I know I know another fridge question
Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 16:32
Ron173
.... but fridges are such a rlevant topic to us all.
OK I dont want to start a big debate, just looking for some info from actual owners.
I have an Engel and its pretty good for most of my needs, but I was considering getting one of the cheaper LPG fridges for my occassional trips where we set up in one place for a week or so. I find the Engel needs to have my battery recharged by either moving the vehicle or charging with a charger via genny on these trips so...... considering an LPG as an occasional use fridge.
I have been told these fridges only pull to about 25 below ambient, which on 40 deg day is 15 deg = warm beer.
I need my beer around 1-2 deg, is there an LPG unit which will do this in 40deg?
Oh and I dont need to buy a WAECO thank you.
Rgds
Ron
Reply By: Moggs - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 16:40
Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 16:40
Are you sure? I reckon you do need to buy a Waeco!
Reply By: ImEasy - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 16:44
Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 16:44
Yeah, id be taking Moggs advice, im pretty sure you need to buy a Waeco.
Follow Up By: Dieseljuice - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 17:14
Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 17:14
Ermm,
I would suggest a waeco would do the job...LoL...= )
DJuice
Follow Up By: Ron173 - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 19:48
Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 19:48
A Waeco wont do what I'm asking, and I dont want to downgrade my Engel to one, I had one before and it chit itself, the engel is heaps better, I'm looking for an extra fridge, prhaps reading the question might help
Follow Up By: Moggs - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 20:04
Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 20:04
lol! Lighten Up a bit!
Perhaps leave the leading comments out of your future posts????
Follow Up By: Ron173 - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 21:01
Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 21:01
Moggs,
I'm not getting annoyed mate, so no worries, I can accept the Engel/Waeco banter, its like Ford /Holden etc., but its not the question I'm asking.
I'm aware of how compressors do in the heat, the question I'm actually asking is does anyone recommend (by personal experience/ownership) the gas ones, for the longer stays in one area, and perhaps a brand / experience in ? deg heat.
The compressors will always out perform the absorption units, but like nothing is free, at a cost of A/HR, and I have been there done it, but I've NO experience in the gas units and wouldnt mind buying a secondary one for the long stays in one area, so thats what I'm interested to hear.......without starting the debate which I perhaps baited.
Rgds
Ron
Reply By: Shaker - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 16:50
Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 16:50
Good idea for base
camping, they will freeze on gas or 240v, but pretty ordinary on 12v.
I saw them the other day for $349.00
Follow Up By: Scoof - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 17:23
Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 17:23
Just don't put beers that are not already cool because the gas fridges struggle in hot weather.Cool things down in the battery frig first then transfer to gas frig and it might cope.
Also keep it level and out of the wind or you will have warms beers !!
Cheers Scoof..
Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 18:59
Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 18:59
I had one for years, got an Engel now, & never had a problem on gas or 240v, the only thing is they have to be LEVEL.
Reply By: Maddmav - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 17:48
Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 17:48
Ron
Got the same problem - Engel 40L fridge which is great on the short stays for two of us but when going for that few extra days find we need another cooler.
I had a look at a few of the 3 way fridges and found some work great on gas which is what I want it to do, yes some will freeze running on gas - note same situation on powering engel for those extra days.
Buying another 12/240V fridge wont solve the problem. I have dual system in the Mav and a deep cycle on the trailer - which is trickle charged by a solar panel - still will flatten battery in 7 days with lighting / fridge etc...
I like to setup
camp and not have to keep switching things around - this is relax time wasting.
Check-out the 3 ways mate - let us know how you go
Vinnie
Reply By: Member - Reiner G (QLD) 4124 - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 18:15
Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 18:15
I use two Evakool Esky's and freeze bottles at home. Top it up with chrushed Ice and it lasts for up to 5 days. you get ice pretty much on each corner those days and the only battery I need is the one in the torch when I get my beer out of the esky in the dark........works beautiful :-)
Reiner
Reply By: Max - Sydney - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 18:28
Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 18:28
Ron
To address the question you actually asked.
We only used a Chescold (cica 1988) for 15 years, and as soon as we got to a
camp site would get it out of the car, set it up sheltered from wind and sun, and run it on gas.
It does struggle on stinkin' hot days, but we found we could keep our stuff cold by making sure it was always sheltered from wind (ie put it on leeward side of tent / camper trailer etc), MAKE DEAD SET SURE IT IS DEAD SET LEVEL BOTH WAYS (yes I am yelling because so many people ignore this requirement, caravanners too), and give it as much shade as you can.
If necessary. wet towels on top in very hot weather.
Its not a compressor fridge, and on 12 volt it just holds steady while you are travelling and will flatten your battery if you do not have a switch or relay to turn it off while you are stopped. Try to run it on 240 volt to get it cold, or put the stuff in frozen (not beer).
It did us
well.
Max
Reply By: Ron173 - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 19:51
Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 19:51
Thanks for replies guys cept the Waeco brigade as usual zzzzzzzzzzz yawn.
Shaker what model did you have mate?
Ron
Reply By: GGtriton - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 20:48
Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 20:48
I have a 50l chescold for sale at the moment on ebay. It is very thirsty on 12v but on gas runs great, it has never let me down and it works in some pretty hot temps, as said, it helps to keep it sheltered and out of the sun. The split divider is good as you can freeze one side and kepp the other cool or have one big fridge with the divider removed. a 4 litre gas bottle from memory almost lasts a week.
A month around Tassie tested it out and we ran it on the car during touring and as soon as we pulled up we got it out of the car and switched it over to gas.
