OT - Should all gaols (jails) be like this?

Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 16:00
ThreadID: 40324 Views:3802 Replies:13 FollowUps:27
When I first read this, I suspected it might not be true. So checked it out on Snopes and they say it is substantially true:

www.snopes.com/crime/deserts/pink.asp

This is my kind of guy.....

TO THOSE OF YOU NOT FAMILIAR WITH JOE ARPAIO, HE IS THE MARICOPA COUNTY SHERIFF( ARIZONA ) AND HE KEEPS GETTING ELECTED OVER AND OVER AGAIN.

These are some of the reasons why:

Sheriff Joe Arpaio created the "tent city jail" to save Arizona from spending tens of million of dollars on another expensive prison complex.

He has jail meals down to 40 cents a serving and charges the inmates for them.

He banned smoking and porn magazines in the jails, and took away their weightlifting equipment and cut off all but "G" movies. He says:

"they're in jail to pay a debt to society not to build muscles so they can assault innocent people when they leave."

He started chain gangs to use the inmates to do free work on county and city projects and save taxpayer's money.

Then he started chain gangs for women so he wouldn't get sued for discrimination.

He took away cable TV until he found out there was a federal court order that required cable TV for jails. So he hooked up the cable TV again but only allows the Disney channel and the weather channel.

When asked why the weather channel he replied: "so these morons will know how hot it's gonna be while they are working on my chain gangs."

He cut off coffee because it has zero nutritional value and is therefore a waste of taxpayer money. When the inmates complained, he told them, "This isn't the Ritz/Carlton. If you don't like it, don't come back."

He also bought the Newt Gingrich lecture series on US history that he pipes into the jails. When asked by a reporter if he had any lecture series by a Democrat, he replied that a democratic lecture series that actually tells the truth for a change would be welcome and that it might even explain why 95% of the inmates were in his jails in the first place.

With temperatures being even hotter than usual in Phoenix (116 degrees just set a new record for June 2nd), the Associated Press reports: About 2,000 inmates living in a barbed- wire-surrounded tent encampment at the Maricopa County Jail have been given permission to strip down to their government-issued pink boxer shorts.

On Wednesday, hundreds of men wearing pink boxer shorts were chatting in the tents, where temperatures reached 128 degrees. "This is hell. It feels like we live in a furnace," said Ernesto Gonzales, an inmate for 2 years with 10 more to go. "It's inhumane.

Joe Arpaio, who makes his prisoners wear pink, and eat bologna sandwiches, is not one bit sympathetic. "Criminals should be punished for their crimes not live in luxury until it's time for parole, only to go out and commit more crimes so they can come back in to live on taxpayers money and enjoy things many taxpayers can't afford to have for themselves."

Wednesday he told all the inmates who were complaining of the heat in the

tents: "It's between 120 to 130 degrees in Iraq and our soldiers are living in tents too, and they have to walk all day in the sun, wearing full battle gear and get shot at, and they have not committed any crimes, so shut your damned mouths!"

Way to go, Sheriff! If all prisons were like yours there would be a lot less crime and we would not be in the current position of running out of prison spaces.

Sheriff Joe was just re-elected Sheriff in Maricopa County, Arizona

Wonder why it hasn't caught on??

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 16:04

Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 16:04
I love him..
AnswerID: 210171

Reply By: Wizard1 - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 16:22

Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 16:22
No ot here...we give them 3 square a day, TV, DVD aircon in some prisons and yet they complain about human rights abuses against them....

This country to start to harden up...

AnswerID: 210174

Reply By: Ozrover - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 16:26

Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 16:26
Norm.

If we had one of these prisons, then where would we put it??

Lets see, I reckon that in the middle of lake Eyre might be a good place, & if it floods then they'll get a wash!!

8 )>
AnswerID: 210175

Reply By: troopyman - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 16:44

Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 16:44
Sounds ok until you have been in that situ !!!!!!!!
AnswerID: 210180

Follow Up By: F4Phantom - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 17:50

Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 17:50
Yeah but the coolest thing about jails is, you dont have to go if you dont want to. Like the sherrif said "if you dont like it, dont come back"
FollowupID: 470187

Follow Up By: Exploder - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 18:47

Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 18:47
Exactly Troopyman.

For some criminals absolutely but not all, some are behind bars not because they are bad people, just because they were a Victim of circumstances and were in the Wrong place at the wrong time and did something in the spare of the moment to protect them self or there family or whatever and ended up in the slammer because of it.

