waeco vs Engal - the decision

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 01:12
ThreadID: 40640 Views:6192 Replies:21 FollowUps:37
Well I know this has been done to death but as far as I am concerned the decision is final. The missus insisted we take the cheap and nasty pos despite the cord being to short to reach into the back (cheap cost cutting) wheras the engals was long enough . the epiphiny was when the waeco crapped itself with error light flashing letting the trkey go warm while there was another 3 engals over 10 years old purring around it to save the day - Waeco works fine as a second fridge in the living room ------ thats it

Reply By: Member - Peter D M - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 09:51

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 09:51
g,day davoe,
of course its been done to death but hopefully it will be back next year.

why would anyone buy a cheap and nasty product in the first place even though the missus wanted it.

cant wait to hear about the lack of waranty service.

hope you have a good new year
regards peter
AnswerID: 212027

Reply By: Utemad - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 09:51

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 09:51
I used to be a supporter of Waeco. However it has let me down on the last two trips. The first problem was the control board on the compressor. Replaced under warranty. However when I get it back it still had issues. Turns out the lead has turned faulty even though visually it is perfect.
The control board issue meant the compressor ran constantly without actually cooling so the 2nd battery went flat for no benefit. The second problem meant the compressor ran with minimal cooling as the fridge thought the battery was already flat when really it was just a voltage drop across the Waeco cord.

I borrow Dad's Engel when my Waeco isn't playing the game. It is much heavier, has an unpractical layout and cost twice as much but it runs and runs and runs.
AnswerID: 212028

Reply By: Jimbo - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 10:11

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 10:11
Kelvinator for me every time.
AnswerID: 212039

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 10:16

Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 10:16
No, I must disagree Jimbo - the Phillips is the only way to go.

Ours is over 24 years old, still running fine, and after 17 interstate relocations has probably done more miles than most camping fridges!

Pete
Any mug can be uncomfortable out bush

FollowupID: 472435

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 10:30

Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 10:30
I agree, but I didn't put Philips up because you can't get them anymore.

Our Philips turns 24 in January. Like me, it's a bit ugly but still works like a charm.
FollowupID: 472550

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 11:19

Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 11:19
I love these fridge debates, you can hear the line wizzing off the reel after the first bite. People trying to justify their purchase, people trying to convert others who are firm in their convictions, and people just sticking in an oar for the fun of it!

I still think the best camping fridge I saw was one being used by the Army's 4 Field Survey in the Kimberly. It was the size of a small 4x4, you could walk inside, the fridge side was full of beer (about a pallet and a half) and the freezer was stacked with frozen steaks and barramundi fillets. Shame about the genny you needed to run it.

Personally I own a 50 litre Chescold 3 way bought new in Darwin in '94 and a 2001 Waeco CF50 bought second hand last year. Both have served us well within their limitations.

The Chescold was the only option at the time because we had no 12V power source for camping. I only got the Waeco because the price was red hot from a bloke who could no longer head out there because of poor health. If he was selling another brand of compressor fridge I would have bought that.

Pete

Any mug can be uncomfortable out bush

FollowupID: 472557

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 10:14

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 10:14
pretty sure it was due to the notorious waeco sesativity to voltage - the problem occured when we plugged it into another vehicle so the Missus could drive to town (she had one look at the bush and promptly left me there and drove to the nearest town for the day)
the 10pluss yer old engal plugged into the same system purred away while the waeco spat the dummy. So it really was a head to head test. It is currently working fine plugged into the mains as a 2nd fridge which is where it will stay in future
AnswerID: 212040

Follow Up By: raunchy - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 23:32

Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 23:32
Waeco MUST have HEAVY wiring. It is not hte problem with the fridge. All vehicles manufactured today DO NOT have heavy enough wiring. You will probably find the Waeco would have run fine with the engine running as the voltage is up. There is a strap setting you can change to make the compressor run at a similair power consumption ot the engel, but htis means the fridge will run more often.
I have had a Waeco since 2000, same issues when running on thin wiring.
No probs since upgrading the wiring. Have also since purchased 4 more Waecos for the work cars. No Problems even without dual batts, as long as the wiring is upgraded
FollowupID: 472524

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 10:28

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 10:28
I've always resisted these types of posts in the past, but now I'm ready to stick my 3 cents worth in.

