I can remember when....
Submitted: Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 22:59
Willem
Recent threads of fuel prices gets many of you hot under the collar.
But I digress......A couple of months ago I went to a party in the deep south. Decided I would contribute a slab of VB to the joy thereof. Also decided that seeing as our local bottle
shop wanted $41 for a slab, heaven forbid!!!, that I would buy that slab when I got to the Big Smoke.
Blow me down!!! I find out that a slab is $44 there(and they make the stuff in that place). bleep tered, I bought some other make of beer but that proved too horrible to drink and in the end I bit the bullet and bought my favourite brand as
well.
I can remember when a slab(24 cans or bottles) was around $10.
Many of you drink beer(so attested by the numerous fridge posts on this
forum)
I don't see many complaining about the extraordinary hike in the price of your favourite Ale.
Reply By: Footloose - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 23:02
Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 23:02
Willem, that's because we all have shares in the beer companies :))
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 23:11
Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 23:11
when we were still underage drinkers, slabs were $9.99 at the MFC bottleshop and we used to chuck in $2.00ea and buy a "ticket" which allowed you 5 beers each and last in got 4.. stil not bad dealing 5 beers for $2.00
:D
Follow Up By: Wazza - (Vic) - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 21:45
Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 21:45
But wouldn't you be paying in Pounds and shillings back then ??
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 12:55
Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 12:55
pottery and gold back then....
Reply By: Mad Dog - Vic - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 23:15
Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 23:15
I feel quite comfortable brewing most of my beer, not so my fuel.
Reply By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 23:49
Sunday, Dec 17, 2006 at 23:49
The thing is we do but not on the
forum LOL...
The hole site has lost the 4WD part of the topic..
And while I'm on it, whats all this OT stuff It not a bulletin board is it?
anyway seven days without a beer I'v forgotten what the price is anyway LOL
Dam blood test tomorrow :-(
Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 09:58
Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 09:58
Yes agree entirely.....(slapping wrist)
No more spurious posts...going to give 'em up from New Year.....lol
Yes and no 4wd-ing either, I know..terrible.
Anyway mate, hope you and yours have a good Chrissy.
Hope too that blood test is all thumbs up
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 20:50
Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 20:50
Thank same to you both from me, Robyn and Benney.
Got the e-mail thanks
left it as late as possible to get the blood test so resuits will be next year that way I get to live another year LOL........ :-)
Have a good one
R & R KOVAC
Reply By: Blaze - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 00:18
Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 00:18
I agree with the original post and all the above but to put a serious point to the discussion. The price of the slab you have mentioned has increased I believe it is approx 4 times over the past 20 or so years, problem is fuel has increased in the last 30 years from 58cents a gallon (around 12cents a ltr) which is an increase of around 10 times.
Most of our consumables keep increasing in price partly because of the costs in production and transport due to the fuel price increases; I think we will all agree, beer price increases are not the reason that affects the fuel prices rising.
Anyway we should all be drinking wine to help the Australian grape growers, or like me partaking in a nice scotch.
Soon we maybe paying about $30 to $40 for a slab of H2O..
Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 01:03
Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 01:03
yes but being a former croweater I remember my shock in finding beer in the WA bush cheaper than beer in the
Adelaide burbs
It has everything to do with the 5c deposit
Blocks of VB at my local are about $43 - are you talking blocks or slabs, I guess you are talking the traditional slab 24 stubbies
Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 01:32
Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 01:32
Blaze! Mate!! I get through nigh on a gallon a day, (as do most Aussies who give a toss about our long-suffering grape growers). Is it you, Blaze, who is letting both the side and yourself down through inadequate intake of antioxidants?
(Gees. That's me stuffed wif big words for a bit.)
Willem, you must love the BIG STORE(S) ads for meat:
Rough example from today's paper: Tbone:$14/kilo.:save $8.99!!!
So Tbone is selling at $23/kilo?
(a)only to mugs
(b)what is the producer paid
(c) this crud first came to my notice perhaps 2 years back.
Sure, maybe chuck steak should sell at $17/kilo.
Our BIG STORE recently had red capsicum @ $10/kilo. (NZ origin);
Local
shop had locally grown article @ $5/kilo.
(Pass the red please dear). JH.
Follow Up By: franga - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 08:18
Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 08:18
Nothing like a nice red to sit around the fire with (wine would be alright to).
Coming down your way seechange, going to try the place we spoke about, will send you an email later in the week.
Cheers with beers (wine to)
Franga
Follow Up By: Blaze - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 01:29
Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 01:29
Nope Jeff,
I'm doing my bit, even use the red stuff to pour over the barbie when its cooking, I did come up with an idea to help solve 2 problems we have locally (lack of
water and glut of wine) it's simple really,just use the wine to put out the fires around Taylorville etc and we will be saving
water and getting rid of the wine surplace
But I guess the greenies would go off
about us using the area for disposing of waste LOL
Reply By: Redback - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 09:28
Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 09:28
Also Willem why do people buy bottled
water in a country that has the best and cleanest
water in the world.
Even more ridictulous is buying imported
water.
Are people stupid, or do they know something i don't.
I'm a happy homebrewer, works out for me about $25 for 60 longnecks, but i keg my beer now which make it easier to do, ya don't need to wait 3 weeks to drink it, only 2 days after it's finished fermenting :-))
Follow Up By: Redback - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 09:29
Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 09:29
Sorry that should be 30 longnecks
Follow Up By: ev700 - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 10:49
Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 10:49
They buy bottled
water through fraudulent 'scare' advertising that tap
water has dangerous 'contaminants'.
