its people like this that ruin it for everyone!

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 20:37
ThreadID: 40300 Views:3453 Replies:18 FollowUps:24
" target="EOF" class="lbg">www.youtube.com/watch?v=JUw2IxpT2qI

absolute idiot!

Reply By: Trevor M (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 21:01

Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 21:01
the link returns a "malformed video ID" message
AnswerID: 210019

Reply By: tomjones83 - Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 21:04

Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 21:04
sorry :-/

Site Link
AnswerID: 210021

Reply By: Footloose - Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 21:23

Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 21:23
Haven't been to Fraser for years because of idiots like him. One of the things I witnessed was a troopy racing down the beach at 1am with kids on the roofrack. Real bright !
AnswerID: 210027

Follow Up By: Ken - Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 21:31

Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 21:31
Standby for the responses from those who think this is a) doing what the vehicle was designed for; b) having a bit of fun and your are a wowser for expressing the view it is unreasonable behaviour: c) generally trying to justify this sort of idiot behaviour.

I agree with the comments so far, idiots like this are what makes it so hard to defend 4wding as a legitimate recreation.
Ken
FollowupID: 470055

Follow Up By: Doggy Tease - Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 21:49

Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 21:49
Ken, i think you underestimate the people who reside on this forum. As a whole we do actually object to such obvious wonton acts of stupidity, whilst realising that there is a minority of 4wder's that choose to use their 4by in the way shown in the video.
It is only with patience and clear understanding that the people who act this way come to realise that silly acts like this, especially on such a high profile piece of real estate, may in fact be helping to close areas for the rest of us.
Whilst i agree that idiots like this don't help our cause/recreation, i do realise that they are a part of the whole and must simply be taken out the back paddock and flogged.......lololololol :)
Anyone know how to get utube to remove the video???

meow.

rick.
FollowupID: 470058

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 21:55

Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 21:55
I personally think that when off road, sitting still in/on/at an obstacle and spinning four wheels at 4000rpm thus digging holes in the track and buggering up the enviroment is far worse than this video. I also think that Footy's remarks about the troopy with the kids on the roof is far far more stupid than this.

It's not the sort of thing I do when I am out driving, but then again maybe I would if was Y&D again....... did much worse than that 30 years ago..... as we ALL did.

Just my opinion

FollowupID: 470060

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 22:01

Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 22:01
Errrrrrr Just to clarify..... I didn't mean that Footy's comments were far Worse Than This.... as it appears to read now that I have posted it.......

"One of the things I witnessed was a troopy racing down the beach at 1am with kids on the roofrack. Real bright ! "

I am saying that the troopy thing was far worse than this video.

Nothing wrong with Footys remarks at all!!!!!!

Sorry 'bout that Footy!

FollowupID: 470061

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 21:49

Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 21:49
I won't defend actions like this but I will say this.... and I am NOT trying to inflame the masses.... My first thought was like yours..... absolute idiot.

But I watched it a couple of times and have come to a couple of conclusions.

1) He has done his donuts on hard sand that the tide will repair.... have a look at the head of the clip.... no tyre marks.

2) He hasn't done any damage to the dune vegetation.

3) There isn't another vehicle in camera shot, so no chance of causing someone else to have an accident.

In reality, the only person who could be in danger is the driver, and yes... if he rolled it would cost a small fortune to air lift him out. If he drowned the car, well... his responsibility isn't it?

Now before everyone says HE should be shot for doing it and I should be shot for commenting as I have.... I ask this...
We ALL did stupid things when we were young didn't we?

Yes.............................. we did!

Remember.....
this is just my opinion......

AnswerID: 210036

Follow Up By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 22:02

Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 22:02
Agreed .......... no biggie for me. If kids and over dunes yep I'd have an issue but hell one tide and all gone.

FollowupID: 470064

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 07:31

Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 07:31
yep stupid I know and maybe detrimental to us all...but no damage to the dunes or even permanent prints left anywhere
FollowupID: 470090

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 11:24

Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 11:24
Hi Brian,
Just read your comments again after putting up mine below yours on my post, understand mate, I'm not having a go at you, my comments are in general and are directed at the negative ones on here :-)
I also did much worse than what that lad is doing, but unlike you, I still do them !
No-one said I had to 'grow up' and become a mundane, boring old fart just because my body is ageing, LOL.

Avagoodn
Pezza
FollowupID: 470128

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 06:29

Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 06:29
Yes also agree no permanent damage I personly think there is more damage from driving monster 4wds over anything that cant get out of there way.

I know I did the same on the beach in a VW beetle

FollowupID: 470278

Reply By: Exploder - Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 21:50

Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 21:50
I see the same Jeep is bogged on Fraser inland in another video, he’s just sitting there spinning and digging himself in deeper, Clearly has no idea.

