Hellos, and a dingy question.

Submitted: Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 17:07
ThreadID: 40406 Views:3098 Replies:8 FollowUps:9
Hey guys. I've been reading up on this site for a while and finally decided to pull my finger out and make a post.

So yea, hi, my name is Anand, im 19 and hail from Castle Hill (NSW). Just bought the GQ Maverick/Patrol off of dad and am ready to get it off road as soon as I get all the essentials.

Being a keen, slightly horrid fisherman i was looking into dingys that i could fit on my roof. With an outboard motor too. Hopefully to fit me and 3 other mates plus tackle, gear and a case (or three!) and so on. What should I be looking at in terms of dingys and motors?

Umm its a 4.2L with LPG conversion and its got roof racks (x3). Ide rather not tow but do have a towbar. Money is a slight issue but ill save up if i have to. Hope ive given you all enough info to help me out.

O yea, since im posting. What tyre pressures should i be running the 4by at?

Cheers, Anand.

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 18:45

Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 18:45
Hi Anand and welcome to the forum and 4WDing.
Roof top boats are very much a compromise (as all boats are). I carry a 3.5M Stacer on my Hilux. Although it is rated to carry 3 people (@ 75KG) it is really only a 2 person boat for practical use.

You and 3 mates would need a bigger boat, but you probably can't go much bigger than 3.7M and carry it on you GQ (and more than 3 people would be a crowd). Some people carry 3.9s, but that is pushing it for size and weight. You would need to check, but your GQ is probably rated to carry 100KG on the roof. My 3.5M weighs 76 KG. Allowing for your roof racks, you probably can't go past about 80KG of boat, which would be around 3.7M, depending on boat design.

To push the boat along with 2 or more people, you will need a 15HP motor. Anything smaller won't do the job (on the plane). The Mercury is the lightest of the 15s at 35KG. The Yamaha is next at 36KG.

As for carrying, I suggest you put your rear bar on the roof as far back as possible and mount some rollers on it. This makes loading and unloading much easier. I get my boat on and off the Hilux by myself. Click on my rig profile below and you will see some pics of my set up.

Up to you on the 'case or 3'. Boats, mates and beer don't mix well. But that's your decision.

As for tyre pressure, you might try the web site of the maker of your tyres. As a guide, I run the Cooper STs on my Hilux at 38 PSI all round, but increase the rear when loaded. As high as 48 PSI when fully loaded.
AnswerID: 210673

Follow Up By: 4wdNewbie - Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 19:15

Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 19:15
Thanks for the info Norm. When I bought my new tyres they came back at 44psi. So i lowered em to 32psi... too low it seems. Ill go fill them up tonight. As for the boats, thanks to you and Tim for the advice. Looks like something ill have to look into.

Cheers, Anand.
FollowupID: 470727

Reply By: Tim (vic) - Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 18:57

Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 18:57
For a roof topper 2 in a boat is enough. Your mates may have to buy a roof topper as well. If not you will need to go to about a 4.2 mtr boat on a trailer to accomadate all on the boat.
38 psi as a std is what i run in my coopers for general driving.

Cheers Tim
AnswerID: 210676

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 19:03

Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 19:03
I don't know anything on boats apart from kayaks Anand so I won't comment.

I would think Norm's tyre pressures high though. Tripping on bitumen at up to 40 loaded, 28 on dirt and gravel, High Country stones and tracks 24 and lower, sand down to 16 and lower for soft sand. Perhaps the rear 3-4 psi higher if you have a load on the back.

It was interesting that when the National meeting at Birdsville last year were playing up on Big Red, there was a group that had just crossed the Simpson and were getting bogged in many places. We heard them on Channel 10 as you would and asked their pressures. When we suggested they drop them, they retorted they had got so far to then so weren't going to drop them. First to charge Big Red bogged 1/3 the way up and later suggested dropping to 18 psi.

One guy I talked to later didn't get over Big Red and bearing in mind he had been on easy damp sand, had driven on the dealers road reccommendation of 40 psi front and 50 psi rear. They hadn't driven much outside the city previously.

