Kununurra??To Live there or Not?

Submitted: Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 21:47
ThreadID: 40583 Views:12014 Replies:8 FollowUps:7
Hello, to all you well travelled Ozzies!!

I have the opportunity to transfer my job to Kununurra. I work for the WA Government and would get a govy house, I am 34, married with 3 kids aged 4,7,and 9. I have travelled a bit been to Every place from Augusta in the south to Derby in the North. I dont mind the heat as long as its not consistantly above 36. Has anyone lived there or stayed there for an extended period??What amenaties are there?What are the neighbourhoods like?Are there any nice spots to swim other than the local pool?Will my kids enjoy primary school there?Any advice or help would be appreciated, photos woud be good if you have any of the township and local area. I have a Gu Diesel Patrol and all the camping gear and 3 months long service leave up my sleeve so was thinking it owuld be a good base to travel the Kimberley and NT for me and my family for the next 5 years.
I look forward to some helpful replies.

DieselJuice

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 22:36

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 22:36
I have not lived there but would like to move back North, a bit cold in winter down here in Perth , but I have stopped there a few times on the jobs , I think you will get a lot of info from this link

Site Link

Doug

AnswerID: 211750

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 22:41

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 22:41
forgot to add that as for swimming BE WARY OF CROCS though if you go to the Ord river there may be only the Johnson Freshies , but do as the locals do

FollowupID: 471907

Reply By: Willem - Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 23:00

Friday, Dec 22, 2006 at 23:00
Diesel

Its a hot place. November to April. The year we lived there it never dropped below 38 for the whole of March

There are some waterfalls in the vicinity for swimming. Stay out of the rivers as you will soon become croc tucker

Kids are adaptable and should enjoy the change

Everything including the house will have to be airconditioned.

Food etc will be mega expensive

If you can adjust to living in a small country town then you should go for it.

Kununurra used to be a good community and if you are prepared to get involved in community activities you will slot in quite nicely.

There are lots of places to explore in the region.

Enjoy

AnswerID: 211756

Reply By: Kimberly Kruiser - Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 00:57

Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 00:57
G'day DieselJuice

To live here or not is the 64 thousand dollar question that only you can answer.

We have been here for coming up 4 years and to date have basically enjoyed it here. The town is big enough to cater most services, doctors, dentist , shopping etc as long as you can adopt a patient outlook and be prepared to order and wait for some things.
Cost of living is higher obviously and the biggest rip off is the price of fuel.
If you have access to GEHA Housing and your subsidies and district allowances it will make living expenses more realistic. Housing in town is at a premium due to other booming factors and therefore I would consider it fairly unrealistic to move here unless you had GEHA or employment housing.
The school here is quite good and does cater up to Year 12. My daughter attends school here and enjoys it, well as much as kids enjoy school anyway.
There are the typical north west type social problems but having said that I would consider it one of the better north west towns.
Yes it will be particularly hot for the most part of the year except for Nov to probably April where it can be #loody hot, humid and horrible. You do actually climatise and your accomodation and work place will be air conditioned. (Hence power subsidy for govy employees). There are fresh water swimming holes you can use but only after gaining the correct local knowledge.
If you enjoy camping and four wheel driving and fishing you will love the place. It is a great base for touring the top end generally if you can manage the time off to do so. Its a lifestyle thing and if its the lifestyle you want you will enjoy it.
If your other half is keen to work part time or whatever there is heaps of various types of work available. The only people around here without work are the ones that don't want to work.
When we first came to town there was fairly limited (and expensive) air travel out of here due to the collapse of Ansett. Over the past couple of years that has improved vastly with skywest coming and going fairly regularily in conjunction with Argyle.
Hope I have been of some help. If you want to give me your email address I can ping you some photo's etc, your call.

Wal.
AnswerID: 211767

Follow Up By: Dieseljuice - Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 01:39

Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 01:39
Hey Thanks Wal,

I grew up as a teenager in Derby and my kids and wife have odne the Pilbra and Kimberley holidays a number of times in the Patrol an denjoyed it. We lived in Broome for 3 months 2yrs ago and enjoyed it but very touristy. Yeah soem pictures would be great email em to shaw1family@iprimus.com.au

Cheers and thanks again for the help, Oh and by the way what is the price of Diesel up there?

DieselJuice
FollowupID: 471925

Follow Up By: Kimberly Kruiser - Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 01:58

Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 01:58
DJ

Diesel $1.47 per litre yesterday.

Photos on the way.

