Going to work in w.a second half of this year.

Submitted: Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 11:07
ThreadID: 40886 Views:3925 Replies:9 FollowUps:9
Happy christmas and new year to everyone.Hi all i have made my mind up to go to w.a around june this year for a working holiday.I have been over there before working as im a concrete finisher and have done a fly in /out job before at port hedland.I am considering trying to get another start with a company again but instead of flying in/out this time i am driving my vehicle(I Flew from brisbane last time) i am interested in the north west around the Pilbara and areas north.Im going to ask a dumb question and i know this is 6 mnths in advance if i just drove over there as im a single bloke this is a question for w.a locals maybe ,do you think besides all the construction mine work is there a lot of normal construction going on do you think it would be hard to find work.Now before you all say it( yes i am extremely experienced in my trade and have references and trade papers to prove it) there should be work that i can pick up?Any info on the areas that are busy i would appreciate as im not very familar with the industry over there but i know it is booming.Hope that all made sense please anyone out there with info i would be grateful to hear back from you .Thanks.

Reply By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 11:19

Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 11:19
Probably one of the most simple bits of advice I was given while living on the east coast was "Come to Kununurra, you won't starve!)

I can only speak for KNX, but from what I hear the entire west coast is pretty much the same, ther is all sorts of work everywhere. I even know a concreter in KNX who is flat out.......not sure if he wants toput anyone on though!

The construction industry is pretty busy up here, along with mining, farming, tourism etc. Being a single bloke I'd say you would be mad not to come over, the place has been very good for me.

Cheers andrew
AnswerID: 213385

Reply By: _gmd_pps - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 11:25

Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 11:25
Plenty of work everywhere ...
Perth still has a building boom and tradesmen are in high demand
You will not have a problem anywhere in WA
though the mining pays best .. if you want to make 100K+ easy go
to the mines ....
have fun
gmd
AnswerID: 213386

Reply By: turbo 79series - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 12:24

Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 12:24
Thanks fellas i just have to wait 6mnths now and im there.I cant wait to get there
AnswerID: 213402

Reply By: John Davies - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 16:01

Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 16:01
According to an ABC show a few weeks ago, rental accomodation is very expensive and hard to find up in the North West.

Just something to keep in might.

John D
AnswerID: 213453

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 16:14

Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 16:14
Yep it can be a problem - for a family especially......single blokes are a bit easier to cater for, generally have less needs! Some employers have a way of sourcing accomodation for workers they require.

Cheers Andrew
FollowupID: 473816

Reply By: Member - Rotord - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 17:12

Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 17:12
Ring Peter Miller , Port Hedland 08 91733766 and he could probably have a job waiting for you . You would need to tow a caravan , and the park you want in Port Hedland is the Cook Point Caravan Park .
AnswerID: 213468

Follow Up By: turbo 79series - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 20:13

Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 20:13
Hi Rotord thankyou and everyone else for replying .I was wondering who Peter Miller was i think i will give him a ring.Thankyou everyone so far.Thanks Rotord.
FollowupID: 473854

Reply By: turbo 79series - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 20:17

Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 20:17
I think it might be a good idea to take my caravan . From my place half an hour above brisbane i think it is about 5000km to port hedland? Wonder if anyone has towed a caravan on that trip and how long it took.Cant wait to give the new rv landcruiser ute a run.
AnswerID: 213503

Reply By: SteveL - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 20:44

Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 20:44
The SWMBO and I are working our way around oz and are currently living and working in Perth.The rental market is fairly tight here as it is all over the country,but with references we managed to find a suitable place within 2 hrs.
I got work driving semis with one phone call (Pays better than in Melb. and the equipment is all brand new) and the other half got a 6 month contract doing bookkeeping within a few days.She went for an interview, but started work straight away instead.
AnswerID: 213510

Follow Up By: turbo 79series - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 20:50

Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 20:50
Gday SteveL thanks for replying .If you dont mind me asking what rent did you end up paying and the size of place ,area of rental that you have rented.
FollowupID: 473858

Follow Up By: SteveL - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 21:05

Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 21:05
I am paying $200 a week for a 2 bedroom duplex in Helena Valley (near
Midland)
FollowupID: 473860

Follow Up By: turbo 79series - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 21:11

Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 21:11
Thats pretty reasonable do you think as you go further north the more expensive it would be getting with all the mine work up there.
FollowupID: 473863

Follow Up By: SteveL - Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 22:15

Friday, Jan 05, 2007 at 22:15
The cost of rent in places like Karratha is often in the news here, and you hear figures like $1000 per week for an average family home.When you factor in the addition cost of living in these places you would want to be earning $150K +
to make it worthwhile.
FollowupID: 473875

Reply By: Sam from Weipa Auto Electrics - Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 08:23

Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 08:23
My brother is working in port headland and he said its going mental over there I actualy just good back from a holiday over I can almost gaurantee you a job if you go talk a mob called goodline in port headland cheers sam.
AnswerID: 213582

Reply By: Member - BRIAN G (WA) - Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 14:58

Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 14:58
Hi Turbo

I am in Karratha (250km from Hedland) there is a boom happening here that will last at least three years. Over $7000 000 000 worth of projects under way. You could score a job (have a choice of 10) in five minutes. Accommodation is the key. Accommodation is the key. worth saying twice! you have two choices rent a house at $800 a week or bring your van and wait for a permanent spot in one of the . parks. i know of people who have had to stay in the next town (60km) because they couldn't get a place in town for months and that is either a house(at less than $800) or van. Most mining jobs will pay you around $300 a week living allowance on top of the $1500-$2000 per week take home pay. If you share a house with a couple of others the rent is zero........ that is what is pushing the rents thru the roof. mind you, 13hr shifts 13 day fortnight - you earn every cent.

Port hedland is in a similar spot at the moment Billions of dollars in projects and not enough workers. I know Peter Miller and you won't go wrong with him.

if you want a list of names in Karratha where you could walk into a job send me an email and i will gladly help....... hell i'll give you a job myself. We are in the Industrial hardware supply business and i need 3 more staff immediately- but we can't compete with the money on offer "on site". Catch 22 - business is booming because of construction - but we can't get workers because the town in booming!

havagoodweekend
AnswerID: 213644

Follow Up By: Member - BRIAN G (WA) - Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 15:01

Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 15:01
you might need this

brian@atomsupply.com.au
FollowupID: 473974

Follow Up By: turbo 79series - Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 16:39

Saturday, Jan 06, 2007 at 16:39
Thankyou Brian G i sent you a detailed email .Once again thankyou.
FollowupID: 473988

Follow Up By: turbo 79series - Sunday, Jan 07, 2007 at 11:34

Sunday, Jan 07, 2007 at 11:34
Mate any info would be appreciated sorry if i asked for two much yesterday in my email to you .Cheers
FollowupID: 474106