SA, The Solar State

Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 12:26
ThreadID: 40516 Views:3523 Replies:18 FollowUps:30
Gday, anyone interested in solar should be pleased to hear that a couple of months ago SA parliament committed to get 20% of electricity from renewable sources by 2014. They are expected to meet this target years beforehand though. This is good news. A small step in the right direction.

" target="EOF" class="lbg">Site Link

Any house with solar panels that feeds electricity back into the grid gets double the price for it. Providing incentive for households to go solar. Every country needs to find their own solution to tackle climate change and solar is an excellent option for Oz.

Have read many reports stating that for all of Oz to go renewale would add only a few dollars a week to the electricity bill.

Europe have just had their hottest, driest summer on record. Many parts of the US and Mexico are in terrible droughts. Oz is having the worst drought on record, it's happening all over the world.

Spain have been building their solar industry for years and now are the second largest producer of solar panels behind only Germany. Here's hoping Australia can be third.

Barnesy

Reply By: Member - Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 12:30

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 12:30
Barnsey,

Now lets just hope the other states have the sense to follow SA's led.......I doubt it though....
AnswerID: 211347

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 22:05

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 22:05
"Now lets just hope the other states have the sense to follow SA's led.......I doubt it though" right..if they have their heads screwed on ...correctly
FollowupID: 471509

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 20:11

Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 20:11
"right..if they have their heads screwed on ...correctly"

ie, not cross threaded!

Pete
FollowupID: 471703

Reply By: smileyfella - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 12:39

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 12:39
There are a lot of interesting discussions around the efficencies of solar.
specifically the energy payback time.

How long it takes for the device to generate the amount of energy that was expended to manufacture it.

Would love to see SA look at a range of renewable energy sources. Not just solar.
AnswerID: 211349

Reply By: Member - Phantom (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 12:57

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 12:57
Just something that may be of interest on this topic. I recently had a visit from a German friend who was/is a senior exec of a Co. that is in the process of developing a solar power source that uses the STARS as well as the sun. They are about to set up a plant in Melb shortly.
AnswerID: 211350

Reply By: Footloose - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 13:15

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 13:15
I thought SA was building a geothermal plant to generate enough power for several large cities ? Hope its not all hot air :))))))
AnswerID: 211353

Follow Up By: mfewster - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 13:21

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 13:21
Where did you get that from Footloose? I know they are exploring the idea, hadn't heard anything more than that.
FollowupID: 471407

Follow Up By: Footloose - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 13:26

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 13:26
Ahh, top secret sources...access to movers and shakers etc....

Actually I saw it on TV a few weeks ago. :))))
FollowupID: 471408

Follow Up By: Footloose - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 13:27

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 13:27
There was another report that WA would do ok in that area also, as their main towns are close to hot rocks and they had existing technology.
FollowupID: 471410

Follow Up By: Footloose - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 18:22

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 18:22
This is a link to a page which has SA's state of play on geo thermal hot rock technology. The map is interesting to non residents :))

Site Link
FollowupID: 471468

Follow Up By: Scubaroo - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 20:35

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 20:35
Geodynamics is the company - publicly listed on the ASX.
FollowupID: 471489

Follow Up By: Footloose - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 22:07

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 22:07
If this can be developed as a large scale power generation project, then it paints an interesting future. I'd heard nothing about it before catching an article on the TV.
And yet I've been bombarded by proponents of nuclear (which, by the way, I'm dead against...) and solar (which seems to be expensive for the average established household). Geez, I even see shots of wind generators, rows and rows of...interesting from a distance( but not in my backyard) machines.
Is it my cynicysim or is the Govt sitting back and throwing a few bucks at different technologies and saying , there ya go boys, see what you can come up with ? Or is there just no presently availiable technology that we can go forward with ?

FollowupID: 471510

Reply By: Mark Taylor - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 13:20

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 13:20
In my profession as a photographer, in 2003 I was covering the Asia Pacific Cities Summit in Brisbane.

One of the guest speakers was the head of BP Solar brought out from the UK. I asked him what the pay back was on solar.. his reply was that "As long as not one part of the system needs to be replaced... 25 years"

In other words more greenhouse gases are created making a solar system that are ever likely to be saved by using it.

Interesting stuff.

Mark Taylor
AnswerID: 211355

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 14:35

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 14:35
Mark,
You've just hit the nail on the head with this one. First let me say we need to explore all avenues of renewable energy, not just solar. And I am a fan of the correct application for solar energy.

