January beach camping at Teewah / Cooloola

Submitted: Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 17:08
ThreadID: 40573 Views:5464 Replies:9 FollowUps:3

I have booked to camp on the beach at Teewah / Cooloola in early January with the missus and some mates (3 tents and a small tarp).

How busy is the beach camping scene in this area at this time of year?

Going by the bookings on the NPWS website, it seems that there aren't too many bookings (out of the 3000 available), which is great ... or does it just mean that no one bothers to book?

Also, what are the Freshwater and Liesha tracks like at the moment?

Any info appreciated - cheers,
Mick

Reply By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 20:26

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 20:26
Hey Mick

It's going to be a mad house. Hope you can find a camp spot, I have done it a couple of times and might do it again this year but normaly during that time you can hear the camp site next to you snore :)

AnswerID: 211729

Reply By: The big easy - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 20:59

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 20:59
what troll said.good luck
AnswerID: 211738

Reply By: Keith_A (Qld) - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 22:09

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 22:09
What Troll said. It is Unbelievable in Dec Jan - crowds; cars; tents; vans.
Out of school hols - brilliant - grassy sites beside small freshwater steams with the ocean 20m out your front door.
In summer - we're heading to the mountains........Keith
AnswerID: 211746

Reply By: Dizne - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 22:36

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 22:36
Fair dinkum?!

I knew Easter was busy for beach camping, but was hoping January was a little quieter! Bugga!

On another note ... I need to get some sand pegs for the tent (and tarp, if we have room to put it up?!).

What size sand pegs will I need?

30cm or I think the next one up at the local camp store was around 45cm?

Mick
AnswerID: 211751

Follow Up By: Dave from P7OFFROAD Accredited Driver Training - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 23:37

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 23:37
depends on the size of the tarp.

the 300mm ones will be good enough for all but the softest sand and/or biggest tarp.

For the tents, you'll usually get away with the 200mm ones.

And good luck spending your hols with 3000000 others (and plenty of ferals)

Last I heard (last week) Leisha track itself was good but there was quite a step up on the Rainbow side, haven't heard about Freshwater for a while
FollowupID: 471916

Reply By: Member - Grub S/shine Coast - Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 05:58

Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 05:58
We live a minute from the northshore ferries and even we won't be going over, boxing day is when it really goes nuts over there. We are off to imbil deer farm today for 5 days, may check out the beach later. Just be careful up the beach it will be 50klm where it use to be 80klm after the recent hit and run. The police are up here in force, they have an extra 30 in from brisbane for the next couple of weeks.
Freshwater track is still passable and takes about 45 mins.
Liesha track changes all the time, they have been repairing it lately. I was up there a month ago and on the rainbow side the track dropped away by 500mm just before the beach. There isn't alot of beach left near the track so low tide only is the go.
Have fun anyway and watch out for the idiots who are ruining it all for us who want to have fun.

AnswerID: 211771

Reply By: jon p qld - Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 08:14

Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 08:14
You should have the place all to yourselves at that time of year LOL !!!!
Seriously as all the others have said it will be a mad house up there. I too only live a few minutes from the ferry and will stay well away from the place for the next few weeks.

Jon
AnswerID: 211776

Follow Up By: Member - Grub S/shine Coast - Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 08:24

Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 08:24
Hey Jon P
Where abouts do you live
What rig do you drive I will keep an eye out for you
FollowupID: 471933

Follow Up By: jon p qld - Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 12:41

Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 12:41
G'day Grub
Tewantin, drive a white 80 series with explore oz sticker in LHR window, I'll look out for your Patrol, it looks a very distinctive colour
FollowupID: 471959

Reply By: brian2 - Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 20:30

Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 20:30
have you looked at the camp ground i think has a restaurant called carlos and boat ramp good faci;ities only a short distance from rainbow beach ???????????
AnswerID: 211826

Reply By: longJohn - Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 21:22

Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 21:22
I am sitting here on my laptop at noosa north shore camping ground and believe it or not is actually not even half full. But like someone else said, it probably really goes mad just after xmas. I was camping up near the northern end of the camping area on the beach a few years back for new years and it was PACKED. We were lucky to even find a bit of grass to camp on. And you usually see 5 or so patches of fireworks up and down the beach from 9pm untill midnight on new years eve.
Mad house!
AnswerID: 211832

Reply By: Dizne - Tuesday, Jan 16, 2007 at 14:03

Tuesday, Jan 16, 2007 at 14:03

Well we got back from four days camping up the beach yesterday and had a wonderful time!!! The place is just magic and (surprise! surprise!) wasn't too crowded as most had suggested it was going to be considering it's January and still school hols!

We arrived early Friday morn and had a great section to ourselves until late Friday night when two other groups set-up either side of our camp. This didn't worry us until late Sat. arvo when we realised the mob to our south were a bunch of absolute wankers who would do a 10 min session of donuts on the beach every 15 mins or so and then drive stright back over the dunes and rip them to shreds in the process! The serenity was somewhat lost until they departed on Sunday, but we still had a good night and were up late ourselves Saturday anyway (though we were somewhat quieter than our rowdy neighbors!).

What was most shocking about this mob of d'heads was that they simply packed up and drove off and left a pile of rubbish on the dunes where they had just cooked breakie! There were softdrink cans and broken glass bottles, Corona bottles, chip packets, oil from their bbq and an old chair or tent frame just left there! Disgusting! We cleaned it up ... good karma our way, and bad theirs is the way I see it! I hope they each blew four tyres on the way home!

I also had a close call with a snake (not sure of the type ... maybe taipan, maybe eastern brown?).

What shocked me the most when I first noticed it about 1m away from me (and in the middle of the area where we were errecting the tarp) was that my gf and I had been talking and moving around the site for an hour or so (our tent was already up) and we had our 5m x 5m tarp with two of the four corner poles up and I was just putting up the third corner pole and the fourth corner was flapping around in a light breeze, and ... well, I was just somewhat surprised and concerned I suppose that with all this activity a 1.5m snake came right through the middle of our camp between where my gf and I were standing (some 4m apart).

Needless to say, we were somewhat cautious for the next four days around our camp site and didn't venture into the long grass or bush behind our site! I half expected to have another surprise encounter with the snake again before we left but, after I chased it off with our long-handled shovel, he at least stayed out of sight.

I later asked the Ranger and described the snake and he reckoned it may have been a taipan (after I first thought it was a brown simply because of its colour).

I am intrigued by snakes and admire them as part of our natural world, but this was a little too close for my liking!

We had an absolutely amazing time up the beach anyway!

Mick

P.S: The fishing was great! Tailor, whiting and some big dart!
AnswerID: 215651