Towing using top gear

Submitted: Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 13:56
ThreadID: 40258 Views:7651 Replies:11 FollowUps:26
As I travel around I am constantly hearing from people towing trailers and caravans that they don't tow in top gear because they have been told it will damage their gearbox. I would be interested to hear informed opinion on this matter. No hearsay please but can anybody give me proof that gearbox damage will occur.

Reply By: Wizard1 - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 14:01

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 14:01
Like the battle between the best 4WD or best fridge, now comes the towing in 5th gear discussion AGAIN....

Do a search, this has been done to death....why not speak to a qualified repairer of 4wd gearboxes and transmissions and get thier slant on it if you don't want lay opinion, hearsay or rumour.
AnswerID: 209760

Follow Up By: Member - John R (NSW) - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 14:04

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 14:04
Even better still Greg, see what the owner's book says. Mine has an auto and the book says to tow in 3rd but not 4th/D.

So I do.
FollowupID: 469797

Follow Up By: Greg - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 14:07

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 14:07
Haven't been on the forum for awhile so I don't know what the major opinions are. I will do a search but from what you say it would appear this issue has not been resolved. Transmission repairers are not necessarily the best source of reliable info re this matter. Has anyone had notice in writing from any auto manufacturer warning that they should not tow in top gear?
FollowupID: 469799

Follow Up By: Greg - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 14:13

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 14:13
John R many thanks for info re owners manual. What make and type of vehicle are we talking about and is the manual implying damage will occur. Some underpowered vehicles won't tow in top gear and trying to do so may cause excessive strain on the engine and transmission.
FollowupID: 469800

Follow Up By: Wizard1 - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 14:16

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 14:16
Its like all things..if it doesn't feel good don't do it....
FollowupID: 469801

Reply By: Member - John R (NSW) - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 14:21

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 14:21
Greg, mines an 05 Prado diesel 4sp auto. It's in for a service right now so I can't go to the book to find out the reason.

I'm no expert, but I think it has something to do with accelerating wear in the clutch packs in overdrive. The manual isn't that specific from memory.
AnswerID: 209763

Reply By: Willem - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 15:43

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 15:43
The first 4 gears of a 5 speed manual gearbox are direct drive gears.

5th gear sits to the side and it is desiged to drop the engine revs when the vehicle is cruising. 5th gear was not intended to be under stress. It was not designed to tow with.

There have been issues with 5th gear in certain vehicles. As I recall the mid 80's Pajero had 5th gear failures and the later model Nissans 1999 onwards have similar problems.

You may tow in 5th gear for years and not have a problem but the chances are that you WILL have 5th gear problems if you do just that.

I tow a trailer with weight up to 800kilos and only use 5th gear when cruising on flat country or when a tailwind presents itself.

You can try Google for more opinions.
AnswerID: 209775

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 16:42

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 16:42
Willem,
Confirming the problem with 5th gear in the 85/86 pajeros.
Mine went at 95,000k, after only 2.5 years.
Mitsubishi admited to a design fault (after 3 years and a lot of complaints) and fixed the problem, they went from a 34 roller bearing to a 42 roller bearing. Most were lucky enough to get it done under warranty.

Like you I try not to lug in 5th. Any bearing with a high load works best with a reasonable number of revs. If in doubt change to 4th. Also helps to keep the EGT down too!
Wonder if diesels compound the problem by having max torque at lower revs (around 1800/2000) than a petrol?
FollowupID: 469833

Follow Up By: Browny66 - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 17:33

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 17:33
I don't think all 5th gears sit to the side Willem, maybe the early GQ's but pretty sure the later GU's are on the main shaft, the earlier GU's were a main shaft set up with dodgy splines that had to much clearance between shaft & gear wich allowed to much movement & eventually stripped under load.

Cheers....Browny
FollowupID: 469846

Follow Up By: ellmcg - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 18:33

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 18:33
I lost 5th gear in my 1990 Pajero, but it had made it to 267,000kms before I bought it, so who knows what it had done in that time?