And don’t think it doesn’t happen, cause it does, I worked with a guy a few years ago and something very similar happed to him, Wrong place wrong time, bad choice buy him, 2 years behind bars, has a Criminal recorded and it’s now very hard for him to get work in his Profession.
FollowupID: 470193

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 10:49

Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 10:49
Gotta agree with that Exploder, as much as I like the idea of the 'tent city' goal, I think our "justice" system has to be dramatically overhauled first, mainly so it will protect the innocent and punish the guilty, not the other way round, as it is at the moment.

Avagoodn
Pezza
FollowupID: 470310

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 12:19

Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 12:19
>> I think our "justice" system has to be dramatically overhauled first,

what like the bloke that beat a 2yr old to death got 4 yrs cause he had the standard bad childhood, voices told him to do it, he was on drugs, he was drunk, Mars was in line with hisanus, etc etc.
and the woman who stole $100k from work who got 5 yrs?

Justice system? bleep me blind... bring this bloke in just to take out the bleep s that are incharge of this "SYSTEM"....
FollowupID: 470321

Follow Up By: troopyman - Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 14:50

Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 14:50
Judges have the final say in interpreting the law and there say is final . This must never be changed !!!!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 470340

Follow Up By: Mbr - Taz & Milka-Queanbeyan - Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 17:58

Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 17:58
I have been in that situation Troopyman... Wearing full battle kit and patrolling around in the African sun (40-50 degrees) waiting to get shot at.

I wasn't a criminal. I had commited no cime. I was actually there to protect the weak from the criminals.

Where is your sympathy for me ?

I say don't re-elect this guy as Sherrif he should be President of the USA because anything they do the rest of the world ends up doing as well eventually.

And as for Judges having the final say... How many examples do you need of Judges using exceptionally poor judgement and giving paltry sentences for major crimes and vice versa. In the UK they did a 10 page newspaper spread on Judges listing their sentencing decisions for various crimes. They even put photo's of each judge next to the list of their poor decisions and called for public support to get them all sacked for incompetence.

And if you wanted to join with the conspiracy theorists: how many of these judges are linked to peadophilia (spelling?)or other criminal rings and are protecting each other from prosecution....lol. There will always be debate about who watches the watchers.

The entire justice system is farcical and will always remain so bu the fact remains that prison sentences are a punishment and therefore should not be comfortable for the prisoner.

Cheers..Taz
FollowupID: 470359

Follow Up By: troopyman - Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 18:39

Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 18:39
Where did i say judges always make the correct descision HUH .
FollowupID: 470364

Follow Up By: Mbr - Taz & Milka-Queanbeyan - Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 19:03

Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 19:03
If the judges are not making the correct decisions then it would seem counter productive to continue with a system that relies on their decision making abilities. I am sure that there could be a much more efficient and justice orientated system.

Why stick with a system you know has fundamental flaws in it ?

The legal system carries the onus to prove a persons guilt or innocence.

Once guilt is determined there is no reason why a set formula for punishment for a particular crime cannot be instituted. There is little requirement for an individual to bring his/her own prejudices, biases and personal interests into the sentencing process.

Cheers...Taz
FollowupID: 470369

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 19:12

Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 19:12
Let me pose two, not so hypothetical, scenarios for you:

1 – a 48 year old man is found guilty of sexuality assaulting, torturing and killing an 8 year old boy.

2 – An 18 year old boy who has been brought up in an appalling family where his father has beaten the $hit out of him, his mother and his sister for the past 18 years takes a kitchen knife and stabs his father in the heart whilst father is drunkenly asleep and mother has lost another two teeth.

Both should be treated in the same manner in regard to sentence, should they?

If this is what you want people… then let me out of here.

FollowupID: 470372

Follow Up By: Mbr - Taz & Milka-Queanbeyan - Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 19:28

Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 19:28
They are not the same crime. One is murder and the other is self defence or manslaughter.

If you are going to alter the system then you need to make some serious changes. Fix it properly or don't fix it. Knee jerk reactions to a particular incident have generally resulted in reducing the overall capability of a system rather than strengthening it in a particular area.

If the entire system needs to be re-written from the ground up then so be it.

As I said before...the entire system sucks but it is the system we are stuck with. We have to accept our current system until we elect a government willing to rewrite it completely to close those lop holes that lawyers are so fond of finding.

