NextG Coverage - Personal Experience.

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 10:33
ThreadID: 40486 Views:4422 Replies:10 FollowUps:35
Well Telstra rang me up and told me that I could exit my CDMA contract 12 months early and sign up a new 24 month contract with a free Next G phone of my choice, plus I could get a car kit for it for $49 on my first bill.

Well, I figured the CDMA coverage is only going to decline as the system changes over and in a years time I'm going to have to go Next G anyway, so what the hell, the old Nokia was giving me the bleeps with the shagged speaker anyway.

So I went and picked up my LG TU500 phone, I've always just wanted the phone for talking and that was it, but this new one is bloody unreal. I went and got a 1gb memory card for it and it is now a ripper little camera that we have taken heaps of holiday shots with the kids on, a fantastic little MP3 player with Bluetooth and a 1gb thumb drive as well!! Plus the video calls have been excellent with the kids talking to their Grandma ect while we've been away, truely a very cool peice of equipment and so bloody easy to use!

But of course all of that would be a load of crap without good coverage, the whole reason I want a phone in the bush. I (like others on here) had heard bad reports of the next G coverage and was concerned about it. We are currently staying in Busselton in the south of WA for a few months (long story) and have been tripping around all of the show while we can. The Next G coverage has been far better than the CDMA ever was and I havn't got the car kit yet (on backorder) it's just been in my pocket! I had covereage in hilly/valley out of the way places that the CDMA would never have even hoped to get. Plus when I'm on no bars signel (just the 3g logo) I can still make calls!! On CDMA if I had anything less than 2 bars I could only SMS (text message)...

The real eye opener for me though was yesterday, we were 1.8km out to sea (on the famous Buesselton Jetty) and then 8m below sea level standing on the sea floor surrounded by 6 or 8 inches of concrete and steal and my phone still had coverage!! I called my home number to see if it would work and it did! WOW, that's impressive!

So for all you still on CDMA, chuck it and go and get your bloody ripper new phone for free, thumbs up from me that's for sure!

Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 10:42

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 10:42
Hi Jeff ,
8m underwater - please explain !
Willie .
AnswerID: 211158

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 11:18

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 11:18
Willie,

There's an underwater observatory at the end of the jetty,

FollowupID: 471210

Follow Up By: joc45 - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 12:58

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 12:58
The signal will bounce off the walls of the observatory and diffract outwards in all directions once it reaches the open top. Then only 2km to the mobile base station. Easy!
FollowupID: 471221

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 15:23

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 15:23
It doesn't have an open top, it's a building on top above, the base station is not in the middle of town, it's a few k's down the cost ( I am living near it ).

850mhz is line of sight, it does not bounce on concrete... Even UHF at 477mhz would not bounce on concrete.
FollowupID: 471241

Follow Up By: joc45 - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 17:58

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 17:58
Sorry, Jeff, it does bounce off concrete, which is why you get ghosting on analogue TV. It's also why UHF works better than VHF in city blocks with tall buildings and in basements where the signal can find an opening.
If the building on top of the observatory (I haven't seen it) has an opening in it (I assume there is one for people to descend into the observatory) then the signal will get out/in. Mobiles even work in lifts if there is a small opening in the metal box.
Gerry
FollowupID: 471278

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 19:16

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 19:16
"which is why you get ghosting on analogue TV" VHF is hardly comparable to Microwave.

Ok, NLOS is possible if we want to get technical about it, however it is not as simple as just pointing your antenna at a concrete wall and having it happliy bounce it's way down to a the reciver like a tennis ball. Concrete is well known to cause reception problems with high frequency line of site transmitions, it's an indisbutable fact ned alone being 8m below sea level. Your average mobile phone signal (GSM) would be lucky to get threw 3 normal solid concrete walls in a best case scenario.

It is interesting that reading Telstra's blurb on Next G that they claim that users will not have the same reception problems in lifts that they currently do with CDMA and GSM.

I do not know much about the NextG protocol (apart from it's associaion with 3G), however I am assuming that the reason that they are able to get clear calls at lower signal levels is that there is a much higher bandwidth allowing for more advanced error correction with less "drop outs" as the avalible bandwidth isfar in excess of what is is required for voice calls.