I did get the spiel about it probably having towed in 5th gear too much. But I've since discovered that the trailer electrical connector in the tow bar isn't hooked up to anything on the vehicle side, so I've no idea what to think.
FollowupID: 469874

Reply By: dizzy - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 16:00

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 16:00
I thought the only one that had problems was the Toyota. THe 5th gear is/was to small for the job it had to do.
The rig

AnswerID: 209779

Follow Up By: dizzy - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 16:11

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 16:11
Sorry Greg, Pressed the wrong button.
What I was going to say was Land Rover are ok as they use a different system. Thought Nissan were ok to - it appears not according to reports.
TD5
The rig

FollowupID: 469826

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 16:56

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 16:56
I've heard enough reports of 5th gear failures from towing to convince me to be safe rather than sorry. Our CT weighs 1,500 KG (when fully loaded) and we only go into 5th on long downhill runs or on long flat stretches with a tail wind.

We cruise at 90 to 95 KPH when towing and it is no problem. Possibly uses a touch more fuel, but better than a $2,000+ gearbox rebuild and possibly an expensive and inconvenient recovery from remote places.
AnswerID: 209787

Follow Up By: Muzzgit [WA] - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 23:41

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 23:41
I have read on here that doing as you do actually uses less fuel. Driving in 5th and staying on the speed limit uses more fuel and EGT's go up.
FollowupID: 469938

Follow Up By: Wizard1 - Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 12:45

Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 12:45
1500 kg, really. The tare is only 920 kg with a rated towball weight (wet) of 85 kg. So how does yours get all the way upto 1500 kg. Doesn't that mean you are overloading the suspension and bearings?

So your suggesting you carry over 1/2 a tonne of extra stuff...Hmmmm that's a lot of water, fuel and food.

My caravan used to have a GVM of 1450 kg, interesting how a CT can weigh more than a caravan.
FollowupID: 469971

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 13:57

Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 13:57
Really Wizard.
My first reaction was to just ignore your post because of it's tone, but what the hell, life's too short to be bothered by such things. Frankly, I don't care much if you don't believe me (think I'm a liar?), but here's the facts:

Firstly, the 1,500 KG and 225 KG ball weight are as measured by a registered weigh bridge on the Gold Coast. I fully loaded, then did a weigh before a trip to Kimberley etc earlier this year.

The rated tare, when I bought the trailer was 930KG, though when I was going over the design and set up with Steve (owner of business that built it), he used 950 KG in his calculations. Not a lot of difference, but some.

From basic, we have added:
Large metal battery box in place of small plastic one. Adds about 7 KG
2 x 120 AH AGM batteries instead of 1 x smaller one. Adds about 40 KG
second water tank and guard approx 7 KG
2 extra gerry can holders and gerries approx 6 KG
Extended drawer bar approx 12 KG
Inner spring mattress instead of foam approx 10 KG
200 litres of water (in on board tanks) 200 KG
80 litres of fuel (in gerries on drawer bar) 80 KG
fill gas bottles (2 @4.5KG) 9 KG
1 KVA generator (in box on draw bar) approx 10 KG
Porta Pottie (in box on draw bar) approx 8 KG
2 x 100mm pipes on draw bar with tent poles, fishing rods etc approx 8KG
Food, cooking stuff, cutlery, crockery etc; I'm guessing but around 30KG
Camping stuff (annex, screen tent, chairs, and camping type gear, guess 30 KG
Clothes, towels, bedding, etc guess around 10KG.

That's about 470 KG of added weight of stuff I can think of, and I haven't included the wife's toiletries, books, art and craft stuff she likes to carry etc.

Now that all comes to about 1,450 KG or a bit more, which is a touch short of the weigh bridge measure. But since the calculation is very approximate, I'm inclined to trust the weigh bridge a bit more.

The suspension, bearings, trailer hitch etc are all rated well above 1,500KG. After all, a common option is to add a boat, motor, boat loader and folding trailer to these CTs. That adds about another 200KG (that I have not added).