In our 4x4 club there are all sorts of fridge set-ups. Many blokes have Waeco's of various capacities, whilst a few others have Liemacks and of course then there are the Engels.

Without a shadow of a doubt, the only ones who never seem to have any issues (they don't even seem to talk about fridges; just like nobody talks about how good their wheel-brace is, cos it just sits there and does it's job whenever it's needed), are the Engel owners. On any given trip, a Waeco owner will be asking for a loan of a multimeter or seeking some advice about what various flashing lights might mean etc. Even the Liemack owners have their issues from time to time........the fact that they HAVE TO have their dual battery systems permanently coupled in parrallel (as opposed to a switchable solenoid etc), is enough to turn me off. Having said that, the Liemacks do have less troubles than the Waeco owners seem to endure. I know there is one EO member who has a 110 litre Waeco who has had endless issues with it cutting out too early when voltage has dropped to a figure a fare bit higher than what Waeco publish as the cut-off voltage. He has now coupled his dual batteries permanently together and I think his fridge runs much better now. (g'day Pesty!!! hahaha)
AnswerID: 212042

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 10:50

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 10:50
Did you get new fishing tackle for xmas???
Its working already.
Throw out a load of crap and wham, you get a taker???
Yes i do keep a good eye on my electric system as a 110 litre fridge/freezer of any brand draws a lot of current and yes i dont like dual batt setups, have you forgoten what david has done with his, and merv???
My waeco 110 is 4 years old yesterday and yes i have had an issue with it, but was caused by a faulty Gen set as well.
I am rapt in it as it runs 24/7 and is bashed around all over the country for 1000k a week, every week, working and camping.
Those that have trouble with the error light always have an error in my experience? if the voltage is low yes an engel will drain your battery, but the waeco also has an override switch which will do the same!
Any way Mr Roach at least I only have to keep an eye on the my battery conditions and the fridge, NOT THE WHOLE BLOODY CAR, morning, noon and night , the bloody bonnet is up fixing this, that, and the other.
MATE you need a reliable fridge , cos you dont have time to fiddle with it anyway!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Cheers Pesty
FollowupID: 472197

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 10:53

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 10:53
Yep, that new lure works like a charm!!!!!!!!!!!! hahahahaha
FollowupID: 472198

Follow Up By: Grizzle - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 11:41

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 11:41
Devastatingly Harsh but devastatingly TRUE!!! (I have a Waeco CF50).

Had problems with it at first (Lid and Controller) but is now working well. The only reason I didn't buy an Engel was they didn't have a 50 litre.

FollowupID: 472204

Follow Up By: acdc - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 12:30

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 12:30
Roachie,
See what happens when you tell the truth!! and give an honest opinion from experience!!
FollowupID: 472212

Follow Up By: D-Jack - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 15:09

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 15:09
Roachie, thanks for an objective post - the results from your 4by club speak louder than 1000 people coming up and saying that their Wacoe is fine, I don't see many Engle owners popping up their heads saying their Engel has been OK - they don't have to as you said.
I bought an Engel 8 years ago because I borrowed one which was 20 years old on a previous trip - that one is still going, still nearly freezes on no 2 setting!
FollowupID: 472237

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 15:43

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 15:43
Hi Roachie,
Hope you have had a great Christmas and thanks for that little bit of info on Steve.
The last time we had this similar issue, Steve he was telling how good the Wacoes were, and I even offered to sell him a new Engel.

