'Lane Change' for 4 inch / 100mm lift

Submitted: Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 20:16
ThreadID: 40435 Views:10100 Replies:10 FollowUps:23
I was just wondering if anyone has been through the lane change test here in WA?
I've done one recently and was interested to know how others felt about the whole process of legalising a 4wd vehicle that has a lift over 2 inch - 50mm whom have actually been through the lane change testing process.

Reply By: Exploder - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 20:20

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 20:20
How did it go, and how hard is it to pass the test?
AnswerID: 210832

Follow Up By: Froggy - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 10:09

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 10:09
hehhee ok, firstly they were not Chinese women, they were Singapore girls and they know how to look after us men very well.
Secondly, that was b4 I had the 4 inch lift.
Thirdly, in a training sense sometimes you have to show what can go wrong and putting vehicle recovery techniques into real time situation, not simulated as some training providers do, its an awesome learning experience.
And fourthly, I still have a lot of fun when I get bogged ;-) and when I get lost ;-)
FollowupID: 470988

Reply By: Froggy - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 20:38

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 20:38
Well, I guess on a positive side the vehicle passed and didn’t roll over – so it’s all good now!

It is a gruelling test on the vehicles suspension and tyres, there is absolutely no doubt about that.

If the modifications are not done properly with new gear and not driven by a designated CAMS licensed driver, I have absolutely no doubt that a lane change test with a poorly fitted suspension and an average Joe blow driver – will most definitely fail.

There would be 4wd vehicles sold new on the Australian market that would fail this lane change test.

I’ve been 4wding for the most part of two and a half decades and I never heard a set of 285 mudders complain so much as they did last Friday when being tested for the lane change – just incredible.

There are several reasons I lifted the vehicle 100mm – 4inch’s, I’m just glad it manage to pass and the risky business is all over.

Having said all of the above, the engineer and driver were extremely thorough on the day too, they left nothing to chance.
AnswerID: 210836

Follow Up By: Exploder - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 21:24

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 21:24
Right so it is actually quite a violent test, that if the average driver had to do in his stock 4WD would most likely fail it or even crash.

Is it a matter of changing from One lain to another then back to the original lain in X amount of distance?

If so what distance must you Compleat the maynover in and at what speed?

FollowupID: 470893

Reply By: FZJ 80 - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 20:56

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 20:56
Froggy,
What actually happens during the test,can you give us a run down. I expect it's something like a slalom swerve test thru witches hats or similar at speed?

AnswerID: 210841

Reply By: 666toy - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 21:06

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 21:06
just curious about this "lane change test" are you saying that they violently slew your truck from one side of the road to the other at high speeds in WA ?
who is responsible if the driver stacks it ?
This sounds crazy for just a lift & totally unnecessary
most hi luxes & Suzuki sierras would fail this in stock form.
AnswerID: 210846

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 21:19

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 21:19
add to the list troopy's
FollowupID: 470891

Reply By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 21:28

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 21:28
Someone needs to say to them in a legal sense "I will if you will" if they have any standard vehicles in the WA Transport Authority that have any mods to test.

If their standard vehicles cannot pass the test then the test needs to be redesigned so that a standard vehicle will pass it, THEN applied to everyone else with lifts/tyres/etc.

Or someone needs to put their own ass on the line for everyone else and submit their stock standard vehicle to the test. The dilemma for the Govt would be to take ALL those vehicles off the road (deemed as "unroadworthy" by design), or to design the test more fairly.

The only way of getting through to them would be to prove their test is unfair and unreasonable, not to try to prove you vehicle will pass it.
AnswerID: 210856

Reply By: Froggy - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 21:57

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 21:57
All righty folks, looks like we've got some if, buts and maybe's here... hopefully I can help explain a few things here.

Here goes...

1. The vehicle changes lanes 3 times
2. Total speed of the last lane change is 110kph
3. Distance of change would be 40 meters apart and the vehicle changes twice into 3 lines of cones
4. The cones are positioned relative to the width of the vehicle and there is not much room between them.
4. Sand bags can be used but not necessary - the rules keep changing on that one.
5. Cams Licensed driver recommended by the engineer
6. Vehicle still has to go over the pits after the lane change
7. Tyres bigger then the manufactures size - vehicle has to to a break and hand break test to a specific distance.

Do you have butterflies in your stomach seeing your pride and joy come around the back straight lining up at 110kph? ABSOLUTLEY

8. Race car driver covers their own insurance.
9. no one covers the insurance for your vehicle - if it rolls and ends up a right off, then the owner of the vehicle pays... very risky business indeed.
10. Your speedo is checked thoroughly before lane change takes place.
AnswerID: 210862

Follow Up By: Froggy - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 22:08

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 22:08
Oh and BTW folks, don't take too much away from the Hilux's either... with properly modified suspension the Hilux's - Rollux issues can be improved out of sight. Four vehicles did the lane change on the day and a Hilux diesel with a 3 inch - 75mm lift passed the lane change better than any of us.
Though the Hilux was front independent.
The Hilux may not have passed the lane change if the Hilux's suspension was still standard, food for thought yes.
I do know one thing for sure, my Patrol handles and travels much, much better now than it did when it was bought brand new.
FollowupID: 470912