Convinced yet? Doesn't matter either way. But I've been pretty meticulous with my planning and set up for both the CT and vehicle. The major part of the set up was done in conjunction with the trailer builder.
At least I know what they weigh. I suspect 90% of people on the road don't have a clue.

FollowupID: 469982

Follow Up By: Redback - Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 14:59

Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 14:59
Norm, you need to take some weight off that drawbar, our CT sounds fairly similar in weight and add ons, but i only have 120kg over the hitch.

I'm assuming you know that weight over the ball is part of your load carrying capacity too and looking at your rig pic the boat would also be apart of that load as well, you must be pretty close to the max load capacity of your 4WD or even over.

With that amount over the ball do you have any stability problems and a bit of feel in the front end.

FollowupID: 469988

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 15:06

Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 15:06
Well Norm, I for one would also agree that camper trailers have become very heavy and seemingly by the inclusion of lots of small items. Ours went 1.4 tonnes fully laden. I would also agree that a lot of people (90% may be conservative) have no idea about the weights and tolerances they are dealing with. This is often evidenced by comments such as I have a 7 leaf spring etc rather than I have a 1500Kg spring. This is an issue close to my heart and I am appaled that manufacturers are not required to be clearer on this etc.

At least your guy was interested enough to make sure that the trailer was set up for the weight.

FollowupID: 469990

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 16:04

Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 16:04
Baz,

Thanks for your interest. Yes, I know that ball weight is part of the vehicle load. The Hilux has a kerb weight of about 1850 KG (it varies between 1815 and 1865 depending on options fitted). It has a max GVM of 2780 KG. This gives a load capacity of about 930 KG. Before I added the boat and motor, I had a GVM of 2,740 KG when fully loaded for a trip (including the trailer ball weight - measured at weigh bridge). Between boat, motor and accessories and rack for boat, I've added about 135 KG. So without making any other changes, we would have a GVM of about 2875 KG, which is 95 KG or 3.4% over weight. But we have reduced the stuff we carry somewhat since our last big trip.

I couldn't convince Kathryn (SWMBO) to leave a lot of stuff at home before the trip. But on returning after 16 weeks and a fair bit of stuff not being used, she has agreed to a reduction. My estimate of the reduction is around 50KG, but not yet measured. If I'm right I will be about 45 KG or 1.6% over weight.

If I travel at that weight, we won't be over loaded for long. Remember this weight includes 220 litres of water (200 in trailer tanks and 20 litres in back of Hilux), 200 litres of fuel (140 in Hilux LRT and 80 litres on trailer). We only carry full capacity when needed. Even when fully loaded, these volumes come down pretty quickly.

At least I know my weights. In fact I know them backwards; having spent a lot of time on vehicle set up. Even if I do travel 50 KG overweight, we are heaps better off than thousands of 4WDs (particularly wagons which have less load carrying capacity), many of which are 500KG or more overloaded.

In terms of stability, I have Firestone airbags on the rear leaf springs. At about 35 to 40 PSI, the vehicle is level when fully loaded.

The recommended ball weight for a trailer is 10 to 15% of the total weigh of the trailer (depending on which expert you listen to). At 225KG, I'm right on 15%. As I use fuel from gerries and water from front tonk on CT (always used first), it quickly comes down to around 160 to 170 KG. With all gerries and front tank on trailer empty, ball weight is around 140 to 145KG.

We never go off bitumen with the trailer ball fully loaded. I'd estimate our maximum ball weight when off bitumen is around 190 KG, more commonly 170 KG. Still high, but quite managable.

And finally, the rated GCM for the Hilux and trailer is 4,600 KG. Before adding the boat, our GCM was around 4,240 KG. With boat and adjusted load, it will be around 4,300 or a bit less. Well within specs.