If anyone in your club or anyone on this forum is looking for a new 40 litre Engel, complete with Genuine Engel transit bag, they can contact me at Dunstan's 08 - 88422 144. We are selling them for $1079 complete. You will not get a better price anywhere in SA

Stephen/Clare SA

FollowupID: 472246

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 15:58

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 15:58
No worries Stephen,

I have a book full of low-down muck on our club member "Steve".......... He always seems to pop his head up just at the right time, just begging for someone to take a pot-shot at him.....hahahaha

Thanks for info on the Engel; that is a good price. However, I am not expecting to have to buy a new one for 20 years or so......hahahaha

FollowupID: 472249

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 16:15

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 16:15
Heh Mr Roach,
Funny how you forgot to tell them that you updated your engel a couple years ago because yours was 5 years old and you were worried it was gunna kak itself !!!
No way you will chance havin it for 20 years.
Just like the trol that ya never gunna get rid of??? its nearly on the market ! LOL

Ow and be careful about publishing, too many long nose stories, about club members or we might have to delv into the archives and drag out some home truths about some of your mishaps???

Cheers Pesty
FollowupID: 472259

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 16:43

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 16:43
Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

Now I know why Stephen L is seeking comfort in Mr Roach's dribble!
Just noticed its his birthday and he has obviously had toooooo much punch !!!
Its probably warm too, being kept in the engel LOL

Happy birthday Stephen, You are older than me arent you? hahahhaahaha

Cheers Pesty
FollowupID: 472268

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 19:30

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 19:30
acdc took hook line and sinker.
FollowupID: 472303

Follow Up By: acdc - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 19:58

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 19:58
LOL!
FollowupID: 472312

Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 10:33

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 10:33
Evakool.

As reliable as Engel without the massive battery drain and excessive weight.

No flashing lights or plasticky bits to go wrong like Waeco.

Aussie made.

End of story.
AnswerID: 212043

Follow Up By: Oldsquizzy (Kununurra) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 11:13

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 11:13
Same here. Evakool. Up and down the Gibb, Duncan,Tanami in the RAC car or truck and then back into personal car and never an issue . Dont even have to think about it.
FollowupID: 472200

Reply By: BenSpoon - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 11:31

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 11:31
Hey mate. Looks like I missed you in perth again- I just got back to work this morning.

I picked up an ex exploration engel not too long ago. The one thing that bleep s me with the engel is how weak the handles are. Waecos can be tied down with the handles but the engel bends and buckles way too easily. Aside from that I reckon theres bugger all difference. To stop the low volts cutout, flick the emergency switch on the waeco.
AnswerID: 212048

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 11:43

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 11:43
just stirring things up. I am on holidays atm and came bck from Wellington dam/honeymoon pool. Had xmas there with Bundy Boy. Tomorrow I will be heading to the SW for A week but ater that I dunno. Dont have to be back at work till the 17th (or is it 16th??)
Cant see an emergency switch
FollowupID: 472205

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 12:36

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 12:36
The engel tie downs are the answer. The bits of steel that bolt on under the handle that you can use turnbuckles or whatever you like on. Dunno why they aren't just standard. Must cost all of 20 cents each to make.

FollowupID: 472213

Reply By: Macca_GU - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 11:51

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 11:51
IMHO, It all comes down to personel experience. If you need to replace a failed product, any product....JUST out or warranty, no matter how good people tell you it is, Who would buy the same again ??? My 60 ltr Engel failed JUST out of warranty, Unlucky ? maybe. But to repair was over $1000. I wasn't going to fork out another $1600 for a new one. I'll take the 80 ltr Waeco thanks. No issues after 2 years (Touch wood) AND I can still bend over and pick up my stubbie AFTER I have had to lift it into the back of my truck.

Cheers, Macca
AnswerID: 212052

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 12:38

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 12:38
That's what the implied warranty section of the Trade Practices Act is for. (Vic TPA)

A $1600 fridge should be reasonably expected by the consumer to well out last it's warranty period.

You might have to do some homework in that situation but you won't have to pay for the repair if you do, unless they can prove negilgent use on your part eg. huge ding in the case where it fell out of the fourbie.

FollowupID: 472214

Reply By: Mainey (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 11:55

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 11:55
Reefer Premier.....
and for ALL the same reasons mentioned above, however the Premier also has an "independent" Freezer, unlike ALL the before mentioned fridge's.