Reply By: 666toy - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 23:34

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 23:34
I hope that stays in WA. buggerd if i would let some yahoo (cams licence or not )play silly buggers with my truck.
I am thinking of moveing back to WA soon i think i will leave my toyo rego,ed in QLD as i have a 4" lift as well.
Would you know if a interstate vehicle that has allready been approved & plated still has to do this test ?
AnswerID: 210884

Follow Up By: Off-track - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 23:57

Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 23:57
Yeah sounds like a load of crapola.
FollowupID: 470953

Follow Up By: Froggy - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 00:25

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 00:25
Unfortunately vehicle licensing is not commonwealth based... each State has its own rules & regulations in what is to be driven on the road in terms of vehicles and mods done to them.
If you are moving over permanently there could well be a cut off point as to when you have to change your vehicle registration over… not sure how long that is.
At the end of the day I guess the call is entirely yours... bearing in mind that if you hit an expensive BMW or something similar or it hits you, no insurance company will cover a modified vehicle without the appropriate engineers signed of documentation approvd by the State registering body.
I’ve been to Mongolia twice this year and their systems of licensing and registration is quite good, once you have your licence, it’s for life… no renewing it. But then I was told the Mongolians drive like they ride a horse - its true… bearing on mind of course… almost all Mongolian were born on a horse. The Gobi Desert is an amazing place. Sorry… getting a bit off track there – and ya get that too! ;-)
FollowupID: 470955

Follow Up By: 666toy - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 08:31

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 08:31
Thanks froggy, I will get in touch with WA rta today. Sounds bloody insane! Gov bureaucratic BS at it again!............Were you working in Mongolia or on holiday ?
FollowupID: 470971

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 00:32

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 00:32
Froggy

I'm lost why did you get the test done?

If you payed someone else to the test and it passed, that wont make it pass when you drive it will it?

funny thing you needing the 4" lift seeing how you can get bogged and have to get pulled at by two Chinese woman in a bog standard Troopy (or was that just good training) LOL...

AnswerID: 210894

Follow Up By: Froggy - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 20:15

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 20:15
hmmm! and here's me thinking there were only nice people on the ExploreOz forum... of well... ya get that!
A photo tells a 1000 stories but in this case the story was interpreted totally wrong. People should ask before making assumptions, hey?!
FollowupID: 471090

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 20:56

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 20:56
Why

have you got an answer to my question or have you taken to much offence to a tongue in check comment?

I still do not under stand the reason for the test..

FollowupID: 471100

Follow Up By: Froggy - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 21:02

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 21:02
No comment!
FollowupID: 471101

Reply By: Bilbo - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 10:52

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 10:52
I live in Perth and used to drive The Kwinana Freeway ever day when they werre digging it up to put the Mandurah Railway in.

These "swerve" tests are very similar to the daily "coning off" of various lanes for the construction traffic. At those points the speed limit was reduced by the police to 80kmh and 60 kmh.

There is no way that a normal driver would drive and swerve at that speed of 110kmh with such a tight lane configuration. 40 metres is nothing. I would even attempt that type of manouvere in a Posrche let alone a hulking great 4WD. It's not normal driving is it? It's extreme.

I don't think I'd even swerve at 110kmh. The road is not a race track. Use some sense and drive accordingly. Swerving at speed is the cause of most rollovers. Just hit the brakes, ride it out and pray. You'll at least be in with a chance. Gawd, can you imagine the carnage of 110 kmh rollover??

Hence the test is invalid on that basis alone. Any vehicle can be rolled when it's abused. Even a Mini - I did years ago at Oulton Park. The owner wasn't too impressed as I was his race mechanic at the time!!

Nah, we're being screwed again.

BTW- if they wreck, they should pay.

Screwed again, again

Bilbo
AnswerID: 210946

Follow Up By: ross - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 14:04

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 14:04
In an emergency you dont always get the luxury of deciding how you will avoid a collision.
For example if another idiot clips your vehicle and causes yours to head into oncoming traffic or over a cliff face ,the abilty of your 4wd to swerve will be crucial.
FollowupID: 471013

Follow Up By: Ozrunner - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 16:49

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 16:49
Exactly and 110 kph is the normal country speed limit and that is precisely what the swerve test is all about. If you want a lifted truck then thats the rule and so be it.

I'd be a bit bleep if some dude in a lifted truck took out any of my family because of some circumstance where his rig wasn't able to take evasive action etc.

But there are always two sides of the coin as I know of others that had the option to drive their own trucks and found it so easy they could have done it one handed and they were in lifted Hilux's !!!!.

