Bathurst Bay - Towing Tinnie?

Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 17:32
ThreadID: 40522 Views:3332 Replies:6 FollowUps:1
Hi Troops. Planning a mid - 07 trip to Cape Melville / Bathurst Bay (the usual 6 months prep). Have read all the old posts and it would seem towing a 4m tinnie in on a HD custom trailer is certainly doable. My concern is the motor (30hp) is fixed ie. steering cable / throttle linkages etc. and even in the "raised" position would be a snagging issue with steep creek entrys and the like. Anyone with some first hand experience / feedback?

Thanks - Mike.

Reply By: Grungle - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 19:16

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 19:16
Which way you going Mike? We went from Cooktown to Bathurst Bay via Starke in 2002 and it was pretty rough in places. There are some pretty severe washouts, long stretches of bulldust and dry river crossings however our troupe of 3 vehicles and 2 campers made it without any damage. As long as you are not in a rush you should do it no worries.

We saw a couple of groups with boats and fixed outboards and they appeared to make it easily. Not sure of track conditions since though.

Have a trip report on our website if interested.

AnswerID: 211406

Follow Up By: miker - Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 22:22

Wednesday, Dec 20, 2006 at 22:22
Thanks David. This is also our most likely route. May sound a little trivial but the last couple of trips (CSR, Cape etc.) have me on guard for the "little things" if you know what I mean; I'm sure you do. It would only be those really steep drop-offs that could be an issue eg. creek banks. After going to the Cape without a boat and seeing the fishing I missed out on I vowed never to venture into that part of the world without one if possible.

Ta. Mike.
FollowupID: 471515

Reply By: Trevor W(Brisbane) - Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 08:00

Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 08:00
We went their last June 2005 and via Starky Station is a good track but there was a rivver crossing we stopped at that you would need to be carefull. Its all in the take your time bit. We lefted the Lions Den early around 8 am and camped the next night along the track ,them made easy trip through to the fresh water stream just behind the main beach and set up camp.Great spot for the boat. I wish we had one. The easy way in is through Lakefield National Park straight ahead through Capower Camp Ground on the river and only a right hand turn onto the track north of a log bridge. You pass an old abandoned outstation with one of those 3 wheel tractors still standing there.long forgotton by the new owners of Strky
Have a good trip. Wish I was coming with you
AnswerID: 211478

Reply By: Member - Timothy N (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 09:15

Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 09:15
G'day Miker. I too hope to go out to Cape Melville next year with a 4.5m boat on a HD raised trailer. Have been out twice before with 3.5 rooftopper and whilst it was fine in the bay, it was just a bit too small to venture out to the reefs, islands etc, especially when that south easter comes up.
Unfortunately the facts are that you can do all the preparations in the world and mother nature can blow them all apart in March, April or even May with a late "wet" or even a cyclone. If this happens the roads (particularly the Starke/coast rd) can be impassable well into winter, and very difficult for trailers all season.
For example, the first time I went out to CM it took me 18 hours of driving to get up the coast road from Cooktown with no trailer. At this time the track wasn't even that wet, just eroded and with countless trees all over it meaning lots of tight winding detours. The Kalpower crossing track out was also bad. Two years later I easily drove from CM to Cooktown in a day and a trailer would have been easy.
Not trying to put you off, just make sure you have a plan B. Regards. Tim.
AnswerID: 211493

Reply By: tdv - Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 09:47

Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 09:47
Yoy guys might want to find out about access. it was all over the ABC news/radio up here about a month ago. Kalpower? has shut the road due to a few wallies with guns shooting up his truck plus the theft of a heap of equipment from the station. It was a big story at the time and I'm unsure of the final outcome....but he was adamant that nobody was getting in.

Sorry for the news.

tez
AnswerID: 211496

Reply By: Bros 1 - Sunday, Dec 24, 2006 at 00:08

Sunday, Dec 24, 2006 at 00:08
miker,
Sorry for the late reply to your post about Bathurst Bay, but my laptop is out of commission at present.
I last went to Bathurst Bay in mid August 06. We went up the coast road via Starke Station and the road was very good in comparison to previous trips. Hilux, cruiser, nissan. Some of the entries and exits were pretty steep but consisted mainly of sand.
As for towing a 4m tinnie on a HD custom trailer, this is also possible. In 2004 we had a 4m on a HD trailer and no problems at all. We have been to Ninian Bay towing a 3.8 m tinnie on a stock standard boat trailer, and managed to fracture the tow bar. Couple of saplings and Cobb & Co and away you go.
This year we came out through Kalpowar Station and found the track very good as long as you checked out the creek crossings first and took the right line. I can't remember any entry or exit that would unduly worry a raised o/b.
2006 was an exceptional year for rain in that area. Contact with the rangers at Kalpowar (Lakefield National Park) 07 40603271 or Cooktown 07 40695777 will usually get you weekly updates on the road conditions.
BB is truly a beautiful place to visit and we will be going again in mid 08.
Hope you can find something useful out of that lot or ask for more if you want it.
Brosw.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

AnswerID: 211844

Reply By: miker - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 23:02

Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 23:02
Thanks for the feedback fellas, appreciate it. Sorry for the late comeback but I left on leave a couple of days after I posted the thread and have only just returned. Unfortunately nowhere as exciting as the far North.

Will continue with the plan and make the appropriate enquiries in the comings months.

Fear only regrets - Cheers Mike.
AnswerID: 214560