Battery Charing from Car

Submitted: Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 19:07
ThreadID: 40432 Views:3439 Replies:11 FollowUps:15
HI everyone,
Just enjoyed a weekend away (and got caught in the nasty storms in Noosa this weekend) - 120Km winds.. yessh.. Anyhow.

I have a camper trailer with 2x 120AH (ALCO AGM) batteries. I take a Evakool 60L fridge and some lights and the wife wants some fans. We are heading to Fraser for XMAS, and i only have enough battery power for about 5 days (we are going for 7).. (the 5 days is without charging)

I have a PRADO 2006 Grande Petrol car, and i want to know if it is possible to run the car beside the trailer (as it will be stationary for the 7 days) for say 30 minutes a day to charge the battery?? And if so how much battery power do u think it would put into the batteries during this 30 minute period..?

Anyone doing this or something similar.. I just don't know if buying at $800 solar panel is worth it for an extra 2 days running power..
(P.S most of the parks including the XMAS one doesn't allow generators at all.)

Any thoughts or comments appreciated.
Justin

Reply By: _gmd_pps - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 19:24

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 19:24
rent a geni ..
gmd
AnswerID: 210819

Follow Up By: FirefoxGC - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 19:29

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 19:29
that would be good or bad. The problem is they don't allow geni's where i am going for fraser. Question.. does anyone rent solar panels in Queensland (South east) or where would i rent a geni from somewhere around here as well.
FollowupID: 470858

Reply By: Max - Sydney - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 19:34

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 19:34
Justin

A tricky one. Seems a lot of hoot to get a solar panel unless you are on the wallaby for months.

Some thoughts:

1. Borrow, buy or get from the back of the shed a couple of old gas lamps and use them instead of the 12 volt ones.

2. A couple of dolphin torches for some areas.

3. Turn the fridge back one notch in temperature, and cover it with a couple of damp towels and hope it uses less power and make sure its always shaded.

4. Plan on using the fridge as an Esky for the last day or so (means going to the shop to get some ice).

5. Give the wife a couple of nice hand fans with their own batteries in them for Chrissie - and take a box of batteries (and don't tell her I suggested it.)

Half an hour a day of running the engine at fast idle, if your neighbours don't get cranky and smash your windscreen, might just boost the batteries up enough to see you through the extra couple of days.

Envy you being on Fraser anyway - enough battery power or not!

Have a good one
Max
AnswerID: 210820

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 19:58

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 19:58
A fast idle 20/40 min per 2/3 times per day starting day 1 will see you thru , powers that be can ban gen sets all they like ,the gen set built into your car may not be the most efficient or even environmently friendly but no one has banned them yet.
AnswerID: 210827

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 15:29

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 15:29
Noise pollution contest.

Honda generator (or even GMC) versus 4.2 Diesel at fast idle.

I wonder ................................. ?
FollowupID: 471244

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 18:07

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 18:07
Shaker ,that is the whole point , the powers that be ban gen sets ,even the gmc 2 strokers only shove out 53/57 decibles yet you can use the vehicle at twice the noise and fuel wastage ,, last Xmas period we went to a council run park and mate and his family had to leave because 1 richard cranium complained about the gen set mate was using , same richard cranium using v8 cruiser on fast idle all hours gets to stay , never a shotgun handy when needed.
FollowupID: 471280

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 19:00

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 19:00
Quote: "Honda generator (or even GMC) versus 4.2 Diesel at fast idle".

Yeh, I mentioned this a month or so ago in a similar thread. Since then I have bought a 6.5 Chev V8 powered Patrol and at idle it just about registers on the Rhictor (spelling?) Scale.......

If I did that in a quiet camp ground I reckon others would be queuing-up to buy me a gennie (or beg me to use the quiet Yammie in the boot of my camper trailer)hahahahah
FollowupID: 471286

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 22:57

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 22:57
Yes ... It's funny how the 'anti-generator league' never come out of the woodwork when idling vehicles to charge batteries or heat showers is mentioned.
FollowupID: 471323

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 20:24

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 20:24
Obviously the fridge consumption varies with temperature, so all is a bit of a guess until the day arrives.
Trying to put some figures on it.
If you are running 2x120ah down to 50% over 5 days, that means you are using 120 amp/hours. (That sounds like low consumption for 5 days.)
An alternator at reasonable number of revs is putting out about 80amps, or maybe you have a 100amp alternator. Less what the car uses to run. Say work on 50 amps out put (50 amps per hour). Plus allow 10 to 15 mins initial running each time to recharge the car battery after restarting.
So about 3 hours of running to get some reasonable charge back into the Alcos. The recharge also drops off as the battery comes up to full charge.
If it 30 mins a day over 6 days, that would just about do it, plus the starting battery recharge, say 45 mins a day. And the engine needs to be run at least at 2000rpm for full charge from the alternator.
AnswerID: 210835

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 22:58

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 22:58
Starting the vehicle uses very little power - cranking time is very short, and yours is not a diesel.

