So heres where im at with the GQ...

Submitted: Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 20:30
ThreadID: 40596 Views:4971 Replies:7 FollowUps:9
Hi guys. Perhaps ive got too much time on my hands wat with uni over for the time being and crissy shopping all done but ive compiled as extensive a list as I can think of in terms of what needs to be done to the Maverick/Patrol (GQ), before i would like to take it off road. The people we bought it off i dare say used it for touring and so I have a bit of a head start. This is what it has (plus other bonuses i dont know about im sure!).

1. A custom made cargo drawer system (which i aint too keen on as it obstructs the rear window.

2. 2 Fuel tanks. 1 on ULP and at a guess ide say it has between 60-80L.
2 runs off LPG and i think it has around 90L of useable storage.

3. Duel battery setup with extra 12v points at the back.

4. Lockable hubs.

5. CB radio (which only wants to recieve and not transmit for some reason...)

6. Winch compatible ARB bullbar, side steps and a rear thingo as well (as far as i can tell).

7. 2 Spotties on the bullbar.

Ok so, this is a list of what i believe i need to complement this.

1. A full recovery kit
2.Air compressor + Tyre Gauge
3. Winch
4. Tyre repair kit.
5. Water tank
6. Fridge (Engel... Waeco... i dun care :P)
7. All the usual bits and pieces for camping (tents, chairs, lights etc...)
8. Maybe some additional lighting in the way of spotties.
9. First Aid kit
10. 4wd training course (still a 4wdin Newbie :P

I take these to be the essentials of 4wding to be complemented with a

1. Generater/Solar Panel
2. GPS
3. Suspension upgrade.

I really dont want to compromise quality here but having said that if i buy the premium stuff i wont be offroad for 10 years!!! So basically, what i would like help in is which order should i get the stuff in as i will probably save up for each one at a time, and what brands (in your own opinions) should i look out for.

Lastly, how would i know whether the suspension has been changed by the previous owners or not? Would be lovely if they did the legwork for me on this one :P .

Cheers for any help, info and opinions,

Anand.

And Merry Xmas!!

Reply By: madfisher - Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 21:27

Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 21:27
Mate ,
GQ s are extremely capable stock. They have execellant suspension travel with one of the best LSDs in the business. You will not believe where they will go. WE have a fishing track and the only stock 4wd to climb it is a GQ.IT is so steep and loose I have trouble standing.
AnswerID: 211833

Reply By: lifeisgood - Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 22:05

Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 22:05
Had my GQ for 15 years - Tough capable vehicle in stock form. As a uni student who has already forked out on xmas presents i thought you would be broke?
However -- I would simply ask Santa for a Heavy Duty quality snatch strap and after xmas visit the camping stores for specials on a tent , sleeping gear , 12v light etc and get off somewhere for a couple of days -- you dont need all the gear "BEFORE" you go off Road. Consider joining a club for some outings ,training , good ideas and fun company.
If you love those trips then you can consider other improvements as funds allow.
See you on the trails!
AnswerID: 211836

Reply By: Ozrover - Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 23:16

Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 23:16
Gerday Anand.

Geeze where do I start???

First Aid KIt, St Johns have a good range, talk to them!! Do a senior First Aid course!

Get the CB fixed, or buy a new one, GME 3200 is a good starting point or the equivalent in Uniden!

You've got a very good basic set up to take you most places, but you will need a basic recovery kit i.e. 3.2t bow shackles x 2, 8000lb snatch strap x 1, winch extension strap x 1, & recovery points on the vehicle (good ones). Tyre repair kit, plugs, tyre levers, etc.. (learn how to use them), Compressor, don't care which kind (as long as it works).

Start slow, learn from others, they've already made the FUBARS, it's you're turn now!!

Make sure that you know your vehicle before you worry about the other stuff, If you can fix it at home, then the chances are you will be able to fix it in the bush. Because you will need to!!

Look for anything that can go wrong, because it will!!

Memmes me if you want to! or leave a contact number!

Look after yourself, #1 priority is to stay safe!! (but have fun doing it) 8 )>

Merry Christmas, & have a Ball!!!!

AnswerID: 211839

Follow Up By: 4wdNewbie - Monday, Dec 25, 2006 at 00:10

Monday, Dec 25, 2006 at 00:10
Cheers Jeff. Will definately look at a first aid kit and some trainin (googling the st johns site now) in the new year. Thanks for the info and have a safe and merry xmas!
FollowupID: 472137

Reply By: Member - Dave .. B (SA) - Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 23:31

Saturday, Dec 23, 2006 at 23:31
Hi Anand , just a quick question for ya mate , in your post you say, "The people we bought it off i dare say used it for touring and so I have a bit of a head start."
Yet in your previous post 40406 you say you bought it off your dad.......what gives??...........Cheers .....Dave
AnswerID: 211841

Follow Up By: 4wdNewbie - Sunday, Dec 24, 2006 at 22:37

Sunday, Dec 24, 2006 at 22:37
Haha good to see im being noticed around here :P And ok to clarify... Dad bought it off an elderly couple. Who seemed like seasoned 4wders... heck they had 2 totally different sets of tyres they gave us. Dad used it for a bit when he went down to Tassie for a bit *cough* midlife crisis *cough* . Then it just sat there for a good 9 months collecting dust. I got sick of the fully sick Excel i had and sold that (to mum) and bought the Maverick off of dad (with 2 sets of tyres that would not pass rego ): ). Did a quick sound system swap, and i was in business! Haha sorry for the stuffup!
FollowupID: 472125

