Product Review-Cooper S/T's

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 21:07
ThreadID: 40688 Views:4873 Replies:5 FollowUps:7
As for mileage, my Coopers have done 25,000 km. They started with 11mm tread and still have 9mm. Given that there is still a useable 7mm before they become illegal, they should do about 100,000 km.

Whilst this may not actually happen, I reckon the 80,000 guarantee will be safe.

HOWEVER, they have not done anywhere near as much off road as I had hoped due to lack of opportunities. The modest off road work that they have done has ripped a few chunks out of them. I doubt they would do 80 with the amount of rough stuff I had planned when they were fitted.

In summary, they are great in mud and would leave any A/T for dead. On rough hard rocky tracks, they do lose some chunks.

I put them on originally to replace Toyo OPAT A/T's which were dead set useless in any form of mud.

Would I fit them again? Not sure just yet. For highway work they hum a little, but nothing overbearing. If I was just going for a highway tyre I'd go for an A/T. If I get more chances to rough them up I'll be better able to comment.

I would not recommend them for hard core, rocky stuff, they'd get ripped to pieces.

Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 22:08

Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 22:08
Are they the new model Sts they bought out which was meant to fix the chipping problem ? I tried some of these new ones , but I decided I could not put up with the noise and went back to the ATs .
AnswerID: 212340

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 22:22

Thursday, Dec 28, 2006 at 22:22
I put them on in Sep 05 Willie. Not sure if they wre the new or the old.

There is some reference to S/TC's on here, but mine appear only to be S/T.
FollowupID: 472618

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 30, 2006 at 09:35

Saturday, Dec 30, 2006 at 09:35
I have tried the ST-C's in the ricky stuff and they lost whole lugs and all manner of chipping. The Cooper man said, upon inspection, "Oh thats not chipping". He was less clear when asked what the hell it was then. He did replace all tyres though, they had 3000km on them at the time.

FollowupID: 472751

Reply By: Exploder - Friday, Dec 29, 2006 at 00:24

Friday, Dec 29, 2006 at 00:24
Yeah mine are on about the same Mileage

Have seen a verity off off-road conditions, have a bit of chipping, no Lugs missing (yet).

Overall I am happy with em and would get em agene.

As for road noise, doesn’t rely bother me, just turn the stereo up a bit, I don’t expect a quite smooth ride out of a 4WD anyway. LOL
AnswerID: 212355

Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Friday, Dec 29, 2006 at 07:44

Friday, Dec 29, 2006 at 07:44
Have Coooper ATR's, ,,, Done 70k,, and there is probably another 70k,, left in them..
Don't get me wrong,,,,,What a tough tyre,,,,Never had a puncture,,, I Rotate my Coopers every 5000, but they are a bloody hard tyre, have a Navara, and been up the Desert twice with the Coopers,,,,

As for the STT's,, I recon they are crap, in the Desert. The gibber cut Nathan's STT's to bits ( I did the Plenty, Innaminka, Walkers Crossing, Dalhousie, ect with Nathan, Laura, and their children )

Another friend, who also went with us, tore the side clean out of her Coopers, and fractured sidewall, on another tyre, the local Agent said " well its the toughest roads in Oz ",, ,,,,

Hellow ! thats why we got them ,, Bloody mungrels !

Mr Cooper will not be happy, but what the hec,,,, they advertise them as the ultimate Desert tyre,,,,

Get a Grip !
AnswerID: 212372

Reply By: howesy - Friday, Dec 29, 2006 at 13:58

Friday, Dec 29, 2006 at 13:58
I know i am about to get caned by the die hard Cooper click but I went right through that country around innaminka through the cordillo to birdsville and heaps more on a 15.000km trip on $150 Kuhmo Venture's and never got a puncture and tyres were bald at around 140K so as yet no one can convince me that the said brand is worth the extra money in terms of extra wear or performance delivered. Admitedly mine is predominantly on road use but I haven't yet found any tyre that wont give 80K if you look after them and rotate at least every 10K.
now please don't get upset it is an opinion only and not one that all will agree with so take care.
AnswerID: 212408

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Friday, Dec 29, 2006 at 14:30

Friday, Dec 29, 2006 at 14:30
Howesy, my son has Kuhmo Ventures on his GQ. Seem to be a great (and tough)tyre for touring, including dirt, gravel and sand. But for off roading in mud, large rocks etc, my Cooper STs are far better. The STs are noiser on road though. Horses for courses I guess.

