Member - MUZBRY (VIC)
Last week I put on a set of NANKANG WIDE CONQUERERS ..At the moment I am
setting the pressure levels . Over the next few months and I hope years , I will let you know how the go.
Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 14:32
Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 14:32
What r they Muzz AT MT or what?
Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY (VIC) - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 20:10
Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 20:10
Gday Bonz
They are AT type tread pattern, quite chunky and look like like they need a good run in the bush.
Thanks.
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 16:20
Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 16:20
Don't we all?
Reply By: Member - Mike_L (SA) - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 16:29
Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 16:29
I had these on a previous vehicle (Mazda Bravo) I put them on after
Adelaide's spate of tyre slashing a couple of years ago left me with 4 flat Desert duelers one morning. They are an AT, but one with quite an open tread pattern and certainly looked the goods.
I got them because they were cheap and being self employed, I needed vehicle on road again fast. Size was 30x9.5x15. Though they were cheap as (around $140 each from memory) I was very disappointed with on road performance. Lots of treat noise at speed (open tread with tread blocks that squirm around) and easy to lock up the rears ( Mazda dual cab ute) Poor straight line tracking was an issue for me too. I also never felt comfortable with them during high speed cornering either as they always felt like they were only just hanging on!
In the size I had (30x9.5x15) they always looked half flat as the side walls bulged out so much, and they wore excessively in the centre of the tread due to me running higher than usual pressures to compensate for this.
I only had them for 25000 km and from memory they were more than half worn.
We only did one major trip (Great Ocean rd- goldfields-back along Murray-border tack and Murray Sunset NP.)
No punctures, good off road in sand and loose stony tracks, fast dirt was a worry with some tracking issues. Had some chipping of tread blocks after doing a weekend in the Flinders on rocky/stony tracks.
Like most things you get what you pay for.... they weren't great.. but then again they are cheap....
Mick
Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY (VIC) - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 20:08
Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 20:08
Gday Mike
Thanks for your remarks..I had the same feelings about the tyres and will see what they are like as soon as we can get away . I will tow a CT and do other trips without just to see how they are. If they don't handle ,i will get some other type.Again , thanks. They are AT type tread............
Murray
Follow Up By: RosscoH - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 22:26
Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 22:26
Had a set of them on a Rodeo, found them to be quite good with good tread wear rate, Have a set of Nan Kang Mudstars on a GU patrol at the moment, a little bit noisy on the tar as you would expect from a muddy but overall an excellent tyre for the price, 285/75/16 for $210.00 a tyre.
Cheers Rossco.
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 20:09
Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 20:09
Gotta love the name "NANKANG WIDE CONQUERERS" :-))
Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY (VIC) - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 10:02
Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 10:02
Gday Phil
You can just imagine a Taiwanese chappy driving through the bush in Taiwan with "WIDE CONCOURERS " on his vehicle, terrorising the villagers , with chooks
running all over, old dears with a sasa waving at the youth of Taiwan, unable to go off road for fear of being bogged in a paddy field and having to be towed out by a
water buffalo. What fun dodging push bikes and people off to market with a load
of baskets.........
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 10:07
Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 10:07
hehehe
I actually had visions of an Asian man sitting in the factory with an English dictionary working out what name would suit the tyre.