Ok - yous can get up me if ya wont
Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 21:52
Member - Crazy Dog (QLD)
Just a final thing for the year - a bloody good whinge...
The spelling in some of the posts is abysmal - try the spell check at the bottom of the page fer cryin out loud..... It don't take long eaver.....:))
Hey guys and gals - please be safe with the New Year coming up....
Grrr!!!
Reply By: Trevor M (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 21:54
Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 21:54
"eaver"??????
ROFLMAO
Happy New Year
Trev
Follow Up By: Trevor M (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 22:21
Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 22:21
Also hadn't previously noticed the other mistakes.... "fer cryin"
GET BACK IN YOUR KENNEL!!! LO (real) L
Trev
Follow Up By: Member - John R (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 17:21
Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 17:21
Never mind the spelling, Crazy Dog..... What about peoples' grammar?? :-))
"I had my car stolen last week".
"We were
camping up the Coorong and I had my generator chit itself".
:-)
Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 21:56
Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 21:56
Are you sure that that "Grrr" is spelled correctly?????
I reckon it needs a couple of more "rrr's" to be right????
Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 22:02
Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 22:02
What's wrong wiv my RRRRRR'ss - and annuva fing, the spell cheker accepts Grrr!!! wiv no prob OK!
Grrr!!!
Reply By: Footloose - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 21:56
Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 21:56
yous ?
Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 22:03
Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 22:03
Woz tort by Jeff Fenech ok!
Grrr!!!
Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 22:09
Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 22:09
i fink i know thu dude youse orta tri thu spul chicker tuh chek ur wurdz cause sometimes thay don sound too rite ya know dude :)))))
Reply By: Jimbo - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 22:09
Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 22:09
"Guys"???
I thought they were something to support your tent/annex.
Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 22:14
Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 22:14
You could be right. I thought it was something from the musical, "South Pacific". :)))
Reply By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 23:08
Tuesday, Dec 26, 2006 at 23:08
Minor typogrophical errors are not that difficult to get by. The real problem is us two fingered typists don't get much opportunity to correct our misteaks as there is no edit function yet...(another reason to consider a change to a commercially available
forum software????)
Reply By: fisho64 - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 02:22
Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 02:22
minor typos etc are no big deal, but some posts are so badly mispelt and the grammar so bad that hey are not decipherable.
This is usually apparent when the first reply is "Huh?" or "what the?" or "get off the turps mate"
Reply By: Member - Rotord - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 06:58
Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 06:58
Bad spelling and poor grammar are like tattoos and body piercing , they are an indication that the perpetrator is mentally challenged . Before all you bad spelling tattood and pierced members attack , I am willing to concede that ' conditions ' apply , but not many .
I have noticed lately that we have had a number of forumites having trouble with their vehicles ' breaks ' , but perhaps I was missing attempts at a pun .
My pet hate was the race caller at the
Stawell Gift , and most jockeys , who are not aware that the past tense of run is ran .
Follow Up By: Oz Travellers - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 08:48
Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 08:48
...or the people who have "draws" installed in their 4WD, instead of "drawers". Sparky
Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Friday, Dec 29, 2006 at 12:19
Friday, Dec 29, 2006 at 12:19
Does that mean when ya get gastro you have the "Rans"?
Grrr!!!
Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 09:31
Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 09:31
I consider your rant to be both appropriate and
well intentioned. It is upper crust individuals such as ourselves that will deliver this bodacious site to another level. Your sense of timing is both persipicacious and indominant.
I congratulate you for both your intestinal fortitude and forthright attitude.
Follow Up By: Gronk - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 10:05
Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 10:05
And if you typed those big words in without looking up the dictionary, you really are upper crust !!! he, he !! But admit it, you would have to have looked up "persipicacious". And by the way, what does it mean, as my dictionary doesn't have it in it ?
Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 12:57
Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 12:57
I KNOW YOU BELIEVE YOU UNDERSTAND WHAT YOU THINK WE SAID…
BUT I’M NOT SURE YOU REALISE THAT WHAT YOU HEARD IS NOT WHAT WE MEANT !
Iz this wot yoo ment?
Grrr!!!
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 14:15
Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 14:15
perspicacious is one word I have often used and I most definitely did not use a dictionary to obfuscate, although I may have embellished it with an extra "i".
let me elucidate:
perspicacious adj. Acutely insightful and wise; "much too perspicacious to be taken in by such a spurious argument"; "observant and thoughtful, he was given to asking sagacious questions"; "a source of valuable insights and sapient advice to educators"
perspicacious adj. Having or showing penetrating mental discernment; clear-sighted.
As is perfuntorily clear, it means wise, or sagacious
I defer to your reply, it is indeed illuminatory.
Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 14:23
Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 14:23
Geez Bonz, Bring on the New year.
On top of your promisy thingo's, you must use this one,
"I shalt not use BIG WORDS on the EO
Forum cos all the Cretins carn't understand them. :)))))))))))))))
Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 15:00
Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 15:00
Bonz,
FLOCCINAUCINIHILIPILIFICATION.......
