Girl killed by "4WD with bullbar" at Toukley

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 17:08
ThreadID: 40493 Views:4006 Replies:13 FollowUps:18
Just on the Ch10 news. Very sad - a little girl died after being hit by a car this afternoon. The news reader made sure to accentuate the fact that the Pajero was equipped with a bullbar. Scruby's going to go nuts over it.

Reply By: Wayne-o - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 19:19

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 19:19
didnt see the report, garuntee she would have died anyway, even if there was no bullbar, or if it was a normal sedan, why was she on the road and why weren't her parents holding her hand etc......nothing to do with the bullbar and the vehicle being a 4wd i bet!
AnswerID: 211228

Follow Up By: T-Ribby - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 19:38

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 19:38
It's called not taking, or shifting responsibility, or no care and no responsibility. Same applies for black spots on roads - it's the road's fault, never the driver. These days you can make a defence out of blaming everything else but the driver. It sucks, and the different authorities that go along with it need a good kick up the ..............

T.R.
FollowupID: 471289

Follow Up By: robak (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 10:31

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 10:31
Bloody hell guys, a girl was killed and here you are using her death to push your own agenda. No better then scurby in my opnion.

And what kind of comment is -
"why was she on the road"
She was going to school. Didn't you have to cross a road to go to school?

"why weren't her parents holding her hand" -
I bet they wish they still could hold her hand. She was ten years old.

Sometimes you guys should realise that the parents, siblings, grandparents of that girl may be reading this or even be members of this forum.
FollowupID: 471370

Follow Up By: Wayne-o - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 11:03

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 11:03
i definately feel for the family, don't get me wrong, it sucks......but i simply wanted to state that in the unfortunate circumstance the 4wd and or the bullbar, as seperate contraversial item, were not directly to blame, and state that if it was simply a sedan, eg a falcon, would the outcome have been different??? Would she be alive??, well no one knows but i think it is unfair to incinuate that the "4wd" or the "bullbar" were the differnce between life and death! My sincere condolences to the family. And i'm sure no one on this forum would ever put their own agenda before a human life!
FollowupID: 471373

Reply By: Snowbunny - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 19:48

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 19:48
Do we REALLY need to post this stuff on here guys??? This is a great forum for what it's for, there's a website called Rotten .com for that crap. All we need is doom and gloom on a great website, after walking in the door from a hard days work. If I want to hear that stuff I'll watch the dreaded news, or sooner or later, we will read it in the paper.
But to post it CONTINUOSLY when it happens on this site ??? Come on !
AnswerID: 211233

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 19:57

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 19:57
I agree ... it's exceptionally poor taste!
FollowupID: 471292

Follow Up By: Trout Fisherman - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 21:08

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 21:08
I agree - we don't need this repro of 'news reports' on the forum .
FollowupID: 471299

Follow Up By: Trout Fisherman - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 21:14

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 21:14
I agree - sometimes no news is good news .
FollowupID: 471303

Reply By: donks1 - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 20:03

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 20:03
i agree

get a life will you

the fact that news bulletin stated it was a "4wd" is mearly reporting the facts

same thing applies when it is a "high powered sedan"
"p plater"
" elderly driver"
just the facts mamm

donks
AnswerID: 211236

Follow Up By: Barnesy - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 20:12

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 20:12
True Donks, I've made that reply just about every time someone whinges about 4wds being victimised. Many complain about political correctness going overboard, well, many others need to get over it. You also forgot to mention motorcyclist.

Barnesy
FollowupID: 471293

Reply By: Jimbo - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 20:37

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 20:37
Boring, boring, boring.

Why don't you post, kid killed by train, child run over by bus, teenager died after falling off a tree?
AnswerID: 211243

Reply By: Member - Axle - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 21:07

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 21:07
Hi Omaroo.

Your post is a very sensitive issue to the wife and myself at the present moment.