Bottom line is - Joe is trying to save taxpayers money and trying to make prison the deterrent it was designed to be. He is not the legal system that sent people to his facility.

Cheers...Taz
FollowupID: 470378

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 19:39

Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 19:39
>They are not the same crime. One is murder and the other is
>self defence or manslaughter.

You need to brush up on your law. They are both murder. Father presented no threat to anyone as he was asleep – but you have demonstrated my point; crimes and perpetrators should be sentenced according to their crime not according to some “fix everything” formula determined by you or me or Joe.

FollowupID: 470380

Follow Up By: troopyman - Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 21:00

Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 21:00
I hope you rednecks never get on a jury !!!
FollowupID: 470392

Follow Up By: troopyman - Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 21:52

Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 21:52
http://www.juggernuts.com/images/uploads/rednex.jpg
FollowupID: 470398

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 22:25

Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 22:25
so right

FollowupID: 470599

Reply By: Footloose - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 17:42

Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 17:42
Norm, for some crimes I'm in total agreement. But what if you're one of the .00001 percent that's innocent ? Does happen.
Like most things I guess it depends which side of the fence you're on.
AnswerID: 210186

Reply By: Hairy - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 17:46

Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 17:46
Import Him!!
AnswerID: 210187

Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 18:04

Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 18:04
Brilliant. Wonder what his stats are on re-offending morons coming back for more.

Problem is 99.99% are crims by mentality and you can't dress up a sow's ear and make it a silk purse.

But given that a crim statistically can't be rehabilitated, the next best thing for their housing is to copy Sherrif Joe's formula, so it costs taxpayers nothing.

We do have plenty of suitable land available in Oz....
AnswerID: 210192

Reply By: On Patrol - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 18:32

Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 18:32
Yoh, Joe. You the MAN!!!!
AnswerID: 210200

Reply By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 20:08

Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 20:08
More naive people who suffer from the mistaken belief that the legal system and justice are synonymous.

AnswerID: 210215

Follow Up By: Ozrover - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 21:39

Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 21:39
Ok. so I suppose that all the people in gaol are innocent & butter wouldn't melt in there mouths!!

I personally have never done any time inside an institution of any kind, but I have close acquaintance's that have/are still doing time.

For the minute few who are innocent, I feel sorry for, but for the far larger number "do the crime, do the time".

For petty crimes (non-violent) no problem, a stay at Silverwater or Long Bay may suffice, but for MAJOR crimes, i.e. Rape, Murder, Violent Assault amongst others, then they deserve everything that they get!

IMHO!
FollowupID: 470221

Reply By: Bilbo - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 23:05

Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 23:05
I think that this is a sad indictment of the contemporary justice system. These inmates have been lead astray by the temptations of modern society. Temptations that we, yes all of us, allowed to be put in front of them. Is it thier fault that they covet your belongings, your wife, your privacy? They are after all human beings. not animals.

And yet we institutionalise them and expect them to recover from this traumatic experience and expect them to be model citizens after suffering such a horrific debasement and interment. Is it any wonder that crime is on the increase? Is it any wonder that we live in fear when we treat people like this?

Heavens above, what is wrong with you people? Have you no sympathy for those that are downtrodden? For those that are victimised? For those those that have to suffer our consumer society?

Why not shoot the $%%##@@!!s. Its even cheaper!!

Bilbo
AnswerID: 210262

Follow Up By: Member - John - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 23:15

Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 23:15
I'm with Bilbo, even though his comments are sarcastic, lets look at capital punishment, it cost over $100000.00 a year a prisoner to keep them! If they are in for life, then that is it, LIFE.

FollowupID: 470251

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 11:02

Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 11:02
Bluddy hell Bilbo !
You had me worried there for a while, Thinkin'......."What's happened to him, I usually agree with 90% of what he says, but WHOOAAA, this is waaay outa whack !
Has he started going to church and is practicing his sermons (spelling ?) while we were'nt looking ?"
Till I read the last line, thought about it for a couple of seconds, then realized you were pulling the pi$$, pheeewww...... relax, that's better :-)

Avagoodn
Pezza
FollowupID: 470313

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 19:35

Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 19:35
Federal have 550 round bulk packs of .22LR Hollow points on special now for $28 at the Hunters Den.

A rough but 100% reliable and accurate old Lithgow bolt action can be bought for around $70.