On dirt, sand and gravel the grip is far better for forward and directional control with a longer tyre footprint. You will stay on top of the sand too. Can take it down to 12 psi as long as you don't try to wrench the steering wheel and run a tyre off the wheel. Some have run tyres below that as I have with my fronts.
AnswerID: 210679

Follow Up By: 4wdNewbie - Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 19:11

Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 19:11
Yea I'll be honest I havent left the city yet :( mind you I've only owned it for a month or two and am trying to get the essentials before going (bought myself a high lift jack yesterday :P). Still I'm very keen to get out. Maybe up to Stockton Beach for a starters. I read in 4wd monthly i think it was that they do training courses out there, so may be a good starting point. Thanks for the info, i'll keep those pressures in mind.

Cheers, Anand.
FollowupID: 470726

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 20:34

Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 20:34
Anand, I have to agree with Kim below. That said I did buy our highlift as a Mothers Day pressie. You have to watch that it grabs when it should and is lubricated enough to slip the pins, and no so much it holds dust. Perhaps a dry lubricant.

Take the learnng carefully, not to create risk as it has dangers.

Magazines all are trying to sell something, the way the articles are written supports the push towards particular goods. If you know that when you are reading, you are fore-armed. In here there is some real gems of information but often buried but opposite opinions. It will be up to you to sift it. Have fun mate.

Oh, with the tyre pressures you will have to watch the wear patterns. If they are wearing the outside(apart from one side which is probably indicating wheel alignment issues), you need your pressures up higher, if the centre all round, they are too high!
FollowupID: 470729

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 22:32

Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 22:32
Hi John, when you say you would think my pressures are too high, I assume you are referring to my fully loaded pressures on the rear. I say this as I have quoted 38 PSI all round for normal driving and you have said up to 40 PSI. My only other reference to pressure was for fully loaded rear tyre pressures.

When fully loaded, I'm carrying a touch under a tonne, most of it supported by the rear axle. Even at 48PSI, my rear tyres are showing a touch more side wall flex than the front.

Don't want to enter an argument on tyre pressure as it is very much a matter of circumstance, but in my view and experience 48 PSI is certainly not too high for rear tyres on bitumen on a ute that is loaded to it's capacity.
FollowupID: 470743

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 08:26

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 08:26
Geez, Norm, not something to fight over. I think more of the shocks entering the suspension through the tyres rather than just carrying a tonne. I have tested my front to rear distribution and horrified at that. A Patrol with an extended tray and a camper box that is not quite so overloaded these days. I won't say how close to max it is ;-{o}

I must say Moses has had over 40psi pressures for distance and higher speeds but I don't like riding on cart wheels and I feel every bump through the suspension. The rear sidewall flex I never take a concious decision to overcome as there is weight effect. I am using oversized tyres too at 285/75x16 and Coopers as you are, though STT. Will probably switch back soon to the standard wheels. Should do so actually!
FollowupID: 470776

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 10:19

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 10:19
Not 'fighting over it' John. Just haviing a discussion and sharing views. That's the value of these forums. And sometimes you pick up something new to try or consider.

I recently did a 16,000 KM trip across the North of Aust (10,000Km on bitumen). I ran 46 PSI on the back and 38 PSI on the front (and 38PSI on CT) on bitumen. Lower off bitumen; how low depended on terrain. Had no problems. Ride was comfortable and had no punctures. Tyres seem to be wearing evenly.

I have a booklet called Cooper Discoverer 4WD Drivers Guide. If you don't have it, you might look out for it since you run Coopers. It has lots of info on tyre pressure. They recommend 32 to 38 PSI on bitumen, but higher pressures when carrying heavy loads. On my tyres it says 'max load 1030KG at 50 PSI. This gives a guide to how much you can (should?) increase pressure with load.

We all do what we think is right for us. Just thought I'd mention where (apart from personal experience), I got my info from. Not looking to convince you or anyone else. Just sharing my experience and the info I use.