The old adage "if you can't afford to fill the tank, don't buy a v8" also could apply to the method used to power your fridge, if you want a L0W cost and L0W power drain AND therefore L0W performance also, you indeed can use a small battery, however for larger capacity and higher performance refrigeration systems, yes, you will NEED a much larger battery system, it's really only common sense.
AnswerID: 212053

Reply By: scottcamp - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 12:02

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 12:02
Hi Guys,

Merry christmas to you all.

My 2 cents on the fridge debate. I have a waeco CF-50 and CF-18 for over 3 years now and the have been battered about in the back of my patrol for years and as yet not one issue, touch wood. They are perfect and i would recommend one all day long.

But then again i might carry some luck a 3.0 patrol and it get abused plenty and now over a year old and not a single problem.

Scott
AnswerID: 212055

Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 13:57

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 13:57
Oh my God!! A Waeco AND a Patrol...what luck!!!

I have a waeco CF-110 and no probs in 3 years or is it a bit longer...and I have a Rodeo - does that count?

Hope you all had a good and safe Chrissy..

Grrr!!!
FollowupID: 472231

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 12:04

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 12:04
An 80lt Waeco fom the fridge shop now 4yrs old ,never misses a beat ,never a flashing light , a 15lt Engle bought 2nd hand ,now probably 6yrs old ,has no lights to flash ,never misses a beat either ,trouble is the Engle is to small for a full days beer qty,LOL.
AnswerID: 212056

Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 12:40

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 12:40
Proof will be in 20 years when we can still post and compare how many Engels and how many Waeco's are still running.

I reckon I know the winner.

AnswerID: 212058

Follow Up By: Member - Dave .. B (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 19:04

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 19:04
i have a waeco , had it for 5yrs now , no probs ....as for the 20 years unless your physcic how the F***k would you know the winner ??? your just assuming you know !!.......Cheers .....Dave
FollowupID: 472297

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 19:30

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 19:30
So you know the winner ??? !!!!!!! I realy truly believe you !!!! While your in the physic frame of mind would you please tell us next Saturdays $33 MIL lotto numbers , LOL.
FollowupID: 472302

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 21:59

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 21:59
reck·on Pronunciation (rkn)
v. reck·oned, reck·on·ing, reck·ons
v.tr.
1. To count or compute: reckon the cost. See Synonyms at calculate.
2. To consider as being; regard as. See Synonyms at consider.
3. Informal To think or assume.
v.intr.
1. To make a calculation; figure.
2. To rely with confident expectancy. See Synonyms at rely.
3. Informal To think or assume.

Yep. I reckon I assumed it.

2 5 32 41 23 39 with supps of 12 18

I reckon they could be the numbers you're looking for. Not necessarily in that order though...

FollowupID: 472350

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 13:09

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 13:09
Since when did you ever listen to your missus????

AnswerID: 212061

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 09:29

Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 09:29
hows it going. Iam rapidly getting the hang of this pleasing the missus thing - First thing I learnt was that if everything she says isnt followed by a yes dear then I spend the week pleasing myself
FollowupID: 472422

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 10:27

Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 10:27
bleep er!! careful of the resulting blisters lol.

Next she will be wanting that pony tail of yours removed??? ;-)

FollowupID: 472437

Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 15:26

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 15:26
Yeh , I'll add my two cents worth two . After having a small eutectic Autofridge then upgrading to the 73 litre model , I am a real supporter of the brand . They have done heaps of rough miles .

I wanted a second fridge last winter , so I bought a Waeco . It worked OK , but the plasticy hatch got broken in the first week . That would never happen to an Engel , an Autofridge or any other well made fridge

I guess you get what you pay for , and Waecos are made for a price.

Willie.
AnswerID: 212073

Follow Up By: Kumunara (NT) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 18:32

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 18:32
Willie

I often wonder why people on this site seem to focus on waeco and engel. Is it like falcon and commodore?

Just as I would not purchase a falcon or commodore I would not purchase a waeco or an engel. I have a trailblazer which is a far superior fridge.

