OT, a bit: Olympus E500 dSLR camera, opinions sought?

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 17:57
ThreadID: 40684 Views:2692 Replies:12 FollowUps:10
Having looked at the competition I've narrowed things down to the Olympus E500 with twin lens kit (28-90 & 80-300 - 35mm eq.). Anyone care to offer an opinion?

mike_harding@fastmail.fm

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 18:38

Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 18:38
Mike I have been lazily looking at digital SLR's, what were your parameters for looking price/features etc? U mite save me some goating around

AnswerID: 212317

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 19:38

Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 19:38
May the goat be with you Bonz.

Few preconceived parameters: under about A$2k, high end amateur/low end pro unit (I have a soft spot for Olympus - still have my OM1 - but almost went for the Nikon D40). Broad (quality!) lens selection, impressed by the Olympus CCD in-built cleaning system (an obvious, and difficult problem for CCDs). As most of the features are software based in this new generation of SLRs I doubt "features" are really an issue and it's almost impossible to compare them between brands anyway. It was probably the on-line reviews which, finally, swung me (although the price was attractive - A$1150 with two lenses!).

www.dpreview.com/reviews/olympuse500/
Site Link

FollowupID: 472592

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Dec 29, 2006 at 08:26

Friday, Dec 29, 2006 at 08:26
Thanx MOO (Mildreds Owner/Operator). Sounds exactly like my parameters, I like the look and feel of the Nikon, never had a Nikon before, and want to buy it just before heading OS in August.

FollowupID: 472660

Reply By: Member - bushfix - Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 19:53

Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 19:53
yeah, "wait for the new model", you'll save heaps!

that does not help you sorry mate.......:)
AnswerID: 212323

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 20:05

Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 20:05
It's a fair point bushfix - but I bought my first digital camera in 2001, a Kodak DC4800 3.1MP and a 3X optical zoom for which I paid A$1200. It's still going strong.

3MP cameras are now available at around A$150 but I have 3000 exposures from my Kodak which I would not have had if I'd waited for the price to drop - as I knew it would.

Without question the price of digital SLRs will fall (was A$16,000 when I used the first Canon about 13 years ago!) but I feel that at around A$1200 it's time to move back to an SLR again and get another 3000 pics before the next development occurs :)

FollowupID: 472596

Reply By: rolande- Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 20:10

Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 20:10
G'Day Mike,

Sorry to dissapoint, but I don't believe Olympus have made a decent SLR since the OM series, bit like Pentax with the K1000 and F1.

I have a Nikon D50 and would be happy with this or the Canon EOS. Long after features are fogotten reliability will be the key, so I tend to stick with the two big brands. No use having a great gadget for that shot in the middle of ther Simpson only to find it won't work.

My D50 has 17-55mm lens and I would rarely want for anything else. You can get a D80 with lenses for under the $2K mark.

Rolande
AnswerID: 212327

Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 20:16

Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 20:16
Hi Mike ,

Something to consider . When you buy these deals where you get two lenses , the lenses are usually not very good quality . Have you thought of maybe getting a body and selecting one really good lense ?

That's what I did . I bought a Canon 300D body and bought one stunning lense which is great for cave art and also good for general stuff .

Cheers ,

Willie .
AnswerID: 212328

Follow Up By: Wetty - Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 20:33

Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 20:33
Go Canno or if you can afford it a Nikkon! Olympus and Pentax make good wheel chocks for billycarts, or a wee bit of artificial reef! My Canon 5D is an absolute pearler, mind you I would have much prefered the 1D mkII but at $10,000 was a bit out of my budget.. . . . . but I have a Birthday coming up LOL
FollowupID: 472599

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 20:49

Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 20:49
Yawn. A$10,000 buys a lot of prints for an amateur photographer - have you considered Planet Earth as a landing point?

FollowupID: 472604

Reply By: ozdragon - Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 20:19

Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 20:19
I tend to agree with Roland. I don t think much of the Olympus Digitals at all. I was a dedicated Olympus film camera user but now I use the Nikon D70 digital. Great peice of kit. Have a look at the Nikons or canons. Both very good cameras.

AnswerID: 212329

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, Dec 29, 2006 at 07:26

Friday, Dec 29, 2006 at 07:26
Could I ask you two guys to expand on why you don't like Olympus, please?
FollowupID: 472651

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Dec 29, 2006 at 08:23

Friday, Dec 29, 2006 at 08:23
yer me too, please dosclose the poorness of Olympus?

FollowupID: 472659

Reply By: GeoffMc - Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 20:55

Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 20:55
Hey Mike .... won't get into the debate over brands, but with that 80-300 you're going to need a good tripod if you want to keep it steady.

Just something else to put on your "Wish List".

AnswerID: 212335

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 22:52

Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 22:52
Just got a Pentax K-100D + 18-50 / 80-210 mm lens. $999.00 (don't you hate that)

I don't know how good it is but I know it can take a better picture than me..LoL

with all the extras total cost $1325.00

it at least looks like a camera, spent last night taking pic's of the house and the garden it does a good job

AnswerID: 212343

Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Friday, Dec 29, 2006 at 04:33

Friday, Dec 29, 2006 at 04:33
I think I've made my decision. Just a few more O'T shifts needed.

I reckon I'm going to go with the new Sony Alpha A100.

The reviews are good. It looks good, feels good and will take all my Minolta lenses.

The lenses are a considerable contributor to the decision, and I'll be buying body only but the camera will do everything I'm looking for and more.