Son plans on getting MTs for off roading, but I'm encouraging him to keep the Kuhmo's for on road and touring use. A better tyre for that purpose.
FollowupID: 472688

Reply By: John - Friday, Dec 29, 2006 at 17:41

Friday, Dec 29, 2006 at 17:41
hi there,

I have had 3 sets of coopers now for my 100 T/D. the first set was ST's and i was not happy with the milage. i only got 60,000 out of them.
the cooper,s rep recommended i try the ST-C for the type of driving i do.

which is about 60% on dirt roads with 4-5 outback trips a year. I average 1200ks a week in the work I do.
i travel fairly quickly on the dirt roads, and I also pull alot of heavy trailers somtimes.

I tried the ST-C and i am very happy with them. I managed 80,000 on that set and sold the 100 series on them.
i had the new 100s T/D shod with them straight from the dealer and have so far travelled 50,000 ks on them and they look like they will go the distance.

the cooper rep told me the ST-C are a softer compound than the ST so they wont chip as much. they still chip but will smooth out after a little bitumen running.

they might not suit everybody but they certainly suit what i do with my car.
i dont like changing flat tyres and i don't seem to get many flats with the ST-C's
AnswerID: 212429

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Friday, Dec 29, 2006 at 21:41

Friday, Dec 29, 2006 at 21:41
I too run the ST/C and am very happy with them.

I have done a lot of running at speed on the dirt around Broken Hill, through the Flinders and up to Innamincka. Mine have no noticeable chipping and are wearing well.

According to the guy at the Cooper dealer in Broken Hill they were developed for exactly this kind of use. From my experience they seem to have got right.

FollowupID: 472713

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 30, 2006 at 09:39

Saturday, Dec 30, 2006 at 09:39
When the guy at Broken Hill replaced the ST-C I slashed at Poolamacca, and I pointed out the chipping and overall deterrioration of the tyres he mentioned he had never seen that on a ST-C, and all that chipping was from 1000km around the Hill on some pretty rocky and average roads. The BFG's I had on the year before didnt chip at all. Leaves me puzzled.

FollowupID: 472752

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Wednesday, Jan 03, 2007 at 12:19

Wednesday, Jan 03, 2007 at 12:19
Hi bonz,

I ran 4 sets of BFG AT's over the years, the last set I bought in Broken Hill.

I only did one 4wd trip on them and that was the Vic High Country. They were completely scrubbed out after only 28,000km and only about 50km in real 4wd country. Two of the tyres also had tread blocks missing, one of which had torn out the entire piece of rubber exposing the steel belts. That's why I went over to the Coopers.

As to why the guy in the Hill couldn't give you an answer on the damage to your tyres. All I can say is that I have always found him to be a pretty straight shooter. Maybe he just hadn't seen it before.

Anyway, Happy New Year mate hope it's all good for you
FollowupID: 473233

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Jan 03, 2007 at 21:40

Wednesday, Jan 03, 2007 at 21:40
Duncs Gidday mate, where r u living now?

The guy at the Hill was excellent, he had jjst never seen the chipping that I had, mind you he proly hadnt seen caras that drove those crappy Poolamacca tracks for 8 daze in a row. I didnt think he was having a lend of me, I really believe he hadnt seen it, he also told me that the ST-C's were the bees knees around there, and on the roads I believe it too.

I have seen a BFG AT at Birdsville with EVERY LUG chipped to a point where the lug once was, 3000km's up and down the Birdsville track at 120-140km/h did it, I was amazed to say the least, but mine were brill.

Had a not too bad New Yr and have finally done stuff that has been waiting up to 12 months int he back yard, I actually feel like I have achieved something. In and amongst the angst of another Christmas sans Kate and Daryl and Sarah we had a pretty OK time, friends from EO making it THE best for 2 years, although Paul fell off the Honda and broke 5 bones in his foot - NICE!

FollowupID: 473373