patrol 2.8 turbo vs lpg

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 14:44
ThreadID: 40547 Views:3844 Replies:10 FollowUps:11
Hi All, I am looking at buying used Patrol.. Have had differing advice as to advantages of either 2.8 Turbo diesel or 4.2 petrol with lpg already fitted. Needs are a strong vehicle to withstand mining roads of Lightning Ridge. Car will be doing approx 700km's per week with six weekly 1500k round trip back to coast. Towing not a priority. Gas out at the Ridge 70+ cents per litre. Grateful for any advice. Am I on the right track ?
Cheers D

Reply By: Member - John - Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 15:30

Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 15:30
dweezil, please, don't touch the Patrol 2.8 TD with a barge pole. I owned one, cost me a lot of money when the head gasket blew, very very fragile engine, worse than the 3lt in my mind, lol. John

AnswerID: 211536

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 15:51

Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 15:51
70cpl well that is cheap coz it climbs very quickly to $1.00 here in the west. As a geneal rulegas needs to be nder 1/2 the price of petrol to be economical (but that takes into account fitting costs) I cant imagine a gas patrol getting bette than 25-30 lp hundred (those that travel at 70kph with a tail wind will tell you they bettered this ONCE) but the 2.8 is not gaining freinds in the reliability stakes and misses out on the pootrl legendary driveline components
AnswerID: 211538

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 16:36

Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 16:36
The driveline on the 2.8 is exactly the same from the back of the gearbox. Although I have heard the gearbox is weak, as it is off the skyline, it is supposed to have uprated components, and a lot of petrol heads that get lots of HP out of the skylines often use the patrol 2.8 box as it is a lot stronger....still not as strong as the other Patrol boxes, but at 95 kw I have heard of few problems with it.

The engine can be a little on the fragile side, but the problems I have had were not the engines fault - not noticing all of the coolant being dumped while towing a 2 tonne boat in the tropics will not do any motor much good! (have a low coolant alarm now)

I would much rather a 4.2, but I don,t know about the 3.0. I have not heard of any common major problems with the 2.8, both in the GQ and the GU

Time will tell

Cheers Andrew
FollowupID: 471639

Reply By: flappa - Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 15:54

Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 15:54
Is it a GQ 4.2 Petrol , or a GU 4.5 Petrol.

My GU Petrol gets around 25/100 City driving , and a bit less then that Highway.

Suits me at around 60c / litre.
AnswerID: 211539

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 15:55

Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 15:55
4.2 Diesel.... nothign more - nothing less!
AnswerID: 211540

Reply By: dweezil - Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 16:09

Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 16:09
Thanks Guys, Have not got a specific vehicle in mind, but I will consider Trucksters thoughts on diesel 4.2. You have already scared me off 2.8 Turbo.
Cheers D
AnswerID: 211547

Follow Up By: GQ_TUFF - Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 21:44

Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 21:44
Mate do some reserch yourself on the 2.8.....not the most powerfull engine around, but as you said towing is not a issue for you...I have a 99 gu 2.8 125000 kms on it and must say it has to be the quietest, smoothest diesel getting around.....fully loaded up with camping gear it will still keep up with the 3.0 and the 4.2 at hwy speed.....I would probably put bigger tyres on it to bring the revs down a bit as they pull around 3000 rpm at 110km/h. Everybody on here will tell you why their car is the best. 3.0 engine problems, 4.2 some over heating problems and gearbox problems......every car has problems, you just need to weigh up your needs versus the $$$$$ as you will pick up a very good 2.8 around $8000 to $10000 cheaper than a 4.2, thats alot of money in anyones book. Just remember thats my opinion only and a bit one sided as I own a 2.8 and am more than happy with it, bit sluggish off the line but once rollin it will stay with most of them. As for head problems....change coolant when you should, use good stuff and maintain it and it will last like all engines will with some TLC

The little turbo battler
FollowupID: 471727

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 08:59

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 08:59
Dweezil

I agree entirely with GQ-Tuff - my 98 2.8td now has 250000km on the clock and I have not had a single problem with it. I did overhaul the injectors at 200000km but that was my choice not because the engine was playing up. Also....there is absolutely nothing wrong with the gearbox albeit the engine is a bit underpowered when towing. That said, I tow a 1.4 tonne (loaded) KangaCamper and haven't experienced any real difficulties - either on road or off road. Oh...and it still has the same disc pads that were fitted at the factory on build. My guess is that with careful driving and good maintenance practices you will get a good return on investment.

Pete
FollowupID: 471779

Follow Up By: dweezil - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 09:04

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 09:04
Thanks Pete, I appreciate the advice.
Cheers D
FollowupID: 471785

Reply By: outback epicurean - Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 21:13

Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 21:13

Well now I'm worried because I have a GQ 2.8 TD Patrol that has never missed a beat. Sure they are not designed for heavy towing (light gearbox) but IMHO seem to be a much more reliable engine that the GU 3.0 l which this forum will tell you is a dog. I had a petrol/gas GQ and traded on the TD as got lousy fuel economy especially on gas despite spending a fortune get the thing tuned.