I agree Bilbo, problem solved for under $100 (and perfect cray bait too)
FollowupID: 470379

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 23:30

Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 23:30
V8,

Thanks mate, but mine is a 22 Hornet. Different bullet/shell. When the car was stolen the magzaine was in the back of the drawers. I still have the gun but no mag.

So if anybody knows where i can get a 5 shot mag for a Krico 22 Hornet, I'd be obliged. They are not a common rifle fer parts.

Geez- 550 rounds fer only $28.00!! Are you sure. I pay about a 1.50 a shot for 22 Hornet shells.

Bilbo
FollowupID: 470424

Reply By: Bilbo - Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 00:03

Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 00:03
,,,,,,,,,,,,,and furthermore, if it was the bastards that stole my Landcruiser, I'd even pull the trigger - with pleasure!!

I notice those bastards didn't come back,,,,musta found the 50 rounds of ammo in the back and another 20 in the front ashtray!!

Thinking,,,,,,,,,,hmmm, he's still got the gun!!

I just wish I'd have caught 'em at it.

Kneecap shots are good ;)

I used to love Dirty Harry movies!!

Bilbo
AnswerID: 210277

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 16:24

Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 16:24
me too love dirty harry movies that is
FollowupID: 470348

Reply By: Member - Andy Q (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 15:03

Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 15:03
Norm, Norm, Norm!!!
AnswerID: 210330

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 17:20

Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 17:20
Here is the man in question:
!MPG:12!
AnswerID: 210347

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 18:00

Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 18:00
There are many cases I could present but I'll ask you this one:

Nicaragua (a democratic country) has recently passed a law banning all abortions - even in cases where the mother's life is at risk - do you think a woman who had an ectopic pregnancy and obtained an abortion should be subject to one of Joe's chain gangs? She will, certainly, be a criminal – perhaps even a murderer?

Life is not as simple as people like Joe who are, essentially, elected politicians would like to fool you into believing.

news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/americas/6089718.stm

FollowupID: 470360

Follow Up By: Mbr - Taz & Milka-Queanbeyan - Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 19:16

Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 19:16
There's only one problem with your arguement MIke. Joe didn't create the laws and Joe didn't prove or disprove anyone's guilt. Joe didn't even determine the length of anyone's sentence.

All Joe is doing is reducing wastage of taxpayers money and trying to create an environment that is unpleasant but not inhumane in an effort to provide a functional deterrent to habitual criminals.

When I was in the Army our living conditions on operations where about the same as these prisoners are in. We also ran the risk of being shot or blown up.

A prison sentence - your innocence or guilt is irrelevant - is meant to be a punishment and it is designed as a deterrent against future crimes. Why shouldn't it be an unpleasant experience ? Thats the whole point to having prisons.

Cheers....Taz
FollowupID: 470374

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 19:23

Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 19:23
>There's only one problem with your arguement MIke.

The only problem with my argument is that you failed to answer it.

I refer you, again, to the Nicaraguan situation and ask you to answer that - things are not always as black and white as your previous posts suggest you see the world.

FollowupID: 470375

Follow Up By: Mbr - Taz & Milka-Queanbeyan - Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 17:01

Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 17:01
The onus of proof of guilt or innocence is on the legal system not the prison system.

You keep pushing the point about the legal system being inadequate. I agree it is both here and in Nicaragua. I disgree with the law they just passed. What would you like me to do ? I work with 300 guys who carry guns. Perhaps we should take down the Nicaraguan Government because they passed a stupid law. If that was the case then every Government should be dissolved.

The article originally placed in this post was about a prison not about the legal system that created the prisoners.

Now how about responding to some of my points. Namely that the conditions in the prison they describe are unpleasant but not inhumane. We lived in worse when we were in the Army and we had committed no crime. So the poor Nicaraguan lass who decided to have an abortion would be unhappy, miserable, uncomfortable and incorrectly incarcerated BUT she would be in no danger of dying and she would have ample time to consider how she ended up living in a country whose elected officials made such a stupid law.

Prison is meant to be a deterrent to criminals not a holiday camp. Do you not agree with making prison extremely uncomfortable to deter repeat offenders ? Or would you prefer - like our criminals - that they get treated with better conditions than the police who arrested them, the corrections officers who guard them and a good portion of the taxpayers that they committed their crime against ?