Hard to find a bad review on it, with many suggesting that it'll rival some traditionalists favourites in other brands.

AnswerID: 212367

Reply By: Oz Travellers - Friday, Dec 29, 2006 at 06:56

Friday, Dec 29, 2006 at 06:56
I believe Cannon will be bringing out a special anniversary camera in 2007.

I have a Cannon powershot, somehow the flash board blew out, it went off like a gunshot when I was taking my grandkids with the town mayor LOL. Cannon took over 3 months to repair it on warranty so I was not impressed at all with the service and nervous about buying a more expensive SLR Cannon.

I go to a digital art group and one of the lecturers also sells cameras, I know he favours Cannon but quite a few of the other photographers in the group don't. He seems to think I would be very pleased with the results of an SLR camera.

Like Mike I would like something at the top end for amateurs and the bottom for professionals LOL.

I would also like something not too heavy to carry around, but I think this might be impossible in an SLR.

My favourite camera is my Aldi Traveller, it fits in a pocket or handbag and weighs next to nothing and the shots are ok, even the odd good one :). I think you can get them on special for under $100.

Hope we get to see the results of the new cameras, a picture tells a thousand words.

Carolyn
AnswerID: 212368

Reply By: Member - Alastair D (NSW) - Friday, Dec 29, 2006 at 11:58

Friday, Dec 29, 2006 at 11:58
Mike,
No opinion on the Olympus other than having an OM1 years ago - worked well until another person took a liking to it at a BBQ.

Bought my wife a Canon 30 D for Christmas with one of the new 28 - 105 Image stabiliser lens - paid much more than I intended but it is great and our other Canon EF lenses from the film based EOS 35 fit.

My liking Canon is based on many years of realibility and the fact that they maintain backward compatibility of the lenses over many models.

The deals advertised over Christmas for all sorts of cameras were amazing - highly competive business.

Emjoy whatever you get.

alastair
AnswerID: 212400

Reply By: Member - RockyOne - Friday, Dec 29, 2006 at 12:02

Friday, Dec 29, 2006 at 12:02
Hi Mike & Bonz..Suggest you buy for two main reasons: (1) Quality of the "glass" (2) Proven quality in the digital aspect,be it CMOS or whatever. A further suggestion is to only purchase a camera with "3 legs". The three legs add further quality to your results,no matter how good the camera quality is.."Three legs" you ask..Yes! A digital camera with only a rear screen to compose/take photo with is,by my standard, a "two legged" camera,subject to some shake (read blurrs) unless used by an expert rifle marksman (controlled breathing) where as the camera with the addition of a optical viewer (placed against the eye socket surrounds.bone) adds the stability of the "third leg" rather like a tripod..The resultant improvements will show,most likeley,in lower light situations,when the camera or operator has selected a slower shutter speed to obtain more light*..The suggestion to also checkout the new Sony 100 SLR which has thousands of Minolta lens (new/used) available (*cloudy.morning.evening:some of the best times to photograph) is valid..Camera is light enough to not hinder those with outdoor pursuits,yet still derive the benefits of the proven SLR platform.The Nikons are proven products (I have many 35mms and the digital Kodak SLR/n in a Nikon basic body/lens mount)) in digital and I find it hard to follow that the Olympus brand,so well accepted in the medical field,would be anything but a good performer..Sorry! That should confuse anyone.Enjoy.RockyOne!MPG:8!
AnswerID: 212401

Reply By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Friday, Dec 29, 2006 at 19:48

Friday, Dec 29, 2006 at 19:48
Great well built camera.

Just had a woman on a photography workshop I led in Emerald with one ... great pics and easy as pie to use.

Excellent choice if you aren't into collecting lenses and the like.

It is a 4:3 aspect ratio camera however, so if you are printing from it, you will have to be careful about how you crop to fit (for instance) 6"x4" postcard prints.

If you want any more info, drop me a note: andrew@vividadventures.com.au

Andrew.
AnswerID: 212443

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, Dec 29, 2006 at 19:54

Friday, Dec 29, 2006 at 19:54
>Great well built camera.

Which camera Andrew!!!??? :) :) :)

PS. What are you doing in Emerald (Vic) if you live in SA?
FollowupID: 472702

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Friday, Dec 29, 2006 at 22:57

Friday, Dec 29, 2006 at 22:57
Hi Mike,

I just responded to your initial post without reading the inputs you received.

Emerald (Qld in this case) running photography workshops which I do for a living (www.vividadventures.com.au).

Here's one of the subjects from the workshop: (A lovely old Queensland Lady)

The Olympus E500 I was referring to ... a great value camera and very nice to use and handle - this was an observation on your specific question. A bit like a holden or ford question though - there is not a lot to set them apart.

I have not handled the Sony, and am waiting for Sony to get their act together - they are allegedly going to come out with some significant D-SLR products soon and could blitz the market ... we will have to see .. the A100 is essentially a Konica-Minolta camera with good specs and excellent idea with in-body image stabilising.

Again, it is a Four-thirds system camera so you have got to be careful when framing that the more rectangular cropping necessary to print the normal 6x4 doesn't mess up your work.

To my knowledge noone is yet printing a 8x6" print as a standard offering.

Andrew.
FollowupID: 472721

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Friday, Dec 29, 2006 at 23:01

Friday, Dec 29, 2006 at 23:01
PS - I am in Melbourne (Vic) next week if anyone wants any tuition.
FollowupID: 472722