OT Gilchrist is out of form and too old LOL

Submitted: Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 21:43
ThreadID: 40410 Views:2967 Replies:17 FollowUps:33
If you had the pleasure to see Gillie in action tonight you were lucky.

I got to see the lot.

A worn out, has been, 36 year old keeper went within one ball of matching Viv Richards' record of the fastest 100 in Test history.

If the ump had the balls to call a wide on the 56th ball, Gillie would have matched Viv.

As a kid I thought Marsh was a miracle, he made 4 100's (should have been 5 if the "corpse in pads" hadn't declared when he was on 92 chasing his first). Then we saw the, then, greatest ever keeper/batsman Healy who made 9 tons.

Gillie has now made 17.

Get that, 17 test 100's. Averaging near 50.

And at speed.

He makes most "batsmen" look pedestrian.

Reply By: ZukScooterX90 (QLD)Member - Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 21:49

Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 21:49
Yes he is a gifted batsman & an eye like a blackman.
Definately great to watch when on song.:o)))
AnswerID: 210708

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 21:49

Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 21:49
He's the Nissan of keepers.
AnswerID: 210709

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 21:55

Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 21:55
And the Hyundai of Batsmen.
FollowupID: 470737

Reply By: Member - Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 21:56

Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 21:56
I would have to put it up there with one of if not the best innings I have ever seen......It was pure Gold.....Look out in the one dayers.......No lets see the Aussies roll the Poms tomorrow.........
AnswerID: 210710

Reply By: Mad Dog - Vic - Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 23:28

Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 23:28
It made great viewing, it doesn't happen very often.

A great days batting after a wobbly start, the poms bowled reasonably well but failed to capitalize

It will be interesting to see if the poms come out looking for a win or will they be after a draw. It will take a world record run chase for them to win I understand.

AnswerID: 210721

Reply By: 4wdNewbie - Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 23:29

Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 23:29
Down and out is he... I think not... hes an absolute legend is Gillie... However, lets not forget Husso and Clarkey... equally good knocks if not at world record pace. And perhaps a moment of silence for Marto... It was like Mark Waugh lived on through him... He will be sorely missed...
AnswerID: 210722

Reply By: Barnesy - Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 23:36

Saturday, Dec 16, 2006 at 23:36
I too am a worn out has been keeper-batsman the same as Gilly. So by that rationale I should be scoring tonnes in test cricket too. It's all politics that has held me back.

Healy is still the best gloveman. The poms have to pick Read, the second keeper now after Jones missed stumping Clarke and stuffed the catch against Huss. Two expensive misses.

Barnesy
AnswerID: 210725

Reply By: Bilbo - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 00:02

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 00:02
Like you Barnesy, I am worn out as well. I've been glued to the set as well messaging on 2 cricket blogs - one Aussle blog, the other based in the UK.

My goodness gracious it's been the greatest 2 days of Pommie Bashing that I've had since I left England. I love it when they start devouring thier own team.

Husseys and Clarkes innings were diamonds of how to bat correctly. None of this agricultural ploughboy swinging - just good old fashioned cover driving. I betcha Pietersen was taking notes and videos for when he bats next,,,,,,,,

,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,which will be around 1130 hours tomorrow, WA time ;)

Bilbo
AnswerID: 210729

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 00:20

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 00:20
Yep! nothing like watching the 'red leather' fly.
AnswerID: 210733

Reply By: XpLoiT - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 01:53

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 01:53
yeah and just remember, bradman was double that average...
and wasnt a total cricketer, had to goto work and there was a war in there somewhere.. so how fkn good was he!

dave

The Grey Nomads
Relaxed forum for the grey nomad community to keep in touch
AnswerID: 210737

Reply By: Cruiserman1961 (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 06:42

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 06:42
Gee, it was so painful to watch little old Gillie to struggle with the bat...... Thought he might not be able to lift the bat or see the ball anymore. Well some of the commentators are quick to write a player off.
Didn't work this time, the "worn out little man" showed them on which side the hammer hangs! Well done all of you boys, it was fun to watch! One get to the stage to feel almost sorry for the Poms.....
AnswerID: 210740

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 07:35

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 07:35
"One get to the stage to feel almost sorry for the Poms....."

NEVER :)))))))
FollowupID: 470770

Reply By: The Explorer - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 09:33

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 09:33
"If the ump had the balls to call a wide on the 56th ball, Gillie would have matched Viv."

I thought wides go to sundries and not onto batsmans score? Or do you mean the ball is not counted and he would have another crack at it next ball?

