Electric break problem !

Submitted: Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 07:33
ThreadID: 40396 Views:2759 Replies:9 FollowUps:19
G day all,
The electric breaks on my Trak Shak, has began playing up ,,
I have a Tekonsha Voyager controller !
It starts to pull me up,, Nicely,,
Then all of a sudden It locks up both wheels !

Tried different settings, seems to work for a while, but still, I cannot do a easy foot on pedal stop, to traffick lights, without the big lock up,,
Does this loaded or unloaded
Can anyone help ?

Reply By: big red car - Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 08:04

Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 08:04
hi bucky,

i had the same problem some time ago, we had a small fleet of off road hire campers and thay all started to do the things you discribe. to cut a long story short it was traced to faulty earthing of the brake controlers, once the controlers were re earthed to the trailers we never had another problem, (the controlers were mounted on the trailers ).
i hope this helps you, good luck !

johno.
AnswerID: 210619

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 10:13

Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 10:13
Thanks Mate !
By the way, I am going through a Treg Hitch, so that could be the problem,,,poor earth !!!

I am on shift from tomorrow, but I will try your trick when off shift next week, and get back to you

FollowupID: 470659

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 13:15

Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 13:15
G day johno
There are radial groves in the break shoes, and the drums have the matching groves in them as well.
I have decided to get everything square again ,,ie machine the drums and put new break shoes on, as well. At least that way, I have eliminated all things machanical.

When activated the magnets throw out to the centre of the drum, this in turn acts like a lever,, actually its an extension of the arm that attatches itself to the couling break, ( just like a hand break setup )
From there the shoes expand onto the drum and cause it to slow down.

I have worked that bit out for myself,,

When thats all back together, I will fully adjust the breaks, and from there I intend to run 2 earths,,, one from the back of the controler unit to the earth strap on the main battery, and the other from the breaks to the main battery earth.

Hopefully that will stop all the rot !

FollowupID: 471601

Follow Up By: big red car - Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 20:22

Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 20:22
hi again,
i think you have just about covered most of your bases, lots of luck, we have a cape york extreme explorer hard floor, it is fitted with 12in brakes, i would hate to have the same problem with them, it would be a quick way to fry a set of tyres.
all the best, and catch you later.
johno.
FollowupID: 471710

Reply By: Ray Bates - Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 15:56

Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 15:56
Hi unlike the previous writer you only have one trailer so if I were you I would install the controller in your vehicle but as previously mention good wiring is a premium. Do not rely on any body parts as returns (earth). All wiring is to be continuous and of a heavy enough gauge to carry the current
AnswerID: 210653

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 13:16

Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 13:16
G day Ray !
There are radial groves in the break shoes, and the drums have the matching groves in them as well.
I have decided to get everything square again ,,ie machine the drums and put new break shoes on, as well. At least that way, I have eliminated all things machanical.

When activated the magnets throw out to the centre of the drum, this in turn acts like a lever,, actually its an extension of the arm that attatches itself to the couling break, ( just like a hand break setup )

When thats all back together, I will fully adjust the breaks, and from there I intend to run 2 earths,,, one from the back of the controler unit to the earth strap on the main battery, and the other from the breaks to the main battery earth.

FollowupID: 471602

Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 16:39

Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 16:39
How old is the brake control unit. There was a batch of faulty Voyagers a while back, but I think the main indicator of a faulty unit was the brake lights activating when the brakes weren't activated - even when just sitting in the driveway.

Derek may be able to shed some light, he deals with them. I changed my Voyager over to a Prodigy, very happy with it. I changed it cos I was curious what everyone raved about, not cos I had a problem with it. It is still giving good service to a mate of mine.

AnswerID: 210658

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 04:44

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 04:44
The controller unit is just 12 months old, and was wired in by an Autolec. has always been a bit like the above as I decsribed, but now its a lot worse. Really had to back it off in Alice Springs, and in Melbouorne, on the way home from our last trip.
Will be trying a few different things, as mentioned in the replies, as I was bewildered ( to say the least ) as to what to do ,,,,

Cheers ma
FollowupID: 470763

Follow Up By: Dunedigger - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 14:09

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 14:09
Dave,

Did you find the Prodigy worked any better than the Voyager ?