Now,
The energy used to produce the lead, zinc and sulphuric acid for the batteries need to be factored into the payback along with the CO2 produced. That's without mentioning the lead and zinc dust and other nasties that must be removed from the exhaust gasses produced during the smelting process.

Then we need a special room to store our batteries at home. More cost in the construction, design and approval process.
Also, how many home owners do each of us know that has the skill and inclination to service and maintain banks of storage batteries?

Then there's the solar panels, the too require energy to produce, give off CO2 in the production process and produce waste products that must be dealt with.

Now, on to what the man from BP Solar mentioned.
How long will a set of static lead acid batteries last? Providing the owner truly knows how to look after them they'll probably last at best maybe 10 years. That'll take the payback way beyond 25 years as the man from BP Solar mentioned is best case!

On to the solar panels,
We need to look at the output versus time curve for the panels. I'd be very surprised if the majority of panels have half the output at 15 years they had when brand new.
Again our payback is going way beyond the 25 years under ideal conditions!

True payback period?
Who knows, probably closer to 75 to 100 years by the time we buy a set of batteries every ten years and take into account panel output degradation, replacing them on a planned basis.

Solar is excellent, it's emerging and needs to be explored, invested in and supported but right now today it's just a small expensive part of the greater solution.

There are far too many "experts" extolling the virtues and short payback periods of solar energy. They're telling me if I only increase my mortgage by $50,000 over 25 years I'll reach energy nirvana! Umm, sorry mate I won't.

FollowupID: 471424

Follow Up By: Stu050 - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 20:33

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 20:33
Century Yuasa manufacture a 560 amp hour 2 volt cell for Telstra.

These are used in telephone exchanges as back up power. As they are a stationary cell, Century warrents them for a period of 15 years.

FollowupID: 471488

Follow Up By: Scubaroo - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 20:40

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 20:40
You *don't* need batteries to have solar on your house - there's the grid connect systems that feed excess electricity into the grid when generation exceeds consumption (e.g. during the middle of the day while it's sunny and no-one is home), and draw electricity from the grid when consumption exceeds generation. Such solutions make much more sense for the average punter.

You only need the batteries in the system if you're looking to go off-grid, avoid blackouts, or are remote and have no grid access in the first place. These systems CAN have a positive environmental effect.
FollowupID: 471494

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 22:30

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 22:30
Stu050,
Thanks mate, I am quite familiar with the Century batteries our friends from Telstra use and the great warranty offered.
My point in this area is they are well maintained by people who actually know what they are doing. The batteries are stored, maintained and used according to certain guidlines and thats what makes them work.
The average home punter?

Scubaroo,
I am familiar with this system and yes, it does work to an extent. What I was speaking too is the proliferation of "experts" appearing in the media asking Joe Punter to throw a cool $50,000 on the mortgage for a payback of 25 years and the promise of energy nirvana. That isn't achievable, yet.

Gents, I truly appreciate your comments. I took a great deal of time and trouble to write a wholistic response to the Solar debate.

I'm trying to supply a little balance to the solar debate.

FollowupID: 471518

Reply By: mfewster - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 13:24

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 13:24
Interestingly, some SA scientists last week argued that we have to stop calling the current situation a "drought". They argued that this is giving everyone a false idea that current rainfall is going to be shortlived and we need to start accepting that this is the new reality and start planning accordingly.
AnswerID: 211356

Follow Up By: Darian (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 14:01

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 14:01
Have you seen Thursday's forecast ? Biblical flooding apparently.....
FollowupID: 471419

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 19:48

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 19:48
building my ark here
FollowupID: 471479

Reply By: Darian (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 13:37

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 13:37
When the Greens take power in Canberra, we'll all be expected to have solar panels that produce water ! (and absorb CO2) .... and make O2......and........
AnswerID: 211357

Reply By: Off-track - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 14:01

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 14:01
Personally I would believe any plan that the SA government has for the future - the present premier is very good at talking things up and putting 'plans' into place that have deadlines way after his tenure.
AnswerID: 211358

Follow Up By: Darian (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 14:06

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 14:06
My thoughts entirely Offy - Mike Rann - Government - pollies - promised by 2014 ? Oh sure.
Ciriously.... when economic advantage is offered to the average punter (as opposed to a 'good feeling') then we will see some takeup..... its a lot like rainwater tanks saving our water..... its cheaper not to have one.
FollowupID: 471420

