Maps and Mapping Information Linls

Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 17:41
ThreadID: 40664 Views:3206 Replies:5 FollowUps:13
I am going to start work soon on another section to my website , it will be packed with information and Links to Maps and GPS' and the geography of our country , Geography and Maps were my two favorites at school ,It will be a little like my link to Meteors and Volcanoes and our Military history so I guess there will be one such member who will despise the idea and say I'm Rednecking again but I really don't give a Rat's Ar-e what he say's .
Oh i forgot to mention I also have a 4x4 page as well but be careful and not to get lost and end up on the ......Redneck page, Actually I might give a link to Pauline Hanson, Not bad looking for a Redhead ,then we can be a Redneck linked to a Redhead
Hope you all had a good xmas and are getting over the stomach pains. though it seems some are still suffering quite severely.

Doug.

Might teach my Co-Driver how to be a Redneck
!MPG:33!

Reply By: 666toy - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 19:43

Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 19:43
On ya mate lol. I wonder if my red heeler is a redneck too lol.
Look forward to your site additions. Hey does loving going bush fishing hunting & 4wdriveing camping & a little bike riding make you a redneck. Still trying to work it out. Because if it does i guess most of us here on this website are redneck lol including someone who will remain insignificant..oops i meant anonymous or did i oh well. Keep up the good work Doug & look forward to your additions................... 666TOY
AnswerID: 212224

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 20:31

Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 20:31
Hey ya Mongrel Redneck....lol thought tou might like to take a peek at the site in it's birth hour, Has a long way to go yet

members.westnet.com.au/dtilley/maps.htm

Doug

FollowupID: 472500

Follow Up By: 666toy - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 21:10

Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 21:10
how about a fishing & hunting & screwups out scrub part on your site?
Makes for a good laugh....666TOY
FollowupID: 472507

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 23:03

Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 23:03
Hey the Bloke Tony Gunter who wrote The Sunburnt Ear is in USA at the moment but has been in touch by email , He is doing a web page too in his spare time.
www.tonygunter.com/

Good to hear from you Doug ... looks like you and the dog have done a few K's together.
Left a note in your guest book ....
Travel safe mate ...
I don't have a full site yet but just so people can have an e mail address if they want to say g'day. www.tonygunter.com
I'll add some stuff to it down the track.

Tony

Doug

FollowupID: 472523

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 04:36

Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 04:36
666Toy
Check out the site now, still working it but looking ok now

FollowupID: 472534

Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 19:45

Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 19:45
Hi Doug

I have been steering clear of controversial posts....LOL

When setting up any mapping on your website please be aware of copyright.

Even though you may not be selling any maps through your website, just publishing existing maps for the general public to dowload off your website, could be an infringement of copyright.

It would be best to get permission from copyright owners before re-plublishing existing maps.

If you are going to design your own maps then there should not be a problem

AnswerID: 212225

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 20:09

Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 20:09
Willem
Thanks mate for the concern, No i won't be publishing any maps on my site but making links to them as I have done in the Impact site , As for copy rights I was going to use a picture of the Australia Army badge as a link to an ANZAC site but it is copy-righted by the Commonwealth of Australia and we don't need to upset them

Copyright
This website is the copyright of the Australian War Memorial.

You may download, display, print and reproduce this material in unaltered form only for your personal, non-commercial use or use within your organisation. Apart from any use as permitted under the Copyright Act 1968, you must not copy, adapt, publish, distribute or commercialise any material contained on this site without the permission of the Australian War Memorial.

Requests for copyright authorisation should be directed to:

Doug

FollowupID: 472497

Reply By: The Explorer - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 20:29

Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 20:29
Great work - here is another WA based site with some links to links which you may find uselful. Some are more for walking but sure you will find some good stuff..

GPS

http://www.walkgps.com/GPS%20Navigation.htm#External%20GPS%20links

(there is even a link to a link to some links (which may have more links ..but I dont have all day).

Maps

http://www.walkgps.com/useful%20links%20&%20resources%20.htm#Maps

AnswerID: 212231

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 20:42

Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 20:42
Hey thanks Greg, I was going to ask if anyone wants to have an input and we can make it a community effort, Your link is already on Greg

Either post it on this site or send direct to my email dtilley@westnet,com.au

FollowupID: 472503

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 21:03

Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 21:03
Doug - by jingoes by crikey that's noisy!:) Link to "GPS for Bushwalking"
doesn't work though..use this one (if you want)

Site Link

FollowupID: 472506

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 22:54

Wednesday, Dec 27, 2006 at 22:54
The Explorer
Yeh of course it's noisy ....ever heard a quiet Jack-Hammer.....Uh Oh ....well I guess one thats not being used. When that little blighter finishes work it will be quiet , but I can't hear it when I'm working on the page, oh and another thing I do know hoew to spell LINKin the heading damn it was dull in here for a while and my big finger can hit the wrong button

Doug

FollowupID: 472522

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 09:59

Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 09:59
You have been a busy boy - looks good

FollowupID: 472543

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 10:08

Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 10:08
Morning Greg
Little bit of feed back needed, I have just expanded wide screen to work as wide screen on the internet as well , I have had it for a while now TCL TV/Monitor and have been unable to get it to work right with the computer until I just downloaded some graphics drivers and now it's fine so I have began to do my pages in wide screen , I believe there is an overlap but the bottom slider will move it over anyhow, I think the wide screen will more popular as time goes by anyhow , my computer settings are now set at 1280 X 768 and the photo's are not out of shape and look really great.

Doug

FollowupID: 472546

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 10:43

Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 10:43
Yes - I just have "normal" screen on this computer and there is a small bit of overlap + slider. Kids have wide screen LCD (yes I get the old one) so will see what it look like on that later. Yes most (?) new computers come with wide screen now so you may as well make it as good as you can.

Here are some other links you may wish to included on you page...

Hydrographic Charts

www.hydro.gov.au/prodserv/prodserv.htm

MapConnect - make your own maps

www.ga.gov.au/mapconnect/

250K Geology Maps

www.geoscience.gov.au/geoportal/250/

DOIR - Geological Survey of WA - Free maps and publications download

Site Link

FollowupID: 472552

Reply By: Member - Jay Gee (WA) - Friday, Dec 29, 2006 at 13:40

Friday, Dec 29, 2006 at 13:40
Very good. I don't think you have fully realised yet the size of the task you have taken on. You are welcome to steal anything of mine at Site Link

Jeff
AnswerID: 212406

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Friday, Dec 29, 2006 at 14:21

Friday, Dec 29, 2006 at 14:21
Ha Ha Heeeeee ....steal anything be buggered I TOOK THE LOT all in one sweep of the cursor now it;s linked in . at the bottom of the GPS column

Doug

FollowupID: 472687

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Friday, Dec 29, 2006 at 19:14

Friday, Dec 29, 2006 at 19:14
The more the merrier - flog this as well..(assuming you find it relevant)

An Up-to-Date List of Free GPS Software

www.maps-gps-info.com/fgpfw.html

FollowupID: 472697

Reply By: wandera - Sunday, Dec 31, 2006 at 05:23

Sunday, Dec 31, 2006 at 05:23
i just had a look at your site, it is incredible, i have just began to use a GPS and have yet to get the software to link it to the pc, but im sure by using your great site and the links you have on it i will find all i need to get me going, thanks for the great site and keep up the good work for us novices to use
wandera
AnswerID: 212545