Cooper also recommend the 4 PSI rule. I've tried it for my normal (unloaded) running, but have not done it yet when fully loaded. Might do so on our next trip when loaded up, just to check.
FollowupID: 470783

Reply By: kimprado - Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 19:58

Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 19:58
Newbie,

Get somebody experienced with High Lift jacks to show you how to operate them. They can be quite dangerous if you don't know what your doing.

Finally, grog and small boats don't mix.

Kim
AnswerID: 210684

Follow Up By: 4wdNewbie - Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 20:51

Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 20:51
Yea thats probably a good idea. Im like the 4wd pioneer in regards to my mates...they are all trying to get their cars lower im trying to get the GQ higher! Ive found a "how to" in a magazine for high lift jacking but i guess a proper explanation from a person is preffereable.

Also, this may sound stupid but for city driving do most 4wd owners carry high lift jacks incase of flats? Or do most steer clear of the high lift for trolley jacks?

Cheers, Anand.
FollowupID: 470730

Follow Up By: Ozrover - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 07:56

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 07:56
Newbie.

DO NOT use a high lift jack to change tyres, they are great things for bead breaking or to lift the vehicle to pack under the wheels when bogged.

Other people may have differing opinions on the matter but I will only use the high lift to change a tyre in the most extreme situations where nothing else will work!

When I was a newbie (& am still learning new tricks every day) 25 years ago I had a FJ 40 LC, tried to change a rear tyre using the high lift jack, & nearly killed myself.

Very unstable when raised, as for the tyre pressures, you'll just have to experiment to see what suits you.

Sand/low traction driving I go as low as 15/16 psi, dirt/gravel roads 30 psi, on the blacktop 34 front 38/40 rear, as a guide only, if the tyre is getting hot the pressures are too low, if the tyre is cold the pressures are too low.

Lotsa luck, & have fun.
FollowupID: 470773

Follow Up By: Ozrover - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 08:02

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 08:02
Bugger!
"if the tyre is getting hot the pressures are too low, if the tyre is cold the pressures are too low"

Should read "if the tyre is getting hot the pressures are too low, if the tyre is cold the pressures are too high"

Dislexic fingers. 8 )>
FollowupID: 470774

Reply By: Rob from Family First Aid Supplies - Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 20:50

Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 20:50
if you love fishing and more than 2 people buy a tinny with a trailer. time spent taking off the roof, fitting motor, comming home loading tinny, storing motor. PAIN in the A#$@. unless you are a highly organised person with a camper trailer. better to rough it in a swag....take a bigger boat and have more fun doing what you like...fishing in as bigger boat that fists the bill!!!

robin
AnswerID: 210692

Reply By: Member - Alex K (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 00:15

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 00:15
Anand,

Hills boy aye, here's trouble!!

It is well worth joining a 4wd club and go on a few trips with guys of all walks of life. You'll get to see more 4wd accessories than you'd know what to do with. Guys with std trucks, others with more money in trucks than in property. Then you can look at your circumstances and what you intend doing with the GQ, based on your experience level, buy what you need. E.g. Hi Lift jack may not be the first thing on your list if you don't know how to use one, don't know when to use one or don't know where to use one. If you were intending on beach driving you'd find an air compressor, tyre gauge and tyre deflates much more valuable.

Good luck and don't be afraid to ask the forum for advise. Everyone here shares a common interest and is only more than happy to help.

Alex

AnswerID: 210731

Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 14:03

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 14:03
Anand ,
Put the POST 40069 into the search facility above and look at the replies . They say it all very well .
Willie.
AnswerID: 210774

Reply By: madfisher - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 14:42

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 14:42
4wdnewbie
My 4.2 Explorer with a 1.8 m beam is only rated for 4 . As Norm said water and booze are a dangerous combination. Have a couple at the end of the day . A good option is a large Canadian canoe for rivers and sheltered waters. Myself , wife and our 11 year old fish out of ours
Goodluck Pete
AnswerID: 210783