I have a friend who is the owner of a eutectic autofridge and have been on trips with him. That too is a far superior fridge. He had a waeco prior to that and got rid of it because of the problems he had with it.
Life's great and it just keeps getting better

FollowupID: 472291

Follow Up By: Crackles - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 20:11

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 20:11
You have to laugh at all the dribble as the Waeco & Engel tribes try to justify their 2nd rate purchases. I agree Kumunara there are far superior brands built in Oz than those two. Here's a thought. When a company sells an insulated transit bag aren't they just admitting they never put enough insulation in the fridge to start with?
Cheers Craig.........
Autofridge :-)
FollowupID: 472318

Follow Up By: D-Jack - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 21:49

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 21:49
Crackles, are you saying your fridge has 100% thermal retention? If this is correct you would only ever have to switch the fridge on initially and only when it is opened, and when opened only run for a few seconds to return to temperature. If not, then it could benefit from extra insulation. My fridge works fine without the cover (which I bought only for protection, actually it was thrown in with the deal) but probably works even better with it on.
FollowupID: 472343

Follow Up By: Kumunara (NT) - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 10:09

Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 10:09
D-Jack

My trailblazer doesn't need a cover for extra insulation.

It definately doesn't need a cover for protection. It is built to handle Australian conditions.

Life's great and it just keeps getting better

FollowupID: 472432

Follow Up By: Crackles - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 21:02

Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 21:02
No Jack, I'm not saying any fridge has 100% thermal retention, that would be stupid even suggesting it. It's just some company's choose to put enough insulation in to suit the Aussie heat (35 degrees+) where others don't. I did have an Engel for 15 years & although it worked well in mild conditions it dragged the guts out of the battery every time it got hot. (maybe I should have bought a transit bag;-) As for extra insulation on an Autofridge that really isn't neccesary as the Eutectic fluid, insulation thickness & large condensor panels are matched for Aussie conditions without having a huge case that wouldn't fit in a 4by. Engel & Waeco on the other hand have chosen to be lighter & more compact at the expense of insulation.
Cheers Craig...............
FollowupID: 472505

Reply By: GrahamL - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 20:41

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 20:41
but!!!! what about the scorpion fridge, we have one and it works great. i know it is a modern one but it works well and does not make a heap of noise when on.
AnswerID: 212108

Follow Up By: D-Jack - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 21:50

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 21:50
Are they the ones from Repco, if so they look pretty good, not too dissimilar to an Engel anyway.
FollowupID: 472344

Reply By: Jimbo - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 21:56

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 21:56
I still marvel at the discussions about fridges.

People get their back up like you called their wife a tart, if you dared suggest their fridge isn't any good.

Get this, it's really simple: they keep stuff cold. They won't cure cancer or solve world hunger. Its a chilling device. It removes heat. Ipso facto, it keeps stuff cold.
AnswerID: 212119

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 22:44

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 22:44
Jimbo,
Spot on observation mate. Only trouble is that some of them DON'T (keep stuff cold). Now if you're at home and the Kelvinator carks it, no real drama; drop by the local Retravision store and buy a new one (or pay a nice service man to call by your house and he might be able to fix it for ya).

Problem arises when you've spent ya hard-earned on a P.O.S. that carks itself in the middle of the Canning trip that you've planned for the past 2 years and the missus is cutting up a bit dark cos the Chardonay and prawns are off like a bride's nighty and you've gotta put up with copping an absolute bollocking from her for the next 2 weeks + you're both gunna be looking forward to eating baked bloody beans for the rest of the trip. Not to mention the beer supply! hahahaha
FollowupID: 472363

Reply By: fruers - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 22:40

Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 22:40
If this is the CF-50, search the forum for post id 39735, it might be your problem. A few people on this forum have had the same issue and the repairers are beefing up the fuse during repair. You'd think that Waeco would recall the fridges rather than sully their name further, but as people have mentioned their niche in the market doesn't seem to be dependability.
If anyone is in the market for a fridge i would suggest they call or drop in to an engel and/or waeco repairer (if your choice is between those brands) and see what they have to say, no point listening to retail stores as they fob all warranty off to the repairer (when they say "nah, we don't get any fridges back mate" they're speaking in a literal sense).
We bought Waeco because the 40L engel was slightly too small, Engel would have gotten our business otherwise... mine is going in the back of the car for 12 months continuous use, so hopefully we won't be kicking ourselves for wanting a few extras ales ;).
AnswerID: 212128