FollowupID: 471928

Reply By: Oldsquizzy (Kununurra) - Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 02:00

Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 02:00
1.49 ltr...At least that is today ....grin....And there are plenty of places to swim or fish or just go driving or camping.. The wife and I have a couple of boats one for rivers and one to go out from Wyndham...And a camper trailer does the trick for us.. We are out every weekend we can..Its an individual thing living here, depends what you want!..The rain last night took out the optic fibre so we lost every thing for 24 hours...No phone eftpos All plastic was useless the last shopping day before chrissy...lol...But in the wet thats how it is...
AnswerID: 211769

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 08:27

Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 08:27
Ahhh the wet.....yes. I remember driving to KN from Darwin between Xmas and New Year in 1979 in a Falcon. There was a bit of water over the East Baines Bridge but we managed to cross over. Drove up 5 Rivers Lookout at Wyndham when it was still mud and dirt. The Grotto was a roaring torrent. Stayed in a motel in KN but had to wear shoes and socks to go to restaurant. We were travelling in thongs. Luckily motel management put us in a corner of the dining room and asked us not to walk around as other patrons might be offended by our attire....LOL. Only just made it back over the Victoria River Bridge at Vic River Roadhouse. By the end of the day the water was over the bridge.

We loved the wet but now it would be too hot for us. Think ones skin gets thinner with age..hahaha

Do they still airfreight the bread up from Perth?

FollowupID: 471934

Follow Up By: Blaze - Sunday, Dec 24, 2006 at 01:50

Sunday, Dec 24, 2006 at 01:50
Hey Willem,

30 years ago, I said only wimps had sissies air con in their cars, I went for a drive for about 5 k's today with a mate who has on old Falcon ute for carting gear around in, my god it was hot, LOL and its sub 30 here today.

Not sure about the skin getting thinner but its a good enough excuse for me...
FollowupID: 472029

Reply By: bgreeni - Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 10:52

Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 10:52
I spent 12 months in Kununurra in the mid - late 60's. Lived in the PWD hostel. No bridges over the Victoria in those days (or most other rivers) Only bitumen was Border to Wyndum.

It was pretty remote in those days, with no road access from south for several months each year, most things came by 'State Ships' to Wyndum but I really enjoyed it. Good social life and plenty to see and do at weekends.

Bruce
AnswerID: 211787

Reply By: Peter 2 - Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 15:07

Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 15:07
Go for it, been kicking myself for years that I didn't when I had the chance especially as like in your case the employer is footing the relocation costs.
You can always pull the plug a couple of years down the track if it gets too hard (usually on the missus and family).
AnswerID: 211797

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 19:33

Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 19:33
On the up side, when i was last there (99) the water cost $65 a year for as much as u could use
AnswerID: 211823

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Sunday, Dec 24, 2006 at 10:27

Sunday, Dec 24, 2006 at 10:27
Gday Dozer

Thats all in the past now - we pay the same rate as everyone lse in WA, I now run a bore and rainwater tank and save over $2000 PA, and use as much as I want when I want

Cheers Andrew
FollowupID: 472056

Reply By: Dieseljuice - Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 22:01

Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 22:01
Thanx heaps everyone who replied with some advice. I have scoured the net and looked at all the pros and cons. Somehow I am gettin gthe feeling that the heat and remoteness is going to be the biggest factor for the wife and kids to cope with. I'll have to think long and hard about this one. Cheers to you all for Xmasstay well and enjoy life, family and friends as it s so short. I will post later when I decide whether to go or not, i may also have th eopportunity to go to a couple of other regional centres so will see what doors open.

Merry Xmas from

The Juice
AnswerID: 211835

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Sunday, Dec 24, 2006 at 10:38

Sunday, Dec 24, 2006 at 10:38
Gday Juice

I think it is a brilliant place to live - been here about 7 years now and I love it. You get used to the heat, and many people who can't seem to fly south for the wet (best time of year IMO). There are countless swimming waterfalls and camping area's/places to explore. Your kids will have a ball, 7 months of sunshine, 32 degrees give or take, usualy a breeze, and if you like boats, fishing, water, camping, seclusiion etc etc it is a great place to live.

The remoteness is a bit of a phurphy IMO - I'm down in perth at the moment and I'm having trouble finding the services etc I need - I know where to get them at home. The food etc isn't that much more expensive, fuel is, but you do very few km in normal life as most things are very close, you only need to buy fuel for the getaways. Darwin is a 7 - 9 hr drive away for the big shop every few months or so, and you are in the centre of Australia for all othe capital cities (All capital cities bar Hobart and Darwin are almost the same 3,600 km away!

There are a few issues with the 'locals' in town, but they are generally harmless. biggest issues in town are accomodation, but if you have the GEHA option, IMO you would be mad to pass it up.

If you are ever up here (this goes to all!) drop us a line and we will show you around, take you up river etc & show you why we live up here.

(PS I don't have any connection with the tourist beuro or chamber of commerce!)

Cheers Andrew
FollowupID: 472059