Anyway - Yes I watched it as well - good stuff

AnswerID: 210747

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 09:58

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 09:58
"Or do you mean the ball is not counted and he would have another crack at it next ball?"

Spot on Greg.
FollowupID: 470781

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 10:03

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 10:03
I knew that - just testing

FollowupID: 470782

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 11:40

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 11:40
Am i the only one that finds cricket these days as dull as watching someone, watching someone else watching paint dry?

What ever happened to sport? I realise cricket is only a business these days, nothing really to do with sport, which brings me to another annoying thing, when they compare todays team/bowlers/batsman with those of the great 80's era.. Back then, the whole team, and probably 3 teams in the tour were gettin paid about 1/103820982309832409340598430589th the amount each player gets now?

And Sporting declarations, giving the opposition a chance and making the game interesting?

England have 0 chance of scoring 350, let alone 500+, so in that, there is no interest as England will only try and hold out, and not have a go. Gee, thats exciting. Block, miss, block, miss, block, let one go - OVER

FWIW I know how the game works I played cricket (from captain, keeper, opening bowler, to batsman in the years), and rep cricket for 20+ yrs in the Shire.

Bring on the 1 dayers then again, the other team is Sri Lanka - another bunch of winners.

Bring Back sport
AnswerID: 210755

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 12:29

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 12:29
You could be Bruce

FollowupID: 470805

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 12:32

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 12:32
Then whats the point of it? Why not have the aussie team playing sides like the Wheelabarra back U12s ?? Just as interesting, exciting, and the result is the same...
FollowupID: 470807

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 12:57

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 12:57
Come on Truckster. Wasn't it you that just a few days ago said something like 'just watch, the Poms will win this test. It is all rigged to make sure they keep people interested and make more money.'

If the poms are good enough they can win. They need to score at less than 3 runs per over to do it.

The only reason for a 'sporting' declaration is to make the opposition play their shots so you have a better chance of getting them out. The aim in any sport is to win. That's what the Aussies are looking to do. Not give the opposition a sporting chance.

Sure cricket is a bit more like a business these days. But which of the major sports isn't. The great thing with cricket is that a fair bit of the money they make is fed back down to support state and district level cricket to develop our next generation of players.

The only problem I have (and it is minor), is that with the money available, players stay in the sport as long as they can. This stops other great players from getting a chance until they are much older these days. Hussey and Stuart Clark are two examples.
FollowupID: 470813

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 14:02

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 14:02
No
FollowupID: 470820

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 15:56

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 15:56
Hey Truckster, the 3rd team for the one dayers this year is NZ, not Sri Lanka.

Not sure if that makes any difference to you though.
FollowupID: 470834

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 16:02

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 16:02
Yup Norm, it sure was..
Just goes to show you how pathetic they are.. having the game handed to them you could have named your own odds on aussie being out for under 300, and all out on day 1. Yet England still cant make a game of it. woeful.

Said on the age site today that it was Sri lanka for the one day series.. have gone back now to the same page and they have changed it, maybe they pharked up with the nz/sri game that is on now... but agree with does it matter.
FollowupID: 470836

Follow Up By: Barnesy - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 16:52

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 16:52
It is possible that the Poms will bat for two days and score 560, to make the highest 4th innings score to win in test history!

Would you say Ricky made a sporting declaration yesterday Truckster? You're a shocker sometimes Truckster.

No better sport on the planet than test cricket.

Ozzies out for 244, 6 sessions later they're 550 in front! That's how good the Ozies are.
FollowupID: 470845

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 21:04

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 21:04
Is there anything in this world that makes you happy Bruce?

I'm sure if you won Tattslotto you'd complain about having to go and collect the cheque.

Why are you so unhappy?
FollowupID: 470883

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 23:01

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 23:01
Barnsey - how is a 500+ lead a sporting chance??
No better sport than Sleeping Cricket? for me, who didnt miss an international for 5 yrs in the 80's at the SCG, I can't watch a whole days play anymore. I cant explain why I find it so dull, but it is. I suppose theres always been cheating in the game, but when the X SIDES come over which a few have been busted in recent yrs, I dont really trust the result. remember Marsh and Lillee betting against themselves in a game once and making world headlines?

20/20 will really take off, its action + from ball 1. thats if the powers to be let it take off.

Jimbo - I like nothing more than watching the old games from the 80's on Optus mate, they are so much more entertaining. they were sportsmen, not employees.