How much current your AGMs will take will depend on heaps of variables. But AGMs have a low internal resistance, and normally recharge faster than other batteries, provided they are in good nick. You will also need some nice thick jumper leads with good clamps. In good nick, a normal cranking battery will take about 30 amps over a 30 minute period (say about 15Ah). So I'd guess that for the big AGMs, you could double that figure, and with two batteries, maybe push your alternator to its limit. So Id guess you might regain up to 40Ah over 30 minutes.

I'd be check the AGM voltage with a multimeter each day. I wouldn't let them go below 12.0 volts. I'd guess you'll be recharging at least every 2nd day.

phil
AnswerID: 210875

Reply By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 23:43

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 23:43
Hi Firefox

Yes using a good set of booster cables (With Spike Protection) is a quick way to charge the batteries. 30 min per day should be more than enough.

Just make sure to avoid sparks in the bonnet of the Prado. The Prado battery will be producing some explosive gases so do the disconnect / connect on the sealed AGM side of things.

Have a great Christmas.

Derek.
AnswerID: 210885

Reply By: drivesafe - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 07:42

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 07:42
Hi FirefoxGC, I have customers who go through this very problem on a regular basis.

There is a cheap and very effective solution and there’s no need to have your 4x4 running at all.

Get yourself a small battery charger and an inverter to suite the power needed to to run the battery charger.

When you get back from your daily exploration of Fraser, pull up somewhere near you CT, pop the bonnet and connect the inverter to the battery.

Run an ordinary 240vac extension cord over to your CT and power up the battery charger.

Depending on how small the battery charger is, you could probably leave it on all night and not take all that much out of the Prado’s battery.

The battery charger only has to be 1 or 2 amps and it will do the job as you are not trying to fully recharge the battery, just extend it’s operating time.

Best of all, there’s no noise and no wasted fuel

AnswerID: 210908

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 20:00

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 20:00
Drivesafe,
I'd be worried about the maths on this one. To attempt to charge his 240Ah of aux battery from a small Prado starting battery (at most 50Ah) is a bit optimistic.
FollowupID: 471087

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 20:42

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 20:42
Hi Phil, right on the money.

To attempt to fully charge the battery would leave the vehicle’s battery in a low state but that’s why I posted a small charger.

Using a small charger and only needing an equally small inverter is not only cost effective but it dramatically reduces the chances of flattening the vehicle’s battery.

Remember, the idea is not to fully charge the battery, just to top it up a bit at a time, to give a few additional days of use before the battery needs a full on charge.

If you were to use a 1.5 amp charger, allowing for the inefficiencies of this type of set up, you would only pull about half the vehicle battery’s capacity if you ran the charger for 10 to 12 hours at a time.

This still leaves enough to start the prado in the morning.

The way to do it would be to hook up the charger either when you first returned to camp and disconnect it later in the night or connect it up just before hitting the sack and disconnect it in the morning as soon as you get up.

Either way, you are not going to go anywhere near discharging the prado’s battery to the point where you can’t start it and best of all, this set up can be used at any camp site because as pointed out, it’s clean, it’s quiet and your not wasting fuel.

FollowupID: 471097

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 21:15

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 21:15
OK, I'll take a different slant. Can I suggest that simply hooking up the Prado's battery with the CT batteries overnight would achieve the same but would be more efficient. Why do you need an inverter and charger?

But I'm still in favour of the original 30minute thing :-))
FollowupID: 471109

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 01:10

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 01:10
If only it was that simple.

This is a very simplified explanation, but the problem is that for a battery to absorb a charge there has to be a chemical reaction. To get the chemical reaction to start, the battery’s voltage has to be raised to at least 13.8 volts and as the vehicle’s battery will be no more than 12.7 at best when the motor is off, all you will do is discharge the vehicle battery without charging the CT battery.

FollowupID: 471171

Follow Up By: MartyB - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 23:32

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 23:32
Drivesave,
Can you explain your post, because as far as I know if you connect a battery at 12.7 v to another battery at say 12.0 v they will both equalise to a voilage somewhere between 12.7 & 12.0 volts. There is definately no need for the voltage to reach 13.8 v for this to occur.
Marty.
FollowupID: 471331

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 03:19

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 03:19
Hi MartyB, nothing beats doing your own experiments.

