Submitted: Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 12:03
Member - Andy Q (VIC)
G'day
I have been looking into buying a slide on camper more than likely to fit a flat tray nissan patrol. Just wondering if anyone has had any experience with slide-on campers. We are, in the new year moving out of our house and travelling again, I want to have the camper and tow a trailer as
well. Any help, advice, suggestions would be appreciated.
Thank you
andy
Reply By: Member - Big Al. Gold Coast - Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 12:58
Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 12:58
Andy
After many months research we decided on a slide on camper, all fibreglass but the manufacturer failed to deliver because of manufacturing problems.
Now we have decided to go to a fibreglass canopy and use the $20 k we have saved for motel's etc. and
camp out in remote areas.
The ute will still have a bed, New fridge,stove,
water tank etc.
If you would like more info. send me a e-mail
Big Al
Follow Up By: Member - Andy Q (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 15:38
Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 15:38
G'day Big Al,
Yeah! I should really have qualified what I'm trying to do, buy or make a slide-on caravan/camper, more to the caravan side of things. At the moment we have a Jayco Outback Dove(improved to my spec) towed with a '95GQ Patrol Wagon Now we are leaving home and travelling I want to be able to tow a trailer as
well for all those little necessities.......motorcycle!!.
andy
Reply By: scooter031 - Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 13:01
Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 13:01
hi mightyQ
i have a type of slide on camper it i built to just drop on to a 5*7 trailer or a tray, ordered
mine through a local
camping store for 1800 dollars.has a king size mattress .it then folds out to a
9 foot annex and a full length awning. put
mine on the trailer and it i great.
wayne
Follow Up By: Member - John - Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 23:24
Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 23:24
scooter, would be very interested in where and how etc re your slide on camper. More info please. John
Reply By: disco1942 - Friday, Dec 29, 2006 at 00:37
Friday, Dec 29, 2006 at 00:37
Andy
Have a look at activecampers.com.au/
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Dec 29, 2006 at 09:27
Friday, Dec 29, 2006 at 09:27
Andy,
I know a couple of people with Trayon - they tend to rave about it.
They are lighter than most, very
well made and the design is not bad.
I'd suggest staying away from something too bulky or too heavy, which will compromise your offroad ability.
Theres a lot more coming onto the market now
Reply By: The Fox - Friday, Dec 29, 2006 at 12:45
Friday, Dec 29, 2006 at 12:45
I have a Carry-Me-Camper and love it. Before leaving for 13 weeks in the
kimberley last year with the missus (her first trip in it), she was worried about how comfortable it would be. I offered cabins where we coudl if required. 1 night in a cabin - 2nd last night away - and that was cause we got wet the night before.
www.candycanvas.com.au
Reply By: Member - Andy Q (VIC) - Saturday, Dec 30, 2006 at 00:25
Saturday, Dec 30, 2006 at 00:25
G'day, thanks for all the suggestions and advice, I've done a search and (I think) I've found what I'm looking for. There are quite a few makers of slide on caravan type units, have a look at these sites if you are interested,
www.conceptcaravans.com.au
www.carryvan.com
www,islandercampers.com/
www.wombato.com.au/
www.trailblazers.com/
www.utilitycampers.com/
Most of these have hard-top campers as
well as pop-up and a variety of options
Thanks again
andy
Reply By: Member - Andy Q (VIC) - Saturday, Dec 30, 2006 at 00:26
Saturday, Dec 30, 2006 at 00:26
G'day, thanks for all the suggestions and advice, I've done a search and (I think) I've found what I'm looking for. There are quite a few makers of slide on caravan type units, have a look at these sites if you are interested,
www.conceptcaravans.com.au
www.carryvan.com
www.islandercampers.com/
www.wombato.com.au/
www.trailblazers.com/
www.utilitycampers.com/
Most of these have hard-top campers as
well as pop-up and a variety of options
Thanks again
andy
Follow Up By: _gmd_pps - Saturday, Dec 30, 2006 at 01:39
Saturday, Dec 30, 2006 at 01:39
mate .. not even close
a few more
www.freedomoffroad.com.au/index4.html
www.kangacampertrailers.com.au/tray.htm
Site Link
www.outbound4wd.com.au/tray_top_camper.htm
Site Link
www.detourcampers.com/latest_action.htm
www.3dogcamping.com/uteback.html
www.possumpiggyback.com.au/
www.heaslipcampers.com.au/
www.ozcape.com.au/
www.trayon.com/
www.motorhomesaustralia.net/slide.html
from our list when we decided on ours .. and this does not include
the 25 or more US ones ...
good luck
gmd
Follow Up By: Member - Andy Q (VIC) - Saturday, Dec 30, 2006 at 12:54
Saturday, Dec 30, 2006 at 12:54
G'day gmd, thanks man, something more to think about. You've probably given me to many choices now!!.
andy
Reply By: Member - qld_bushpig - Sunday, Dec 31, 2006 at 16:30
Sunday, Dec 31, 2006 at 16:30
Hi Andy
We have had our Trayon for almost one year now and have been living in it fulltime now for 4 months. Provided you are carefull in what you choose to take, this unit is totally to our needs. Take a look at my profile for pics. We got ours second hand for $15000. Found it in Trading Post on-line.
Jack
Follow Up By: Member - Andy Q (VIC) - Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 02:25
Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 02:25
G'day qld_bushpig, thanks man!, yeah looked into the Trayon but I think we will go with either the Trailblazers One Tonne Series or the CarryVan Slide-On 300 Series
But thanks to everyone for their suggestions
andy
Reply By: BUGGER ME - Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 23:54
Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 23:54
hi andy
what a way to go ' still in the progress of building
mine 2600mm L x 1985mm w x1100mm h with a pop top roof for more head room, took it out over xmas to try and to see how it all worked so far, pretty damn
well
email me and will send some photo's maybe get some ideas
bugger me
Follow Up By: Member - Andy Q (VIC) - Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 16:56
Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 16:56
Bugger me, geez I didn't get back to this thread for a while but man I'd like to see your slide-on pop top. where are you, I'm in north east
melbourne,
Warburton.
andy_thomas44@yahoo.com.au
andy