Follow Up By: Member - Dave .. B (SA) - Sunday, Dec 24, 2006 at 23:37

Sunday, Dec 24, 2006 at 23:37
No need for apoligies mate , hope you enjoy your GQ as much as i did mine they're an excellent vehicle , as for the winch and other gear just go with what you can afford , i have a winch on my GU and as yet have'nt used it apart from the time i pulled my sons VL commy back into shape after he had a slight mishap with the gutter ..lol...but i feel secure in the fact that when i head up to the cape later next year should i need it , its there ......cheers mate from my family to yours , have a great xmas and a perfect new year .......Cheers .......Dave
FollowupID: 472134

Follow Up By: 4wdNewbie - Sunday, Dec 24, 2006 at 23:45

Sunday, Dec 24, 2006 at 23:45
Same goes mate. Have a top crissy break!
FollowupID: 472136

Reply By: Kiwi Kia - Sunday, Dec 24, 2006 at 06:41

Sunday, Dec 24, 2006 at 06:41
Why do you think you need a winch ?

Travel in the company of others and no your limitations.

A winch would be a nice toy but unless you really have a use in mind I would say you can put it near the bottom of your list.
AnswerID: 211850

Follow Up By: Ozrover - Sunday, Dec 24, 2006 at 08:16

Sunday, Dec 24, 2006 at 08:16
Yep!
I had a 8000 lb Warn winch on the Series 1 Disco for 7 years & used it 5 times.
Once to lift a broken V8 trike onto a trailer, once to recover a 2wd car from a ditch, used it a couple of times to winch a heavy trailer into the garage & used it once to recover myself from a bottomless bog hole. (Alcohol induced!) 8 (>

The Series II Disco hasn't got one, ETC & three diff locks get me through most places, but I will invest in a Tirfor type hand winch shortly! (just in case).

FollowupID: 472038

Follow Up By: 4wdNewbie - Sunday, Dec 24, 2006 at 22:39

Sunday, Dec 24, 2006 at 22:39
Lol never really thought of why... just kinda seems like the 4wdrivey thing to do... :P Plus ive got an unsightly winch hole in my bar but i guess that doesnt justify spending over $1000...
FollowupID: 472126

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Sunday, Dec 24, 2006 at 15:54

Sunday, Dec 24, 2006 at 15:54
IMHO this is what I reckon:

Spotlights are over rated unless you do ALOT of dirving in the bush/really open road by yourself.

With me, the missus and the two kids I very rarley get the chance to turn the bloody things on, the only night driving we normally do is in the city, can't use them anyway! The odd couple of times I have been driving in the bush at night, I've been with others who have 5 million spotlights on their vehicles, so they just go in front (only one person can use them in a convoy anyway!).

Winch, yeah it'd be nice, but really not a neccesary thing unless your geocaching out by yourself in the pilbra or somthing! ;-) I've never had one (due to a lack of funds, not fomr a lack of wanting one) and never missed it.

Instead of spending $500 on a pair of spotlights (you say it's already got some) spend it on some new springs and give her a 2" lift or somthing, you'll get far more use out of that!

AnswerID: 211902

Follow Up By: 4wdNewbie - Sunday, Dec 24, 2006 at 22:45

Sunday, Dec 24, 2006 at 22:45
Ok lights and winch are gettin lowered on my to-buy list... the lift kit sounds like a nice idea.. only worry is gettin into the shopping carparks! There aint much clearance as it is with the roofracks at some of the shopping malls.
FollowupID: 472128

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Monday, Dec 25, 2006 at 07:46

Monday, Dec 25, 2006 at 07:46
Meh, I used to worry of such things, but after the first couple of "top outs" in shopping centre carparks (never trust those bloody height signs, they are full of crap) I just park outside or on the roof now days.... I stopped worrying about getting it in the garage a while ago (bloody 70's style arches!) so now it sits in the drive and the roof paint has faded, but meh, nothing a coat of fisholine doesn't stop rusting... I guess at the end of the day, it's a 4by, and that's what I use it for so that's my priority - everything else is secondary.
FollowupID: 472145

Reply By: 4wdNewbie - Sunday, Dec 24, 2006 at 22:57

Sunday, Dec 24, 2006 at 22:57
Thanks for all the input guys! Keep it comin! As far as the snatch strap goes,

Howsat?

Straun Super Strap

Its the "new thing" apparently :P

4x4 Australia..the issue about 4by gear quoted it at $138, which i assume is for the thinner one.

Cheers for any replies,
Anand.
AnswerID: 211940

Follow Up By: 4wdNewbie - Monday, Dec 25, 2006 at 23:05

Monday, Dec 25, 2006 at 23:05
Found a recovery kit in a 4x4 mag,

9m x 8000kg snatch trap
20m x 4500kg winch extension
3m x 12000kg tree trunk protector
5m x 8mm drag chain (ends included)
2 x 4.7T bow shackles
Snatch block
Leather gloves
Kit bag
NATA tested.
[Funky green and orange colours :P]

cost is $285 from Ironman suspension...

Cheers and hope crissy brought all you wanted and more.
FollowupID: 472181