Idling a vehicle to recharge battery?

Submitted: Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 21:28
ThreadID: 40481 Views:3974 Replies:13 FollowUps:15
G'Day / evening all,

Was wondering ,after a recent post......

does idling a diesel for 30 mins, fuel useage aside, to recharge your deep cycle do your vehicle any harm?

I'm sure I read previously that it generates acids in your oil?

If no harm done, could well be a fix for me on my occasional trips beyond 3 days until I get round to buying a panel.

Also while the experts are (hopefully) tuned in, assuming its not damaging to your vehicle to do a short amount of daily idling, would it be a wise investment to up the alternator output (proper auto elec job) to increase the punch you can put in a battery in such a case?

Or should I just save for a decent panel?

Rgds

Ron

Reply By: Wayne-o - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 21:41

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 21:41
not sure about the other issue, but i did make comment on a post about my rearc relay, clicking on and off at idle, found the problem to be low alternator power at low rpm/idle, potentially shortening the life of the relay.....easy to solve, just idle up, and yeah it will deliver charge!! happy xmas
AnswerID: 211089

Reply By: Nav 8 - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 21:48

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 21:48
As long as you run it at a fast idle around 800-1000 RPM no probs at all.
You could also have a alternator with a larger output fitted no problem with that either. Regards Nav, Diesel mech, Rtd.
AnswerID: 211091

Reply By: Willem - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 21:49

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 21:49
G'day Ron

I do this regularly. Almost every evening, after we have stopped and have set up camp or when we are camped at a site for days I idle the ruck for 20 to 30 minutes to top up the aux battery. I do my photo downloads for the day at the same time and also type up my diary while the laptop is running off the battery.

I have found no detrimental affect to my 4.2 diesel. But my truck is low spec naturally aspirated with no computer or electronic gizmos.

If camped for a few days I run the truck for 20 minutes in the morning and 20minutes at midday as well.

It works for me.

AnswerID: 211092

Follow Up By: Blaze - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 22:11

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 22:11
Hi Willem,

They say the only dumb question is the one you don't ask so here goes. Why "after we have stopped and have set up camp" do you have to run the vehicle to top up the battery, hasn't the vehicle done this as you have been driving along.

I understand with the "when we are camped at a site for days" after driving my vehicle for 3 or 4 hours I can run my laptop and fridge fine for 2 days, without the need to idle my vehicle. All I have is a standard 70ahr cranking battery and 2 X 35ahr sealed batteries joined, the types used in Gophers etc.

Haven't had a problem yet, had a similar setup in the diesel also.
FollowupID: 471124

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 22:23

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 22:23
Hi Blaze

I try to stop at around 3.30-4pm every day when on the move.

Setting up, getting the fire going, cooking tea etc may take up to 3 hours. So around sunset I do this 'idling thing'

My laptop has had a crook battery for a while and I am buggered if I am going tp spend another $200 on a battery. I have had problems running the lappie off the inverter. So I run the laptop off the cig lighter socket via a Kerio connector. To get max volts I need to run the engine. So I charge the battery and do all my jobs at the same time.

This works for me. It is a bit of a routine I have gotten myself in to but it gives me peace of mind on the first day and days after that.

I have two Century 4WD Overlander 700CA batteries in line through an ordinary solenoid with dash switch.

FollowupID: 471130

Follow Up By: Blaze - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 01:03

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 01:03
Makes sense to me now, even if you were using the inverter it would the bjeezus out of your batteries. As I said I do all the same things just luckily my lappie charges as we drive and I get about 2.5hrs working it before the inbuilt battery falls over.

Guess you will have to decide in the future with fuel costs, eg if you use 2 ltrs a week doing your system at an average of $1.40 per ltr = $280.00 per week on trips, Even if you get away as much as you do, LOL will take quite awhile to burn up the Battery cost. LOL

Msg me with your laptop make and model, I may have a second hand one hanging around...
FollowupID: 471169

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 22:22

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 22:22
Blaze

Maybe me but you mat have to re do your sums :-)
FollowupID: 471316

Follow Up By: Blaze - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 23:55

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 23:55
Gday Richard,

I thinks I was wooong, should have been about $2.80 per week. Geeeze, just an extra couple of zeros and a small move of the decimal place LOL