Interestingly, my wife's GSM phone that had higher signal level while on the "surface" had no reception whatsoever down below. (She is also with Telstra). I know this because I have been comparing the signal strength/coverage as we have been driving around, as my older CDMA was not getting very good coverage at all compared to hers.
FollowupID: 471287

Follow Up By: joc45 - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 22:26

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 22:26
Hi Jeff,
Sorry, I only gave the ghosting issue as an analogy.
Actually, the reflective properties of RF increase from VHF through UHF to microwave and beyond. So at UHF we have quite strong reflections off concrete walls, together with less signal attenuation that you would get at microwave - it's a good frequency band for this sort of phenomena.
On the other hand, there is no way that the signal is going to pass through water; the only way out is over the top of the observation tank. Signals passing through water are reserved for VLF.
As the UHF signal exits the observation container, it can do two things; bounce off the walls of the building above and exit in particular directions allowed by openings such as windows/doors, or it can diffract up and outwards, much like you see the lights of a city behind a hill. The losses of the latter are high, but more than enough to reach a nearby base station.
Re the NextG technology, like CDMA, it is Code Division Multiplex, and is similar technology to that used by GPS. Many transmitters are working on exactly the same frequency, being separated by a unique code (the chipping code). The received signal of each transmitter can actually be below the ambient RF noise, and computer technology is used to pull the signal out of the noise as well as separate each customer's channel. Improvements in this technology allow weaker signals to be extracted. The wider bandwidth of NextG has its downside; wider receiver bandwidths, which allows more noise into the receiver, so the main gain with wider bandwidth is faster data speeds or more speech customers.
Re dropouts, I am not aware of what error-correction systems are used on either, but both will be sophisticated, and it is possible that the NextG employs the results of more modern research in this field.
Re the comparative indicated signal strength, I would not put too much credence on the signal level bar graphs on mobile phones; 3-5 segments in the graph are hardly a scientific instrument, and there is no guarantee that the device is either linear or logarithmic. My Nokia CDMA cannot make a call when it is showing 2 bars. Other devices make good calls with one bar showing.
cheers,
Gerry
FollowupID: 471319

Reply By: Neil & Pauline - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 12:12

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 12:12
Looking at all the next g comments it seems to me as WA actually has a almost complete coverage of next g.
I found that CDMA internet and phone had become almost unusable. That is why I changed.
My replacement LG phone seems to be working great

Neil
AnswerID: 211169

Reply By: Peter McG (Member, Melbourne) - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 12:21

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 12:21
Jeff

Have you tired using the phone as a modem on a notebook to get broadband?

AnswerID: 211172

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 15:25

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 15:25
No, however the software installed easily for dialup, hoever I wouldn't bother with dialup over the voice as the broadband is 1.8 to 3mbs depending on the cell. It's bizzare that it's so fast, however I am not on a data plan so it would be HELL expensive to use it. From the looks of it the data plans aren't too expensive, but I don't really need it for what I do with it. It is handy that it does my POP3 email though.
FollowupID: 471242

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 12:35

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 12:35
but then as many say its great, as many say it sucks as in other threads.

i'll wait until CDMA is dying, which it isnt yet, adn IMHO, telstra are shti at this change over stuff, so CDMA will be round for a long time yet
AnswerID: 211175

Follow Up By: joc45 - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 13:03

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 13:03
Actually, Ericsson are doing the changeover, and finished the first phase well ahead of time.
The switchoff of CDMA is still scheduled for early 2008.
Gerry
FollowupID: 471222

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 14:00

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 14:00
so theres more than 12 mths to worry.. I'll keep the 3245 until then :)
FollowupID: 471234

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 15:27

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 15:27
Truckster I too was in your frame of mind, but these changed it:

1. CDMA is only going to get worse as they continue switching cells over to NextG.
2. NextG is only going to get better as they switch cells over.
3. I can now not only make voice calls where I could only text message (is I was lucky) I can use faster internet than my ADSL at home and make video calls!