Follow Up By: Off-track - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 14:08

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 14:08
oops, that should read '...I would'nt believe...'
FollowupID: 471421

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 15:47

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 15:47
Mr Rann is all talk and smiles and little else.
SA doesn't exist beyond the metropolitan area and they are haven't funded any major projects outside of that area. At least he's extending the tram line down to parliament house and the Torrens. What an absolute waste of taxpayers money.
Woops sorry, off my soapbox now.
FollowupID: 471439

Follow Up By: Kumunara (NT) - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 17:43

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 17:43
Mr Rann was part of the government that sent SA broke with the State Bank fiasco. Give him a chance and his government will bankrupt SA again.
Life's great and it just keeps getting better

FollowupID: 471459

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 09:02

Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 09:02
send us broke again?...nah spending $$$ on the new tramline, new underpass on anzac highway, a part time one way freeway with exits to the right and not giving a decent north south 100 klm long freeway across adelaide, building a new city on a flood plain, etc etc...all makes sense to me....:)))))

that lot couldnt organise a peeesup in the brewery...:(
FollowupID: 471560

Follow Up By: Off-track - Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 09:35

Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 09:35
Yeah ya got to tip ya hat to that one-way freeway idea!!!! I remember it being sprouted as the first of it's kind in the world. Gee, wonder why?! Another gr8 idea and money well spent (not) was the National Wine Centre.

South Rd though has got to be the biggest joke of all, it's an embarrassment.

Meh, glad I dont live there anymore and moved to the future.
FollowupID: 471570

Reply By: Keith_A (Qld) - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 14:15

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 14:15
Am reading a book by a leading scientist (James Lovelock) on this very topic.
He is also an enviromental scientist, and strangely he makes a very solid case for Nuclear - Fission (uranium / thorium) in the short term and fusion ( Hydrogen - as in the sun) when the technology is developed.
However - Fear sells more newpapers, and gains more grants from Governments than facts will ever do, hence the public are exposed to the sensational - rather than the actual. ( Scientists tend to explain facts carefully, where-as the media want flashy headlines.)
It does make it hard to find and evaluate the facts in the 'cold light of day' without the emotive baggage. Still - makes for an interesting world......Keith
AnswerID: 211360

Follow Up By: mfewster - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 14:36

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 14:36
James Lovelock (he came up with the Gaia model that is now pretty well universely accepted) also has recently said that it is too late. He feels that global warming is now irreversible no matter what humans do. He forecasts massive changes that will reduce human population to about 500 million. Now there's a cheering thought.
FollowupID: 471425

Reply By: mfewster - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 14:27

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 14:27
Darian
I live in SA and I have seen the forecast and I have adjusted my downwater pipes to feed anything that comes into storage. The longrange forecasts don't say there will never be rain again or that we won't get floods, they just say that the trends show overall, average increasing temperatures and decreasing rainfall. Let's hope they are wrong, but it doesn't make sense not to plan on the basis that they are right. If they are wrong and we finish up with a surplus of water, whoopee doo. If they are right and we haven't made the necessary adjustments, SA in particular is in deep trouble.
I agree with you on the current economics of installing rainwater tanks. The price of water per megalitre in SA inevitably will be raised significantly instead of the rather silly levy system that now applies - and then putting in tanks will be essential. Personally, I am betting on tank and water prices rising rapidly and think it is already worth doing.
AnswerID: 211362

Follow Up By: Kumunara (NT) - Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 10:52

Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 10:52
mfewster

The prediction is that with Global Warming the weather patterns will move south. If you move the Goyder Line south you will understand the effect on agriculture in SA. It will be devastating for primary industry and the economy.

Storing water in rainwater tanks will not provide sufficient water to grow crops. It will take pressure off the dams and the Murray. In my home in SA I have two 5,000 gallon rainwater tanks and that is sufficient to run the house. If every home in SA had a similar setup it would take a lot of pressure off the dams.