I am curious, as I don't feel my Voyager's proportional breaking is good enough for a 'emergency' stop..

Any body got other comparisons

Dunedigger

FollowupID: 470821

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 23:00

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 23:00
I like the way the Prodigy doesn't advance the braking when decending a hill - this is because it doesn't use a pendulum.

The boost settings are great too. Push button increases in 25% (from memory) increases.

Easy to set up. Easily removed when not being used. Better braking feel in my opinion across a wider range of surfaces. Much higher standard of unit - diecast case & lever rather than plastic. I'm happy. I'd make the same decision again.

FollowupID: 470937

Follow Up By: disco1942 - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 23:24

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 23:24

The Prodigy does have a pendulum - see Site Link

FollowupID: 470945

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 13:17

Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 13:17
G day Dave

FollowupID: 471603

Reply By: Member - Charlie M (SA) - Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 18:23

Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 18:23
Make sure you have a good earth wire to plug (5mm) and is earthed to chassis good
Charlie
AnswerID: 210672

Follow Up By: Member - Charlie M (SA) - Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 18:26

Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 18:26
Hit button to soon
Have you reset the pendulum level in the unit, may need resetting as it may be to sensitive to forward travel.
FollowupID: 470721

Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 22:36

Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 22:36
This was happening on a friends new pioneer trailer using a Hayman Reece brake controller.

The problem was fixed by adjusting the brakes in the trailer - they had bedded in and had too much clearance, we think it was causing them to get stuck on the cam and locking on.

His electrics are a bit haywire as well, his rig has had many alterations and is a bit of an electrical nightmare, but while it works he won't fix it.

When I wired mine up, I ran 5mm wire from controller to the brakes, with a 5mm return earth to the vehicle battery, giving a complete circuit. the trailer is additionally earthed throught the anderson plug which feeds the Camper battery, and this is 8 b&s cable again from front to back. No reliance on chassis earth at all, and have had no problems at all.
AnswerID: 210717

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 04:55

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 04:55
Gerhardp1
Had break drum off camper yesterday, and there appears to be a bit of wear, but I thought that another years camping would be in order, as there is at least 1/4" break shoe left, on the camper.
If need be I will get new shoes, thats not an issue, just the full lock up I get if the breaks are eased on whilst dooing a slow down to traffick lights.
Have a mini DVD on setting the Controller, and have played it over and over again, to see if I have misse dsomething, but still there is no setting problem that I can see..
I have to go to work now
Bye
FollowupID: 470764

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 07:36

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 07:36
1/4" is still plenty of material. According to the Alko man, if you have some radial cracks its Ok, butif you have cracks across the shoe it must be replaced.

Assuming you have no cracks across, try adjusting them up, and if no better look for the earthing problems mentioned.

If still no better, you will need to check the controller for a fault - they are pretty reliable but are still an electronic device and could become faulty.

All the best with it.
FollowupID: 470771

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 07:38

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 07:38
Another thought just occured to me - is the unit mounted within its limits?

If it's too vertical or too far off horizontal, it could be affecting the pendulum?
FollowupID: 470772

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 13:19

Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 13:19
Gerhardp 1
The break unit sits dead straight, and is between 15 - 20 degrees off horisontal

FollowupID: 471604

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 15:36

Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 15:36
Hi Bucky,

Looks like you are on top of it.

If the brakes are worn enough to need machining, I suspect the magnets will also be history.

It's probably a good idea to replace them at the same time as you do the re-wiring.

I have the brake earth connected back to the car battery, and also to the trailer chassis.

FollowupID: 471618

Reply By: gbc - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 12:07

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 12:07
some weird experts here - the brake shoes in an alko setup are only the handbrake, or can be used for manual override.

The electric braking is done by the magnet running on the face of the drum, not the shoes on the rim..........
AnswerID: 211342

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 13:18

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 13:18
I beg to differ mate.......

