gas pricing

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 19:01
ThreadID: 40496 Views:2127 Replies:6 FollowUps:3
What about LPG prices? why are we paying more than three times as much for C482 gas as car gas, it is the same gas, I have seen the truck fill both the bouser gas and the C482 gas at the servo. Where can I get the little black market adaptor that some people have so they can fill their C482 cylinders with auto gas? Once again we are being ripped offrotten , not grey nomads, but greysheep for the fleecing

Reply By: Wayne-o - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 19:14

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 19:14
Now i'm not sure what the price of LPG is in wherever you are but, here in Karratha, you'd be lucky to get it under 90c a litre!!! Ha, no longer a cost effective means of fueling ya car hey. What gets under my skin is, well can anyone tell me honestly that it costs over 50c per litre to transport LPG from Perth to here???? I'm almost certain the transport cost would be more like 5 to 10c per litre transported....oh and the same goes for Diesel and Petrol......same story.....just exploit the tax payer some more hey....why not, seems they have plenty of cash!
AnswerID: 211227

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 20:04

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 20:04
43c here and i am interested to find this answer out too. One of the warehouses we used to rent had an adapter on the lpg pump and all the guys used to bring in the bbq bottles to fill.
AnswerID: 211237

Follow Up By: prado_95 - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 20:34

Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 20:34
Auto LPG is variable on composition (no stanards for auto gas)

Auto LPG also makes poor heating for barbies - takes for ever to get the water boiled / egg fried etc.
FollowupID: 472502

Reply By: Emo - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 20:44

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 20:44
I wouldn't be using auto LPG in my BBQ. It would be fine most of the time but the compostion of LPG can vary considerably so you really don't know what you are getting. For the sake of a few dollars, I'll stick to proper BBQ gas.
AnswerID: 211244

Follow Up By: keepkampen - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 21:50

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 21:50
"stick to proper bbq gas" which comes from where, as stated above out of the same truck , yes he is right. brother in law delivers it.
FollowupID: 471311

Reply By: awill4x4 - Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 23:42

Tuesday, Dec 19, 2006 at 23:42
Saw LPG for 39.3 here in Melbourne this afternoon then take off an extra 10c/litre with the new Coles/Safeway shopper dockets to bring it down to 29.3.
Gotta love LPG here in Melbourne ;-)
Regards Andrew.
AnswerID: 211289

Reply By: Ron George - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 06:47

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 06:47
G/day Jamiel, Mate I was always under the impression that auto & C482 gas were two different animals... fraught with danger if used for the opposite purpose... something to do with the butane/ propane mixtures, so THEY said!!!! Nothing like a good scare campaign to put the wind up the punters aye??? Now I’m off to work on my adaptor. Thanks for that info. Cheers RG

AnswerID: 211301

Follow Up By: 666toy - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 13:18

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 13:18
C482 gas & lpg are the same. My cousin delivers gas & the same gas fills both lpg pump fuel & those large tanks that roadhouses & big restaurants have.
Its the biggest scare campaign in history.
My father in law has been using pump lpg for household gas for years. Illegal ? yes . dangerous ? absolutely not ! just visit your local wrecker for a filler & you can work out the rest . If you have a vehicle with lpg its even better.
$120+ for bought gas vs $50-60 pump fill biggest scam going
FollowupID: 471405

Reply By: obee - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 21:00

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 21:00
economies of scale and losses when theyfill a bottle I reckon. They dont do self serve for bottles either and it comes in a big bottle not like they do it with the tankers at the automobile outlets.

owen
AnswerID: 211433