BLOODY FUEL COMPANYS DO IT AGAIN

Submitted: Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 00:23
ThreadID: 40392 Views:2150 Replies:9 FollowUps:28
I see the fuel company's all shoving there prices up again just (oddly enough lol) before a holiday. Its not as if there not doing well enough (the oil barons & the gov)
out of all of us.
When the hell is the gov going to raise its head (or remove the said head out of its proverbial anus) & realise we are all getting ripped off ?( then again the gov could not care less if the price went through the roof they get nearly half the bowser price !!!)
Makes you sick to be a Australian sometimes.............rant over...........666TOY

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 00:28

Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 00:28
.>> When the hell is the gov going to raise its head

You arent honestly waiting for or expecting this to happen are you?
AnswerID: 210598

Follow Up By: 666toy - Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 00:30

Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 00:30
not really ..but i live in hope (not!!)
FollowupID: 470627

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 09:31

Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 09:31
You are right Bruce, but then it isn't the job of the government whatever persuasion. It's just toy's rant. One just has to wonder why he posted it.

If it was going to be anyones responsibility it would be the ACCC which is government set up but independant so it can investigate areas of government instrumentality if it needed to.

FollowupID: 470652

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 14:52

Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 14:52
>> the ACCC

Your a funny fellow!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 470686

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 14:54

Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 14:54
nah mate, you do the standup...
FollowupID: 470687

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 15:00

Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 15:00
So you really have faith and belief in the ACCC??

wow...
FollowupID: 470692

Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 00:39

Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 00:39
This topic has been done to death.

Get a life. Your choice - earn more or drive less.
AnswerID: 210600

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 00:42

Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 00:42
Good one Gerhard

I agree! :-D
FollowupID: 470631

Follow Up By: 666toy - Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 01:05

Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 01:05
Oddly enough i usually earn more when the price of fuel goes up but i would happily trade that off to earn less & drive more...oh by the way i got my life ahead of me do you ? ;))...............666TOY
FollowupID: 470635

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 08:09

Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 08:09
So stop bitching. Earn less and drive more. Your choice.

FollowupID: 470643

Follow Up By: Outnabout David (SA) - Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 09:53

Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 09:53
No Gerhardp1.
it is not a case of get a life or drive less. We don't have much of a choice but if enough people keep pushing something may get done.

Name other necessities in our daily life that have risen 40 % over the last year or so.
If you wanted to buy tyres for you 4wd and they had risen by 40% or say $300 would you have the same attitude.

Part of the problem with Aussies is the apathetic I don't care attitude. It maybe OK for people such as you who may be able to afford the fuel. There are plenty of others out there that struggle to make ends meet and the fuel does affect them.

or are you suggesting 4wdriving is only for the financially well endowed. ?
FollowupID: 470656

Follow Up By: 666toy - Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 10:29

Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 10:29
Gerhard probably is some one that believes that a person that is judged on his wealth rather than his merits... Why the hell should we just lay down & cop it. If everybody unamously put there case to the federal gov they would have no choice but to listen & really do something about it.....666TOY
FollowupID: 470662

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 12:12

Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 12:12
Hi David,

I love Ferraris, but I can't afford one. I love water skiing, but I can't afford the boat or the fuel for a day's outing.

To use your logic, they should be cheaper so I and many others can have one.

Is 4wdriving only for the financially well endowed? Perhaps it is, I know lots of people who can't afford the vehicle, let alone the fuel they guzzle.

I don't judge people on their wealth - but I can be judgemental of people who whinge and I hate bludgers of any kind. I find it hard to tolerate the same old chestnuts being dished up time after time, since it is whinging.

666TOY, read Rotord's post below, understand it, and you will grasp the issue of fuel prices, and why you won't change anything no matter how much you lobby the Government about it.

Remember the government wants as much of your money as it can get, so they can give it to bludgers who won't work, so they can build 5 star jails for criminals, and they can give it to single mothers, etc, etc.

FollowupID: 470674

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 14:54

Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 14:54
>> oh by the way i got my life ahead of me do you ?
I'd rather have the life Willem has had than anything thats in the future for any of us.