As you can see, I'm happy to discuss all this in a reasonable way as it is handy to have my reasoning tested on such an important issue. But I'd hazard a guess that few people have done the level of work on weights and distribution that I have. Certainly some on this forum will have, but far from the majority I would think.
FollowupID: 470002

Reply By: Greg - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 17:11

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 17:11
Thanks for all the responses but the message I am getting is that most failures are traced back to inadequate engineering and certainly there were top gear failures in the past but my argument is that if the vehicle is engineered correctly then there should be no problem.
Lugging in top gear under heavy load will not only cause additional wear on a gearbox but also the motor and other transmission parts.
It is my belief that a modern vehicle should be able to tow in top gear. Towing at but within the manufacturers limits should not cause problems but may accelerate wear and affect the vehicle when old.
I have towed using top gear many heavy vans and campers behind a range of 4wds both manuals and autos and never experienced a problem. I keep most of my vehicles for 10+ years and 250ks. I also have friends who do the same. I believe this is a good test but would like to know what most of the larger auto manufacturers think.
If a manufacturer recommends in a handbook not to tow in top gear, is he saying don't lug at low speeds or is he warning there might be a failure? I don't know.
AnswerID: 209796

Follow Up By: Exploder - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 17:44

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 17:44
Most Autos’ will have notes like don’t tow in O/D or don’t tow in Power mode, this is to keep the Transmission Fluid temperature at acceptable levels.

Towing in a Auto in top gear may make the Toque converter stay unlocked due to the extra strain form the weight on the back this may cause the Fluid to overheat or because the Box needs to constantly kick down gears to maintain speed the fluid once agene overheats.

Basically the way I see it is with any gearbox if the engine has the Power/ Toque to hold Top gear with ease then there is no problem towing in top gear. But if you have 2000Kg on the back and on a slight incline need to have the accelerator flat on the Boards and you are still watching the speed dropping off then you are just straining all drive line components as well as the engine and are going to damage something.

You don’t try to do a hill start in 3rd do you? So why try and lug something up a hill in 5th.

If a manufacturer recommends in a handbook not to tow in top gear, is he saying don't lug at low speeds or is he warning there might be a failure? I don't know.> he means don't tow in top gear as the Box isn't built for it.

Also I was taught not to change down gears when slowing down, as the newer gearboxes are not built for it. Perhaps this is one reason behind a lot of gearbox failures, I know how you oldies like to gear down LOL.

I was also taught this when I did my truck license basically if you are coming up to a set of light’s knock it back down to 5th or 6th and just roll up using the brakes then clutch in just as the RPM starts to dip and back to 3rd. Obviously with load on the back you would gear down a bit more.

FollowupID: 469852

Follow Up By: Notso - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 17:49

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 17:49
All of the manufacturers say it is OK to tow in 5th, overdrive gear, but, if you want true longevity in the box if you are doing a lot of towing according to RAC in WA don't tow in a manual Overdrive. Autos are different to some extent but if the torque converter is not locking up then you may overheat the trans fluid with the slippage going on in the torque converter.
FollowupID: 469853

Follow Up By: _gmd_pps - Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 11:36

Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 11:36
I am with Exploder on that one ..
No 4WD or Ute or Sedan for that matter is really made for towing, unless they come with a transmission oil cooler, firmer clutch packs, towing mode etc.
All standard 4WD are not suitable to tow anything more than 1500Kg despite the specs of the towbar etc. You want a certain amount of revs and you don't want gear hunting, this is why automatic transmissions have tow/haul mode. If you do not have that and tow heavier watch EGT and transmission oil temp. Put an external oil cooler in. It has nothing to do with weakness of OD or such, it has only to do with temperature and slippage when the tranny is not capable of holding the torque of a high powered diesel in a low gear.. My new truck has a 6 speed and will tow fine in high gear unless I use the high power tunes.The tranny is smarter than me anyway .. it will pick the right gear for me ...
have fun
gmd
FollowupID: 469962

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 21:47

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 21:47
Hi Greg,

2 Toyota boxes and one Nissan box prove to me it is not wise to tow in 5th.

The Toyota ones were fixed under Toyota warranty and they themselves were telling me to slot it into 5th if my revs were high enough. I said what if I'm doing 105-110kph, is that fast enough? their answer was yes that should be fine........Well it wasn't and it cost Toyota twice.