I am now living in the top end and there is no problem with water shortage up here. At the moment with the rain we are getting the ground is never dry and the wet season has only just started.
Life's great and it just keeps getting better

FollowupID: 471579

Reply By: mfewster - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 15:04

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 15:04
Geof, I think the "Payback" time on solar installation is already much less than your figures show. In SA, the govt has a scheme where they buy back solar power from householders. Next6 year the buyback will be higher than they sell it. This system is already used extensively in Germany where, I understand, it has been very successful. No need to factor batteries etc into the equation. With the projected price rises in energy the cost for a house generating about 30% of its requirements will be repaid in about 13 years. It is already about break even point in SA to borrow and repay the money, allowing the annual savings in power charges to repay the loan. And with every price rise in the future, you are in front.
The SA system doesn't aim to supply all electricity needs, only to reduce the base load on the network.
AnswerID: 211371

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 16:59

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 16:59
mfewster, I'm interested in why you say "No need to factor batteries etc into the equation" when this has always been the main issue with solar maintanence costs. If it wasn't for replacement costs of batteries, then the viability of solar systems would more than likely be acceptable to most.

Bear in mind that any increase in electricity prices MAY relate to an increase in battery/copper/lead/water prices which could effect solar systems in the same way eg. Prices of certain batteries seem to be going up at the moment.

FollowupID: 471454

Follow Up By: Brian (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 22:20

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 22:20
No need for batteries as the DC voltage generated by the solar panels goes into an inverter which turn it into 240 VAC and feeds directly back into the grid.

You are not storing the solar generated electricity; it is sold to the grid; when the sun goes out you are then buying electricity from the grid.

The highest loads in SA are during the day when industry is running and the temp rises leading to all turning on their ACs; this also coincides with peak generation from solar systems.
FollowupID: 471513

Follow Up By: Barnesy - Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 00:49

Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 00:49
I have begun doing a little research on this. Many web sites say the energy payback time for most units varies from about 18 months for a small unit to about 6 years for a medium sized one. The costing is harder to find but mostly around the 15 years mark.

Trying to find info on Germany's system, much of it is in German of course. But the whole of the country uses this systen of 'full cost rates' of companies buying the power that housholders don't use then the house buying it back when they need it.

They too lament the initial costs for the houshold but as electricity costs will rise sharply. But more importantly, the more solar units that are sold brings the costs down a lot, solar will be cheaper to buy. The concensus appears to be a 5% reduction in the cost of solar every year for the next 15 or so. Going by that it would make a $20 000 set up cost $5 000 in the year 2021.

The Germans work out a cost benefit for the household of amount of energy produced over the life of the unit and pay them accordingly, don't know the details. Adjustments are made for newer householders installing newer and thus cheaper units, they receive a reduced rate. The 'pioneers' aren't penalised.

Nobody (well almost) disagrees that at some stage in the future all of our energy will have to come from renewables, whatever source that is. This system appears to be working in Germany with 80% of people approving. Japan have a good system apparently, I haven't looked into that yet. SA want to adopt a similar system. A move in the right direction it would seem.

www.solarbuzz.com/Links/Government.htm

Barnesy
FollowupID: 471537

Reply By: Barnesy - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 16:28

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 16:28
A goal of 20% gives us something to aim for. Nothing is ever achieved without a goal. Every watt of electricity produced by renewables, solar, wind, geothermal etc. reduces the load on fossil produced power.

Just entertain the idea that it might actually be pulled off, 20% every 8 years, 40% by 2022, 80% by 2040, i can live with that.

I too read about the scientists arguing that this is not merely a drought, but the new norm. We have to plan for it. Spain and Germany have systems that work, maybe we can learn from them. As we develop our own methods then maybe they could learn from us.

Nobody can tell me that having a rain water tank isn't a good idea.
A mate just built a new house, didn't get solar because it would cost an extra 12-15 grand to power whole house, couldn't afford that plus a grey water treatment system. My electricity bill is about $1300 a year. So using these basic figures and adding a bit extra for maintenance etc the solar system could be paid for in about 12-15 years. Give or take. Electricity will only become more expensive, sell whatever you don't use & work it out for yourselves whether solar will be viable in the long run.

I'm the first to criticise governments if I think they're not performing. but give credit where credit is due, and this is a step in the right direction but still nowhere near enough.
AnswerID: 211382

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 22:13

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 22:13
Barnsey!

you have solar power? ...work out the sums mate.... it takes too long to pay back......so what you say...we need to protect the enviroment....i ask agian..... do you have solar...you dont rely on outside power or other energy or infrastucture from governments???

try it....go fit it to your house !!!!its impractical and unless your rich very very uneconomical to do so....so what you say...Do You Have It..if not why not?
FollowupID: 471512

Reply By: mfewster - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 17:30

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 17:30
Andrew (Qld)
I was responding to Geof's figures on the repayment period for installing solar panels on a house. The system being encouraged in SA doesn't use batteries. A two way meter is installed at the house- the householder's system is two way- excess power generated at the house is returned into the grid and purchased back by the electricity system. Therefore no battery storage system is used. As I understand it, this system has already been implemented in Germany to cut the base load that has to be provided by the grid's generators.