Get two batteries of different voltage and just using a multi meter to determine roughly what there SoC is before you connect them together and the then give them about 24 hours, separate them, let them sit for a few hours and test their SoC again and see what you end up with.

You will have lowered the SoC of the more charged battery with no appreciable gain in the least charged battery.
FollowupID: 471344

Follow Up By: MartyB - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 21:23

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 21:23
Thanks for getting back to me Drivesafe. This doesn't sound right to me, but I will give it a go & see what happens.
Marty.
FollowupID: 471499

Reply By: FirefoxGC - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 11:09

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 11:09
OK so i have now discovered that the campground will actually allow me to run a quiet generator for an hour or so a day..
Does anyone know if i can hire a honda generator or similar in south east qld somewhere..?
Justin
AnswerID: 210950

Reply By: tdv - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 11:10

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 11:10
You could spend $100 on another battery and take it with you. A 100amp/hr wet cell would probably get you by for the 2 extra days and will always be there for the future. Just keep it trickle charged in the shed?
AnswerID: 210951

Reply By: Robin - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 12:03

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 12:03
Hi Firefox

The advice above is that you can charge your CT ok by running the car for 1/2 hour
+ per day via the normal connection, and this is the simplest way.

A gennie itself will struggle to do the job in 1 hour per day as
most only put out 8amps max, typically less.

Just continuing on from Drivesafes reply, an inverter and small charger
can transfer power from 1 battery to the other without the engine running
ok. This is better than using just some jumper leads (without the car running)
as the nominal voltage of your car battery is lower than that of the CT battery.

A similar, but very effective lower cost alternative, if you don't mind a tiny bit of
electronics is to buy a $39 laptop charger from jaycar and use it reverse
way around.

I.E. Instead of plugging it into a laptop , you plug it into your CT
instead. This will trickle charge 2amps/hr quite efficently into your C/T
battery. Disconnect after few hours.

Important note - you need to add a 1 ohm 5watt resistor in series with the
charge lead to limit start up current into your battery which will blow the
fuse in the Laptop charger.

AnswerID: 210958

Follow Up By: Robin - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 12:41

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 12:41
Should have added to check that Jaycar laptop charger is still set to 15v, but I was
thinking of the gorgeous date I had over lunch, but as I am married to her It will will wait a few minutes.

FollowupID: 471005

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 16:22

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 16:22
Why will a generator only output 8 amps? The internal alledged DC supply of most generators isn't of much use for battery charging anyway, it's unregulated rubbish.

The most efficient way to use a generator is to get a 240 volt 3-stage charger of about 25 to 35 Amps and run that off the generator.
Not only are you putting back far more than 8 Amps you've also got a piece of kit that you can mount in the camper and it will maintan your camper batteries at home.

FollowupID: 471033

Follow Up By: Robin - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 16:36

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 16:36
No issue Geoff, a good quality 3 stage charger can be combined with a generator to produce 25 amps whatever at a different voltage, as can an invertor.

But that isn't the generator , which is rated at 8amps of 12v rubbish we agree.

Either way, the gennie/charger adds huge cost and complexity to this specific problem compared to the other options.

FollowupID: 471040

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 21:16

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 21:16
Justin, A couple of other options to consider.
Do you have a dual battery system in the Prado? If so, just swap one of your CT batteries into the Prado if you are going for a long drive to give it a charge.

If you don't have a dual battery system, but have Anderson Plugs to the rear of the vehicle for charging the CT bats while driving, make up a cable with Anderson plugs on one end and appropriate connectors (preferably bolt on) for the battery. Find a place in the back of the Prado to put one of the AGMs and connect via the Anderson plugs to charge while driving. Not sure how you will get the cable into the vehicle (not familiar with the Prado) , but I'm sure there will be a way.

If you will spend long periods at the beach and not driving and you can borrow or hire a gennie, take it with you when you go to the beach. Also take one of the batteries. Run the gennie as much as you like and fully charge the battery while you are out. This is what I do if in one of the camp grounds at Fraser. But I have 2 deep cycles permanently in the Hilux and one in the CT (fridge is in the Hilux), so I don't need to be moving batteries.

Dirvesafes plan is a good one if you already have a charger and inverter. Even if it is a bigger charger, just do it for shorter periods. If you don't have a 3 stage charger, you probably need one anyway with two AGMs in the CT to ensure they are fully charged before and after each trip (or on the occasions you have access to 240V when traveling).

Between my ideas and the others offered, I suspect you will find a solution.

But remember, if it is hot weather you probably won't get 5 days from your 2 batteries, which makes charging even more important. With three deep cycles, I get 3 to 6 days, depending on temp, usage, etc.

Good luck.

AnswerID: 211085