>> We don't have much of a choice but if enough people keep pushing something may get done.
I used to believe this too... Like honest cops, or honest politicans, or a "FAIR GO"... I used to believe that. but then I left school, and hit the real world.
FollowupID: 470688

Follow Up By: 666toy - Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 18:01

Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 18:01
bloody hell truckster you really have little faith dont you.
So just shut up & let the basterds win ? is that your thoughts ?
do you like getting "back doored" every time you buy fuel or oil?
so you dont believe in giveing people a FAIR GO ?
makes me wonder why i was in the service to protect people like you !
FollowupID: 470714

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 12:30

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 12:30
yes, I have no faith anymore in much... it comes from being alive with your eyes open.

We all hollered and screamed when fuel went thru the roof - what was "THE LEADERS" reply "oh we cant do anything, lower tarrifs or help you, we have a fuel card, it doesnt matter bleep ing bleep to us so suffer"..BUT WAIT WE CAN VOTE FOR CHANGES.. that worked in Vic didnt it?

in life while we have politicans running the country you will get reamed and backdoored. I laugh at the people that say that politicians are there for THE PEOPLE.. Which people? their business mates? or in Mr Sheens case, Mr Bush is all he is interested in.

A fair go - listen, hate to blow your bubble, but in this day and age, there is no "FAIR GO"... that went out the door in round 1990.

You didnt do bleep to protect me.
FollowupID: 470806

Follow Up By: 666toy - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 12:48

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 12:48
Funny where i live in the country most people believe in giveing the next man a FAIR GO but then again with your GUTLESS ATTITUDE i can understand why you are incapable of doing this. have a nice day.....666TOY
FollowupID: 470809

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 15:57

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 15:57
Gutless? I live in Langwarrin, Im willing to meet face to face anywhere in melbourne to discuss it - lets see who is gutless now.
FollowupID: 470835

Follow Up By: 666toy - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 17:57

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 17:57
Well i am sorry for you old chap i live nearly the other side of the country so really is a little to far for me to come down there just to give you a touch up but you can see me any time you like if your ever up Toowoomba way....just be careful you don't bight off more than you can chew...fighting fit gym ruthven st...usually sparring there once a week would love to see you there.
FollowupID: 470850

Reply By: Member - Rotord - Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 11:37

Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 11:37
It has been done to death , but here we go again

The price of fuel is set by international supply and demand .

The government can't do much about the price of petrol . What they have done [ duty ] is not unreasonable , and is common Labor / Liberal policy .

Governments don't like high petrol prices because it has a detrimental effect on the economy .

When the price goes up the federal government does't make more money , the duty is a fixed amount not a percentage . The state governments make a small increase from GST .

If you want to do something about you petrol bill you have three choices
1 travel less
2 drive more economically , or
3 invest in an oil company .

If you invested in Caltex six years ago your shares would now be worth 17 times more than what you paid , you would be getting your fuel for nothing and smiling every time the price of fuel went up . Can you invest in oil today and get similar returns ? Of course you can . The more you complain about the price of fuel and the more you predict supply difficulties in the future , the more likely that an investment in oil will pay off . Speak to your financial adviser .

AnswerID: 210635

Follow Up By: 666toy - Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 12:37

Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 12:37
so you think nearly 50% of the fuel price at the bowser going to the gov is FAIR? & THAT THEY CANNOT DO ANYTHING ? 2 words=BULL SH@T!!
FollowupID: 470677

Follow Up By: Member - Rotord - Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 22:23

Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 22:23
It's a tax . Scrub it and the revenue has to be made up elsewhere . Allocate the petrol tax to road infrastructure and you have a degree of user pays . Hurts but it makes sense .
FollowupID: 470742

Follow Up By: The Landy - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 07:27

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 07:27
Well put Rotord.....

As many have said this has been done to death and frequently the problem is that some just don't fully understand the reason behid fuel price movements. Take the time to read about it and you'll see that there is very little you can do, baring having a whinge every so often.