Trumps IMHO.
FollowupID: 471243

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 16:52

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 16:52
yea, Im still not sold on it, and im not sold on the CDMA thing gettin worse in a hurry..

+ expecting deals to get better as time goes on :)
FollowupID: 471261

Follow Up By: Wetty - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 22:25

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 22:25
Bugger mobile phones and up telstra's proverbial! I am enjoying no phone connection to the house and still have a phone and broadband @ 2mps download and 1mps upload. Love cable and considering I can make a national call for 10cents for as long as I want.. . . . screw mobile phones!
FollowupID: 471317

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 00:22

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 00:22
Bruce, the guy who was having trouble the other day has a Telstra phone, which is Chinese techology. Ok for things like kids motor bikes but hi tech???
FollowupID: 471760

Reply By: Andrew(WA) - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 13:35

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 13:35
Your car kit is on back order! is that a hands free bluetooth car kit?

I changed over to next G 2 weeks ago, got 2x samsung A501's, 2x Bluethooth hands free car kits and 2x blue tooth headsets all for nothing...they didn't ask me for $49 ea.

Have a go at em Jeff, you may get lucky.

If your getting the bluetooth handsfree car kit and you've been waiting a while, ask them what's going on. As I said, I got mine 2 weeks ago (actually it was on 8/12) and was told there were plenty in stock.

I ordered over the phone through the Telstra shop. The stuff came ex east in 4 days.
AnswerID: 211182

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 15:32

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 15:32
I could have got a free car kit with the samsung, but I decided to go the LG because:

1. It had the 1gb Micro SD slot
2. MP3 Ringtones
3. A bigger screen
4. Looked a bit more manly (haha).
5. Looked stronger (I seem to wreck phones easily...)
6. I like LG products
7. I was on a high enough plan to get it without paying any extra (other than the hands free).

So yeah, just waiting for the LG handsfree kits' to come in, the old Nokia kit has blue tooth support so I have been using that in the meantime, works bloody good, but it doesn't charge the LG and I can't use the external atenna. But the bonus is that my wife's work car has the same nokia kit, so it doesn't matter which car I get in the phone automatically logs on to the handfree kit when I turn the key and log's off when I switch it off, even if it's in my pocket or her handbag. Neat.

Once I get the LG kit I'll pull the nokia one out and give it to my mate as he's go a bluetooth sony phone and it'll work a treat for him.
FollowupID: 471246

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 16:41

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 16:41
Wasnt LG AWA? or one of the other companies in the past..???
FollowupID: 471258

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 17:06

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 17:06
No It was GoldStar before hand

LG. Site Link
FollowupID: 471265

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 17:07

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 17:07
amazing, nobody would have touched Goldstar, but as LG...... LOL
FollowupID: 471267

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 17:24

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 17:24
Your right, it used to be Goldstar (geez, are you an elephant!, that's a good memory!).

Yeah Goldstar was rubbish, it was bought out about 15 years or so ago I think from memory. I used to work for a wholesale company that was an LG distrubutor, I had many dealings with them including doing product launches for them etc. LG gear is really good gear, honestly! I have no affiliation with them, havn't done for a long time, but with LG monitors, Aircons, dishwasher, Setop box's etc etc etc, I can tell you that they make really good gear, always have good interfaces and despite there in ability to have stock arrive on time to suppliers (my only gripe, hence my understanding of my handsfree kit being late and not being upset about it, I expected it) they also have good warranty. Nah, I honestly couldn't speak highly enough of them and if you compare a current day LG product to you old Goldstar clock radio I think you'll be suprised that they are not the same.

The company completley changed everything, including manufacting plants etc etc etc.
FollowupID: 471270

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 00:27

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 00:27
Jeff, have the LG car kit installed. Has re-radiating antenna setup as far as I can see. Have hardly used it yet as it is in Moses and have been away.

