Fatality at fires

Submitted: Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 15:59
ThreadID: 40377 Views:2224 Replies:5 FollowUps:2
Word is leaking out about a fatality at the Coopers Creek/Heyfield complex.

I believe a fire fighter went under a truck, I guess more details will come to hand as the day progresses.

I feel for the family, and for the crew of the truck concerned.

If the Coopers Creek fire was deliberately lit, and they catch the person concerned I hope they never see the light of day again except through bars.

Fire fighting is dangerous business, most accept that. It's unfortunate that sometimes life proves the theory.

Condolences to his family, the CFA and his crew.

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 16:10

Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 16:10
the age website, it was last night, he fell out of a trailer and went under following tanker.
AnswerID: 210504

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 16:10

Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 16:10
Site Link
FollowupID: 470546

Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 16:20

Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 16:20
Haven't had the radio on much today.

That's no good at all. Sometimes you hear these things and later on the facts are set straight and it's all viscious rumours.

It's a shame in this case it's true.

AnswerID: 210507

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 17:23

Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 17:23
Friend mourns a 'real mate'

Don Dosser

Donald Dosser, the man who was killed fighting fires in Gippsland, has been described as a "real mate who helped anyone who was in trouble".

Best mate Rick Morgan has known Mr Dosser for 30 years after meeting through a mutual love of horses.

Mr Morgan lives three kilometres from Mr Dosser's home and mini-pony stud in Longford and was shocked to hear of his mate's death last night.

Mr Dosser, 48, was standing on a trailer being towed by a ute on a property at Old Joes Road, west of Heyfield, when he fell from the trailer and was run over by it at around 7.30pm last night.

"I couldn't believe it, I still can't believe it, if you knew him you thought he was indispensable that's the type of bloke he was," Mr Morgan told theage.com.au.

"He was one of the friendliest old fellas. He helped anyone who was in trouble it wouldn't matter if it was the end of the bloody world he'd walk over and help them.

"He was a good horseman and had a real top little mini-pony stud here. He was the best in Australia.

He was one of those blokes that could do anything and help everybody.

He used to break in horses ... have pony rides and that sort of thing."

Known as Donnie to his mates, Mr Dosser was helping protect a friend's home from fire in Seaton when he died.

"He went over to a mate having fire trouble - he raced over to give them a hand.

"He was on the back of a trailer and the water tank on the trailer, they went down a bit of a bend, slipped and turned the trailer over on top of him."

Mr Morgan said he had to inform Mr Dosser's ex-wife and step-daughter of his death.

"I've been up with them all morning - it's shocking, real bad. He's been through a divorce and they've been split up for a long while but they've been good mates, he and his stepdaughter and grandkids and his ex-wife.

"They're a complete mess they are and will be for quite a while. I rang them up last night ... she (ex-wife) couldn't believe it, it was a hard thing to do but I just didn't know where they lived to go and tell them"

Mr Morgan said the death of his friend still hadn't fully sunk in.

"I go past his place every day to and from work and always call in and have breakfast with him or tea, have a little joke with him. I see him nearly every day of the week.

"I'm dreading the next few days."

theage.com.au

AnswerID: 210517

Reply By: Shaker - Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 17:54

Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 17:54
I just looked out the back, still a lot of smoke & the choppers are still bombing the area. (Cooper's Creek)
AnswerID: 210524

Reply By: Member - Tim - Stratford (VIC) - Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 00:25

Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 00:25
Been out there today (Heyfield/Seaton). A few spot fires kept the firies busy but at about 6:30pm the wind died off and they had most of the spot fires out.

I spoke to a few people that have lost feed in padocks and property, along with someone who lost a 'weekender' - great attitude - one I spoke to felt relieved that there was nothing left to burn!

The stories of people new to the area and having no idea how to protect their property - inundated with people helping out - which saved one property at least.
AnswerID: 210596

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 00:29

Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 00:29
Gaffneys creek hotel - gone, and some unhappy people in the area apparently.
FollowupID: 470626