This is the start of higher fuel prices, learn to live with it because it is here to stay.....and no I'm not a defeatist, just realistic about the outlook!
FollowupID: 470769

Reply By: troopyman - Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 11:42

Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 11:42
ACCC=toothless paper tiger=friggin useless=government puppet=the people lose
AnswerID: 210636

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 14:55

Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 14:55
Without fail - Post of the year.
Give the man free everything from the EO store.
FollowupID: 470689

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 14:55

Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 14:55
why do you need protection from government mate, just drive to the next competitive station. If you are in the city it's easier for you than me.
FollowupID: 470690

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 14:59

Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 14:59
You know Cranny road down from my place - in the 3-4klms there are
1 - BP - always = with the Shell
1 - Shell - Always = with BP
4-5 Mobil - all owned by 1 bloke - all = with each other which is 1cent less than the others..

I realise its harder in the bush, but dont fool yourself into thinking that every company isnt into arse rooting the consumer and its as easy as driving to Luky Fats Fuel Emporium cause you never know what they are selling - and if its 5-10cpl cheaper than the others, you can bet you aint gettin 100% diesel!!!

You got that bike going yet? had to take Cams exhaust back :( bleep in thing imploded
FollowupID: 470691

Reply By: longJohn - Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 14:05

Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 14:05
alot of you guys seem to be attacking this guy for his rant. I can understand that, but dont you guys see that telling him to shut up and forget about it, because we are powerless to do anything about this problem (gov and oil companys in bed with each other ripping us off) is kind of like giving in to these crooks?
Do you want to turn a blind eye to corruption and just allow this to continue?
Dont you see that we MUST get upset, we MUST be vocal, and put up a fight, or we will be ripped off worse as time goes on and then we will loose something else, as yet another services division, (like power or something I dont know) will become taken advantage of by big business/government and again we will be getting ripped off even more.

You cant lay down and die! Fight!

Myself I have done something about it, I changed jobs, that pays slightly less pay, but that is one where its much closer to home. I only use about 8 dollars a week in fuel to get to and from work.
Bugger the bastards, if they are going to rip me off...then ill give them stuff all money to do it with.

Hope I havnt offended anyone.
AnswerID: 210642

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 15:17

Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 15:17
It's just his bad luck that he chose to whinge about an issue which has been discussed to death repeatedly.

Back in the early 70s we had an oil crisis which was worse than the one we have just weathered, and in 1991 from memory the fuel went from 49 to 99 just when I had decided to drive from Melb to Qld for a holiday.

Back in those days I had no money to spare due to mortgage, kids, etc.

So it's not even anything new, is it?

I applaud you for changing jobs to improve your net position, I expect you will keep looking for a better situation as an ongoing process.
FollowupID: 470694

Reply By: Outnabout David (SA) - Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 21:46

Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 21:46
Forget the done to death excuses you lot of appathetic ning nongs.

Closing of 4wheel drive tracks - Done to death
Closing access to everything that is worthy of seeing - done to death
handing everythingback to the indigenous - done to death
Bull bar safety - done to death
4Wd safety - Done to death

No your right Gearhard. Lets just bend down and take it up the clacker!

or then again we could just sit at home and watch the telly.
I bet you would be the first to complain if 4wd were band altogether.
Then some bright spark would say "get a life or don't drive"

AnswerID: 210705

Follow Up By: 666toy - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 11:54

