Brake controller

Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 21:02
ThreadID: 40334 Views:2571 Replies:8 FollowUps:10
Have an offroad trailer that came setup with electric brakes but no controller I wish to fit a controller so what would people recommend
My knowledge of these things is zilch.

Reply By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 21:10

Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 21:10
Wait and ye shall be rewarded by the wonderful people on this site...

Grrr!!!
AnswerID: 210234

Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 21:12

Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 21:12
Type in "brake controllers" at the search screen and ye shall be rewarded...

Grrr!!!
FollowupID: 470213

Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 21:12

Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 21:12
Tekonsha Prodigy

Search on E-Bay, about $160.
AnswerID: 210237

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 21:17

Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 21:17
Yep, gotta agree. Just bought one last week from advertiser on this site: Derek of ABR. Cost was $167- delivered to my door.

Simple wiring diagram; 4 wires to connect........... Positive (actually a BLACK wire).......Negative..........brake pedal switch.........trailer plug connection. Too easy!

I haven't had a chance to use it under real world conditions yet, just towed the camper around a couple of blocks.

FollowupID: 470215

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 21:21

Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 21:21
Yeah, Roachie, they work in reverse too. I went to Cape York & back backwards and it worked perfectly !!
FollowupID: 470217

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 21:13

Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 21:13
I havd a new set of brakes too so fitted up a Tekonsha Voyager. It is the cheaper of the Tekonsha ones but seems to work my Carlisle system without further hardware. Apparently others prefer Tekonsha Prodigy which gives a better electronic feedback with numbers. That one with my system would require some more hardware.
AnswerID: 210238

Follow Up By: Leroy - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 22:40

Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 22:40
I have a voyager also and Im happy with it's performance. But I do need to return it as it's one of those units that flashes the brake lights occansionally!!!!

Leroy
FollowupID: 470240

Follow Up By: Moggs - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 23:10

Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 23:10
Ah John! I think I still have a Voyager unit sitting in my garage that you could of had. I never had the brake light flashing issue with it - but found it difficult to use as I am colour blind and couldn't see the changes in the colour of the single LED. Ended up with a Prodgy unit which is great for me as it has numbers LOL!

Hey Leroy - want to try another Voyager unit (if I can find it)
FollowupID: 470248

Follow Up By: Leroy - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 23:14

Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 23:14
Moggs,

don't know what i would do with it really but If I have probs getting mine fixed I may take you up on your offer.

Leroy
FollowupID: 470250

Follow Up By: Moggs - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 23:16

Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 23:16
No worries, just let us know if you want it.
FollowupID: 470252

Reply By: Ozrover - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 21:23

Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 21:23
Hi Squaredeal.

I've just had two brake controllers fitted to my vehicles.

One was fitted to the ute at Port Macquarie, it is a Tekonsha Voyager (basic unit) for $350.00 fitted!!

The other one I fitted myself to the Discovery, it is a Tekonsha Prodigy (top end unit), cost $202.00 from CAMEC, wiring & bruised knuckles approx' $50.00.

I was in a hurry with the ute or I would have fitted that one myself as well, the Voyager unit price at CAMEC was $156.00. So $194.00 labour!

There are others around for as low as $96.00 for a very basic controller, plus fitting charges.

I talked to a local auto sparky & he quoted $165.00 to fit depending on degree of difficulty.

If your reasonably handy then buy one & fit it yourself!

Lotsaluck!

8 )>
AnswerID: 210241

Reply By: Darian (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 21:26

Wednesday, Dec 13, 2006 at 21:26
Yep - I too use the Tekonsha Prodigy. Been great in all respects. They seem to be state of the current art - digital readouts, the usual manual control if required and (dare I mention it again)....... they work when reversing too - not all do.
AnswerID: 210243

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 07:38

Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 07:38
".... they work when reversing too - not all do." I wonder why that may be the case as they should work when you put your foot on the pedal?
FollowupID: 470280

Follow Up By: Redeye - Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 13:31

Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 13:31
JohnR

Some may have a pendulum which only works in one direction.

Redeye
FollowupID: 470330

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 00:31

Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 00:31
Redeye, that would sound trouble to me. Mine seems to work without moving any direction. Just pumps when I put my foot on the brake pedal. No need for a pendulum!
FollowupID: 470431

Reply By: Mbr - Taz & Milka-Queanbeyan - Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 16:04

Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 16:04
I have an offroad trailer as well. I use the Prodigy supplied by Derek from ABR. Excellent unit, it works well and I am towing a trailer that weighs between 400 and 1000kg when fully loaded.

Cheers....Taz
AnswerID: 210336

Reply By: live4theweekends - Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 16:42

Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 16:42
We have the prodigy and are really happy it.
AnswerID: 210343

Reply By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 22:23

Thursday, Dec 14, 2006 at 22:23
HI Squaredeal

The Prodigy and Voyager are both good units.

I like the Prodigy for ease of setup and the reverse function.

If your budget allows go for the Prodigy.

Note that there is a undisclosed price increase to be announced in Jan 2007 by Techonsha.

We have also just been informed of a price increase for AGM Batteries around 8%.

Have a Great Christmas.

Derek.

AnswerID: 210389