The LG phone is also branded Qualcomm. Lucky and Goldstar are a long way back technologically speaking in relationship to the LG products. I won't go Hyundai but I will LG.
FollowupID: 471761

Reply By: Grumpy in WA - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 19:13

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 19:13
I have a next G data card and although I have only used it in Metro Perth and domestic airports its bloody fast. Much faster than my ADSL at home. I have no idea how much its costs to use one of these cards and I'll never ask. The company pay for this one but with download speeds of up 3meg per second it sure is fast.

The next G coverage is getting better all the time, it'll soon superceed CDMA. Up to you when you change over but you won't be disappointed once you get used to having a new phone. The coverage issues (any ones that are left) will be sorted out soon....
AnswerID: 211225

Reply By: howie - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 21:43

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 21:43
2 weeks ago i changed from cdma to nextG. my new phone stopped working over the weekend so i am using a loaner on the gsm.
i have therefore tried cdma/gsm & nextG in the last 2weeks.
only in metro perth yet.
forgot how bad gsm was in many of the high rise buildings.
having tried the mobiles in several bad reception spots.
my conclusion is that gsm has not improved at all with no signal in some areas, where the nextG is not as good as cdma in the same areas (yet, i hope).

AnswerID: 211258

Reply By: Member - Poppy (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 10:43

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 10:43
Hi Jeff
Got the same phone as you, only problem is ring time, i miss a lot of calls as phone rings out too soon, any solutions?
Cheers Ray
AnswerID: 211330

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 11:42

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 11:42
Yeah, that's one of Telstra's money making scams, they do it on all their new connections. They set message bank to about 6 rings (and with the LG you can't hear the first to because it's vibrating!).

Then you miss the call, the caller get's diverted to your message bank and get's charged for the call, you get charged for the diversion, then you ring message bank to delete the message and get charged 30c per 30 seconds! Even though you already KNOW you range because you have the "missed call: blah blah" on your phone. A complete crock.

You have to ring Telstra customer support and get them to remove the message bankg AND the SMS texting so that your phone will ring out. It'll ring for bloody ever then, Mine has not rang out yet and it's ran for a long bloody time.

If you try and disable the message bank divert through the phone it will work, but it will still only ring 6 times or so, you have to ring them (they want to make it difficult!).

But once you've speant the 10 minutes clearing that up, all is good! You don't have message bank, but personally I don't give a flying frig as it's a comlete waste of time. There number is displayed on my screen and if it's a private number, I probably didn't want to talk to them anyway! ;-)
FollowupID: 471388

Follow Up By: joc45 - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 16:25

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 16:25
I've also got a cheapie on Optus/Isim and i have the same problem. It stops ringing and goes to messagebank before I can reach for it! Then it costs me money to receive the message and more money to ring them back.
This one I use only for cities and large towns - useless elsewhere.
Gerry
FollowupID: 471445

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 23:41

Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 23:41
Hey guess what!! I just scored this awsome code to dial into your telstra phone:
**61*101**30#
That will double the ring out time and still divert to message bank. It was on Whirlpool forums because people were complaining about the LGTU500 ringout time, so I tried it on my wife's company nokia GSM phone (because we have no password we couldn't get telstra to change it!! GRRR) and it worked a bloody treat! Insteal of ringing out after 15 seconds (honestly, who is going to answer the phone in 15 seconds!) it rings out after 30.

I'm still happy with mine rining for 2 minutes and bleep off the message bank all together!! :-)
FollowupID: 471756

Reply By: V8Diesel - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 10:49

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 10:49
I have 2 VERY BIG gripes with Next G.

1. No Next G phone has the ability to accept an external vehicle antenna. The LG is supposed to, but on the word on the forums is that actually hooking one up is causing all kinds of major problems (some of them fatal to handset). Not good enough Telstra.

2. Now this one simply bewilders me! Believe it or not you cannot get a belt clip of ANY description for ANY of the Next G phones which means you have to carry them around in your pocket. Un...f@#kin believable!!!!!! There is a belt pouch for one, but I dont wear belts during summer - who does? I went into to buy a Motorola V6 yesterday as they assured me over the phone it would fit the V3 accessories - it doesn't. It's thinner but taller.