The Nissan one has only just happened after 270000km but most of the time 5th was NEVER used so I don't think 5th gear towing was the prob this time, more so the fact it was one of the dodgey ones that come out of the factory that way and it was just a time bomb waiting to go off.

Your money old mate, if you tow in 5th and it happens to you, you will have to deal with it. Plenty of wise and experienced people can tell you these stories but maybe you will just have to find out for yourself before you take these warnings on board??? Good luck to you if your box never breaks after all you will have saved what....about .3litres/100km when you are travelling in 5th which over the 250000km you keep the truck for could average say 20000km in 5th therefore you may save all of about 60lts in this time which in todays market is about what....$90??? Good luck to you if you think it is worth the risk.

Trevor.
AnswerID: 209862

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 23:31

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 23:31
Hmmm,,,,,,,,,,Trev,

Most overdrive gears (5th) give approximately a 25% reduction in RPM for a given road speed. Well mine does anyway.

So if a truck does say 12 litres per 100 kms, then 25% of 12 litres is damn sight larger than 0.3 litres! I think yer decimal point's out somewhere mate,

Say - 3 litres per 100 kms extra economy?

I tow in 5th all the time. My old GQ did it fer 1000's of Kms and more than likely this GQ box in my Chevissan will do the same.

Perhaps some of us need towing lessons?

Get the revs up and then go into 5th. If the load starts labouring the engine, drop it back a cog and give another bootful.

If it still doesn't work drop another cog and go with another bootful.

If, by the time you get down to 1st gear low range, it's still labouring then check that you have removed yer foot from the brake pedal ;)

Bilbo

FollowupID: 469932

Follow Up By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 17:25

Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 17:25
How can you claim a 25% fuel economy difference just by using/not using 5th???????
FollowupID: 470011

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 20:56

Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 20:56
That's right Shane, there is no way you will get a 25% reduction in fuel usage by slotting it into 5th.

I will agree with Bilbo that it could be my driving that is most of my problems regarding 5th gear but then there is a lot of other people having the same dramas so could we all be driving so wrong?
Bilbo, I have an uncle that, like you towed in 5th with his GQ and MQ before that, without drama. This is the same guy that has only last year required a gearbox rebuild in Norseman in his GU 4.2 turbo Patrol. He like so many have been warned and did not take the warning seriously and is now lighter in his hip pocket for it. He now tows in 4th with negligible difference in fuel economy. Possibly some makes are just not as tough as the GQ??? I will not try to find the weaker ones by towing in 5th, but that is my choice and it is yours and everyone else's choice to tow in 5th if you wish.

Regards, Trevor.
FollowupID: 470050

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 22:01

Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 22:01
Shayne 'n Trev,

Hmmm,,,,,,,now where in my statement did I emphatically claim a a 25% fuel economy difference just by using/not using 5th??????" - as you say.

Read it again.

I was simply pointing out that using 5th gear reduces engine RPM by about 25% in most gearboxes - as it does on mine. Therefore, Trev's maths must be wrong somewhere.

Whether improved fuel economy is actually gained from that reduction in RPM depends on many other aspects. One of many aspects would be if that reduction in RPM drops the engine below it's maximum torque output.

I have a GQ box in a GU Chevy. I don't have a problem towing in 5th at 80 kmh and above.

Bilbo
FollowupID: 470062

Follow Up By: honestjohn - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 15:46

Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 15:46
we have a 96 GQ patrol ute aftermarket turbo and tow a 17' caravan,around oz last year,around tas year before several trips up to gulf and back all using 5th gear sensibly i.e over 2100 revs not a problem and still not a problem 269000k's on the dial
FollowupID: 470169

Follow Up By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 16:53

Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 16:53
Bilbo,
I read it,
lines 3 & 4
"so if a truck does say 12 litres per then 25% of 12 litres is damn sight larger than 0.3"
no it doesn't say it emphatically but you certainly insinuated that there was a 25%(your number) difference in fuel economy between 5th/not 5th.
Oh by the way Bilbo my name is not Shayne
please read it again!
FollowupID: 470179

Reply By: Motherhen - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 23:00

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 23:00
I still believe that 5th gear (or overdrive in autos) is not designed for towing heavy loads. Just not worth the risk.