2.8 TD has only done 100K but towed a camper trailer a lot and no problems at all with anything.

Reckon they are a good unit unless you g\flog them with a 2 tonne boat.

good luck

AnswerID: 211596

Follow Up By: dweezil - Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 22:18

Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 22:18
Epicurean, Andrew and Turbo Battler, All Of you are wise and make sense. Now I am really wondering what to do. I am looking at early model patrols, eg. late eighties early nineties., Does this make a difference.
Cheers D
FollowupID: 471736

Reply By: dweezil - Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 21:51

Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 21:51
n get through the black soil roads when it rains. It gets really hot out here as well.
Cheers D
AnswerID: 211600

Reply By: Pezza (Bris) - Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 22:50

Thursday, Dec 21, 2006 at 22:50
Hi dweezil,
Rather than me type it all out again (I hate typing :-) have a look at post 37958 and post 36760 for my opinion on the motor and the Motsons upgrade unit for the 2.8 TD GU, which I highly recommend.
I am a big fan of the 2.8, it's quiet, smooth and goes well, and in my opinion would suit your application perfectly with a lot of cash left in your pocket compared to a 4.2 TD.
7 to 8 km/lt depending on driving style from the 2.8, I think most of the guys with 4.5's get 4 to 5 km/lt on gas and around 5.5 on petrol, let you do the maths and choose according to your needs.

Avagoodn
Pezza
AnswerID: 211610

Follow Up By: dweezil - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 09:00

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 09:00
Thanks Pezza, Does the Motsons upgrade improve fuel effeciency as well as performance? Are any series 2.8 better or worse than others? I read post 37958 but could not get other.
Merry Xmas D
FollowupID: 471780

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 09:24

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 09:24
dweezil,
Try clicking here for the other post.
There was only the 1 series in the 2.8 guise, 98 to early 2000, and were all the same, you hear the odd problem with one every now and then, some of which may also have been operator induced, ie. lack of maintenance, small unnoticed problem leading to big one, thrashing etc. but no more than with any other vehicle, certainly nothing like the 3lt GU or the early gen 111 oil problem in the comode, or cracking (falling apart ) control arms on the L/C.
The Motsons does not give any better fuel economy, only operator input can do that :-) Most owners without the chip report around 7 - 8 km/lt, that's what I get with it, it just gives more power and makes it easier to drive.

Merry X-mas
Pezza

FollowupID: 471791

Follow Up By: dweezil - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 17:29

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 17:29
Thanks Pezza that worked. Am looking at 330000 km 1995 rx that had rebuild at 220000 or a 1997 GQ 2.5 that has 210000 k with new suspension. Seems a bit early for that. 1995 is country car 11000 ono. Other is Bris 10500
ono. Is rebuild a common necessity?
Cheers D
FollowupID: 471849

Follow Up By: quicksilver103 - Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 23:29

Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 23:29
Hi avoid the 2,8 at all costs aside from the problems with heads ect. fuel econemy is only about 7.2km ltr around town and bewetween 5.5 and 6,5 km ltr on the highway. the engine cannot be changed without changing the diffs and gear box ect.
you would be much better of going for the 4.2ltr as the econemy is better because the of gear box and diff ratios. andmcan be easily transplanted at some other time if needed
FollowupID: 472017

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Sunday, Dec 24, 2006 at 01:03

Sunday, Dec 24, 2006 at 01:03
Ooohh Bugger Dweezil,
I've been leading you astray mate, kick myself in the backside.
I was assuming you were talking about a GU 2.8, not the GQ 2.8, even though the basic engine is the same, they're completely different animals unfortunately, there really is only two words to describe the GQ version...bluddy terrible !
Nearly like driving a 2.4 lt diesel hilux in the power department.
Motson don't have anything for the GQ version as the engine is still the mechanical type, ie. not computer controlled like the GU which has electronic fuel pump etc. when Nissan did the upgrade with the GU in 98 the "new" electronic 2.8 was a huge increase in technology, power and torque over the old GQ one.
Most of the info above is relavent to the GU, not the GQ, real sorry mate, didn't mean to lead you down the garden path!
I have to agree with some of the others in that you would be better off going with the 4.2 petrol than the 2.8, not sure on the 2.8 fuel economy figures but the 4.2 should return somewhere round the 5.5 km/lt (18.2 lt/100) on petrol and 3 to 3.5 km/lt (28.5lt/100) on gas, the petrol, although thursty, is good for 300k plus and very reliable, make sure it's had some sort of upper cyl lubricant if it's been on gas for a while.
They changed from a carby version to the fuel injection motor in early 94 I think, try and stick with the fuel injected version if finances allow, much better drivability and slightly better economy.

Avagoodn
Pezza
FollowupID: 472026

Reply By: outback epicurean - Sunday, Dec 24, 2006 at 18:56

Sunday, Dec 24, 2006 at 18:56
If going for gas, make usre it is a 4.2 l not 3.0 l as the latter 4ngine is very limited powerwise on gas. Try at get a fuel injected 4.2 as appear to be better on gas but think they were not introduced until about 94?. Turbo 2.8 came out about 95 so may be out of your range. I have some mag reports on the different patrols if you can give me a postal address.

good luck
AnswerID: 211925

Follow Up By: dweezil - Sunday, Dec 24, 2006 at 20:12

Sunday, Dec 24, 2006 at 20:12
Thanks all, That makes things clearer. That would be great Outback Epicurean. PO Box 1604 Lightning Ridge NSW 2834. I will step back and reasess!
Have a great Xmas and 2007!
D
FollowupID: 472111

Reply By: prado_95 - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 19:24

Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 19:24
Here are your realistic options;

1. keep the 2.8 TD and address the lack of power with an exhaust system and diesel performance module or chip
2. upgrade to (the later) petrol 4.5L and LPG

Since both cars are the substancially the same in body & otehr running gear those items should be can be eliminated.

LPG can get expensive away from town, and be harder to find.

For long distance outback work I'd stay with the diesel, or fit a decent LPG tank to the petrol (think 120L or more)

You should be able to get about 20L/100km on LPG (better if there's no weight and speed is kept down).
AnswerID: 212220