Good phones and system IMHO, but severly let down by another half-arsed rush job.
AnswerID: 211332

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 11:47

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 11:47
I can clear some of these up for you.

a) if you use a patch lead on any mobile (even nokia CDMA) you are likley to kill the phone as they are only designed for diagnostics and you can end up allowing the phone to transmit with no load (no antenna), even momentarily this can be fatal to the phone. Hence the reason that Nokia went to those crappy usless antenna couplers that didn't work.

The LG has an antenna connection in the car kit.
I have been told that the ZTE Telstra phone also has an antenna connector in the car kit.

b) You can buy leather covers WITH a metal belt clip for $10 off ebay for the LG-TU500, it fits inside and out (it looks quite good), don't know about the others because I havn't looked. I will probably buy the cover just to protect the phone more than anything.
FollowupID: 471390

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 11:52

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 11:52
>>, but severly let down by another half-arsed rush job.

I think we have hit on a winner here.
FollowupID: 471394

Follow Up By: Member - Poppy (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 16:50

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 16:50
V8 Diesel
You can also get leather pouch for these phones at Fonezone, cost $20 and look good too and can clip over you shorts and has a magnetic clip over the top
As for the external antenna connection we had to get the hands free car kit and that comes with the patch lead all for $50 when we got the phone
Cheers Ray
FollowupID: 471450

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 11:02

Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 11:02
Well thanks for that folks. The LG is looking more like a viable option then.

Poppy, that hands free car kit you mention, is it a traditional cradle setup where the phone actually physically makes an electrical contact and is then wired direct to an external aerial, or is a wireless bluetooth job? I was quoted $300 without install by the dolly bird at the phone shop who was more worried about her fake fingernails than actually serving me and she couldn't tell me anything about it which I took as a bad sign.

The leather puch you mention, is it an LG TU500 specific one or a universal type? Either way, who is the manufacturer?

Cheers all.
FollowupID: 471582

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 16:03

Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 16:03
>> by the dolly bird at the phone shop who was more worried about her fake fingernails than actually serving me and she couldn't tell me anything about it which I took as a bad sign.

Standard issue in business these days. but then, if you were on $2.00 an hour would you care?
FollowupID: 471627

Follow Up By: Member - Poppy (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 17:05

Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 17:05
Hi V8
The hands free kit is the proper cradle type hard wired to your car and works a treat. The pouch is a generic one I think and has FORCE stamped on the metal clip and also works a treat
Cheers Ray
P.S I had the bluetooth one with my cdma and hated it
FollowupID: 471648

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 00:37

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 00:37
V8D, the hands free kit really plugs into the bottom and will have to be kept clean because of the small terminals. You have to pull that fiddly plug out of the bottom too as it can easily stop you plugging in.
FollowupID: 471764

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 11:17

Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 11:17
Well I got my car kit yesterday and fitted it. A couple of dissapointments...

1. It has no bluetooth support!? Why offer a phone with bluetooth and not have bluetooth in the cradle. It's very handy when you are just popping down the shops to not have to root around for your phone and put it in the cradle, and if you don't, you know some bugger will call you on the way...

2. The antenna is not hard wired as I was told (I was also told it had bluetooth), it is a built in coupler type arrangment.

But...

The cradle is absolutally hardcore. It's a chunky big thing that you slide the phone into and click it into. Easy to get the phone in and out, but there is no way in hell that the phone will fall out in the rough stuff! (the nokia used to fall out of the cradle on corrugations etc, was a PITA).

The speaker and microphone are excellent, far better than the nokia ones.

The antenna coupler does seem to actually work very well (even though I HATE those things). With the nokia I used to LOSE signal strength with the coupler, with this one I've done a few tests with the 6.5db atenna on the nudge bar. Pulled over on the side of the road in a couple of places I was getting 3 out of 5 bars of signal strength holding the phone just in front of the cradle, whack it in and got 5 out of 5 both times. I'm heading back down to Busso on Boxing day (we are in Perth for Christmas) so I will play around with it some more then and see how it goes.