What is your solution ? You keep pointing out that I appear to see things in black and white ... I do ... The way things and and the way we would like them to be. Two different worlds and never the twain shall meet ... unless people actually DO something about it instead of discussing it. So what would you do ? How would you maintain the human element for flexibility but ensure that a fitting sentence was awarded for a particular crime ?

Instead of offering stumbling blocks to other points of view how about offering solutions.

Cheers....Taz

FollowupID: 470556

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 14:09

Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 14:09
>What would you like me to do ?

Understand that "The Law" is not always right, just or moral and inflicting degrading, harsh punishments upon people who have been convicted under bad law is wrong. I offered the Nicaraguan law as an example.

>The article originally placed in this post was about a
>prison not about the legal system that created the
>prisoners.

The two are inseparable in The West. It make no sense to discuss the penal system unless one appreciates the general operation of the legal system.

>Now how about responding to some of my points. Namely that
>the conditions in the prison they describe are unpleasant
>but not inhumane.

I'm not at all sure you're correct in that statement. I suspect they are in breach of a number of UN conventions to which the USA is a signatory. But without a lengthy checking process I cannot be certain.

>We lived in worse when we were in the Army and we had
>committed no crime.

Yes, I've lived in worse too and many people both in Australia and the Third World also do but that is no reason for us to do the same. In some countries people are stoned to death but I don’t believe we should adopt that practice either. People who are in the care of the State should be treated decently.

>Prison is meant to be a deterrent to criminals not a
>holiday camp. Do you not agree with making prison extremely
>uncomfortable to deter repeat offenders ?

The deprivation of liberty is meant to be the deterrent NOT the conditions inside the prison. Which may go some way to explaining why the USA has the highest per capita prison population in the world. If you treat people like animals they will behave like animals. Are you aware that the USA also has a number of children serving life sentences in adult prisons because a decision was made to "try them as an adult" - perhaps Joe would relish some 14 year olds. Harsh prison regimes simply do not work; Russia is only a little behind the USA in it's per capita prison population and has some very harsh regimes indeed.

The "Hang 'em & Flog 'em" brigade always seems to have this notion of prisons as being "Holiday Camps", yet few of them have ever been into a prison or even talked to people who have.

>What is your solution?

There isn't "a solution" and anyone who thinks there is is simply deluding themselves. Crime and punishment has been a complex issue for every society for thousands of years and any notion that Joe's regime is new or innovative is foolish - harsh prison regimes have been tried many, many times in the past all over the world and they simply don't work. They do, however, engender both a sense of resentment and isolation in the offender as well as debasing the society which imposes them. You stated you had been in the army: as you will know the forces well understand how to motivate and encourage personal development within individuals and they don’t do that by denigrating them – they do it by encouraging people to realise, appreciate and develop their personal worth, abilities and position within their “community”.

Certainly, some people are just plain bad and will _never_ be rehabilitated, most are not and society will have a better chance of turning them around if it equips them with some of the educational and social skills they need to operate at a basic level in everyday situations.

>How would you maintain the human element for flexibility
>but ensure that a fitting sentence was awarded for a
>particular crime ?

Good question.

I would ensure judges had much more exposure to the society "normal people" live in - most judges have grown up and lived their working lives in privileged conditions.

Where possible the victim should have a greater input into the process - Victim Impact Statements are a good thing.

More imaginative punishments could be used - eg. vandals could be ordered to clean graffiti or rebuild damaged buildings.

Time spent in prison should be more productive. If we want people to "improve" then we must encourage them to develop a sense of self worth and achievement. Teach people some skills, improve their education, give them a sense that if they try they _will_ find a worthwhile place in society. Breaking rocks whilst chained up won't do that. Anyone who has ever trained a dog will tell you that you don’t do it by being cruel to the animal.

>Instead of offering stumbling blocks to other points of
>view how about offering solutions.

"Offering stumbling blocks" is a normal part of the debating process and not one to be described negatively, it is simply counter argument – hopefully a process we may all learn from.