I reckon I used the same slide rule some members use when working out milage hehehehe
FollowupID: 471336

Reply By: Nick R - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 22:29

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 22:29
ron,
before bothering find someone with a DC clamp meter and see if your battery even charges while at idle. I put one on the 60 willem sold me and it charges very little at idle, rev it a bit and it quickly went to 30+ amps, then you're in business.
until then go the fast idle
NickR
Carpe Cerevisi

AnswerID: 211097

Follow Up By: Member - Coyote (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 12:19

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 12:19
Hey Nick R..
Dumb question.. how do I test for the alrternater charging??? I havea milti meter is it right to assume that when the car is idling I put the multimeter onto the terminals of the Alternator and this well tell me how much output it's generating.. then as I up the RPM, so then should the alternator output??? Thanks for any advice. Cheers and Merry Christmas..
FollowupID: 471399

Follow Up By: Nick R - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 21:50

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 21:50
Coyote
I put the clamp meter around the positive battery lead, it will give you a net result of charge with all the accessories and stuff drawing as well. It is worth saying that not all clamp meters are created equal, there are heaps of AC ones around, it is only more recently that DC ones have become half reasonable in price.

Another way would to be to put it around one of the alternator wires that look like it may be the output, then rev the engine, I don't know for sure but you may need 15-25 amps to run accesories before any charging happens.
you may be able to tell something from the voltage, I'm not sure, I would imagine it would rise more slowly over the 1/2 hour or what ever, that is assuming that the charge is low, at the end of a day's drive I would expect batteries to be well charged...
I'm no auto leccy, this is some stuff I learned watching one was well as the sparky.
Merry Christmas,
Nick
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 471505

Follow Up By: Nick R - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 21:55

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 21:55
Jeez Coyote, just checked your profile, with all that gear you'd draw a tonne of amps!!! if you used it all together that is.........
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 471506

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 22:58

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 22:58
You won't damage your engine with that amount of idling.
110amp alternator under the bonnet is a bit of a waste if you don't use it :-))

But your batteries need to be in good nick to recharge quickly. Don't expect a 3 year old wet cell deep cycle battery to take a quick charge. Cranking batteries and AGMs do better. And as other have suggested, raising revs to say 1200 may be helpful. As usual a multimeter is your friend. Measure the voltage at idle, and see if it increases with higher revs. The higher the voltage, the better the charging. Hand throttle helps here.
AnswerID: 211103

Reply By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 23:06

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 23:06
Gday Ron

Agree with all above - the car uses little fuel at about 1000 rpm with no load - limiting factor will almost always be the ability of the battery to take charge - I would do the same if needed, and I'd crank the fridge etc to full blast while the engine is running to use the maximum energy available (you could possibly turn on the vehicle air con at the same time to cool the car if the fridge is in it!

There is some argument that continuing to run the fridge at full blast after the idle charging for 20 mins or so would use the 'surface charge' on the battery plates that would be lost anyway. Don't know about this one myself, I'm qualified to build cupboards and blow stuff up.

Cheers Andrew
AnswerID: 211105

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 23:22

Monday, Dec 18, 2006 at 23:22
Hi Ron,
From a purely electrical perspective at engine idle of say 500 rpm the alternator is unlikely to have an output of much use at all.
Run the engine up to 1,000 rpm and the result will be quite useful for your battery charging.

I'd say go for it, done it many times in the past myself.

As Phil G has said, the Landcruiser hand throttle is perfect for the job and if your vehicle lacks a hand throttle but increases rev's with the air conditioner switched on, use that instead.

AnswerID: 211108

Reply By: banjodog - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 08:04

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 08:04
If you have any doubts in your battery(s) condition have it/them checked before you leave home. Most battery places will do it for free. If the battery is getting close to three years, then be prepared for a new one(s).

Otherwise, for a quick check of condition, use a hydrometer to check the specific gravity of each cell, then if the battery is OK use a good 240v charger. Running the engine at fast idle to charge up a battery will not thump it enough to fully charge it or even going for a 20min drive.

Do it right and use a charger overnight - it needs a good, continuous amp charge.

What's to say your alternator/regulator is not OK to charge correctly? Then it's a waste of time.