Sporting declarations were not uncommon with if I remember, Clive Lloyd and Chappell actuallly discussing it on the field once. Teams both with a chance, which makes the team batting last have a go unlike 99.9% of games with any side these days... Scoring 500 + when the team knowingly wont make 300, what are they goign to do, struggle to block the ball for 3 days.. bleep thats exciting.

Lance Cairns, Dean Jones, Viv Richards, Lloyd, Marsh, dozens of them etc none of they laydown, they play for the win - which doesnt always happen but they didnt give a bleep ...

Again, it was a sport back then not a multibillion $ business.
FollowupID: 470938

Follow Up By: Barnesy - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 23:18

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 23:18
If anyone comes out and says test cricket is boring, only a week after the Ozzies beat the poms on the last day in Adelaide, needs to wake up.

Test cricket is alive and well and is the best sport in the world. The concentration and patience is unmatched. One mistake at the end of a 40 degree day when you are stuffed can change the whole game.

Is there a bigger challenge with any team sport?
FollowupID: 470944

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 23:33

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 23:33
Barnesy

Just because the Ozzies beat the Poms in Adelaide, does not mean everyone like cricket the way it is today... Win at all cost

It used to be a game

and anyone can say that cricket today (including test cricket) is boring to watch even to listen to on the radio...

I don't like a pom as good as the next guy but I hope they can hold on to a draw (thunder storms) tomorrow here in Perth...LOL...;-)
FollowupID: 470947

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 23:36

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 23:36
Barnsey, you think that the first 3 days of the Adelaide test were exciting? Honestly? Really honestly, no, didnt think you meant that.

That game was an exciting 1/2 of one day - the last few sessions where UK fell apart and aussie scored before that, it was boring as bat bleep . be honest.

theres plenty of solo/team sports in the world where 1 slip in concentration can blow the whole gig.

I like cricket, dont get me wrong, but tests are just dull to me now. Maybe its because I like competition more than floggings in any sport, car racing, bikes, marbles, cricket, tiddly winks etc..
FollowupID: 470948

Follow Up By: Barnesy - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 00:13

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 00:13
What other team sport requires concentration over a 5 day period? I fyou really appreciate the game you will sit through the slow periods in anticipation for the game changing periods.

Today the poms were putting up a fight and who knows may have even come close to 560, in the space of 3 balls Mcgrath gets 2 wickets and changes the game again.

Each to his own. I personally lose interest in footy (all codes) after about the third or fourth round of the season. That's about the time i start thinking about next cricket season!

What other sport in Oz gets people so interested that they need to have a discussion about it on an internet forum dedicated to travelling and camping?
FollowupID: 470954

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 17:21

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 17:21
I used to appreciate the SPORT cricket..

>>> What other sport in Oz gets people so interested that they need to have a discussion about it on an internet forum dedicated to travelling and camping?

AFL, NRL, Soccer, Bike Racing, ... more than you think..
FollowupID: 471059

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 12:53

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 12:53
the other thing that kills it is the commentators dribbling on about "that ball reminded me of a ball bowled by Harry Crumb in the 1943 test in whogivesachit"...

They think they have to talk to keep people from falling asleep.

Also their desperation to grab onto ANY situation and replay it 29034823098230948230498230230498 times,
EG Simons fielding a ball the other day, they replayed it 12 times - and thats only when I started counting. All he did was dived on ball, and threw it back.. nothing out of the ordinary, but with nothing else having happened in the last 12 hours of the game, this was a highlight.

Then you get Tony Greg floggin his $10,000,000 photos in a frame ltd #, that probably .000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000001% of the viewers could give a bleep about or could afford. You cant even get away from them making money during the sleep sessions.

I could go on, like the cricket show, and more, but plenty are in agreeance with me on other boards, and sites
FollowupID: 471219

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 13:03

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 13:03
Bruce that last post prompted me to realise that on the weekend, I knew the cricket was on the boob tube but I found myself drawn to the garage to sit back in the easy chair, with a cold schooner of home brew...listening to the game on the beat up old radio instead. Just an observation and probably a bit romantic.
FollowupID: 471223

Follow Up By: Barnesy - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 13:13

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 13:13
There's a simple solution Truckster, don't watch the cricket. Tell me, who is forcing you to?

As for cricket not being a sport anymore, well maybe we should go back to the days before world series, when world class international cricketers played for nothing and retired broke. Kerry Packer didn't seek out cricketers, they were wanting someone to actually pay them and Packer offered!

Just about everyday of this Ashes series was sold out in June. These hundreds of thousands of people don't seem to care too much what you're going on about.

