Taken the plunge - GU 4.2 ordered

Submitted: Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 12:13
ThreadID: 40563 Views:3274 Replies:8 FollowUps:6
After much cogitation I've ordered a GU ST-S 4.2 for delivery next year. I'd heard the rumours about no more being produced but it appears there are literally very few left in dealers yards. Ours apparently arrives on the last boat.

Now to get organise for the fitout. Our GU goes to our 4wd trip friends in Brisbane. It's just done 130,000 and is going to have an easier life in it's new home. It's Christmas present is koni shocks and King springs. The Ridepro system was fiished after 2 major trips. The ride is much imporved now.

We can now start planning for the Canning in June.

Reply By: Moggs - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 12:35

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 12:35
Hi peter,

Congratulations on the new purchase! Hoping you have a better run with the 4.2 than the 3.0ltr. Does it come with alloys???? ;-)

All the best for xmas.
AnswerID: 211662

Follow Up By: Nick R - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 13:37

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 13:37
that was my question...
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 471828

Follow Up By: Member - Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 14:43

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 14:43
I guess it does as mine is a 2006 4.2 ST Patrol and it came with 17in Alloys.....Peter's is the model up from mine in the ST-S so I guess it should/will.....
FollowupID: 471835

Follow Up By: Peter McG (Member, Melbourne) - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 18:06

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 18:06
Course it does but I'll be getting the ROH steels for offraod use with MTRs of course. The alloys will be restricted to town use and will always be torque tested!

FollowupID: 471855

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 22:24

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 22:24
leave the alloys in the shed until you sell it - nice new rims always look good on a car :)

I was going to sell mine, but only offer I had was $300 for the 5, that are $800+ each... generous people out there
FollowupID: 471902

Reply By: Member - Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 13:30

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 13:30
Peter,

Congratulations, great choice in truck.........
AnswerID: 211672

Reply By: Macca_GU - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 16:44

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 16:44
G'day Pete,

so you've driven both, why did you decide to "SUPERSIZE"
AnswerID: 211691

Follow Up By: Peter McG (Member, Melbourne) - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 18:09

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 18:09
Hi Macca,

Like the GU. I was impressed with the etst drive and given I plan to keep this one a long time thought the 4.2 would be the best bet. I also think they will become a bit of a collectors item when the new model comes out with IFS!

FollowupID: 471856

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 17:17

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 17:17
G'day Peter,
Congratulations on your decision to come over "from the dark side"...hahaha
I will be interested to see if your feelings are the same as a couple of other blokes I know, who both say the 4.2 is a better vehicle than their previous 3L.
Of course, you need to factor-in the 4.2's seemingly long run-in period.....mine didn't start to free up until it had done almost 40,000klm.
Here's hoping that most/all of your accessories will transfer straight over.
Cheers for a great silly season too mate.
Roachie and family.
AnswerID: 211695

Follow Up By: Peter McG (Member, Melbourne) - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 18:15

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 18:15
Thanks Bill, It certainly felt quite different on the test drive so can't wait to get it run in. We've sold the 3L as setup so I get to start over again. Not much I'd do differently. Will be putting an Engel in the Ultimate though!

We're off to Tassie for two weeks from 14/1 with son, daughter and partners. They both have Disco 2s so I'm tail end Charlie. Last run in the grey ghost.

All the very best to the Roachs. Still laugh about that bl++dy alarm going off.

Peter and Jan
FollowupID: 471858

Reply By: Doggy Tease - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 22:04

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 22:04
Gday Pete.
Good choice mate, tho be prepared for a few things.
Untill the 1000k service, ours was like driving a slug...u know......put the foot down and nothing happens.
these things actually have a computer in them and the wiring is fine as long as you dont add anything,,,,if you do, the only real chassis earth is through the sub tank fuel pump wiring.
make damn sure that you earth the body to the chassis.there is a bolt under the passenger front door and one directly opposite it on the chassis(this bolt holds a cover for something),,,,,,,use these and make sure you use real big wire......i used 26mm battery cable.
the arab spec body lights are available thru nissan at about $300 per side,,,,and are really bright.
We have only done 2,500k in ours so far but it seems to be getting better as the milage increases, tho we will be getting the turbo and exhaust upgrade done when we get back from Denham, hopefully with about 5000k on the clock.
do your shins a favour and remove the "tow hook" from the back bumper,,,,it hurts like hell when you hit it,,,,,,and i personally wouldnt use it for towing after seeing the back of the loop welds.
Flip the trailer plug to the other side of its bracket, as it is real vulnerable way out where it is. If you have air bags, the bolt holes for the plug are the perfect place to run the valve's too.
If you have a C/T, check the length of your chains before you need to use it, as the chain holder on the tow bar is set back a fairway.
Any questions,,,,just fire away.

meow

rick.

AnswerID: 211745

Reply By: Robin - Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 10:34

Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 10:34
Congratulations Peter

You'll probably being enjoying it for years

Wish I could make up mind !

Merry Xmas

AnswerID: 211785

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 10:51

Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 10:51
When you think about it it isnt a hard decision is it...
AnswerID: 211786

Reply By: Grizzle - Sunday, Dec 24, 2006 at 12:40

Sunday, Dec 24, 2006 at 12:40
Well done Peter,

Bought mine in August and am very happy with it. I put BF Goodrich All-Terrains on mine and it has put the Speedo out a bit. It now reads slow by approx 7-8 k at 100

Marks 4WD adaptors do an adjustable corrector fo a couple of hundred dollars.

I also put in a Helton Heat Exchanger (Hot Water type) which fits neatly on the Intercooler bracket.

Good luck!!!

AnswerID: 211883