Bushman Fridge

Submitted: Tuesday, Mar 25, 2003 at 00:37
ThreadID: 4033 Views:2020 Replies:4 FollowUps:2
This Thread has been Archived
I am looking for feedback on the Bushman fridge. It's technically great but how does it stand up after a bit of use.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Mal58 - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2003 at 12:32

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2003 at 12:32
duncs,
I have had a Bushman fridge for just over 3 years now. It has been to QLD when I took some 8 weeks long service leave. It has also been to the Flinders Ranges for 3 weeks, plus a number of minor jaunts.
We tend to run it fairly hard (as a freezer at -15 degrees). I have not had any problems with it and consider that I made a good purchase decision. (It was 2/3 the cost of the equivalent Engel at the time).
Being an Engineer, I always look at ways to improve things, and I would consider two improvements,

a) The Power Socket and plug on the unit, I would prefer to be mechanically locking, not infringement fit. This would ensure no chance of the lead coming out on rough corrugated roads. (This happend once. I felt that the plug was loose, so I took it back and we got a replacement lead under warranty - no questions asked.)

b) The Lid latches should be a bit stronger. They haven't come undone or anything like that, but I've accidently bent them on a number of occassions, when I have left them open when sliding the fridge in / out of the box that it is mounted on in the vehicle.

I hope the above helps with your questions.

Rgds,
Mal58
AnswerID: 16060

Follow Up By: Mal58 - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2003 at 12:33

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2003 at 12:33
PS : I forgot to mention that I bought a cover for it. This has helped keep the case unmarked.
FollowupID: 9826

Follow Up By: chrisfrd - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2003 at 22:08

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2003 at 22:08
Same here Mal58!