Storing clothes in a camper.

Submitted: Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 08:16
ThreadID: 40560 Views:5680 Replies:7 FollowUps:15
Good Morning,

Just after some ideas. How do people store their clothes in a camper trailer when they are on an extended trip? Living out of a suitcase for 6 months would not seem like an ideal way to go but I am yet to come up with something better. I have used cupboards before that have the steel frame inside but I don't want to be putting them up and pulling them down every few days.

Thanks in advance for any replies.

Rusty

Reply By: Carl & Kaz - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 08:24

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 08:24
We have a family of five and travel in a Jayco Hawk. Our method is to each have a clear plastic storage box with a lid on it to put our own gear into - if it doesn't fit into the box it doesn't go with you!

The boxes stack nicely between the seats when travelling, and when we are at camp they are stacked outside the door under the awning. Being clear plastic makes it easier to see where things are inside. We also have written names in large letters on the outside to make it easier to identify which box is yours.

Carl & Kaz
AnswerID: 211629

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 08:39

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 08:39
2nd that one. We have opaque plastic storage boxes too, one each.
Also have a spot in the car where all raincoats and jackets go.
Another box for shoes and boots. The box has plastic bags in it to wrap dirty shoes/boots in.
FollowupID: 471772

Follow Up By: Member - Jason R (VIC) - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 08:41

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 08:41
Thanks Guys. Sounds pretty simple and wouldn't be affected too much by water.

Rusty
FollowupID: 471773

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 08:50

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 08:50
I was thinking the same but...How do the boxes travel over rough and extended corrugations? Theyre pretty tough and available almost everywhere so if they bleep tered could be replaced but have u needed to do this?

FollowupID: 471776

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 09:00

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 09:00
If were talking about the ones Safeway sell (about 2'l x 15"w x 1'd) and vary in price anywhere from $8 to $25! depending on the store and time of year - I've been using three of those for food and kitchen boxes for a few years (one is full of tinned stuff), they have performed very well, never had one break and they have been in all sorts of rough conditions. They will also withstand the heaviest of rain and make useful flat surfaces too.

FollowupID: 471781

Follow Up By: mfewster - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 09:14

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 09:14
Thank you Oldplodder. I forgot to mention having a number of spare plastic bags, just about the most useful thing of all. If you are going the plastic box route, have a look at the ZAG boxes sold by Supacheap and Bunnings. About $25.00. Light and near indestructible. Can be used up on roofracks for extended periods if required and have handles that can be used to tie down. The semi opaque storage boxes can get very brittle if they spend much time in the sun.
FollowupID: 471788

Follow Up By: Member - Jason R (VIC) - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 10:05

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 10:05
mfewster,

How would the boxes travel on a roof rack in a rack bag? I guess the only thing would be lifting them up and down from the rack.

Rusty
FollowupID: 471798

Follow Up By: mfewster - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 10:27

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 10:27
Jason R
It might depend on the height of your roof bag and the height of the boxes. Some box/bag combinations probably wouldn't fit the boxes. I reckon you would want the rack bag packed pretty tightly as you wouldn't want the boxes moving around inside the bag. I like the ZAG boxes because they are very light and strong for the money and the handles mean you can tie them down if you want to, so the boxes are pretty flexible if you want to use them for a range of different purposes. We sometimes strap a Zag box on the roofrack with a ratchet strap through the lower part of the handles. This way the box stays up on the rack for the trip and you can open and close the box without unstrapping it (we put an okkie strap around the box in addition to the clips on the Zag box to keep the hinged lid secured, just in case the lid might open??). This setup is especially good for carrying the garbage.
But this is getting a bit away from the post and obviously we don't carry clothes on top.
FollowupID: 471802

Reply By: mfewster - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 08:37

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 08:37
One big shared bag for wet weather/cold weather gearand jumpers. This stuff is bulky and can just be thrown in. Another big shared bag for dirty clothes. We use the cheap plastic checked type with a zip on the top that only cost a couple of bucks, are tough and fold away to just about nothing.