On monday morning our grandchilderen were in a car that was involved in a head on collision at Budgewoi just a few ks down the road from toukley, they are in a stable condition in John Hunter hospital at the moment. They were two very lucky kids, It makes you realise the value of a childs life, and my heart goes out to the parentsof that child involved in that accident at Toukley, i know how much they must be going through. To all those worried about their 4x4 image, bullbars etc, think again!!!. theres a lot more important things in life.

Regards Axle.

AnswerID: 211248

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 21:32

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 21:32
Thats no good mate.
Hope all goes well.

Take care.

FollowupID: 471306

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 21:46

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 21:46
Thanks John, Part of life, one of those unexpected things that just happen.
FollowupID: 471310

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 07:29

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 07:29
G'day Axle,

ditto what John said mate, and yep, kife goes on. it just rips me up to hear these
stories....we are supposed to go before them...aren't we?
FollowupID: 471347

Follow Up By: Member - greg S (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 08:44

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 08:44
Hi Axle,

Sorry to hear about your Grandchildren, we hope all goes well with their recovery.

Hope the kid's get out of hospital soon.

We are thinking of you all this Christmas.

Greg S
FollowupID: 471358

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 16:46

Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 16:46
Axle, sadly I know much more about what u may be going thru than I need to, if you want to talk or whatever memmess me and thats no worries mate.

GWBonz

FollowupID: 471642

Reply By: aeiou - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 22:28

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 22:28
Dont worry about what scrubby says.

It is all so sad.

Sadly there was a young boy bushwalking in the Blue mountains this week and he died.

So walking is dangerous too mr scrubby.

By the way, during the search for the missing lad, many 4WD vehicles were used.

D
AnswerID: 211273

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 22:46

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 22:46
In what way is this relevant?
FollowupID: 471321

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 22:45

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 22:45
Constantly amazed by the number of people on this forum who rush into print without doing at least a modicum of research on an incident.

If anything is written or spoken that could possibly be perceived as being even slightly critical of 4wds then their eyes roll over and a red mist covers their brains. We 're not paranoid are we, no, we KNOW they're all out to get us

link text

link text

A simple search will provide at least some info on the incident. Maybe we should read one or two articles before venturing an opinion.
AnswerID: 211274

Reply By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 23:35

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 23:35
As everyone seems to have well and truly had their grumpy pills today (it was the same at work - i don't know why just today was so bad), i am tempted to join in where i normally keep well away.

It is sad to hear of the loss of a life, particularly a youngster, from any cause.

We all know you are just as likely to die if you jump in front of a travelling vehicle, what ever it's make or type.

We do notice that the press zoom in on 4WD, as though they not a vehicle, but something quite different. They do jump on the bull bar bit too. It does make us angry.

Grumpy too (must be this daylight robbery bit they call daylight saving over here).

AnswerID: 211286

Reply By: Omaroo II - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 23:35

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 23:35
To you Axel - I'm sorry. I hope your grand kids are OK soon. There's never a "good" time for this to happen.

To the rest of you, I'm surprised. "Get a life", "boring", etc......?????? Where the hell did this come from? I'm a solid contributor to this website and I don't think that I deserve this crap form you. If you're tired of anti 4WD news, then put up with it. These people want to stop my lifestyle and I'm pretty damn upset about it - always have been, always will be. If you think that my post was in bad taste, then I couldn't care less. If no-one keeps the pot stirring then no-one is going to turn up to the pro-outdoor lifestyle rallies like I do. It'd be nice to see some of you lot there one day when Newnes and other great places like it are handed over to the Wilderness Society because of public apathy and the mis-information slapped oround by Scruby and people like him.

My last post on this bloody forum.
AnswerID: 211287

Follow Up By: Omaroo II - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 23:45

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 23:45
PS - the next time you get a bottle thrown at you when you get out of your 4WD at a petrol station and the words "FXXXin 4WD driver!" screamed at you as they drive off - revisit your loyalties. Anti-4WD sentiment is rife where I live. IT's only happened once to me but that was enough. Time to start knitting for a hobby.
FollowupID: 471333

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 23:46

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 23:46
Good grief Omaroo. If we all got that precious there'd be no one left on the forum. Just because people disagree does'nt mean we should go off in a huff. We're all entitled to our opinions. I, for one, would definitely miss your contributions to this site even if we don't always agree.

