ Patrol and silver Subaru Wagon (if it has the ground clearance to make it that far).
FollowupID: 469811

Follow Up By: tomjones83 - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 15:03

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 15:03
good stuff. i have heaps of experience with Moreton Is tide etc as we are over there all the time. As far as Fraser goes, hopefully I can pick them :-) if not, i am sure we will be stopped 1/2 way up the beach out of water's reach havin lunch, and throwing a line in for the sake of it to wait out the tides.

Well mate, thanks for the info and I hope you have a great time up there ;-) hopefully the suby goes well!

Tom
FollowupID: 469814

Follow Up By: Craigww2 - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 16:46

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 16:46
Wife, child and I will be there 27th-29th. Staying at the resort but look out for a white 100 series with a shovel strapped to the rhino bars. Feel free to stop and say hi.
Sounds like it could be a good chance to catch up for a drink. What UHF channel do you guys hang on, I will keep a listen out.
FollowupID: 469834

Follow Up By: Shawsie (Bris) - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 17:06

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 17:06
The last time we were there, we went up to Waddy Point from Inskip via Gympie. The tide was against us and we were a couple of hrs before high tide (Hmph!). We expected to drive as far as we could, then camp on the beach somewhere, but to our surprise we got all the way to Waddy Point using only 1 bypass rd. The beach was still flat and we could do 70kph although Indian head was soft, but we got there nonetheless before dead-high tide.

My advise is Don't rush and take it as it comes. Taking the beach at Tewantin (Noosa Nth Shore) will make your journey quiker as long as Mudlo Rocks on Rainbow beach are passable - ring the racq at Rainbow Beach for advise.

It's all good so have a great time :o)

FollowupID: 469837

Follow Up By: tomjones83 - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 22:24

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 22:24
craigww2... we are generally on uhf channel 27. if not, 26 or 28.
our convoy is (gu patrol blue/silver TI, nissan terrano black, white cruiser ute and a 85 rangie) you wont miss us for sure. We will be mostly up north of waddy point.

Tom
FollowupID: 469914

Follow Up By: Member - Alex K (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 10:36

Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 10:36
Tom,
How many days you staying on Fraser for?
Alex
FollowupID: 469955

Follow Up By: tomjones83 - Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 12:21

Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 12:21
we are leaving on 31/12. Want to beat the new years day traffic back ;-)

Cheers Tom
FollowupID: 469966

Reply By: Member - Peter D M - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 14:23

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 14:23
g'day tom

the shell servo is open early at least 6.ooam. the early start is good but tides and barge will be your next problem. if you are going up the top, i presume past orchid beach you would allow 2 hr from barge drop off to ob but that sort of time can only be made at low tide. with the low tide at just after 5.00 am and the barges starting at 6.30 you will be doing it hard as the tide comes in. camping on the beach is restricted to around ocean lake, browns rocks and at sandy cape and even at this time you will get a spot. as most of the crowds dont pass indian head.
ring costa on the manta ray barge on 0418 872 599. maybe that time of year they may start earlier.
the run from noosa is great and what i try and but not when chasing a low tide. stay on the highway and go via gympie.
cant help with the car wash.

regards and have a good trip. we are only just back from trip 14
AnswerID: 209764

Follow Up By: tomjones83 - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 14:29

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 14:29
Thanks for the info. Why via Gympie? is the other road slower travelling?

Tom
FollowupID: 469804

Follow Up By: Shawsie (Bris) - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 17:09

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 17:09
Yes, via Gympie is the most direct route. Take the turnoff to Tin-Can Bay and then follow the signs to Rainbow Beach & Inskip Point.
FollowupID: 469838

Reply By: Member - Peter D M - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 14:35

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 14:35
tom. if you turn off and go via pomona you will be on back roads and i dont think this will be quicker. also the matilda servo before gympie is heaps cheaper than rainbow beach for fuel.

regards peter
AnswerID: 209768

Follow Up By: tomjones83 - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 14:40

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 14:40
Thank you very much peter, will definately take you advice on board and head through gympie :-)

cheers, Tom
FollowupID: 469808

Follow Up By: Carl & Kaz - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 14:48

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 14:48
Matilda servo just south of Gympie is definately the go - if you have the long range tanks you also get 3c/l off if you are buying 200+litres!

Carl
FollowupID: 469810

Reply By: David78 - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 15:25

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 15:25
Just got back from a trip to Fraser - tried to come back via Cooloola on the beach only to be stopped short just after Rainbow and before Double Island Point - at approx 2 hours after low tide, the beach was impassable (don't know if there is a bypass route perhaps via freshwater?)
Go via Gympie to be sure.... drive carefully though - on the way up we saw a four-wheel drive not long after it had ploughed into a telephone pole at speed and on the way back, we saw another vehicle on its roof on the outside of one of those sweeping corners heading out of Rainbow Beach.

have a great trip,

dave.
AnswerID: 209773

Follow Up By: Shawsie (Bris) - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 17:12

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 17:12
Dave, are you talking about Mudlo Rocks at Rainbow Beach? If so, then the bypass track is Freshwater Creek Rd and very slow going. Via Gympie is the go :o)
FollowupID: 469840

Follow Up By: Member - Alex K (NSW) - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 21:09

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 21:09
Out of interest, what makes the bypass via Freshwater slow going? Is it deep soft sand or corrugations?

FollowupID: 469907

Follow Up By: Shawsie (Bris) - Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 09:24

Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 09:24
Hi Alex, yes, it's 15km of soft sand, deep ruts at times and plenty of traffic when it's busy - particularly when Mudlo Rocks are impassable. It's not difficult and a bit of fun, but slow going. It's still quicker to drive up Teewah beach and take Freshwater Ck Rd to Inskip Point & Fraser as you can do 70kph on the beach, but if the tides are against you for Fraser, then the most direct route is best - via Gympie.
FollowupID: 469951

Reply By: Mikee5 (QLD) - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 18:00

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 18:00
Hi Tom,

The oil wash is an automatic machine that takes $1 and $2 coins and is operational 24/7, I am told $2 is enough to oil up before going on the beach while $10 should see you cleaned up afterwards. I am also told to drive slowly back and forward while in the machine, this ensures the jets cover all angles. The machine is well signposted on the bitumen road to Inskip Point, if you miss it cruise around the Inskip Point end of the industrial area at the back of Rainbow (Carlo Rd or Karoonda Rd), sorry this is vague but it is definitely there.
Mike.
AnswerID: 209815

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 18:43

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 18:43
The road via Ponoma is about a 70k to 90k/hr road, more the 70.
The Gympie road to Rainbow is more 80 to 100k/hr, more at about 90, easier drive.
The Matilda 17k south of Gympie on the highway is cheaper, and 24hr. Top up at Rainbow if you want.
Pie shop or Caf at Rainbow not bad for an early breakfast.
AnswerID: 209827