Sooo, anywayz, I was still peed off about not having bluetooth, as I've been using the Nokia kit with the bluetooth for a few weeks now and have really gotten used to just leaving the phone in my pocket and have the nice clear calls comming through the handsfree kit as well as the automatic muting of the radio as if it was in the cradle, so I played silly buggers with my installation.

I took out the nokia cradle and unplugged it from the control box, then left all the blue tooth controls on the dash, speaker and microphone in place. I then disabled the car kit profile on the phone and just pluged the LG control box into the power and antenna only and fitted the cradle in the place the old nokia one was.

Now when I get in the car and turn the accessories on the bluetooth connects to the nokia car kit (hidden behind the dash) automatically no matter where the phone is in the car. If I want the phone to charge, or I want better recpetion from the antenna I just click the phone in the cradle and it still stays connected to the nokia blue tooth setup.

Best of both worlds! ;-) Essentially all I'm using the LG kit for is a place to put the phone, a charger and an antenna plug. But hey, it works, and it works well so I'm pretty happy with that. My mate will be spewn cos he wanted my nokia one when I was done with it, but tough bickies hey! :-)
FollowupID: 471950

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 16:58

Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 16:58
Interesting comments Jeff, have no Bluetooth capability except data comms here. Looking forward to connecting to the net with it some time. GSM internet comms are a pain they are so slow.

I should have mentioned the LG speaker connection is through a plug in the side of the phone, so you plug the phone into the the car kit, then plug the speaker / microphone plug in for action. Jeff's option if you have a Bluetooth kit is intersting, not so if you don't have it.
FollowupID: 471970

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 19:26

Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 19:26
Yeah it's a bit of a rediculous setup really. The way mine is now it's just like any other handsree, just slap the phone in and don't worry about that stupid cable and she's away, with the added bonus of not having to put the phone in the cradle if you don't feel like it.

Hopefully there are a lot of people out there upgrading from the Nokia kit such as myself you will be able to do the exact same thing. I know one of my other friends who is upgrading from the same nokia phone/car kit so I'll be telling him to do the same thing...
FollowupID: 471992

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 24, 2006 at 01:11

Sunday, Dec 24, 2006 at 01:11
why would you need bluetooth if you have the full house incar kit with hands free on that? or what do you consider a car kit? or is the cradle, just something to hold the phone?
FollowupID: 472027

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Sunday, Dec 24, 2006 at 04:15

Sunday, Dec 24, 2006 at 04:15
I wanted Bluetooth because I don't always put the phone in the cradle, those little runs to the mother in laws (round the corner) or down to the shops I sometimes can't be assed, so it's handy to have the phone switch over the handsfree kit automatically when the car starts, even if it's in your pocket.

Secondly, the stupid LG car kit requires you to not only insert the phone into the cradle, you need to then plug in a headphone type jack in the side of the phone on top of that for it to work through the handsfree. Complete waste of time IMHO and a c-hunt of an idea... So I just don't use it. If you have a nokia car kit, it should have bluetooth, meaning if/when you upgrade and if you went with that phone (more than happy with the phone), then you could do the same. Once setup, you'd never know it was any different to normal.
FollowupID: 472030

Reply By: padler - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 11:25

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 11:25
Hi Jeff. I work at sea off Onslow and have great CDMA coverage all the time. There are some engineers working on a jack-up barge out there and they have 3 Next G phones that drop out continuously or just do not connect. I will stick with my CDMA until the coverage is what Telstra says it is, not what they are guessing it is.
AnswerID: 211336

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 11:51

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 11:51
Yeah you'll probably find that being a major country and tourist centre down here they have probably put a higher priority on here than some more remote places, but if this is a sign of what it will be like all over in the near future, big thumbs up from me. Which phone's are they using out of interest? I wonder if the brand has anything to do with it.

I know my Nokia CDMA was a bucket of crap compared to my motorola as far as signal/coverage is concerned. Was the other way around for robustness though, the motorla had a short life, the nokia kept on trucking on. Pitty it was a usless peaice of crap! I was getting similar coverage on the Nokia CDMA to what my mate was getting with Optus GSM down south! :-(
I'll be able to crap all over him with this baby though! HAHA ;-)
FollowupID: 471392