Did you see Gilly give his keeping pads to a young child? He didn't pay for the pads of course, but those pads will be on display in that childs bedroom and be the envy of his friends for years. Gilchrists keeping pads he wore on the day the Ozzies won back in Ashes in 2006. Cricket not a sport? Come on Truckster, you grumpy bugger.
FollowupID: 471225

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 17:28

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 17:28
who says I watch it anymore...maybe the highlights every once in a while but no way on earth I could sit there for a full day unless I was home sick, and the remote is out of reach.
You dont seem to realise I dont care what "These hundreds of thousands of people" think...

No, cricket is anything but a sport anymore.
FollowupID: 471271

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 21:14

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 21:14
whine whine whine ...reminiscent of the ex wife..all about something of no consequence.

Harendup

FollowupID: 471302

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 21:18

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 21:18
welcome to EO then Explorer...
FollowupID: 471304

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 21:35

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 21:35
A somewhat belated welcome...suppose I should reciprocate - welcome to you Truckster (Vic) ..or can I call you Vic for short?

FollowupID: 471307

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 17:59

Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 17:59
I think you may be the pot calling the kettle black T-Man, EO is much more than whine, its also Whomen and Shong

FollowupID: 471661

Reply By: nowimnumberone - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 12:06

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 12:06
i forgot.
what did he get in the first innings
haha
just kidding hes a great player and i was waiting for him to go out so i could leave the tv and cook some dinner geez i got hungry.
AnswerID: 210759

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 13:32

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 13:32
Jim your right he is in absolutely shocking form!!!!
Absolutely shockingly good form!!!!

I have always liked the bloke and think he is great for the game, That second innings performance was a reflection of how good he actually is for the game.
Go Gillie!!!!

AnswerID: 210772

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 21:06

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 21:06
And he walks John.

He walks, he is honest.

He's a fine sportsman.
FollowupID: 470884

Reply By: Bilbo - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 15:18

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 15:18
When viewing Ricky Pontings so alled "sporting declarations" we must all remember the dust up between him and the England coach, Duncan Fletcher when The Ashes were lost.

There is a big axe to grind here and no way is Ponting going to give the Poms an inch of latitude. He had a good teacher - "The Killing Machine", "The Iceman",Steve Waugh.

He's gonna marmalise 'em if he gets half a chance.

Mind you, I reckon that Ponting has been a tad overgenerous with letting 'em bat for 2 whole days. They have a small chance of frustrating a draw out of it.

But,,,,,,,he's a pro and I just watch TV

Bilbo
AnswerID: 210788

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 23:25

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 23:25
Draw! if they can't get the required runs after over two full days at the crease they deserve to be strung up kicked in the arse and sent packing back to mama.
FollowupID: 470946

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 00:43

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 00:43
Mad Dog,

I agree - somewhat. I'm not counting on anyfink until those Ashes are in Pontings hot hands.

The Poms might just get lucky. Though after today's (Sunday) effort I doubt it.

Bilbo
FollowupID: 470957

Reply By: 4wdNewbie - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 21:35

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 21:35
Heard from the mouth of Gillie himself on an interview today that Ricky meant "no, keep batting" but Gilly took it the wrong way... So it wasnt really a declaration... Just a cesation of batting i guess...

And truckster, while I agree in that the Poms need to loosen their ties and stop stop chokin all the time... They were lookin pretty good for most of the day... Lovely game cricket... you can be cruisin all day then have it all fall to bleep e in no time flat...
AnswerID: 210857

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 23:18

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 23:18
Wasn't that a funny well told story by Gillie, oh well back to boot camp for communciations 101
FollowupID: 470943

Reply By: Bilbo - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 00:31

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 00:31
The English Team for the Perth Test,,,,,,

"Freddie Flintoff" - lovely lad, has a reputation that's not seen much over here.
Seems to have trouble setting field that's not two overs behind the game.
Has problems setting a field to English strike bowlers - everybody does
don't they? Been set up as the fall guy for losing The Ashes as Michael
Vaughan is a gentleman,Freddie is just a nice lad (read "mug") from
Lancashire.

Strauss - "Seth Effrican" - always dodgy. Flails the bat around off stump a
lot. Never really intends to hit the ball, just frighten it a bit. Umpires
hate him,,,,,,,,even "Seth Effrikaan" umpires it seems. Maybe he has no
friends at all? Loves the new ball so much he leaves 'em that way - new!

Cook - after todays effort (Sunday over here) I like the lad. He's shown
that he has the stamina to do it, but has he got the strokes. Time will
tell.

