Swapped keyboard for spanner

Submitted: Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 18:20
ThreadID: 40381 Views:2469 Replies:4 FollowUps:5
Well you may have thought it was quite from me over the last few days - though you may not have even noticed. Anyway I swapped the keyboard for a few spanners, sockets, welders and various other tools over the last few days and fitted a turbo kit to old faithful. After much research (EO Forum) and a selection of one of the long standing advertisers we purchased a Denco kit. I then proceeded to spend two days under, over and around the car installing the turbo, new exhaust system and the various other components to go along with the job.

After much swearing, cursing and wishing I was back on the computer I started the car about an hour ago and low and behold it started and much to my surprise there were no exhaust or oil leaks. I went for a drive and have only one major problem - WHY DID I NOT DO IT 4 YEARS AGO (Doh). It is like a new car and I will enjoy driving it again.

The other major problem is a buggered inner oil seal on the front passenger diff that will need to be attended to coupled with a new set of wheel bearings. Hate getting under the car for one job and finding another - this will have to be another day.

Anyway a word on the Denco kit. What an excellent piece of kit, you receive one box and a load of pipes, when you un-box the parts you quickly realise that Denco have supplied everything you need and all the parts are well labelled (even the exhaust pipes), the assembly is straight forward and apart from a few harder jobs (like welding the drain pipe into the sump) the whole kit goes together very well. There is also a good set of instructions and a good support network provided by both Denco and their dealers.

Now I just need to get the tuning sorted out by the local dealer in the next few weeks and all will be sweat. Now back to the keyboard it is a lot cleaner, until I brave the tools again to do the front diff.
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Currently Mapping in the Field Across Australia Fulltime in 2023 - 2025

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 18:58

Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 18:58
Yep!! Nothing like a snail under the bonnet to pick up the pace.

AnswerID: 210532

Reply By: Des Lexic - Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 18:59

Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 18:59
Geez a computer nerd AND a mechanic. Wow. Your a braver man than me Gunga Din. I didn't have the intestinal fortitude to cut a hole in the front guard to fit a snorkle.
One question, Why did you opt for a Turbo instead of the gas injection system? With the $2k back and improved grunt and economy, I would have thought it was worth considering.

Well done David.
AnswerID: 210533

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 19:19

Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 19:19
Actually Mr Lexic, I think another $1k in WA, back from the State Government. So many states with too much cash with the Gobbling States Tax.

David, a good study you doing it, you would not have done a gas conversion though as they can't be got so easily off the shelf. I suppose you thought that geek Truckster did it, you could too! (of course many others too) Well done.
FollowupID: 470577

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 19:29

Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 19:29
Come on Des, even i had a go at that!!!! Although I measured and marked about 20 times, which annoyed mate whose gear I was using lol

FollowupID: 470578

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 20:25

Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 20:25
But Trucky, your truck is only a Trol and mines a Yota and my steelwork is much thicker than yours. LOL :D)))
FollowupID: 470582

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 16:30

Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 16:30
Yotas with their history of Rusting out need more steel!!! :P :P :P
FollowupID: 470707

Reply By: Member- Rox (WA) - Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 21:46

Friday, Dec 15, 2006 at 21:46
Well done David A very brave man indeed so close to Christmas.

I once did my timming belt No problems (1HZ) then months later had to change the water pump had to take off the timming belt pully but stuffed up the timming when I tried to undo the pully. 3k latter it was fixed (bent to valves).

Rox
AnswerID: 210558

Reply By: ExplorOz Team - David - Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 15:42

Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 15:42
I must love this stuff - I went out today and purchased all the parts I need to rebuild the front hubs AGAIN. I may do this job tomorrow - Not really looking forward to it way to much grease and mess to clean up. Anyway needs to be done so better do it. Have a good weekend all.
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Currently Mapping in the Field Across Australia Fulltime in 2023 - 2025

AnswerID: 210651

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 18:14

Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 18:14
David I fitted my Chrissy pressie on Christmas Day last year. Gee Moses pulls harder since he was modified.
FollowupID: 470717