All I will say is, I certainly wouldn’t of done that on a Place like Fraser, as well as filming it and putting it on the Internet.
AnswerID: 210037

Follow Up By: On Patrol - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 16:37

Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 16:37
Possibly the posting of the clip is maybe his biggest sin here!!!! opponents of 4WD's would love this sort of evidence. I am not defending the guy, this is just MHO.
FollowupID: 470178

Follow Up By: Exploder - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 18:54

Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 18:54
Nope agree mate, better to do it on some hard sand at the beach than on a suburban street.

Get it out of ya system when there is nobody else around you will injure if something goes wrong.

as others have seid it will be gone in a matter of minutes anyhow.
FollowupID: 470194

Reply By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 21:57

Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 21:57
Its these guys that cause park and track closures.

When you are not looking they run their little cars up the side of sand dunes to see how high they can go.

They should stay home and play Xbox.

AnswerID: 210043

Reply By: srowlandson - Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 22:14

Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 22:14
The douche has his number plate in other videos, maybe the cops will hunt him down like a lot of the other hero's who post videos like this on UTUBE
AnswerID: 210048

Follow Up By: Scubaroo - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 10:07

Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 10:07
Just semantics... but it's YouTube, not UTUBE. UTUBE is actually a metal fabrication company that is suing YouTube because their site keeps going down from the sheer number of people visiting it by mistake.
FollowupID: 470110

Reply By: Muzzgit [WA] - Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 23:28

Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 23:28
As others have said, he has not caused any damage to anything.

He has not ripped up any tracks or vegitation. He has not endangered anyones life. He did not do it in the presence of other people.

Get over it. Nature has.
AnswerID: 210061

Follow Up By: Member - Karl - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 12:04

Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 12:04
I tend to agree as well. No damage, no safety issues and the waves would have washed the tracks away in no time.

BTW - did a couple of doughnuts myself in a similar situation down south on a beach a couple of months ago - the kids had a laugh, no-one was hurt and 5 minutes later you couln't even tell that we had been there, it was bit of fun.
FollowupID: 470141

Reply By: Pezza (Bris) - Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 23:36

Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 23:36
The lad is doing a bit of circle work on the hard packed sand, the evidence of which will be washed away in minutes from doing it, he doesn't touch the dunes, he has no passengers to put in danger, there are no other vehicles or general public in sight, he doesn't destroy/deface/damage anything and he's in a registered and roadworthy (probably more legal, modification wise, than most members/visitors vehicles on this site) vehicle.
Other than being slightly illegal if it was done on a stretch of sand that comes under gazetted road rules, what exactly is the problem ?

Avagoodn
Pezza
AnswerID: 210062

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 07:57

Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 07:57
Apparently it is on Fraser Island and that beach is a gazetted road.

FollowupID: 470094

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 11:12

Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 11:12
Yeah I realize that Brian, but come on mate, you telling me you've never done anything illegal on a public road ?
Considering the location, I still don't see what the problem is, the lad is just having a bit of fun, the way some here are carring on about what he is doing I'd hate to relay to them some of my antics over the past 30 odd years :-))
Geez, aren't we allowed to do anything FUN anymore ???

Avagoodn
Pezza
FollowupID: 470124

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 07:48

Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 07:48
Hi Pezza...
Just to clarify, I wasn't having a go at you..... your post said...

"Other than being slightly illegal if it was done on a stretch of sand that comes under gazetted road rules, what exactly is the problem ?"

and as I read it, I thought you may not be aware that Eastern Beach on Fraser is a gazetted road. I'm in agreeance with you. It's just a bit of fun and certainly in that video he doesn't do any damage to anything or put anyone in danger.

FollowupID: 470282

Reply By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 00:14

Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 00:14
Looks like a bit of a cloth-head in this one....

" target="EOF" class="lbg">www.youtube.com/watch?v=KVk-iktYrhA
AnswerID: 210069

Reply By: Member - Toolman (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 09:05

Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 09:05
Personally I don't see anything all that shocking in it, other than him being stupid and putting himself in danger. If he has to do doughnuts then I reckon he's doing it where it will have the least impact. I know its Fraser Island and I know the beach is a road but as someone else said, whose he hurting? what's he damaging?

If you want to see something that gets my blood up, check out an unnamed 4WD magazine where they buy two clapped out 4WD's and pit them against each other in the bush. Now that's what I call irresponsible. For example they drive along a well formed track or road, spot a wet patch with water in it on the road side and plough through it to see who'll get bogged. Or putting their vehicles bull bar to bull bar to see who can push who backwards, or deliberately ramming each other in a race around a paddock. Then they go and make a free DVD of the whole thing and flog it free with the magazine. A great example. People like Mr Scruby would just love that sort of thing. I know I know, why buy the magazine, but it was that or the Womans Weeky or No Idea.