Reply By: inspired - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 21:23
Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 21:23
We've been very happy with an Electrolux "Finch" 3-way fridge for several years.
I make these observations.
They do NOT have to be absolutely level. I cringe when I hear about people using spirit levels --- about level will do nicely.
They are very miserly on LPG. Consuption in mild conditions will be less than 200 grams per day -- even less in winter. So figure on 1 kilo to 1.5 kilos per week.
Overnight they can be either be switched off altogether or put on the barest of minimum setting.
Allow plenty of circulation around the rear, and of course, keep it in the shade.
NOW, we have another Electrolux, a bar fridge, which is even more miserly, and has the added advantage of more gas control. It will freeze liquids if allowed to remain on high. (Iin fact, it even has a tiny freezer compartment).
The advantage, as your probably know, of a top-opening fridge is that the cold remains in when you open the lid, whereas the bar fridge lets plenty out. On the other hand, the trade-off is more convenient access to all the food and drinks.
Follow Up By: Ron173 - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 22:42
Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 22:42
Intereresting.... so which model would you say could give you 1-2 deg (or thereabouts )contents in 40deg ambient?
Is the finch this good?
ie can it achieve 40deg below ambient?
I'm genuinely interested, and not trying to 'have a go' at anyone or any brand.
I'd be very appreciative of coments from people who have run gas models in extreme heat, and the results?
I'm not too worried bout gas consumption, (we have to pay one way or other) but interested in units that can seriously cool in hot 40 deg temps, if it chews a bit of gas to do so...... fair go.
Rgds
Ron
Reply By: Auntie - Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 00:14
Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 00:14
I've had the 40Lt. Chescold for 6 years now, and although it's pretty ordinary on 12volt, she's a ripper on 240 or gas, despite the temperature. Keep it in the shade, keep it ventilated, and make sure it's level. I bought a wooden bathroom base, about $10.00 in Bunnings. Get that level, then drop the fridge on to it. Works a treat. Used it in FNQ, the
Kimberley and NT, in very hot weather with no problems. I'm going to up my 12volt wiring, and should see an improvement then.Check out thread Number 39883 where this topic has been given a good going over.
Reply By: Big Woody - Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 00:16
Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 00:16
Hi Ron,
I have an Evakool now but previously had a Chescold 35 litre 3 way fridge.
As mentioned above they can be average on 12 volts but brilliant on gas or 240v.
Most of our
camping is in fairly hot climates around central Queensland and the Chescold didn't seem to struggle at all even in the middle of summer. I tested it one Christmas on gas on a 37 degree day and fired up the fridge on gas and put a cup of
water inside. It was frozen in 2 hours and that was having the fridge warm before startup.
I changed to the Evakool because I also need to use my fridge in our yacht and I won't have LPG in a boat as
well as yachts tend to run too far out of level for too long for a gas fridge. Otherwise I reckon I still would have the Chescold. I sure miss setting up
camp on Fraser Island for a couple of weeks and just starting up the gas fridge and forgetting about it. Now I am chacking batteries and moving solar panels etc. Running the Chescold at about 2 degrees in these conditions a 4.5kg LPG cyclinder would last about 1 week.
As said above, double check for level when you set it up. My brothers business is LPG and he stresses this issue constantly.
I hope this helps mate,
Brett
Reply By: Carl & Kaz - Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 13:04
Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 13:04
I've had 3-way fridges in the past and present, and also have an engel. For what it is worth, in my opinion you will never get a 3-way to operate efficiently in 40 degree heat. Stick with the engel and enjoy your beers cold!
Carl
Follow Up By: Ron173 - Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 20:50
Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 20:50
I'm swinging that way, although Gregs comments below sound hopeful, also our temps are only at 40 ish for a few weeks.
If Greg is getting that in a 35-36deg shed, I could live with 5 deg beer.
Will prob be different once out in bush, but interested to hear how it goes.
I know the engel is the dux nuts, but it needs amps.... maybe I should look at a small solar panel setup to extend my stays a bit without buying another secondary fridge.... although you can never have enough eh?
Reply By: sandgroper greg - Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 16:41
Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 16:41
hi ron
have just purchased a 35 lt 3 way primus fridge for $370. thought it was pretty good value. havnt had in on a trip yet (will over xmas beak) but have had it running in a very hot garage for the past 2 days. got down to about 0 overnite then back up to 5 or therabouts. have it running on 240v at the moment havnt tried the gas yet. have frozen chicken in it and its still frozen so thats a good start!
greg
Follow Up By: Ron173 - Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 20:33
Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 20:33
Greg,
that sounds not bad, but whats a very hot garage? in deg c roughly?
Actually where I frequent we only get low forties for about 4-5weeks of the year then it drops off, but it would be fair to say we have mid to high thirties for a considerable part of summer.
Where did you buy that one then?
Rgds
Ron
Reply By: sandgroper greg - Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 00:41
Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 00:41
hi ron
not sure about the exact temp in the garage but i am in
perth and it faces west would say it would be in the mid to high 30's. we bought the fridge from
billabong camping as we are hiring a camper from them in may for a trip up the
gibb river road, bungle bungles etc. checked out all the waeco's and engles but very expensive for one trip. we were going to hire one but the cost nearly paid for the primus plus you have the battery issues with the compressor fridges. figure that when you stop, even for a few hours, just flick the primus over to gas. will let you know how it goes down south over the xmas break.
greg
ps you have to check out where there is a local dealer for primus, they are not available in most big
camping stores, in wa anyway.