AnswerID: 209890

Reply By: ross - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 23:01

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 23:01
This depends on how much the load is,the type of vehicle and the terrain.
Too many variables to make one hard and fast rule.
However once you have inspected a gearbox and understand how it works, it soon becomes obvious it will wear quicker towing in 5th.

I got to inspect a Toyota landcruiser gearbox owned by a builder who liked to tow his work trailer around in 5th.
The heat had caused the chrome to flake off the 5th gear teeth.
The gear is too small and cant dissipiate the heat like the larger gears can.

I would imagine this is true to some extent on all vehicles unless they have a different set up
AnswerID: 209891

Reply By: Gronk - Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 09:20

Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 09:20
Although this subject has been beaten to death, I think everybody just needs to do what they think is best for themselves ?

I tow a CT in 5th all the time, sitting usually on 110 - 120 k's which is approx 2600 rpm, but never let it go down below 2000rpm.
So, in my case I prefer to let the diesel sing instead of lug, but long term affect on the gearbox ?? don't know ??

Most 4x4 boxes are built like a truck, pity they don't last like one ?? Think its a shame you can't use a gearbox for what it was intended for, and thats not running around Australia in 4th gear !!! My 4x4 would be doing approx 3000rpm in 4th at 110 k's
AnswerID: 209916

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 20:56

Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 20:56
Geez Gronk,
Better be careful mate, the brainwashed do-gooding speed police of this site will be on your case for such 'dangerous' speeds whislt towing, don't you know that once you hook something up to the towball you're supposed to automatically become a mobile roadblock at a supposedly 'safe' 80kph :-))

Avagoodn
Pezza
FollowupID: 470049

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 20:59

Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 20:59
Gronk,

you and I would make good travel partners, that's the speed I like to sit on as well but I will still be in 4th.

Cheers Trevor.
FollowupID: 470051

Follow Up By: Gronk - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 10:29

Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 10:29
Yeh Trevor, but you have the advantage of a few less revs at that speed !!

I only usually sit "just" above the speed limit, but I still like to hear the motor purring instead of growling. !!!!

But I do occasionally sit on the speed limit, just can't remember the last time ????

And Pezza, yes its a shame that a lot of older people still think you have to stick to 80k's if you are towing ?? Not that I'm saying they HAVE to go as fast as me ? And after seeing some of their driving maybe they should stick to 80 ( or get off the road altogether ) But they probably say the same about me when they see me whizzing past at a "lunatic" 110k's.. he he !!!
FollowupID: 470116

Reply By: Greg - Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 19:13

Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 19:13
Wow what a lot of replies and plenty of side tracks as well. I guess my original idea was to try and get to the bottom of the problem in the hope someone with engineering quals and possibly the manufacturers or motoring orgs would get involved. I intend to persue this further at some stage but am enjoying as holiday towing in top gear. I tow an all up weight of 5 tonnes using a 3.5 Pajero auto. I get 5-6 kpl depending on speed and most of all wind. I usually tow at 80-90 kph using top gear and in gently undulating county lock the torque converter in to prevent easy unlocking on hills. If I tow in 3rd (4sp auto) I get about 4.5-5.0 kpl. I acknowledge it is important not to lug in 5th and in hilly country will use the od lockout and sometimes the power switch. The vehicle has done 220k.

I believe it is safe to tow in top gear but many factors come into play. Some vehicles may have a weak gearbox and many handbooks will warn about towing in high gears. It would be unwise tow in any gear in an auto with the torque converter unlocked, but how many people know the difference between the torque converter locking cf a gear change. If the vehicle is grossly underpowered for the job towing in the higher gears will cause excessive wear to both engine and gearbox but if your box fails at 250k plus I think you have done pretty well.

Any useful comments would still be appreciated.
AnswerID: 210359