new landcruiser
Submitted: Monday, Dec 25, 2006 at 21:08
turbo 79series
Happy Christmas everyone.Just trying to find out if anyone has heard more about the new landcruiser ute they are bringing out next year have heard they are getting rid of the 70 series ute altogether .I tried to download a picture of the new 200 series that i saw with none of the body being hidden by protective material that we have all seen and it looks like a stretched out Prado but time will till and time will change a lot of peoples
views on looks.But i think the motor changes will be very welcomed as i think Toyota will be at the front of the list with radical new power increases something
well over 220kw in the wagons .Hope someone else has a heap of information as
well .Bye
Reply By: 4wdNewbie - Monday, Dec 25, 2006 at 23:12
Monday, Dec 25, 2006 at 23:12
I read all about the 200 series at my mates' dads newso. Wish I had brought the mag home with me now, ida quoted it for ya... Umm i think it was an issue with the 2006 4wd of the year. Silver shiny writing on the front... Sorry i cant be more helpfull...
Reply By: Richard W (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 06:20
Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 06:20
I believe someone had some info available through the 4WD Monthly
forum.
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 09:41
Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 09:41
Not a whole lot of info about the 70series replacement. But from what I've picked up:
#1 151Kw single turbo intercooled V8 diesel. Designated 1VD-FTV so the new vehicles will be VDJ76, 78 and 79.
#2 Wider chassis and body to accommodate motor etc
#3 Hopefully rigid front end
#4 Arrives May 2007.
#5 rumours that the troopie will have 4 doors and maybe a dual cab option.
#6 Airbags??
#7 I gather that production of 1Hz and 1HD-FTE has now ceased, so its all happening.
Its all rumour - not long before we find out for sure.
The 200series wagon will have twin turbo, 200Kw V8, and will come out Oct 2007
Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 11:23
Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 11:23
Hi Phil,
The troopy, with those prospects would even get this Nissan man looking in the Toyota yard again. Maybe not buy one but worth a look nonetheless.
Regards, Trevor.
Follow Up By: equinox - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 13:34
Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 13:34
Phil,
There is a five seater Troopie on Toyota's website here
There is no pictures, is that a 4 door???
Follow Up By: turbo 79series - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 13:56
Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 13:56
gday Equinox nice truck i just bought a new rv o6 ute as
well a blue one very happy thought i would get the last of the utes before they change least this way in another couple of years when they sort everything out with the new series i can go and buy one.
Follow Up By: equinox - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 14:20
Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 14:20
hi turbo,
same idea here now - I'd love to buy a 5 seater ute in a few years if I could.
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 16:04
Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 16:04
Phil G
Toyota had to something and do it now because the mining industry has been swinging over to Nissan because of the Safety Issues on
mine sites, All of a sudden they want all the safety gear in the vehicles like Air-Bags and side impact protection etc, 4 doors so passengers can get out easier without breaking necks.Plus the fact that the present shape has been around a long time now but that should not be an issue, look at the Defender, "If it's not broke don't fix it" The 75-78-79 series has been a good reliable 4x4 ,and so has the old 1HZ motor. will be interesting to see how the new unproven style goes in Australian conditions.
Doug
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 16:43
Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 16:43
equinox
Yes
mine seats 5 and has 4 doors LOL....
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 19:11
Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 19:11
Maybe 6 doors then :-)))
Reply By: TUFF IFS LUX - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 12:55
Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 12:55
turbo 79 series - gimme your email address and i'll forward that which you seek!
Follow Up By: turbo 79series - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 13:46
Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 13:46
Aye mate for the last hour i have been trying to email you on the 4wd monthly site its F----------ed your a life saver.MY email is landcruiserturbo@hotmail.com thanks mate will chat privately too.
Follow Up By: turbo 79series - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 19:51
Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 19:51
Thanks for the information Tuff Ifs Lux that is the best info i have found has put my mind at ease the new ute will be sick just wait a couple of years to sort everything out o8 model has airbags sounds almost like the landcruiser ute is making a move from the stoneage and i mean this in a good way as i have only ever owned landcruiser utes the new rv ute is my 7th one and second turbo cruiser i cant wait till its time to buy a new one a v8 turbo deisel is F---king insane i cant wait to see it
Follow Up By: turbo 79series - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 19:53
Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 19:53
Thanks everyone so far please keep the info coming
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 23:30
Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 23:30
You could try searching this site, the photos have been posted 290480239480239402398 times in the last 18mths
Follow Up By: turbo 79series - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 07:35
Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 07:35
Have you seen many of the ute Truckster