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 11:54
I am starting to think Australian,s are turning into a lot of fairies & yes men.
Will you accept over inflated fuel costs ?=the majority here seem to think its OK!
Do you accept that you are getting ripped buy fuel company's ?=the majority here think so & seem to agree with it !!
Is it ok for the GOV to illegally have tax on tax with fuel ?=Most here seem to think so!
We are one of the most taxed country,s in the world why do we need such high tax on our fuel? After all most get taxed 30%+ of there wages is this not enough?(& don't forget the GST!!)
The main reason we have high fuel prices is SOME OF YOU FAIRIES OUT THERE ARE TOO LAZY TO STAND UP & FIGHT FOR WHAT IS UNJUST & ILLEAGAL.
One thing i learnt in the army was you get nowhere sitting on your hands & just going YES SIR every time a wrong command was given & copping the flack for it!!
STAND UP & BE MEN NOT LOW GUTTER DWELLERS & VOICE YOUR OBJECTIONS TO PARLAMENT HOUSE. Lobby your chosen political party for fairer fuel tax .Boycott certain fuel company's (remember if one fall,s the rest will take note).
It is a winnable fight but it cant be done alone...but then again i think we have lost because of you FAIRYS out there are too complacent or not prepared to go a little out of your way!!!
....where is that fighting A.N.Z.A.C spirit we had as a nation once.....one in all in !
BLOODY COWARDS...FAIRIES...GUTTER DWELLING OXYGEN THIEVES IS ALL YOU ARE IF YOU ACCEPT THAT FUEL PRICES ARE ...FAIR (sic)......................
.............................666TOY

FollowupID: 470797

Follow Up By: 666toy - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 12:06

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 12:06
This is not directed at anyone who is willing to fight only at the LOW COWARDS THAT WILL NOT STAND UP FOR WHAT IS RIGHT & JUST...you know who you are!
FollowupID: 470802

Follow Up By: The Landy - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 16:55

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 16:55
Poverty and millions dying from a preventable disease like malaria....getting food on the table and clean drinking water for kids in poverty stricken countries...that is unjust and worth fighting for.

As for the fuel price just what are you proposing? China and India are waking giants and there demand for oil is only going to increase; the long term outlook for the price of oil is that it will be higher on supply and demand considerations.

FollowupID: 470846

Follow Up By: 666toy - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 18:36

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 18:36
Yes landy you are right but the taxation can be dropped a fair margin & gst can be culled (to say a tax on tax is fair is utter rubbish) We all pay over 30cents in the dollar (those of us that work & are not dole bludgers) income tax why the hell do we need a excise on fuel or a gst for that matter . If everybody boycotted shell AUS for one week this includes trucking & aviation it would cripple the shell company they would be forced to lower there fuel costs. Its not like they cannot afford it we are only trying to keep it @90 cents or less & i can guarantee they will still make a huge profit if the pump price was .80cents.
Like i said it would take a real effort but it could be done with a combined effort.
Multiple hits on a target make the bad guy dead We are the ammo they are the bad guys. For our ammo to be any good against a hard target multiple hits on the same target need to be arranged .One person on his own will achieve nothing but many including trucking & aviation as well as mum & dad will & can defeat a hard target.A government is there buy our vote & it can be removed just as easy.
There policy's can be changed to suit the majority's needs but for this to be done we all need to speak as one .
If you develop a roll over & play dead attitude you will encourage big oil company's & government to walk over you every time!
When you give one inch to these identity's you can guarantee they will take a mile!
FollowupID: 470856

Reply By: Merylin - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 06:47

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 06:47
They have controls over the price in WA and the overall cost is greater keep the gov, out of it (and everything ell's )be your own price regulator and buy when its cheap Ted
AnswerID: 210741

Reply By: Member - Peter H (NT) - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 09:13

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 09:13
G'day all, why should a polly care about the price of petrol. The lazy
fat a**e get driven to and from the office, flown all over the country &
overseas without putting their hands near the wallet. The only thing
that a polly thinks about is the next election. Listen to them when their
on the air next time, the only thing that comes out of their mouths is,
"When I'm elected I'll do this or that". And what do we get when they
are elected, "At the next election we'll do this or that".
See ya
AnswerID: 210744

Reply By: fisho64 - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 12:39

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 12:39
as said before, feds receive 38.123 c/litre excise and states get 10%GST.
The excise does not increase with price.

Have a look at this link and you will see how good we actually have it here (pricewise at least)

Site Link

The only way more oil is accessed is by higher prices for harder to access supplies.
Sure it doesnt cost more to produce oilo today as yesterday but it does spur exploration for 5 years time.

Best you can do is skip the supermarket fuel as they have an agenda, and it is NOT to give you cheaper fuel in the future.
AnswerID: 210767