Oil cap for diesel patrol

Submitted: Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 16:28
ThreadID: 40802 Views:1996 Replies:4 FollowUps:5

I've been trying to track down a spare oil cap off the tappet cover for a 4.2 turbo diesel from a patrol. Tried the wreckers and most auto places but to no avail. A place tried ordering one for me but gave up, I'm told they are listed but ........

Let me know if you have an old one lying around and prepared to send it to me, I'll cover costs of course. Mine has just started to crack so I'm not in any hurry.

Reply By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 17:19

Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 17:19
G'day Austravel,
Your Nissan dealer should be able to get these...

Part# 15255D5502 ..

I had no difficulty getting a couple (1 spare) a coupla yrs ago .. price then was $26.82 (+GST) for 2...

I was advised by the parts bloke to file/grind a couple of mm off the bottom of the threaded section to prevent it from "bottoming out" in the rocker cover recess.. apparently they had replaced quite a few of 'em due to them becoming over-tight because of this "bottoming" before the seal was fully compressed, then cracking/breaking when excessive force was needed to remove them..

When mine (original) failed "out bush", I umm "fabricated" a replacement from Knead-It.. Did the job 'till I got home, still got that one as a "souvenir" ;-)))...

Regards, and Happy New Year,
Ed. C

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

AnswerID: 212876

Follow Up By: Austravel - Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 17:43

Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 17:43
Thanks, didn't bother trying them as I assumed they'd be dear being geniune. How wrong I was.
FollowupID: 473069

Reply By: Bilbo - Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 17:22

Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 17:22
Austravel,

I have the very, very thing that you very, very want ,,,,, ;)

It's off a 1989 Nissan TD42 n/a. The thread is part broken but it still tightens and dosn't leak.

My GU has 6.5 Chev in it and I no longer run a Nissan engine.

It's yours for free if you'll pay the postage - email me on:

leslowe@iinet.net.au

Take care,

Bilbo
AnswerID: 212877

Follow Up By: Austravel - Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 17:46

Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 17:46
Thanks Bilbo,

Just found out I can buy one for $13 geniune, he wasn't sure if they changed the threads over the years but had a few different ones listed.

Do you know if there has been a change? (mines a 2002).

What do you think postage would cost??

Thanks again for the offer, if postage is only a few bucks it might be worth the chance it won't fit.
FollowupID: 473070

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 19:51

Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 19:51
Austravel,

I reckon you should buy one fer that price. If it's sent Australia Post the postage shouldn't be more than about $5.00.

Is it possible to email the vendors a picture of the thread on the old one. My old TD42 was a very coarse thread in a alloy rocker cover. I have seen a few different rocker covers in later models but I'm not sure if the thread actualy changed at all.

Mine will still be here if all else fails mate.

Take care,

Bilbo
FollowupID: 473101

Follow Up By: Austravel - Wednesday, Jan 03, 2007 at 09:44

Wednesday, Jan 03, 2007 at 09:44
Thanks Bilbo, will drop into Nissan tomorrow.
FollowupID: 473187

Reply By: donks1 - Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 19:37

Tuesday, Jan 02, 2007 at 19:37
just buy a geniune for $28.00

you know it will fit and it won't leak...

ever seen what a mess a dodgy oil cap can do to an engine bay. you will spend more than that in degreaser

you have probably already spent more than that in fuel and phone calls

donks
AnswerID: 212901

Follow Up By: Austravel - Wednesday, Jan 03, 2007 at 09:45

Wednesday, Jan 03, 2007 at 09:45
Very true.
FollowupID: 473188

Reply By: 666toy - Wednesday, Jan 03, 2007 at 12:10

Wednesday, Jan 03, 2007 at 12:10
I bought one from REPCO a couple of years ago for a customer & i think the price was $15.00 they should still stock them .
AnswerID: 213007