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 03:31

Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 03:31
"40L engel was slightly too small"

how would you make it bigger?
FollowupID: 472410

Reply By: Gronk - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 10:30

Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 10:30
Someone mentioned a Trailblazer ?? Sounds terrific, but can I get a 60ltr for less than $1400 ?? If so, I'll have one thanks !!

Same old story, if everybody could afford to drive around in $75,000 T/D Landcruisers, the cheaper model 4x4's would be obsolete ??

I'm looking at a 60ltr fridge, but don't want to pay 15 or 16 hundred bucks for one. Like the Engel, but geez its BIG. Like the Waeco, but not sure of the reliability.
Like a few of the others, but don't like the price ??

Its a fairly big investment for something thats gonna sit in the garage for a lot of its life ??
AnswerID: 212173

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 13:47

Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 13:47
You hit the nail on the head.... you only get what you are prepared to pay for!!

That's why there are cheaper fridges and better performing models.
If you buy the cheaper fridge you have to expect it to lack something the more expensive models may have, ask yourself why some ppl are prepared to buy the more expensive fridge - IF it can't be actually proven in some way to be more efficient than the cheaper models available.
FollowupID: 472455

Follow Up By: Gronk - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 18:38

Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 18:38
Its not to say the more expensive ones are better performing, seeing as nearly all of them have the same compressor ( danfoss bd35 ) but MAYBE the dearer ones have better quality electronics ??? So MAYBE less problems ??

Having said that, If I was going to buy an expensive 4x4 I would like to know what I was getting that made it dearer than a cheaper one ?? Name alone thesedays doesn't quite cut it, they have to back it up with results !!
FollowupID: 472486

Reply By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 22:47

Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 22:47
I don't really like the smaller Waeco's - mainly the lid ( I had a stronger one that worked better on my lunchbox at school!) but I like the 80 litre waeco I bought earlier this year. Time will tell, but so far It has worked faultlesley (unlike my spelling) and I have had very good performances out of it power wise. It had a crap instruction manual, which reinforces the age old adage that it is the first bit of packageing to be thrown away.

On the subject of transit bags...I agree to some extent that they are almost an admittance of lack of insulation. Has anyong out there got one for the 80 l waeco. I got one for xmas, and as we are having xmas in south west WA, ther was just some circuit boards and 4 fans in the stocking...sounds like a serious unit! Can't wait to get home and check it out!

Also - has anyone considered using fridge panel neatly fitted around their fridge on a slide in a wagon stroage system for increased insulation......just a thought

Cheers Andrew
AnswerID: 212254

Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 20:21

Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 20:21
Hi Davoe ,

Warming up nicely in Nullagine ?

I was just watching some American football my wife had taped for me and blow me down , on comes an ad for Waeco .

I had to laugh as the opening scene is these two tools driving along a dirt track in a spotlessly clean 4WD and they pass what looks to me like a dumped, rusty Engel by the side of the track .

Tossers .

Willie .
AnswerID: 212330

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 21:16

Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 21:16
You watch Yank "throw" ball.

That has to be more boring than Soccer LOl.
FollowupID: 472607

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 22:04

Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 22:04
It is the pits if you do not tape it and then fast forward through the ad breaks .

However , with this method I find it the most interesting game to watch . Brute force , speed , designed plays - it is the supreme game for me .

I like watching European soccer , but the local stuff I find a bit lacking in skill . My greatest love is rugby union . I find Australian Rules OK but rugby league like watching paint dry .

Going away in the New Year Jimbo ?
FollowupID: 472612

Reply By: pixiemops - Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 20:57

Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 20:57
Buy a rc1180 chescold . Easy !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
AnswerID: 212919