AnswerID: 211128

Reply By: 666toy - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 08:59

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 08:59
don't just idle bring rpm up to 1000 & leave for 20 min all will be well if your battery's are in good nick.
It does not hurt to have extra amps out of your alternator but unless your trying to run NASA or have more than 4 spotties most vehicle alternators are adequate for general 4x4 use. More modern vehicles fair better here as they usually have higher
outputs from factory compared to some of the older units.
AnswerID: 211140

Reply By: Member - Karl - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 09:36

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 09:36
When I was in the Army whilst on Exercises and Operations we used to run our Landrovers at idle for 30 or so minutes everyday (if we hadn't driven that day) to recharge our batteries, check the vehicle will start etc and it never hurt our vehicles.

Bearing in mind to that we would often be running up two to four different radio set ups as well as other electronic gear and we had up to five batteries in some vehicles to keep everything running!!

Karl
AnswerID: 211147

Follow Up By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 11:11

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 11:11
I remember we used to have 8 batteries in the back of the FFR's ;-)
FollowupID: 471208

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 15:40

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 15:40
I saw one of those go for a swim of the front of a heavy landing craft. They lowered the door as they approached the beach and the driver just took off over the front. Bump bump bump under the ship and the LR appeared upside down in the wake. The driver was OK but the radios weren't. It was put down to poor briefing.

Pete
FollowupID: 471251

Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 10:29

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 10:29
QUESTION

If you have only one battery , would the discharge from starting the motor nullify 20 minutes on fast idle ?
Thanks ,
Willie .
AnswerID: 211153

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 11:40

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 11:40
Hi Willie,
Battery capacity might be 70Amphours for an N70 cranking battery.
Starter motor uses a heap of power for a very short time. So if you crank for 5 seconds, and it uses 200amps, you are using less than 1AmpHour.
If its a diesel, engine preheat varies, but may use say 60amphours for a minute which equals 1amphour.

So starting your vehicle uses bugger all power.
FollowupID: 471211

Reply By: Rosco - Qld - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 11:37

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 11:37
Ron

Notwithstanding all of the above sage advice, be aware that modern diesels are not designed to run at idle for extended periods. Doing so will glaze the bore.

So I would say don't do it. Unless you're prepared to crank it up to at least 2000 RPM.

AnswerID: 211166

Follow Up By: Wayne-o - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 13:26

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 13:26
This is true, but as long as it's not too bad, next time you drive, just bury the loud pedal, and hold it there, heaps of manifold pressure and it should clear the glazing. always good to do this every now and then anyhow! just a thought!
FollowupID: 471229

Follow Up By: _gmd_pps - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 13:26

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 13:26
this only happens (like wet stacking) when the engine runs below
operating temperature.. also in the US they start to outlaw excessive idle
because of pollution ... low idle is not healthy and does not charge anyway
unless you have a decent alternator (most jap cars don't) .. you need to
high idle and keep the temp up ... also you need to make sure your tranny
is up to it and pumps sufficient oil in idle .. Dodge does burn trannies in idle ..
Cummins is not recommending extensive idle .. I have no explicit info on
jap diesels .. Petrol engines are also bad to idle .. enriched air/petrol mix will
wash the cylinder walls and dilute oil ...
A diesel generator needs min revs to stay healthy ... high idle should be fine and
I assume that most trannies are ok too .. who drives a Dodge (rofl) ..
good luck
gmd
FollowupID: 471230

Follow Up By: Wayne-o - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 13:29

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 13:29
I think it's more the manifold pressure, and or load on the donk that will avoid glazing as apposed to the rpm.....
FollowupID: 471231

Follow Up By: Stu050 - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 17:20

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 17:20
Queensland Police have their speed camera landcruisers idling all the time with the A/c running.
FollowupID: 471269

Reply By: Ron173 - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 17:26

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 17:26
Wow,

just got in from the grind, stack of replies, many thanks all.

seems the general opinion is this is ok, but beware of the glazing effect.

This shouldnt be a problem for me as its a diesel 3.2 with fast idle (hand throttle) and when I leave camp I either have a van or a boat on, so it always gets heaps of work to do.

Once again thanks for a superb set of replies,

Merry Christmas

Ron
AnswerID: 211212