The magnet is only used in the drum to activate the arm/s that make the drum pads spread apart.

You couldn't seriously expect the action of the little magnet "gripping" the inner face of the drum to actually retard the trailer; surely???
FollowupID: 471404

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 06:43

Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 06:43
Roachie's right.

The magnets only activate or "push/pull" the brake shoes. If the magnets were the actual braking surface, they'd last about 10 kms in traffic - metal to metal.

G'day Roachie, how's that V8 going? I just put some sexy, chrome Holden V8 badges on mine. Subtle, not too big but a nice sexy touch.

Still not spoken to "The Gas Man". Maybe after Christmas. This "being retired" is hard work - Test Matches, beer, sticking V8 badges on, beer, sleep, beer, wake up, beer,,,,,,,,,brew more beer and repeat.

Take care,

Bilbo

FollowupID: 471545

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 13:21

Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 13:21

FollowupID: 471605

Reply By: gbc - Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 08:58

Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 08:58
to those who corrected me, I thank you - not trying to be a smart arse here, just learning like everyone else.

I'll be having words with my local alko rep who, two weeks ago - sold me the maintenance kit for my trailer - and gave me the aforementioned misinformation.
"You won't need shoes mate, they only work when the park brake is engaged - only the magnets do any work"????

I thought going straight to the manufacturer to get the right information would have been enough - perhaps not.

Once again thanks, I've learn't more off this thread than from the blokes who sell the stuff.

C.J.

AnswerID: 211483

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 13:14

Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 13:14
G day " gbc "

FollowupID: 471600

Reply By: kiwicol - Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 14:58

Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 14:58
Hi i have a T/S as well and took the electric brakes of all together and use the mechanical cable system already fitted. I found that where the brakes fit into the magnet gets flogged out and cannot be adjusted out. Also have had problems with stones getting into the drum through the air vent facing forward and have solved the prob by fittiing a mud flap the full width on the back of the wagon. Have spoken to T/S about this to see if they have a disc break set up but no luck Col
AnswerID: 211533

Reply By: Bilbo - Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 17:02

Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 17:02
Bucky,

You may have a couple of problems here. One of 'em, the brake shoes, will be fixed when you re-grind the drums and get oversize shoes. But bear in mind, one of the biggest causes of brakes locking up, grabbing etc is badly adjusted brake shoes. If the brake lining is not kept right up to the brake drum, the brakes, when applied, tend to come on slowly and relatively ineffectively in the first half second or so . Then, due to the "self-wrapping action" of the brake shoe and it's lining, the lining is "dragged" in to the drum with much greater force than it should be normally. This "self-wrapping" action happens very suddenly and can be vicious. It literally "slams the brakes" for you. It also wears down the leading edge of the brake lining a lot more than the other, trailing edge. Well adjusted, but worn, linings will show a pretty even lining surface. One that hasn't been adjusted regularly will taper off at one end, the leading edge - that's where the "self-wrapping" has been occurring. "Self-wrapping action" is also known as "Self-servo action".

So when you've had the brakes done, make sure you keep on top of the brake adjustment.

Note: It is possible to recover the brake linings if they have suffered as described above by constantly adjusting 'em so that the lining is running right next to the drum all the time. But it's a pain doing this all the time and it takes months to get the linings right again.

I've read your description of how the Tekonsha is mounted and it appears to be in to much of a horizontal plane. However your description isn't too good here. Is the Tekonsha more horizontal than vertical? i.e, is almost lying down rather than almost standing up? If it's the former case, then I reckon the controller is incorrectly mounted and that could be adding to your problem. There is a limit to how 'how flat' the Tekonsha can be monuted. I THINK it's 75 degrees, but I'm not sure. I'll have to check. I also remember that the Voyager is more sensitive to its mounting plane than the later Tekonsha Prodigy. I've used both and not a prob with either but I reckon the Prodigy is the best of the two. It seems to be more progressive and adjustable than the Voyager.

I'll try find the manual for mine and get back on here if you still need it. Let us know how you go.

Bilbo
AnswerID: 211559