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 17:02
Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 17:02
arent cretins those toasted bits of french bread?
and GIO thats a FLOCCINA bigga worda mate
Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 17:05
Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 17:05
Pretty useless to..... ;-)
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 17:08
Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 17:08
yes made worthless by deprecation hahahaha
Floccinaucinihilipilification (American English: (help·)) is "the act or habit of estimating or describing something as worthless, or making something to be worthless by deprecation".
Seems like it was a joke by a student at Eton, he found four words meaning useless and added verbose ending. Appears he had floccina else to do with his time hahahahah.
Reply By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 10:35
Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 10:35
In all honesty I think we can all be guilty of misspelling words occasionally. The thing that get up my nose is the use of "txtsp3ak" on forums. The original idea behind the text shorthand was due to the limited number of characters you could enter in one text message (160 characters including spaces), it has since evolved into an obscure way of spelling things just for the hell of it, defeating its original purpose. We don't have that limitation on forums, and most kids get taught typing at school in a formal or informal way, so there is no real reason for the shorthand as it probably takes thought to re-think the way you (mis)spell things.
Costs more and takes longer to text a conversation than it does to make a brief phone call anyway. Phone call results in more information being transferred in less time, more precisely. Only reason for a text message is to confirm spelling, or for permanent record (appointments, place names etc)
Follow Up By: nowimnumberone - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 13:16
Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 13:16
stop pickig on short hand you
Reply By: ev700 - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 12:28
Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 12:28
The reminder on the spell
check was appreciated, however there is no harm in being a bit tolerant of those who are probably better at doing things than spelling and grammar. I have seen comments from lurkers in other sites who said they were reticent to come forward because although they were long on experience their academic education had fallen short.
Some of those with excellent practical know-how must feel just as frustrated with those among us who are absolute dills when it comes to mechanical things, yet they usually tolerate our stupidity.
So go lightly on one another so I can continue to ask dumb mechanical questions without being continually scolded by smart*rses.
EV700
Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 12:59
Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 12:59
Sense of humour is in the mail...Happy New Year to you too!
Grrr!!!
Follow Up By: Member - Darren T (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 16:48
Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 16:48
Is that the same as -
Some people can spell "concrete", others can lift it. ??
Should have seen the horrid look on my face yesterday when my girlfriend spelt "picnic" as "picknick". And she works in school administration !
Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 17:26
Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 17:26
I "red penned" a letter from my son's school and sent it back marked 4/10!
The spelling and grammar were terrible. It was signed by the principle.
I didn't get a response.
Pete
Follow Up By: Member - Pedro the One (QLD) - Friday, Dec 29, 2006 at 02:59
Friday, Dec 29, 2006 at 02:59
Yo Pete ........
You didn't get a response .......... 'on principal?'
But brownie points for doing it anyway!
Agree with most comments on this thread, I find it appalling that so many of our young moderns have such an atrocious grasp of the language and grammar of today.
Some of us oldies may have a reason for not being good spellers/grammarians because of lack of education, [which overall was not in our control .......for a raft of reasons] but the youth of today have generally better access to education than we did ...... is it laziness by the students or laziness by the teachers of the current crop of teachers ??
Back in my day [here it comes!] ......... aspiring to be a teacher was considered to be a worthy goal .......... nowadays most teachers are just barely removed from student-hood anyway! But .... there are obviously many exceptions .
And yes ...... I know we used to ride horses to work then and now we drive cars !!!
And it's goodbye from him and goodbye from him !!
Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 13:33
Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 13:33
It's everywhere Crazy,
Advert in a magazine just the other day, for a well known
fridge -the brand of which shall remain anon- said that some parts were made of stainless "steal" ...........the mind boggles.
Happy New Year, or should that be 'Yeer'???
Michael
Reply By: Moggs - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 17:35
Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 17:35
I don't understand this thread. I think I better logg off and go look at the
draws in my Patrol.
Reply By: Angler - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 22:27
Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 22:27
“Eye halve a spelling chequer, it came with my pea sea. It plainly marques four my
revue miss steaks eye kin knot sea. Eye strike a key and type a word and weight four it two say
weather eye am wrong oar write, it shows me strait a weigh. As soon as a mist ache is maid it nose bee fore two long and eye can put the error rite. It’s rare lea ever wrong. Eye have run this poem threw it, I am shore your pleased two no. It’s letter perfect awl the weigh, my chequer tolled me sew.”
Apologies from Pooley
Reply By: Stu-k - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 22:31
Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 22:31
Hear hear Iz neva spela woad wong and expacte d zame ina reetun n nevda posst afta dwinking eva!! plase
Reply By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Friday, Dec 29, 2006 at 08:43
Friday, Dec 29, 2006 at 08:43
You must be supporters of the Crown;
"We brought the Queen's English to this town"
You hear people talk and you wear a frown
Go have a cup of tea and a good lie down
;-))))