Please reconsider.
FollowupID: 471334

Follow Up By: Barnesy - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 11:46

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 11:46
Stop sooking Omaroo. Haven't you ever had anybody criticise any of your comments before? How old are you?

Read the site links suggested above in a reply, if you can find anywhere in those articles that 4wds are being victimised and are death machines then I will apologise. Otherwise grow up. What politically correct name should the paper have called the vehicle? "A self propelled, 5 or 7 seater, 4 door vehicle designed for off road use but probably will never leave the suburbs for the entire life of the vehicle struck a child today?"

People who aren't into 4wding make no distinction between enthusiast 4wds (like us) and those that are used as a status symbol to pick up their kids from private schools.

If you get so upset over someone calling you a bad name, how upset are people who have a child hit by a 4wd and are injured more than if it was a commodore that hit them?

Come on.
FollowupID: 471389

Reply By: fisho64 - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 00:43

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 00:43
Every minority interest group gets up in arms about this sort of stuff.
Go onto any Forum of any hobby-jap 4 cylinder imports, V8's, rock fisherman, smokers, cat owners, old age pensioners, jet skiiers, etc etc etc.

same goes for a region-Cronulla, Palm Island etc etc

If the media couldnt report who did what, then your headlines would read-
"Someone did something somewhere, and someone got hurt"

The fact is, that there IS a problem with some types of bullbars hitting pedestrians, and some types appear a lot less likely to cause serious injury. Some will cause a person to go straight under the vehicle at even 5 kmh due to striking to high up.

Sure pedestrians shouldnt get in the way, but with that thinking we wouldnt have seatbelts, collapsable steering columns, airbags, crumple zones etc either.

And yes I own 2 4wd's, both with bullbars, and live in the country.

So I think, unless it is a direct attack on your hobby, rather than just a couple of words in a tragic story, then get over it. If you try whinging about this to someone who has no interest in 4WD's, they would likely tell you just that!
AnswerID: 211293

Reply By: Ron George - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 07:22

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 07:22
Mate, keep posting your bullbar stories... I love em, it keeps reminding me about that anti bullbar/4wd idiot from Melbourne (I think) who pops up on a regular basis, you can almost see the dribble falling off his lips the way he raves on about these "implements of death" & he goes up a gear when mentioning rod holders/aerial mounts or other attachments. "May as well mount butchers knifes" The anti 4wd lobby is alive & well. Who was it that said… “Eternal vigilance, is the price of freedom”? Cheers RG.
AnswerID: 211302

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 09:35

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 09:35
Rod holders .... have you seen what a hole punch does to leather?
FollowupID: 471363

Reply By: Snowbunny - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 07:31

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 07:31
Yes Omaroo we all put up with anti 4wd news , however my remark was to kindly, please ...why does it have to be reprinted on the pages of Explore Oz?? Does anyone , apart from my mentioning of it now, write about the 3 kilo gold nugget that was found in Vic this week!!?? NO.
I would love to see how quick to post the death of your own child .,if you have them, on this forum for the world to see. What I can say is though .good on you for attending 4wd support rallies, but in the same sentence dont use that to cover your previous mistake. My wife made a mistake last week and crashed the car, but did I want to divorce her and beat her to a pulp ? Think about it ...next time all you need to do is put your brain into gear before opening your mouth. Have a good Xmas.
AnswerID: 211303

Follow Up By: donks1 - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 07:47

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 07:47
hear hear!!!!!!!

donks
FollowupID: 471350

Reply By: BenSpoon - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 15:29

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 15:29
A little OT... is your rig pic from the top of the jump up on the burrup?
AnswerID: 211373