Then a bag for each person
We use duffle type bags with big pockets on the side and keep socks, underdqks toilet bag etc in their own pocket. Shirts/trousers/shorts in the main compartment which can usually handle what is required when the wet/cold/dirty stuff is stored elsewhere.
Having a number of soft bags makes lifting/stowing and keeping them organized easier. Still not perfect. I'm looking for good ideas on this also and will read other posts with interest.
AnswerID: 211632

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 08:59

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 08:59
Along similar lines, but we use soft sided zip bags, 1 each and 1 for towels and shoes etc, and if the trip is long enough maybe a dirty clothes one.
Leave the suitcases at home.

Cheers Pesty
AnswerID: 211637

Follow Up By: Member - Jason R (VIC) - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 09:03

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 09:03
My only concern about the plastic boxes was how they would travel but obviously they stand up Ok for clothing. The soft bags would seem better for dirty clothes that don't need to be organised.

Rusty
FollowupID: 471784

Reply By: MickO13 - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 09:37

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 09:37
Third the plastic box method. We had a main box eacjh which sat in the trailer and had a smaller "Day Box" in the car which was easier to get at. We just used this for the most commonly worn clothes, sox/jox T shirts and shorts etc. Boxes are easily and cheaply bought at any of the $2 type stores or woolies etc.

AnswerID: 211643

Follow Up By: Member - Jason R (VIC) - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 10:01

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 10:01
Mick,

Do you have any problems with dust getting into the boxes in the trailer?

Rusty
FollowupID: 471797

Follow Up By: Member - Barry M (NSW) - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 10:08

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 10:08
We like the plastic boxes too, wheeled ones slide in & out of C/t easily,see
through is good or label them . Shop around as we found good large ones at
Autocrap for $8, the $2 store wanted $20 for the same thing. One for each
person works well, If it dont fit it dont go.... Ideal for clothes, food, spare
bedding, rain gear, (yes it will rain again) tools & recovery stuff etc....oldbaz.
FollowupID: 471799

Follow Up By: Member - Jason R (VIC) - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 10:17

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 10:17
Thanks Barry and thanks to all other replies. It looks as though the plastic boxes are a favourite amongst most with soft bags also useful.

Merry Christmas to All!!

Rusty
FollowupID: 471800

Follow Up By: MickO13 - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 13:01

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 13:01
Not at all Jason. I had a tambo trailer which sealed pretty well. Certainly got dust in the trailer at times but the boxes kept everything dust free.

FollowupID: 471822

Follow Up By: Member - Jason R (VIC) - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 13:04

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 13:04
Sounds good Mick. Thanks for the info.

Rusty
FollowupID: 471823

Reply By: draff - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 10:26

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 10:26
Hi Rusty,

Just to throw my 2 bobs worth in! I would thoroghly recommend rolling your clothes - literally roll everything into a log! Then whatever you pack them in, stand them on their ends - the beauty of this system is that nothing gets fold creases and you can see the 'ends' of all your clothes so there is no digging to the bottom of the bag or container. Works a treat.

AnswerID: 211652

Follow Up By: Member - Jason R (VIC) - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 10:47

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 10:47
draff,

I can see how this would make it easier to see what you have in the box. I know from previous experiences that with clothes stuffed in bags you end up wearing the stuff on top and never get to the bottom of the bag.

Rusty
FollowupID: 471805

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 00:49

Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 00:49
Rolling is also an old army lurk - you pack more in that way
FollowupID: 471920

Reply By: Brian B (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 00:20

Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 00:20
Hi Rusty,

Friends we travel with a bit use those little Oztrail three shelf wardobes with the light tube frames. They make them up and load their clothes into them and sit them on the back seat of their rig and when they get to their destination they sit them inside their camper once it is set up. They hold them in place on the car seat with the standard seat belts while travelling.

Works for them and since there is only two of them they generally have the back seat clear.
AnswerID: 211763

Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 05:59

Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 05:59
Stackable plastic boxes are the go ,, but if you really want to save space, then roll your clothes up, TIGHT !. Seen Laura B and family do this, and it was amazing just how much they could get into one of these storage boxes,,
But it takes a little management

Works a treat !
AnswerID: 212148