do radiators break themselves??

Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 14:08
ThreadID: 40517 Views:2791 Replies:8 FollowUps:9
What a turd, and $700 later. 18mth old radiator appears to have got a slow leak and "needs" replacing according to Toyota. Nicely out of warranty too, double turd. It ran out of water last night, didn't notice the temp guage, only the sound of cooking... caught it in time fortunately.

They tell me that the radiator repair place (who are good) said the problem was with the lower tank, not that I know really what that means. I have asked for a proper explanation, and the old radiator back too, I want to have a look.

The thing is, I went on a long drive a few weeks ago and I always check fluids etc prior to that stuff. So the leak can't be that slow, and something must have happened in the mean time. Just can't see what! Hasn't been in anything remotely rough recently.

Love to know anyones thoughts on what might have happened.

I might get the car back this afternoon, and might not, have to wait and see. If not, then at odds if missus and I should take the "station" car to the vic gathering this evening, it doesn't like going anywhere except a few km at a time. Triple turd!

Reply By: Johnny boy - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 14:29

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 14:29
What is the vehichle????
AnswerID: 211363

Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 14:30

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 14:30
90series prado
FollowupID: 471423

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 14:51

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 14:51
sounds like manure to me.
AnswerID: 211368

Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 15:23

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 15:23
My sentiments too, I want to eyeball it. It obviously had some leak somewhere, but entire replacement??
FollowupID: 471432

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 15:42

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 15:42
wonder if they will give you the proper one or one out of stock...lol.
FollowupID: 471438

Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 16:04

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 16:04
:-( they haven't called yet, I reckon its about knock time for the day too v.soon. Its not quite a sexy excuse as yours for this evening is it! Buggers.
FollowupID: 471444

Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 16:43

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 16:43
yah, they fixed it
FollowupID: 471448

Reply By: Johnny boy - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 14:51

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 14:51
does it have plastic tanks and alloy core ??
AnswerID: 211370

Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 15:24

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 15:24
to tell the truth, no idea. Stock prado radiator
FollowupID: 471433

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 15:43

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 15:43
Mixing different barnd coolants stuffs up most modern radiators.
I use the Toyota coolant from day 1.

What was done to it 18mths ago?
AnswerID: 211375

Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 15:55

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 15:55
It got speared with a stick in the Otways doing something I shouldn't, Feb 2005. Now, that was a leak. Getting towed out by an Exploder was worse.

This thing has always been Toyota serviced (its on lease). Maybe thats the prob... :-)
FollowupID: 471441

Reply By: RupertDog - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 15:47

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 15:47
Tonester

Don't know if this helps, but 97 Prado currently getting serviced (as we type). Toyota just rang and advised that amongst a couple of other problems that I specifically asked to get fixed they advised that the top radiator tank is looking discoloured, and may fail at any time. Should be replaced asap.

Also, if replacing the top tank, should replace the bottom tank. Apparently as they discolour, the become brittle and can leak or snap at any time.

Don't know how much is chasing extra work, but may be relevant for your radiator.

Either way, I will be keeping an eye on it until I decide to change it!

Hope all goes well.

RD

AnswerID: 211376

Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 16:01

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 16:01
Yeah. The chasing thing was crossing my mind. Mine was replaced early last year though, shouldn't break that quick.
FollowupID: 471443

Reply By: Johnny boy - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 15:54

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 15:54
The reason I ask is that they have after market rads and they are allot cheaper than GEN TOY I have a 100 ser and it has plastic/ alloy which about 99% don't want to try and fix but if yours is copper or what ever they can usually fix ,mine was a damaged and blocked core and no aftermarket was available a couple of yrs ago so I had to buy GEN TOY but lucky for me I found a little Chinaman (NO JOKE HE WAS ) that fixed it a week before XMAS and off I went on a 4000 km trek and now 40000 km later and still going strong all for $120 so find out what its made of and get some prices I just wish you lived in SYD Good luck!!

regards J.B.
AnswerID: 211377

Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 15:58

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 15:58
Thanks JB. Its done now (in the process anyway), no choice if I wanted to be able to take the family anywhere over xmas. Toyota couldn't squeeze it in any other day before NY, and no way risking a properly broke radiator with the kids on board. Pretty sure its alloy, that rings a bell from last time.
FollowupID: 471442

Reply By: Johnny boy - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 16:05

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 16:05
No worries mate just forget about the blues and enjoy the break have a great Xmas and all the best for the new year !! :)
Reagards J.b
AnswerID: 211380

Reply By: Member - Alex K (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 20:39

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 20:39
I had a hair line crack in the top section of the '96 LC80 original radiator. My machanic said you couldn't just replace the top but the bottom too. $800 later, the new one is all steel maybe alloy, unlike the plastic one which it originally came with.
AnswerID: 211428