Bell - Ding, Dong, what can I say? Warney has him completely baffled. Looks
like he has brain damage when facing leg spinners. Can't believe a cricket
ball can actually move THAT FAR!

Collingwood - they named a Royal Navy battleship, "Collingwood". It could
have been named after this guy. A gritty, determined batsmen that is not
overly endowed with striking talent but he's a tryer. Would bat at number 10
if he were in the Australian line up he impresses me that much.

Pietersen - well here he is eh!! The Wunderkinden, the Great White Hope, The
Ubertonkenmeister - another "Seth Effricaan". My opinion Ian? CRAP. And I'm
not taking the piss either. This guy is that far up himself his digestive
system is a loop. KP is only interested in KP. The future of English Cricket
means nothing to KP. He hasn't got a clue how to measure a game for 5 days.
He's McDonalds, he's popcorn, he's instant gratification for people that
don't realllyyy understand cricket, But he can hit a ball hard and that's
what gets bums on seats these days. When he hooks he looks like he's about
to dislocate both arms or he's having a fit of some kind. We haven't seen
him do two consecutive cover drives or two drives of any kind within two
overs. Let the side down badly when he attempted to shepherd the tail
enders in the 1st innings. Looked all at sea when asked to think. A
"chancer" with a good set of eyes is the best I can say.

"Freddie" - hasn't been a hit with the bat or ball - see above as a Captain.
Shame really as I like him as a bloke. He would make a good Australian.

Jones - Wicket keeper? I think he is anyway. Batsman? Dunno. Haven't seen
him bat yet! He's on the pitch all padded up one minute and gone the next?
Apparently there's DNA tests being done over here - Duncan Fletcher and
Geraint Jones - to see if they are in fact blood related. If these tests
come back positive then Duncan Fletcher is to be arrested for incest.
Personally I wouldn't bother with the DNA test - the results aren't in
doubt.

Giles - is not an ECB salaried player. Came to "Oz" on a freelance contract,
so I've read. Closely related to Duncan Fletcher who arranged for Ashley to
visit relatives over here as long as Ashley promised to roll his arm over
for the lads. Ashley fulfilled his end of the bargain, We saw it with our
own eyes, on TV, live.

Hoggard - now this lad I really like. An honest to God workhorse that can
actually bowl. Love the guy. Has been offered an Australian Passport, his
own Australian goldmine, a cattle station, his choice of women on Cottesloe
beach, free beer for life, university places for his kids and a dishwasher
for his missus. Hoggy - yer fantastic!

Harmison - Came to "Oz" as England's strike bowler. Since being in "Oz, has
seen an optician and these rumours have since been dispelled. He's legally
blind and now runs in with a guide dog. Geraint Jones then shouts "Here!!"
just as Harmy passes the wicket and he lets the ball go where he thinks
Jonesy's voice is coming from. Should go far- as long as he doesn't lose the
dog when he lets the lead go. Freddie Flintoff has had trouble setting a
field for the dog.

Mahmooud - unknown quantity. Rumoured to cook a good vindaloo. Cooks for the
Barmy Harmy every night as it's costing 'em a fortune phoning Bristol for
takeaway.

Finally, the little boy that nobody loved, the lad caught in the storm -
Monty!! Lets hear a good Australian ROAR for Monty. He can bowl, he can bat,
he can field ( a bit). We Aussies will take him any day. He's a cricket
enthusiast, he's keen, he wants to be on the field, he wants to be on the
team, he wants to take wickets Ashley Giles is taking lessons from him. We
love him. It's just a pity that Duncan Fletcher doesn't. Top stuff Monty.

Bilbo
AnswerID: 210893

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 00:39

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 00:39
I wrote the above for a good English mate of mine in the UK. Known him fer 30 odd years.

Might be the end of a beautiful friendshio eh!

Hope you like it.

Bilbo
FollowupID: 470956

Follow Up By: 4wdNewbie - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 13:14

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 13:14
Haha great little read. Specially if it was to get up ya mate. I rate Pieterson as a cricketer. He has settled down a long way since entering the scene (his hair now has less colours than the rainbow), and probably still has a way to go, but he has talent. So does flintoff. For mine he was like Gilly before that hundred he made... having an absolutely shocking run, but the feeling is that its only a matter of time before he scores runs with the bat and you expect him too everytime he comes to the crease, bad form or no bad form. And I rate Strauss and Cook... but i always have a softspot for openers being one myself :P
FollowupID: 471007

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 20:42

Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 20:42
HAHAHA, great reading Bilbo, best thing I've read here all year.

Thanks mucho
FollowupID: 471717