Garmin Nuvi 660

Submitted: Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 19:07
ThreadID: 40578 Views:3154 Replies:4 FollowUps:5
Well I gone and done it again,spending more money again ,just can't help myself but then it is xmas and this my present to me .Should be a very nice nice little unit, I had trouble finding a shop here in Perth that has one so done the deal with Johnny Appleseed on Ipswich Rd Annerley......again,the service and help you get from them is really No 1 www.ja-gps.com.au/freeoffers.html

www.ja-gps.com.au/garmin_nuvi660.aspx

I checked out a working Navman at DSE in Canningvale ,it could not find Birdsville or Boulia ,piece of crap.

Doug

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 21:10

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 21:10
Hi Doug,

I bought my wife the Nuvi660 for her xmas present, but had to make sure it worked OK first :) Reckon its a fantastic navigator, handsfree phone and MPS player to boot.

I already have a Garmin V but didn't have the City navigator maps so the bonus for me was that the Nuvi comes with a second unlock code so i loaded the maps onto my GPS V. if I had known how good auto routing was going to be, I would have bought the maps years ago. Makes looking up a street directory a thing of the past.

Currently making a list of the xmas lights in perth and will be taking the kids on a sight seeing trip tonight, all loaded onto the GPS V and not a street directory in sight.

I bought mine from GPSOZ over the net and had it delivered a day later.

AnswerID: 211740

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 21:18

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 21:18
Glad you like it, I took days studying the specs of all the other Garmins, Nothing else comes close , [my opinion] I will continue to run the Quest because of the Track recording of over 4000 klm , ideal for keeping track of my jobs, so now i have decided to sell the GPS Map 176C with all the accessories and extra cards i got for it , external ant' and I put Nav 7 in it , so if anyone in WA would like it get my email near the excavator .

Doug

FollowupID: 471883

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 21:21

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 21:21
Hi Doug,

I was thinking of upgrading my GPS V to the Quest, but after spending the $$$ on the wife well it will have to wait. Nice to see you have the Quest as well, the Nuvi is a great navigator but doesn't have the cookie crumb trail and route capabilities of the V/Quest.

FollowupID: 471885

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 21:26

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 21:26
That's why I will keep my beloved Quest and let the Map 176C go ,It has the 3000 waypoint capacity and I have 700 truck parking bays on it but I can swap most of them onto the other two

FollowupID: 471886

Reply By: Doggy Tease - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 21:40

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 21:40
Gday Doug, just about figured out the Garmin I-Que M4. got a few more bits to do and then hopefully all will run smoothly. When you are a complete novice with these things,,,then help from people here is always much appreciated.....(thanks Explorer ). I gotta admit i do like being able to see where we are going when out bush,,,,and having the city navigator as well makes things alot easier around town.
However,i am yet to work out many features of the Ozi program, but will get there eventually.
Did you try Terlin Outbacker Communication,,,,they seem to have a fair range of stuff and seem to know what they are talking about...

meow.

rick.
AnswerID: 211742

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 22:26

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 22:26
Yeh mate I looked around some , ARB was closed, GME was closed and though Brisbane is 2hrs ahead of WA ....my bloody time and Johnny Appleseed were still open they got the sale.
Don't Know about Terlin, still learning WA .
Just listening to the Coppers on the scanner , hell they are busy with D/Heads

Doug

FollowupID: 471903

Reply By: ozdragon - Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 00:26

Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 00:26
Hi Doug

I bought the 660 but ended up taking it back. It's a great machine dont get me wrong but you cant do any Trip planning. You can get from a to b with one stop in between but you cant specify any other stops. After chrissie im getting the TomTom 910. Screen isnt as good but the trip planning is all there.

AnswerID: 211764

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 20:50

Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 20:50
Hi Peter,

Are you sure the TomTom 910 will do what you want? While the nuvi660 is fantatsic for autorouting to a single destination, it is not what i would call a 4WD GPS (no cookie crumb trail, stored route capacity etc...)

From what I have seen of the TomTom, while it can do multi destinations, it cannot do cookie crumb backtrack (will stand corrected here if wrong) and as such is not ideal as a 4WD GPS. Check out the Garmin Quest, it is IMHO a very good 4WD GPS and still has autoroute capability but no bluetooth mobile phone etc...

I have yet to find a GPS that combines all the fancy features (autoroute, bbluetooth, MP3 etc...) with all the "necessary" 4WD features like stored routes, cookiecrumb etc...

FollowupID: 472005

Reply By: keepingitreal - Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 20:19

Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 20:19
Got the nuvi 660. LOVE IT!!! lets face it they'll all be outdated soon anyway!! can't completely keep up with technology. (I"ll go broke!!!). I'll have fun with my Nuvi anyway. Good for truck! HAve a happy and healthy Xmas!! Regards Kirsten
AnswerID: 211825