Toolman
AnswerID: 210101

Follow Up By: Gronk - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 10:11

Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 10:11
Yeh, a good reply Toolman !! 1st thing, if you want to have a bit of fun, don't take a vid of it ??

2nd, what of the "vandals" with their 5" lifts and 33' muddies who go out on a weekend looking for the biggest mudhole so they can test out ( and destroy the track at the same time ) the capabilities of their 4x4 ???
FollowupID: 470111

Follow Up By: Ron George - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 14:49

Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 14:49
Oh ye who is without sin cast the first stone!!!!! give me a break... a coupla donuts & the poor bugger is sent to purgatory, I’ve seen far worse damage done in pristine environments by so called responsible 4 wheelers... take the West coast of Tassie Sth from Piemans Head for example, in winter time the area becomes one giant bog hole just waiting to happen, yet people, against all common sense & advice venture into the place just to test their "capability"... The scares they leave on the landscape would make you cry... so a couple of disappearing donuts... Pleeeeeease. RG.
FollowupID: 470163

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 12:01

Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 12:01
Yeah umm, I've seen more environmental damage done in car manufactuer's TV commercials...

I guess the moral is, if you are going to have some "fun" ensure you are by yourself, not damaging anything and DON'T TAKE A VIDEO OF IT AND POST IT ON THE NET!

But other than that, meh.
AnswerID: 210139

Follow Up By: Hairy - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 13:46

Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 13:46
Yeah I think the only stupid thing he done was put it on the web.
If he didnt you would all be none the wiser.
He was just having fun and hurting no one by the looks.
FollowupID: 470154

Reply By: Moose - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 14:21

Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 14:21
Once saw an idiot doing donuts on the beach (with driver's door open). The fool must have been half cut because he didn't see the cops were watching too. They nabbed him and locked the vehicle up and made him walk back to camp - he was trudging along draging his esky behind him. Very funny (for us - not so for him). But there were other people around (apart from us) and in the circumstances it was dangerous so he deserved it.
AnswerID: 210162

Reply By: BenSpoon - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 15:27

Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 15:27
my god! he could have killed an elephant or any other animal that was in the area!

you call him a vandal? You're probably right. I'll take the first step and pick off people with a paintball gun next time I see them writing their names in the sand at the beach. Get a life.

His other videos are better.
" target="EOF" class="lbg">www.youtube.com/watch?v=KVk-iktYrhA&NR
AnswerID: 210169

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 18:57

Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 18:57
well said
FollowupID: 470196

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 07:54

Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 07:54
BenSpoon..... now I have to wear a paintball vest while swimming????????????

LOL...LOL...LOL...LOL...LOL...LOL...LOL...LOL...

FollowupID: 470284

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 23:13

Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 23:13
soo that Hahn Ad on the Teev is Vandalism? And heres me thinking it was Hedonism?

FollowupID: 470611

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 09:41

Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 09:41
its 9;30 am , I just got home from last night & have no idea what your talking about bonza . Call me around 3 and explain it to me , when I am less F%^%^K up
FollowupID: 470655

Reply By: Rock Crawler - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 18:59

Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 18:59
just shoot him , no trial , just death penalty , fancy doing dougnuts on the beach , what was he thinking.

in anothe film clip , he got stuck in sand , and got out to see his wheel spin.

Shoot his hole family also , just so we dont meet his off spring lol

come on guys , a bit over the top dont you think
AnswerID: 210206

Reply By: luch - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 20:31

Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 20:31
Build a bridge and Get over it

Anyone would think some of you people have never done this before !

AnswerID: 210220

Reply By: Jimbo - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 21:05

Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 21:05
I actually saw some kids digging holes in the sand and making sandcastles.

They then grew up to be teenagers who stuck their surfboards into the sand.

Then they drove their Jeep below the waterline and upset some sand until the tide rose again and levelled it all out.

They ought be sentenced to life.......

Fair Dinkhum, are we not getting a bit precious?

They were having a bit of fun and doing no damage whatsoever.

FFS, get over it.
AnswerID: 210231

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 07:55

Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 07:55
Geeeze... Jimbo... you may have opened a whole NEW can of worms with the "kids digging holes in the sand and making sandcastles" bit...... LOL...

FollowupID: 470285

Reply By: Gronk - Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 09:31

Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 09:31
I was out in the forest the other day, and a grader was there destroying a perfectly good 4x4 track and making it smooth again !!!!

I thought, do I report him or just get out the gun and shoot him !!!!

Nah, I'll just wait till it rains again and go out there and churn it all up again and make it a 4x4 track again !!!!!
AnswerID: 210307

Follow Up By: Hairy - Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 13:47

Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 13:47
Jeese mate dont do that, theyll have to bitumise it!
FollowupID: 470333