D Cab Nissan.....

Submitted: Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 16:14
ThreadID: 40858 Views:2231 Replies:4 FollowUps:8
G'day, I'm looking at buying a 2004 DX Navara Dual Cab, this is fitted with the 3.0Litre TD motor and has 126,000 klms on the clock (an ex DSE vehicle).
Have any owners had any problems with particular models motor?
Any advice on what to look for would be helpful

Thankyou

andy

Reply By: MickO13 - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 18:06

Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 18:06
Andy, I've got a 2004 Dual Cab, the STR model. It's got 72K on the clock. It's been a fantastic rig. Very reliable. Apparently the Navara aren't as prone to some of the issues that the 3L T?D is in the Patrol. I've added a bit of aftermarket stuff to it such as a suspension sytem, L/R tank, ARB Canopy, drawer system and UHF etc, roof rack. Done a few good trips in mine and never missed a beat. What are the asking for the unit $ wise if it's not a rude Q? Mick

AnswerID: 213254

Follow Up By: Member - Andy Q (VIC) - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 18:14

Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 18:14
G'day Mick, No problem $29,000 is what the're asking, I've only just looked at it and have not driven it yet. I want to put an Islander or Trailblazers camper on the back and put a few extras on the front!

andy
FollowupID: 473564

Follow Up By: madfisher - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 20:08

Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 20:08
Andy,
You are going to pay $29000.00 for a vehicle with 129000ks with a motor that probaly has a max. life of 200,000ks if it doesnt blow before than. They are a renault motor with a very poor history. Also check the price of injectors I have heard they are $2000.00 ea but I am happy to be corrected on this. Nissan diesels had a reputation as being the best from Japan untill the 3lt. I do believe the older 3.2s are unburstable. Look arround on the trading post, people can not give cars away at the moment
FollowupID: 473579

Follow Up By: Member - Andy Q (VIC) - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 21:38

Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 21:38
Yeah! thanks madfisher,

I'm takin' it all in ...no I'm not going to pay $29,000-well not forthat vehicle anyway. But all the advice is taken in, I appreciate all help and advice. You're right, Micks might be worth a look!!

thanks

andy
FollowupID: 473604

Reply By: MickO13 - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 18:33

Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 18:33
I've just bought a patrol Andy and had been looking at putting mine on the market. Can't see the missus driving the Navara to do the shopping somehow. It'd be early to mid 30's (I was thinking) as in very good nick, still got 30K and 6 months of warranty and already decked out for travelling. Ute is in Melb (eastern suburbs). Send me an email if you'd like to know more about it. texcat@optusnet.com.au

Mick

AnswerID: 213260

Follow Up By: Nav 8 - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 19:12

Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 19:12
29K for a DX with 126000Km on it sounds a bit high. I would be looking at Mick013 truck even if it is interstate, could be a better buy. Nav.
FollowupID: 473572

Reply By: Ianw - Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 23:25

Thursday, Jan 04, 2007 at 23:25
I've got a 2002 STR done 119000ks. No probs exc machine 10l/100ks.
Original tyres - original brakes still like new. No offroad work only dirt roads
By the way Nissan are still trying to sell the 2005 model Top of the range STR for $32999 plus GST. With free bullbar ($1200) and free towbar (about $1000 I think)
Not a bad price seeing as the original price was over $43000 for vehicle only.
AnswerID: 213317

Follow Up By: Member - Andy Q (VIC) - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 00:39

Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 00:39
G'day Ianw, new nissan for that price sounds interesting, which dealer? Worth a look I'd reckon!...Thanks

andy
FollowupID: 473645

Follow Up By: Leroy - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 07:44

Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 07:44
as i was reading down the thread I thought I should post about that $32999 deal. Guys paid more than that and hence why they ask a high second hand price. Anyone can register for an ABN as it states it's an ABN holder deal only.

Leroy
FollowupID: 473659

Follow Up By: Pnut (cns) - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 13:32

Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 13:32
"I've got a 2002 STR done 119000ks ...- Original tyres - original brakes still like new"

119k? what sort of tyres are these?!

Seen the same deal advertised up here 32990 + on roads for ABN holders - prob drive away for $35-36k, so Andy, any dealer should be doing this deal as it's on Nissans website.

Pnut
FollowupID: 473761

Follow Up By: Ianw - Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 20:31

Monday, Jan 08, 2007 at 20:31
Bridgestone Dueller HTs 255/16 original fit made in japan
FollowupID: 474355

Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 06:36

Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 06:36
Andy Q
I too have a duel cab Navara,, love it ,,,100,000 km coming up real soon !
I suggest that you get an ABN # from someone and head off to Nissan and get a new one for $32k ,,,,,,,,thats really only $3k more, than for a vehicle that you have no history on ..
Nissan are real keen to get rid of these rigs, to make the transition to the D40 model complete,,
You will have the controlling factor,,,
I have been told that another thing is to go there, in the last week of their sales month, as in the big dealerships, they get huge bonus's if they can sell more ,,, and they are keen to push a sale..
Think about it

AnswerID: 213569