FollowupID: 471052

Follow Up By: Froggy - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 20:19

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 20:19
Yeah, I'm just glad mine passed the test. At least the vehicle is capable of that kind of treatment, so its in with a better chance than most of avoiding an accident and and the end of the day - saving lives and injuries to all out loved ones. Maybe that the real reason I did it.
FollowupID: 471091

Follow Up By: Froggy - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 20:26

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 20:26
I was actually hoping to talk with someone that has done the lane change and compare notes... looks to me not too many people - if any - have actually done one on this forum... but instead, sort of opening up a can of worms I really didn't bargain for, getting a little too politcal for me now. Oh well... there ya go.
Take care folks and have a very Merry Xmas and a Happy New Year and of course please stay safe on Aussie Roads (and off the road) this holiday season.
FollowupID: 471094

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 22:11

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 22:11
Mates, I haven't got a lifted truck of any consequence - 2" or so if that. All I'm saying is that 40 meters to swerve 2.5 tonnes to another lane at 110kmh isn't valid.

Why?

Because most of us could not do such a manouvere without rolling the vehicle. All I'm saying is that perhaps a CAMS racing driver could do it, but the guy in the street couldn't. He'd lose it and it would roll.

So why test the truck in manner that couldn't be done except under controlled conditions and with highly skilled drivers? A test at a lower speed would be more valid.

It's a bit like testing a car at speeds of 300 kmh when most of us don't have the ability to drive at that speed or top do stunt driving, which this swerve test is.

Personally, I'm not overkeen on lifted 4WDs. Mine was done as part of a package deal when the heavier Chev motor was put in. Other than that it would be standard Nissan.

Bilbo
FollowupID: 471125

Follow Up By: Froggy - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 22:40

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 22:40
Bilbo, I wish I had an answer for you... I know this in not what you want to hear but.... the lane change is the current regulations and to get want I wanted in the Patrol in terms of superior suspension this is what was expected to get the vehicle legalised.
I've been out with the new suspension already and I've got to say it is very, very good.
The travel is exceptional, better over-ramp, really, really good approach and departure angles - all adds up to less damage to some componants of the vehicles undercarriage and panels. Still, the clearance does not change much.
The comfort level now is brilliant.
To put it into some kind of perspective... I've also go a 62' series Land Cruiser which has a 2 inch lift, the 62' at 2inch's against the Patrol at 4 inch's, the side steps are about the same height, Patrol just a fraction higher. I had to get that high to get bit higher enough off the ground so they don't get broken in varying terrain.
Again, I am very, very happy the vehicle passed the test.
FollowupID: 471137

Follow Up By: Ozrunner - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 23:41

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 23:41
Bilbo

Mate, then this will freak you out then, LOL.

Actually, its basically the new National standard.

Its enter section 1 which is 1.1 times vehicle width plus 250mm and 15m long, swap across in section 2 which is 30m long with no width, enter section 3 which is 1.2 times vehicle width plus 250mm and 25m long, swap back across to previous lane with no width in 25m and re enter final section which is 1.3 vehicle width plus 250mm at 110kph (+/- 3kph).

Also they can have you do sveral tests with normal mass weights etc finally up to equalling full passenger compliment etc etc so lots of sand bags required, LOL.

A lot of big lifted trucks in WA have done it and easily. Sounds harder than it is.

I mucked about on a deserted highway and used the centre white line breaks although I don't know their exact gaps but I can swap lanes in between these breaks no probs.
FollowupID: 471157

Follow Up By: Froggy - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 00:04

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 00:04
Hi Bilbo,

This is exactly the info I was after so many thanks... where did you get that info and is it easily accessible to the general public?

All the info that came back from the Department of Planning and Infrastructure made reference to just gobli-gook that only the engineer had reference to.

If its easier and safer to do the lane change than what I'd experienced, then there is something wrong with the overall standards of how the engineers setup the lane change - maybe!

Having said that, the engineer and driver on the day did seem to know what they were doing but what you are saying wasn't what actually occurred.

Maybe there is an inclusion in the engineers documentation someplace that states... up to the engineers discretion - after all that would be the minimum standard what you have shared with us and I guess the engineers do have to make sure that they cover their &%#@* if the vehicle ends up rolling over on our streets, freeways or highways as they do put their name to passing the vehicle off, yes?!
FollowupID: 471160

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 00:17

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 00:17
Froggy,

I didn't tell you anything except my instincts. I think you got your posters mixed up. I think Ozrunner sent you the nationl standards. I know I didn't 'cos I dont know 'em.

This just doesn't sound right.

But that's just me.

Bilbo
FollowupID: 471163

Follow Up By: Froggy - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 00:34

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 00:34
No worries mate, thanks.

Then I should thank Ozrunner, thanks bud.

My excuse would be... been out in the sun too long today ;-) Beautiful down on the beach today thats for sure.

- Frog.
FollowupID: 471167

Reply By: DaLUX - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 11:06

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 11:06
i dont think my old diesel would get up to 110kph what then???

AnswerID: 210949

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 15:08

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 15:08
Now there's an idea...."hobbled" injection leading to the inability to do over 80 km/h.
FollowupID: 471026

Follow Up By: Wazza - (Vic) - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 22:02

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 22:02
In that case, they have a special track where they do the swerve test on a 35.8° downhill incline at 110km/h... in neutral

;)

FollowupID: 471122

Follow Up By: Froggy - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 22:50

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 22:50
hehehe and with a tail wind.
My Nissan is a 3L intercooled turbo and it did the test problem, so there's hope there somewhere ;-) Like put a turbo on it ;-)
FollowupID: 471140