Prison doesn’t work: NSW = 64% re-offending rate within two years, UK = 58%
Site Link
www.nao.org.uk/pn/01-02/0102548.htm

The following are two quotes from a young man called James who spend a lot of time in prison – his story is worth reading:

reducingreoffending.blogspot.com/

------------ Quote 1 -------------
The C-FAR Life Change programme consisted of an 11-week residential course where I undertook a tough structured regime of education, life skills training and one to one mentoring with a designated trainer. We also tried out new things that I had never thought possible before, such as camping expeditions on Dartmoor, caving, kayaking and much more, all of which taught us team work, how to communicate, leadership and trust. It was also great fun and a really good life experience. All the trainers and mentors at C-FAR treated the other ex-offenders me like real people and not just like criminals. This taught us to believe in ourselves so that we could change our lives. All we needed to do was learn how to do it and put this into practice. For the first time since I was 10 years old, I was happy with myself and how I was changing and thinking.

------------ Quote 2 -------------
I really cannot stress enough how important it is to have places like C-FAR. Prison “DOES NOT WORK”. Although it is a punishment, it does not do anything to teach offenders the skills they need or provide the information to become a positive contributing member of the community and to start working on their futures. As a prisoner you are just locked in a cell and faced with violence and segregation, all of which is scary, often forcing people to build mental walls or become more violent simply to survive. This never helped me at all.
----------------------

Finally; keep in mind that prison is not such a remote possibility for many of us as we might like to think yet we don’t see _ourselves_ as “criminals” only other people. There was a thread on this forum the other day about the risky things people had done during their lives – I think some of the incidents described could have landed people in prison in the right circumstances. How many of us have never stolen something? How many have never driven when over the limit? (Kill someone whilst at 0.05% and it’s 4 years – at 0.049% and it’s not!?).

mike_harding@fastmail.fm
FollowupID: 470683

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 16:15

Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 16:15
You're wasting your time Mike.

This place is infested with Rednecks.

ATB,

FollowupID: 470705

Follow Up By: Mbr - Taz & Milka-Queanbeyan - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 19:56

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 19:56
Mike,

Firstly I apologise for the delay in my response but I am in Afghanistan and the world, electricity and internet connections are not as they should be here.

Thankyou for the informative response. I deduce from your response that your employment is linked to either the legal system and or the prison system.

On reflection of the discussion it is obvious that my comments were emotive as are the comments of others that have been labelled "rednecks". I disagree with that label.

Firstly let me state that I am well aware that the "law" is not always right. What annoys me the most is that the law, quite often, seems to favour the criminal rather than the victim.

Every day we are subjected to images and stories of victims who have had their belongings, their dignity, their self esteem, their security, their confidence, their privacy and or their lives stolen or destroyed. Most of us have been touched by crime or have someone close who has been. In many cases the number of victims far outweigh the number of criminals. Each act touches the lives of many.

Many of us struggle to get by financially on a good day. We are taxed and taxed and everything that you wish to do has more and more fees attached to it. We see the large corporations laying off employees yet their fees and their profits rise every year.

We see our hard earned dollars disappearing from our wallets and wonder where it goes. It is understandable that people in this position get irate when they perceive that their money is being spent on criminals, unworthy causes and or vocal minority groups. The media's unprofessional conduct ensures that our citizens are generally not informed or are misinformed of any progress that is made. We only hear the negative comments and they are usually sweeping generalisations.

Many people feel that although they do the right thing, abide by the laws, pay their taxes etc they are being ripped off everywhere they turn and they see their money being used to "help" others. Others that do not abide by the laws or pay their taxes.

In my case I served my country for nearly 15 years. I spent longer on operations than most Vietnam veterans. My service cost me my first marriage and now I see my daughter once a month instead of every single day. I was lucky in that my body is not too badly destroyed by my service but there are thousands that were not so lucky. Our government is happy to send its soldiers off to war but discards them quickly and forgets about them if they come home damaged.

Are you aware that in recent months two veterans have walked into Department of Veteran Affairs offices and blown their own heads off to highlight the plight of our injured veterans and the fact that they are being mistreated by the government that sent them to war.

The government is actually spending millions every year to fight veterans that are claiming legal compensation.

These people served their country in the most demanding way possible. Many gave their lives in the service of this country ... and for what ? To be discarded by a government that wants to spend money on criminals and minority groups whilst ignoring its war veterans.

To me it seems completely understandable that people would vent their frustrations when they view an article such as the one that originated this post. They perceive what Joe is doing as a degree of payback against those that erode the quality of our society.

So ..... call me a "redneck" if you will. I disagree with that title but for 15 years I would have given my life to defend your right to call me whatever you like.

Cheers.....Taz
FollowupID: 470860