Through the same sort of scare advertising, most mothers insist their little darlings carry a mobile phone and check in to 'Mom' ever hour or so. Most women like to keep their 'loved ones' on a short chain and 'caring for them' or 'keeping in contact' are good excuses for that.
Because the media like a sensationalised story and/or get $$ from advertising from the scare-mongering rogues, the community never gets to hear the other side of the story .
Follow Up By: troopyman - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 11:26
Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 11:26
Remember the bottled brand of
water called EVIAN . What does that spell backwards .
Follow Up By: equinox - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 13:47
Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 13:47
I'll buy bottled
water sometimes, like at the servo. Other option is take your own bottle and fill it up at the tap - nah who cares only a few bucks anyway.
The supply
water here in
Perth does have additives though it probably wont kill you. For instance Chlorine sometimes and Fluoride, which is a Big Brother way of protecting our teeth and is actually written into law.
Also we have just got our supply connected to a desal plant - even more reason to buy bottled
water.
Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 15:35
Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 15:35
QUOTE: I'll buy bottled
water sometimes, like at the servo. Other option is take your own bottle and fill it up at the tap - nah who cares only a few bucks anyway.
Still much dearer than petrol or diesel.
Reply By: Hairy - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 10:04
Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 10:04
I agree Willem, but at least you can buy it pretty
well when you want.
Our take aways are from 2.00pm-9.00pm and if you want a cask you have to wait till 6.00pm!
Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 10:17
Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 10:17
G'day Hairy
I see they are still trying the social experiment out there in the middle of Oz...lol
But can't you buy it at any time from Woollies? So I heard via the grapevine.
I had
young Noels parents here at our party on Saturday. They are both on the mend after some health issues, and are doing OK now.
Follow Up By: Hairy - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 14:22
Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 14:22
Na.. Woolies opening hours are the same as the pubs except they cant open at all on Sundays!
There was talk at one stage about bring in Thirsty Thursday like they have in
Tennant Creek. They reckon in doesnt work up there and shiits the majority of people so it would be worth a go here????
Reply By: HGMonaro - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 10:32
Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 10:32
My contribution to this rant is why do people always comment 'I remember when I could buy X for Y but it's now Z", but forget to mention they also earn a whole lot more. Give it to me in percentages of your wage, or relative to the price of bread and milk. I might not have been alive (definetly wasn't allowed to drink it) when a slab was under 10 bucks, however I do remember when 'minium chips' of a dollar was enough for a family of four!
Cheers, Nige
Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 10:42
Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 10:42
Being an old fart I am allowed to say "I remember when".........................
I was attempting to draw an analogy between the rising beer prices and the rising fuel prices, the latter getting many a poster's goat, here on the
forum.
Everyone complains about the fuel prices but no one complains about the beer prices ( or the food prices for that matter )
Both of these commodities get mentioned here on this
forum quite often as it relates to travelling and
camping.
In the end, one has a choice. Either you buy the stuff or you don't...:-D
Reply By: nowimnumberone - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 10:49
Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 10:49
i remember when a slab of beer was $20 and a bottle of bourbon $20
today i drink bourbon $22
cheers and of course your allowed to say i remember when becuase it wont be long when your saying geez i wish i could remember when lol
Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 10:55
Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 10:55
Hahahaha...hadn't thought of that.....lol
Hows yer finger?
Reply By: theanimal - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 12:01
Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 12:01
willem
i just want to know what the other type of beer you purchased was, if you drink VB (VB= very bad or visitors Beer) then what ever you purchased must have been Borats beer( Made from fermented horses urine??)
Reply By: Des Lexic - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 17:21
Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 17:21
Can't see what your complaining about.
I remember about 6 years ago, I walked into the Mt Dare pub and VB was $55 a slab.
Last week I bought a slab of Crownie's for $38 same price as Coopers Pale Ale.
Can buy ship loads of red or white whine for under $2.00 anywhere around here lately.
Reply By: Alloy c/t - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 18:57
Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 18:57
We went to a 50th b/day party on Sat nite and met a very interesting fellow ,hails from Canada ,cut the story short he travels for his buisness extensively to the point that his passport is filled every 18mths ,works out the currency exchange rate via "the price of a beer" seems our domestic beers are slightly over priced due to mainly taxation [excise] rather than actual cost factors such as wages ect ect Any way Willem I can remember buying 9 gallon kegs [ 40.5lt for the
young uns] retail for $20 in the early 70s , petrol at 35c a gallon , 2x 10oz beers/pots/middies =275ml +a packet of Marlboro red 20s and a box of matches and still get 5c change out of a $1 ,,same thing now would get no change from a $20.
Reply By: Patrol22 - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 12:10
Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 12:10
At my local bottlo VB and MB are both $29 per slab - at that price I've bought a good supply for Christmas/New Year
Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 13:12
Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 13:12
I can still remember my old man taking me to the main bar at the Star Hotel, Narrandera for the 1st time (I was only 16, but looked a bit older), around 1971. Dad cut-up pretty rough cos he'd put 40 cents on the bar for 2 schooners (that's "REAL" schooners, not the poxy 10oz things they have here in SA that go by the same name) of Resch's and didn't get any change! He says to the barman: "What the hell's goin' on? Where's me change?" Barman (who was a mate of the old man, cos it was dad's local watering hole) says; "Sorry Norm, the price has gone up to 20 cents".......Old man: "Strewth! If that bloody Liberal Government put the price up just once more, I'm gunna give up drinking!!!!"
Needless to say, many price rises later, Norm was still imbibing quite liberally!!!! hahahahah