I understand that gas/liquid transfer systems can now be used to store electricity generated by solar systems in large scale applications and that this technology overcomes the battery problem. I have only second hand reports on this technique and can't vouch for its claimed effectiveness.
AnswerID: 211394

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 19:40

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 19:40
thanks for that....so i take it this system is only used for generation back into the grid(and maybe limited daytime supply only) as there is no storage for night-time use etc. :-)

FollowupID: 471475

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 19:43

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 19:43
sorry, just read the posting below after i had posted :-)

FollowupID: 471476

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 19:44

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 19:44
Umm, what would be returned to the grid without energy storage?
Exactly how many solar panels would be required to return power to the grid with an optimistic 4 Peak Sun Hours per Day in South Australia. Note: Four Peak Sun Hours per Day is probably an annual optimistic average for Broome and places North!

Don't forget that at 3 years less than the 13 year pay back period your solar panels will at best be producing 50% of the energy they produced when new! ie, At 10 years of age they'll run at half throttle!

"I understand that gas/liquid transfer systems can now be used to store electricity generated by solar systems in large scale applications and that this technology overcomes the battery problem. I have only second hand reports on this technique and can't vouch for its claimed effectiveness."

This statement sounds seriously like a consultants description of a lead acid battery!

As I said in a different way, do your homework. Solar is a great but emerging technology. It is not cheap on a serious mass scale, as in country wide.

Thanks for your input,

FollowupID: 471477

Reply By: mfewster - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 17:39

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 17:39
Andrew (Qld)
An addition to my reply to you. More details of the SA scheme can be found at
Site Link
AnswerID: 211396

Reply By: Mad Dog - Vic - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 19:58

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 19:58
I have no problem with putting as many solar panels on my roof as will fit. What I do have a problem with is who will pay for the them. I will rent the space at minimal cost to any govt who wants to use my roof for solar panels, just don't expect a battler like me to fork out.
AnswerID: 211413

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 07:04

Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 07:04
"just don't expect a battler like me to fork out"

I think we're in the majority, Ray.
FollowupID: 471549

Reply By: mfewster - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 20:11

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 20:11
Geoff(Newcastle)
You might want to have a look at the site I gave in the follow up. It gives the info you asked for, and yes, it is already operating in SA. The trick is to use existing houses and the existing grid to generate the power needed in peak demand periods.
I am not at all sure about your figures on decreasing efficiency for solar panels. I think the new models are considerably more effective than that, however I will follow this up with further questions here re the SA system. If it is cost effective in Germany with their hours of sunlight, it has to be effective in Australia.

Nope. the gas storage system being developed by the CSIRO is nothing like lead acid batteries. (and has nothing to do with the German system being used in SA). It utilizes electricity released when gases change state and can then take up (and store) electricity by reversing the process.
AnswerID: 211420

Reply By: Member - Bradley- Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 03:30

Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 03:30
Theres 2 new technologies that i'm stoked about, first the self sufficient, wave / tidal powered water de-salination plants. unless the universe stops dead we will always have waves and tides. aust has most coastline of anyone

second - the thermal tower for power generation to be built outside mildura, what a machine so simple. and unless we lose our atmosphere this will always run. aust has a hell of a lot of sun parched areas.

If only we had government that would commit to long term objectives, not just 3 year vote buyers...
AnswerID: 211472

Reply By: mfewster - Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 12:34

Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 12:34
Kumunara
I agree with you completely re water tanks and SA agriculture. And I think 10000 litres per house isn't excessive. Not just for SA either. There is a $400 subsidy here to plumb new tanks into houses. I think a couple of 1000 will look like a good investment shortly.
We shifted to SA from the top end this year. While I really like SA, I can see us shifting back. Tassie is looking good too, but a lot of others appear to be thinking the same.

Gramps and Al
OK. so battlers shouldn't have to pay? Who should? What are you prepared to pay for drinking water and power? What are you prepared to give up so that you will have drinking water and power?
AnswerID: 211519