Submitted: Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 10:43
Jack
Morning all,
I am trying decide on a new tent, to be stored on the roof for a big trip.
Either an OZTent or
Southern Cross pyramid tent. Would prefer the OZtent, but it will not fit on a standard ARB roof rack - the bag is to long.
Can anyone provide any comments on either tent.
Reply By: Raymond from Wanderin 4 Wheelers - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 10:57
Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 10:57
Hi Jack
Look at this site as
well
www.freedomcamping.com.au/touring.html
The tents are great and are designed to fit in a ARB roof rack./
Mine are 18 years old and still going great. Have the minute tent and the family tent
Ray
Follow Up By: Polaris - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 11:38
Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 11:38
We also have a 12 year old Freedom Minute - still in good condition and never leaks! Packs onto a roof basket OK.
Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 11:57
Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 11:57
I have had the Freedom Family tourer for about 9 years now and it is a great tent. You can also get a kit that removes the centre pole.
I would highly recommend one.
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Wayne M(QLD) - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 12:01
Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 12:01
Hi jack
we also have a freedom tent the family tourer 1310 take's less then 5min to put up and about 8min to pack up had our 6 year's and loving it smaller tents even quicker down to 1min
Reply By: cuffs - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 10:57
Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 10:57
Check out the Blackwolf range expensive but
well worth it.
Follow Up By: mike w (WA) - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 11:06
Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 11:06
camping buddy just brought a turbo lite tent, not badly priced at around the 500 mark, quick and easy to erect. Not as heavy as the standard turbo tents, and has a fly. Packs up nice and small.
Reply By: Member - Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 11:34
Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 11:34
Jack,
I've had both the OZ Tent and at present have a
Southern Cross centre pole and I believe the OZ Tent to be better for easy of set up and you don't need to put pegs in the ground if you don't want to. Both are good and you wouldn't loose out either way but my preference would be the OZ Tent.....Good luck.....
Reply By: Member -Signman - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 11:58
Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 11:58
Just been thru the same exercise here. Had a good hard look at the OzTent (including it's construction)-. Went to all the 'shows' over a 6 month period, and sussed out all that was available.
Settled on a
Southern Cross 'Bus' tent. It's a 9x9 tourer type tent, made a bit sturdier, excellent construction and fits the ARB rack no worries, and can be chucked in the back of the Troopy if in a hurry. Also, erection time no probs. Just lay it out, bash in corner pegs, and up with the centre pole (there is a 'no centre pole' option- but decided against it).
OK- the
Southern Cross is a bit more expensive- but like a lot of things- Ya gets wot ya pays for.!!
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (SA) - Sunday, Jan 07, 2007 at 09:46
Sunday, Jan 07, 2007 at 09:46
Hi Signman
You are spot on with your comments. We also have the 9 x 9 bus tent with the side pole option. Still as quick to set up. like you said, after the 4 corner pegs are in, the Tent is then erected in less than 60 seconds. They are a top quality Australian Made tent for Aussie Conditions.
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 12:09
Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 12:09
What is your budget?
How many people?
Follow Up By: Jack - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 12:35
Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 12:35
2 adults & 1 child
Follow Up By: Member - Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 12:59
Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 12:59
Jack,
OZ Tent may be a little small for 2 Adults and 1 Child....
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 13:02
Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 13:02
what is your budget???
I'd say the
Southern Cross Ultimate Trekker is perfect, we had 2 ad 2 kids and it was perfect.
Follow Up By: Leroy - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 13:13
Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 13:13
what is the trekker? They had the ultimate 9,10,11 and deluxe models but no trekker.
Leroy
Follow Up By: flappa - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 13:27
Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 13:27
With great thing with the SC tents is you can use them for 10 years and then still sell them for what you paid for it.
You do pay a premium up front , but, they are
well worth it.
If the budget allows for a SC tent , IMO , they are the pick.
Freedom & OZ are good tents , so you wouldn't really loose by buying one either.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 13:36
Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 13:36
I think its the 11, they have changed their names.
its the one with the small section at the back.
Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 08:04
Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 08:04
Leroy,
go to page 2 of the tourers section, you will find the ultimate trekker there.
Reply By: OldMike2 - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 14:25
Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 14:25
Can't speak highly enough of
Southern Cross tents. Easy as to put up and take down, quality construction and great resale.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 14:38
Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 14:38
x 2 on the quality, but their aftersales is very disappointing.
Reply By: Dave(NSW) - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 16:07
Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 16:07
I have an OZ Tent 5 & it fit's Perfectly in side an ARB roof rack. Best tent we ever brought.
Dave.
Follow Up By: Member - Mary W (VIC) - Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 16:36
Friday, Jan 12, 2007 at 16:36
I have an Oztent 4 and it fits snugly on the ARB rack.Great tent and so easy to put up!Mary
Reply By: ingo57 - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 20:26
Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 20:26
Gday Jack
IMHO go the
southern cross mate, you wont be dissapointed. Had an Oztent and after several problems we ended up getting a full refund and bought the
Southern cross ultimate trekker and have never looked back, well worth the money and like you 2 adults and 1 child (bit small).
Rather than I write it out again, check post 35482 of all the probs that I had with a new Oztent leading up to and on a 5 week trip through the centre of oz.
My 2cents worth
Reply By: markeaust - Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 09:07
Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 09:07
Another vote for the Black Wolf Turbo Tents.
Great quality, quick and easy to set up. Strong poles. Great ventilation. Large space.
Have heard some bad reports on the Oztent wearing on the floor areas where the poles scrape when you fold out the frame and problems with ventilation...(only 2nd hand from a mate....not bagging). He did mention the excellent customer service who replaced it with a newie....twice.
It's worth checking them all out yourself and picking one which you think will suit your need best.....